Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Ontario pension plans: Overview of recent changes to legislation

LinkedIn

NB Bulletins Vol. 18 N. 8, June 2015

Over the last year, several legislative changes have impacted pension plans registered with the Financial Services Commission of Ontario (FSCO). The purpose of this information bulletin is to present the key legislative amendments that recently came into effect in Ontario. It also aims to summarize the bills and regulations that should be introduced in the near future.

Legislative amendments adopted

1. Statement of Investment Policy and Procedures (SIPP)

  • Effective January 1, 2016, plan administrators registered in Ontario will be required to file their SIPP and SIPP amendments with FSCO.
     
  • Administrators must submit their initial SIPP within 60 days after January 1, 2016.
     
  • The SIPP will have to disclose whether environmental, social or governance factors were incorporated into the plan's investment policies and procedures, and, if so, include a description of how these factors were incorporated.
     

2. Biennial statements for retired and former members

  • Pension plan administrators must produce statements for retired and former members every two years.
     
  • For plans registered on or before January 1, 2015, the first statements must be sent no later than July 1, 2017.
     
  • For plans registered after January 1, 2015, statements must be sent within 18 months after the plan’s first fiscal year end.
     
  • Subsequent statements must be sent within two years of the delivery of the preceding statements, without exceeding six months after the plan's fiscal year end.
     

3. Additional disclosures on annual and biennial statements

  • Effective July 1, 2016, statements distributed to all members must include a statement indicating that the plan administrator must establish a SIPP and information about whether environmental, social and governance factors are incorporated into the SIPP.
     
  • Statements must also indicate that members can view a copy of the SIPP free of charge or receive a copy of it upon written request and payment of applicable fees.
     

4. Amendments to the federal legislation affecting Ontario pension plans

On March 25, 2015, amendments (including amendments to investment rules) to the Pension Benefits Standards Regulations, 1985 (the "federal regulations") were published in the Canada Gazette. Given that Ontario has incorporated these federal rules into its legislation, administrators of pension plans registered with FSCO are required to comply with these changes (including changes to the 10% investment rule and transactions with a related party) as of July 1, 2016.

For more information on this issue, please refer to our April 2015 bulletin on amendments to the federal regulations.

5. Pooled Registered Pension Plans (PRPPs)

In addition to the legislative amendments outlined above, it should be noted that the Pooled Registered Pension Plans Act, 2015 was assented to on May 28, 2015. This Act, which will come into force on the date set by the Lieutenant Governor, creates a framework for Ontario businesses to offer PRPPs to their employees, and makes PRPPs available to the self-employed. These plans offer a voluntary, low-cost, tax-assisted option for increasing retirement savings. The implementation of PRPPs is part of the government's commitment to strengthen retirement income security for Ontario workers.

It should be noted that participation in a PRPP is entirely voluntary for employers. When an employer decides to offer a PRPP, its employees are automatically enrolled into it but they have the right to opt out of the plan within 60 days of receiving notice of membership.

6. Multi-jurisdictional pension plans – deadline for filing amendments: December 31, 2015

Following the coming into force of new pension plan legislation in Alberta on September 1, 2014 and in British Columbia on September 30, 2015, Ontario pension plans with members in these two provinces have until December 31, 2015 to file with FSCO amendments to their plans in order to comply with these legislative changes. In recognition of the harmonized pension regulatory framework of these two provinces, Alberta has extended its deadline for filing amendments to December 31, 2015. No application is required to benefit from the extension of the filing deadline. Amendments impacting benefits of members of these provinces include:

  • The immediate vesting of benefits; and
     
  • Small benefit test is performed when commuted value is less than 20% of the Year’s Maximum Pensionable Earnings (YMPE) instead of annual pension being less than 4% of YMPE.

Proposed and upcoming amendments

1. Ontario Retirement Pension Plan (ORPP)

Our April 2015 bulletin informed you about the features of the ORPP and the issues identified by the Ontario government following the publication of a consultation paper. The government met with a broad range of stakeholders at the start of 2015 to obtain feedback on three key issues concerning the design of the design of the ORPP: the scope of the plan, the minimum earnings threshold and support for the self-employed.

The Ontario Retirement Pension Plan Act, 2015 (Bill 56) received royal assent on May 5, 2015. In addition to laying the foundation for the ORPP, the Act provides for the implementation of the ORPP by the government by January 1, 2017, but does not address the above-mentioned design concerns.

The only difference between the initial bill and the legislation passed pertains to the preparation of a cost-benefit analysis of the ORPP by December 31, 2015. Feedback from the consultation process that began in early 2015 demonstrated the complexity of certain ORPP design elements and the need for a more detailed analysis.

