Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Bill 57

LinkedIn

NB Bulletins Vol. 18 N. 9, June 2015

After the bill on the funding of municipal pension plans was assented to last December, the National Assembly continued its work, introducing An Act to amend the Supplemental Pension Plans Act mainly with respect to the funding of defined benefit pension plans (Bill 57) on June 11, 2015.

This bill focuses primarily on the funding of private sector pension plans, but also contains provisions applicable to all pension plans. Bill 57 implements some of the central recommendations outlined in the report prepared by the expert committee on the future of Quebec's retirement income system (the D'Amours Committee), which aimed to foster the sustainability of private sector pension plans.  

The provisions of Bill5 7 stem from a consensus reached by the Comité consultatif du travail et de la main-d’œuvre (CCTM), which comprises representatives from the CSN, the FTQ, the Conseil du patronat du Québec and the Fédération des chambres de commerce du Québec. This consensus reflects a compromise between benefit security and cost affordability.  


Summary of current funding rules

  • Annual actuarial valuation when the plan is in a deficit position
  • Funding using two bases of valuation: going concern basis and solvency basis 
  • Amortization payment equal to the higher of the payment required to amortize the funding deficiency over 15 years and the payment required to amortize the solvency deficiency over 5 years (10 years with the relief measures) 

New funding rules

Bill 57 would come into force on January 1, 2016 and the key funding rules would be as follows: 

1. Elimination of the requirement to fund a plan on a solvency basis. This valuation basis would, however, be used for other purposes, including the use of surplus, the payment of benefits to members and the frequency of actuarial valuations. 

2. All private sector pension plans would be required to prepare an actuarial valuation as at December 31, 2015, and every three years thereafter (or annually if the solvency ratio is below 85%). An estimate of the financial position of the plan would, however, be required on an annual basis. 

3. Going concern funding would be the single funding approach and would now include the establishment of a stabilization provision for future service and past service. 

4. The stabilization provision is essentially a financial cushion established through actuarial gains and contributions. The provision is used to fund actuarial deficiencies and contribute to achieving greater funding contribution stability. 

5. The stabilization provision target level and required stabilization contributions would be determined in accordance with the investment policy, based on a scale prescribed by regulation. 

6. Funding contributions would be as follows:

  • Current service contributions: Contributions required to fund benefits that accrue annually. It must be paid annually, except in the event of a contribution holiday. 
  • Current service stabilization contributions (SPCSC): Contributions corresponding to the current service cost multiplied by the stabilization provision target level. It must be paid annually, except in the event of a contribution holiday. 
  • Technical amortization payments: Contributions required to amortize the unfunded actuarial liabilities. Unfunded actuarial liabilities would be consolidated at each valuation and must be amortized over a maximum of 15 years (gradually reduced to become 10 years as at December 31, 2020). 
  • Stabilization amortization payments (SPAP): Special contributions required until the stabilization provision target level less five percentage points has been achieved. Special contributions would be established at each actuarial valuation so as to amortize the shortfall over 15 years (gradually reduced to become 10 years as at December 31, 2020).

7. Technical amortization payments and stabilization amortization payments (SPAP) made by the employer would be recorded in a "banker's clause." The banker's clause would allow the employer to have priority over the potential use of surplus assets up to the balance recorded.   


Example with a stabilization provision target level of 15%


Impacts on the funding of your pension plan

The impacts of these new funding rules will vary greatly from plan to plan, depending on various factors, including: 

  • Financial position of the plan on a going concern basis;
  • Financial position of the plan on a solvency basis;
  • Investment policy;
  • Maturity of the plan; and
  • Level of caution or margin incorporated into actuarial assumptions. 

These new funding rules should contribute to achieving greater contribution stability for all private sector pension plans. Two transitional measures will apply to minimize the impacts of the new funding rules in the short term. The first measure is a temporary increase in the amortization period for deficiencies, as previously highlighted. The second measure is the gradual introduction of new contributions required. If Bill 57 results in an increase in funding contributions, this increase will be phased in between 2016 and 2021.

When a plan is in a deficit position, the technical amortization payment and all stabilization contributions made will support the quick funding of the existing deficit. When the plan is balanced or in a surplus position, stabilization contributions will be used to gradually establish a financial cushion, which will contribute to achieving greater contribution stability and benefit security. This financial cushion can be used to absorb experience losses that would have otherwise resulted in deficits. 

The graph below presents the financial position of a mature pension plan that is in balance on a going concern basis and that would have a stabilization provision of 15%. This graph illustrates contributions in accordance with current financing rules, which therefore vary depending on the financial position of the plan on a solvency basis. The dotted grey line indicates the contribution level that would ultimately be required for this plan under with Bill 57 (i.e. without taking into account the transitional measures).  

If the plan's solvency ratio is above around 90%, the contributions required under Bill 57 would be higher than the contributions currently required. This is because the stabilization contributions for this plan would be higher than the amortization payments currently required on a solvency basis.   

Plan improvements and use of surplus

The cost to fund plan improvements should be increased by the amount required to establish the resulting stabilization provision. The portion not funded by the surplus should be amortized over 5 years and special provisions could apply if the plan is in a deficit position. 

Rules on the use of surplus, while the plan is ongoing and upon plan termination, would be completely revised as follows: 

1. During the life of the plan, surplus assets could be used only if the solvency ratio of the plan exceeds 105%.  

2.The maximum amount of surplus that could be used would be the lesser of:  

  • a. the portion of the going concern surplus exceeding 5% of the stabilization provision target level;
  • b. the portion of the solvency surplus exceeding the ratio of 105%. 

3. Surplus available for use, up to the banker's clause, would first be used to fund an employer contribution holiday. Up to 20% of any remaining available surplus could, in accordance with the plan's provisions, be used each year to improve benefits or be returned to the employer.   

4. In the event of termination of the plan, member benefits would be paid and any remaining surplus would be distributed in accordance with the plan provisions. 

5. Legislative measures relating to the principle of equity among retired members and active members concerning the use of surplus would be eliminated.    

Other provisions applicable to all pension plans

 It is our understanding that other provisions of Bill 57 would apply to all pension plans, including municipal and university sector pension plans. These provisions are as follows: 

1. The moratorium on the use of surplus in the event of termination of the plan would be lifted. Pension plan provisions relating to the use of surplus would need to be confirmed or amended by January 1, 2017. A consultation process involving members and beneficiaries would be prescribed.  

2. All pension plans would be required to have a funding policy whose content will be specified by regulation. Responsibility would lie with the party that has the power to amend the plan.  

3. To be discharged from any liability to retired members following an annuity purchase, a pension plan would be required to have an annuity purchasing policy whose content will be specified by regulation.   

It is important to note that since the D'Amours Committee report was published, several plan sponsors have been waiting for a bill to be assented to permitting a complete transfer of responsibilities through an annuity purchase, as recommended by the committee. We believe that there could be a significant increase in the demand for annuity purchases after Bill 57 is assented to, which could create an imbalance between the supply and demand and become an issue for those who are late in making their decision.  

Next steps

Regulations must be published to clarify the technical details relating to the application of Bill 57, including the scale to be used for the stabilization provision in accordance with the investment policy and the content of funding and annuity purchasing policies. A parliamentary commission on Bill 57 should be held in the fall.

For plan sponsors, Bill 57 will lead to an analysis of the impacts on the funding of their pension plans. Given the close link between the funding, investments and benefits of a pension plan, the analysis should also cover this bill's impacts on the investment policy and, for some sponsors, the benefits policy. The appropriate balance between these policies is essential for fostering the sustainability of pension plans. 

Finally, the government should also introduce in the fall another bill specific to the funding of university sector pension plans. 

Introducing "Retraite Québec"

The government also introduced a bill announcing the merger of the Commission administrative des régimes de retraite et d’assurances (CARRA) and the Régie des rentes du Québec. The new entity would be named "Retraite Québec."

The Normandin Beaudry consultants will continue to monitor developments relating to these bills. Please feel free to send us your questions.

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Projet de loi 57

LinkedIn

Communiqué NB, Vol 18 N. 9, juin 2015

À la suite de la sanction en décembre dernier du projet de loi visant le financement des régimes de retraite du secteur municipal, l’Assemblée nationale a poursuivi ses travaux pour en arriver à présenter, le 11 juin dernier, le projet de loi 57 intitulé « Loi modifiant la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite principalement quant au financement des régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées » (« PL57 »).

Ce projet de loi vise principalement le financement des régimes de retraite du secteur privé, mais contient également des dispositions visant tous les régimes de retraite. Le PL57 met en œuvre certaines des recommandations centrales contenues dans le rapport du comité d’experts sur l’avenir du système de retraite québécois (« Comité D’Amours ») qui visait notamment à favoriser la pérennité des régimes de retraite du secteur privé.

Les dispositions du PL57 découlent d’un consensus intervenu au comité consultatif du travail et de la main-d’œuvre (« CCTM ») qui regroupe notamment des représentants de la CSN, de la FTQ, du Conseil du patronat du Québec et de la Fédération des chambres de commerce du Québec. Ce consensus exprime un compromis entre la « sécurité des prestations » pour les participants et le respect de la « capacité de payer » des promoteurs de régime.


Sommaire  des règles de financement actuelles

  • Évaluation actuarielle annuelle lorsque le régime est déficitaire.
  • Financement selon deux bases d’évaluation, soit la base de continuité (capitalisation) et la base de terminaison (solvabilité).
  • Cotisation d’équilibre égale à la plus élevée de celle requise pour amortir le déficit de capitalisation sur 15 ans et de celle requise pour amortir le déficit de solvabilité sur 5 ans (10 ans avec les mesures d’allègement).

Nouvelles règles de financement

Le PL57 entrerait en vigueur à compter du 1er janvier 2016 et les principales règles de financement seraient les suivantes :

1. Le financement selon la base de solvabilité ne serait plus requis. Cette base d’évaluation servirait toutefois à encadrer l’utilisation des surplus, l’acquittement des droits aux participants et la fréquence des évaluations actuarielles.

2. Tous les régimes de retraite du secteur privé devraient faire l’objet d’une évaluation actuarielle au 31 décembre 2015 et, par la suite, tous les trois ans (ou annuellement si le degré de solvabilité est inférieur à 85 %). Une estimation de la situation financière serait toutefois requise sur une base annuelle.

3. Une seule méthode définirait le financement, soit une méthode sur base de capitalisation qui inclurait dorénavant la constitution d’une provision de stabilisation, autant pour le service futur que pour le service passé.

4. La provision de stabilisation est essentiellement un coussin financier qui se constitue à partir de gains actuariels et de cotisations. Elle permet d’éponger les déficits actuariels et favorise ainsi une plus grande stabilité des cotisations de financement.

5. Le niveau de la provision de stabilisation (« cible ») et des cotisations de stabilisation requises serait établi en fonction de la politique de placement, selon une grille prescrite par règlement.

6. Les cotisations de financement seraient les suivantes :

  • Coût pour service courant : Cotisation requise pour le financement des prestations qui s’accumulent annuellement. Elle devrait être versée annuellement, à moins d’un congé de cotisations.
  • Cotisation d’exercice de stabilisation (PSCSC) : Cotisation correspondant au coût pour service courant multiplié par la cible de la provision de stabilisation. Elle devrait être versée annuellement, à moins d’un congé de cotisations.
  • Cotisation d’équilibre technique : Cotisation requise pour amortir les déficits actuariels. Les déficits actuariels seraient consolidés à chaque évaluation et devraient être amortis sur une période de 15 ans (diminuant graduellement pour atteindre 10 ans au 31 décembre 2020).
  • Cotisation d’équilibre de stabilisation (PSCE) : Cotisation spéciale requise tant que la provision de stabilisation n’aurait pas atteint la cible visée moins 5 %. La cotisation spéciale serait établie à chaque évaluation actuarielle afin d’amortir le manque à gagner sur une période 15 ans (diminuant graduellement pour atteindre 10 ans au 31 décembre 2020).

7. Les cotisations d’équilibre techniques et les cotisations d’équilibre de stabilisation (PSCE) versées par l’employeur seraient comptabilisées sous forme de « clause banquier ». La clause banquier permettrait à l’employeur d’avoir préséance sur l’utilisation éventuelle des surplus jusqu’à concurrence du solde comptabilisé.


Exemple avec une cible de la provision de stabilisation de 15 %


Effets sur le financement de votre régime de retraite

Les effets de ces nouvelles règles de financement varieront grandement d’un régime de retraite à un autre et dépendront, notamment, des éléments suivants :

  • Situation financière sur base de capitalisation
  • Situation financière sur base de solvabilité
  • Politique de placement
  • Maturité du régime
  • Niveau de prudence ou marge intégrée dans les hypothèses actuarielles

Ces nouvelles règles de financement devraient apporter une plus grande stabilité des cotisations pour l’ensemble des régimes de retraite du secteur privé.  Deux mesures transitoires seront applicables pour minimiser les effets des nouvelles règles de financement à court terme. D’abord, un allongement temporaire de la période d’amortissement des déficits tel que souligné précédemment, et une introduction graduelle des nouvelles cotisations requises. Si le PL57 résulte en une hausse des cotisations de financement, cette hausse sera graduellement mise en œuvre entre 2016 et 2021.

Lorsqu’un régime sera en situation de déficit, la cotisation d’équilibre technique et toutes les cotisations de stabilisation versées favoriseront le financement rapide du déficit existant. Lorsque le régime sera à l’équilibre ou en surplus, les cotisations de stabilisation serviront à la constitution graduelle d’un coussin financier, ce qui favorisera une plus grande stabilité des cotisations et une plus grande sécurité des prestations. Ce coussin financier permettra d’absorber des pertes d’expérience qui auraient autrement engendré des déficits.

Le graphique suivant présente la situation d’un régime de retraite mature, qui est à l’équilibre sur base de capitalisation et qui aurait à constituer une provision de stabilisation de 15 %. Ce graphique illustre la cotisation selon les règles de financement actuelles; cette cotisation varie donc selon la situation financière sur base de solvabilité. La ligne grise montre le niveau de cotisation qui serait ultimement requis pour ce régime selon le PL57 (c.-à-d. sans tenir compte des mesures transitoires).

Si le degré de solvabilité du régime est supérieur à environ 90 %, on peut constater que la cotisation requise selon le PL57 serait supérieure à celle requise actuellement. Cela s’explique par le fait que les cotisations de stabilisation pour ce régime seraient supérieures à la cotisation d’équilibre actuellement requise sur base de solvabilité.

Amélioration et utilisation des surplus

Le coût de financement d’une amélioration au régime devrait être augmenté du montant nécessaire pour constituer la provision de stabilisation qui en découle. La portion non financée par le surplus devrait être amortie sur 5 ans et des dispositions particulières pourraient s’appliquer si le régime est déficitaire.

L’encadrement de l’utilisation des surplus, tant en continuité qu’à la terminaison du régime, serait entièrement révisé, comme suit :

1. En cours d’existence du régime, le surplus pourrait être utilisé seulement lorsque le ratio de solvabilité du régime est supérieur à 105 %.

2. Le surplus disponible pour utilisation serait le moindre de :

  • a. la portion du surplus de capitalisation qui excède de 5 % la cible visée de la provision de stabilisation;
  • b. la portion du surplus de solvabilité qui excède le ratio de 105 %.

3. Le surplus disponible pour utilisation, jusqu’à concurrence de la clause banquier, servirait prioritairement à l’employeur sous forme d’un congé de cotisation. Le solde du surplus disponible pour utilisation pourrait être utilisé, à raison de 20 % par année, selon les modalités prévues au régime. Ces modalités pourraient prévoir une amélioration des prestations ou une remise à l’employeur.

4. En cas de terminaison du régime, les droits des participants seraient acquittés et l’actif restant serait distribué conformément aux modalités prévues par le régime.

5. Les mesures législatives visant le principe d’équité entre les retraités et les participants actifs pour l’utilisation des surplus seraient éliminées.

Autres dispositions applicables à tous les régimes de retraite

Selon notre compréhension, d’autres dispositions du PL57 seraient applicables à tous les régimes de retraite, incluant les régimes du secteur municipal et du secteur universitaire. Ces dispositions sont les suivantes :

1. Le moratoire sur l’utilisation des surplus en cas de terminaison du régime serait levé. Les dispositions des régimes de retraite à l’égard des utilisations de surplus devraient être confirmées ou modifiées d’ici le 1er janvier 2017. Un processus de consultation des participants et bénéficiaires serait prescrit à cet égard.

2. Tous les régimes de retraite seraient tenus de se doter d’une politique de financement dont le contenu sera précisé par règlement. Cette responsabilité incomberait à celui qui a le pouvoir de modifier le régime.

3. Pour se libérer de toute responsabilité envers les retraités à la suite d’un achat de rentes, un régime de retraite devrait se doter d’une politique d’achat de rentes dont le contenu sera précisé par règlement.

Il est important de souligner que depuis la publication du rapport du Comité D’Amours, plusieurs promoteurs de régimes attendent la sanction d’un projet de loi permettant un transfert complet des responsabilités par un achat de rentes, tel qu’il était recommandé par ce comité. Nous croyons qu’il pourrait y avoir une hausse importante de la demande des achats de rentes à la suite de la sanction du PL57, ce qui pourrait créer un débalancement de l’offre et de la demande et devenir un enjeu pour ceux qui tarderont à prendre leur décision.

Prochaines étapes

Un règlement devrait être publié, ce qui préciserait les détails techniques d’application du PL57, notamment la grille de la provision de stabilisation en fonction de la politique de placement et le contenu des politiques de financement et d’achat de rentes. Une commission parlementaire devrait être tenue à l’automne sur le PL57.

Pour les promoteurs de régime de retraite, le PL57 entrainera une période d’analyse des effets sur le financement de leurs régimes. Compte tenu des liens étroits entre le financement, les placements et les prestations d’un régime de retraite, l’analyse devra également s’étendre aux effets de ce projet de loi sur la politique de placement et, pour certains, sur la politique de prestations. Un juste équilibre de ces trois politiques est essentiel pour favoriser la pérennité des régimes de retraite.

Enfin, le gouvernement devrait également présenter à l’automne un autre projet de loi concernant spécifiquement le financement des régimes de retraite du secteur universitaire.

Bonjour « Retraite Québec »

Le gouvernement a également déposé un projet de loi qui annonce le regroupement de la Commission administrative des régimes de retraite et d’assurances (« CARRA ») et de la Régie des rentes du Québec. La nouvelle entité regroupée portera dorénavant le nom de « Retraite Québec ».

Les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry continueront de suivre les développements pour ces projets de loi. N’hésitez pas à nous soumettre vos questions.