It should be noted that the Ontario Chamber of Commerce and a coalition of large Ontario employers are urging the government to broaden the definition of a comparable workplace pension plan to include capital accumulation plans, including (but not limited to) defined contribution plans (DC plans).

2. 2015 Ontario Budget

On April 23, 2015, the Ontario government presented its 2015 budget, which included several announcements regarding pension plans. The key announcements can be summarized as follows:

  • Establishment of the Ontario Retirement Pension Plan Administration Corporation: This professional and independent organization comprising nine to fifteen members appointed by the Lieutenant Governor will be responsible for operationalizing the ORPP, administering the plan and investing contributions.
     
  • Target Benefit Pension Plans: The government is reaffirming its commitment to develop a regulatory framework for target benefit multi-employer pension plans. The government will soon be publishing a consultation paper on this topic, which will prove useful in the subsequent development of a framework for single-employer target benefit pension plans.
     
  • Payment of variable benefits for DC plans: Proposed changes to the Pension Benefits Act would permit the payment of variable benefits to members and former members directly from DC plans. It should be noted that the federal government already amended the federal regulations for this purpose on March 25, 2015.
     
  • Contribution holidays and benefit improvements: In April 2015, the Ontario government tabled the following proposed amendments for consultation purposes:
    • If a plan has a transfer ratio or a going concern funded ratio of less than 85%:
      • Immediate funding of any amendments to bring the ratio up to 85%; and, if applicable,
      • Funding of the remaining cost of the amendment over no more than five years. 
    • If a plan has a transfer ratio or going concern funded ratio of 85% or above:
      • The cost of any amendments must be funded over no more than eight years on a going concern basis and no more than five years on a solvency basis.
    • Contributions can be reduced or suspended if this does not reduce the plan's transfer ratio below 105%.
       
  • Exemption to the 30% rule limiting pension plans' capacity to invest in Ontario infrastructure: On November 6, 2014, the Ontario government proposed an amendment to the regulations concerning the exemption to the 30% rule for investments in Ontario infrastructure. This rule limits the capacity to hold a large proportion of the voting shares of an infrastructure corporation. With the consultation period complete, regulations to this effect are being prepared.
     
  • Update of reporting requirements: In the summer of 2014, the government asked several stakeholders for their opinion on a project that would update the reporting requirements to take into account changes made to accounting standards. Following these consultations, the government is considering the following changes:
    • Increase from three to ten million dollars the asset threshold requiring the filing of an auditor's report on the plans' financial statements.
    • Find an alternative to the requirement to file audited pension fund financial statements.
    • Require DC plans to file an investment information summary.
    • Relax the requirement to provide detailed information on individual investments greater than 1% of the fair value of the pension fund.
       
  • Pension plan advisory committees: To further enhance transparency for pension plan members, the government will take steps to facilitate the establishment of advisory committees. The role of these committees will involve overseeing plan administration, making recommendations to the administrator concerning the plan and promoting the knowledge and understanding of the plan.
     
  • Public and parapublic sector pension plans:
    • The Ontario government intends to establish a legislative framework permitting single-employer pension plans (SEPPs) from the parapublic sector to be converted to jointly sponsored pension plans (JSPPs) or merged with existing JSPPs under certain conditions.
    • The government published a consultation paper on the proposed criteria for issuing funding and solvency deficit rules for the new public sector JSPPs.

Normandin Beaudry consultants will continue to monitor closely the progress of the legislative changes for pension plans registered in Ontario and will keep you informed of any future developments.

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Régimes de retraite en Ontario : survol des récentes modifications à la législation

LinkedIn

Communiqué NB, Vol 18 N. 8, juin 2015

 

Au cours de la dernière année, plusieurs changements législatifs ont affecté les régimes de retraite enregistrés auprès de la Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario (« CSFO »). Le présent communiqué vise à faire état des principales modifications législatives qui sont récemment entrées en vigueur en Ontario. Il veut également résumer les projets de lois et de règlements qui devraient voir le jour dans un avenir rapproché.

Modifications législatives adoptées

1. Énoncé des politiques et des procédures de placement (« EPPP »)

  • À compter du 1er janvier 2016, les administrateurs de régimes de retraite enregistrés en Ontario devront déposer leur EPPP, ainsi que toute modification à celui-ci, auprès de la CSFO;
     
  • Les administrateurs doivent soumettre leur EPPP initial au plus tard 60 jours après le 1er janvier 2016;
     
  • L’EPPP devra indiquer si des facteurs environnementaux, sociaux ou de gouvernance ont été intégrés aux politiques et procédures de placement du régime et la façon dont ils sont pris en compte, s’il y a lieu.
     

2. Relevés bisannuels pour les retraités et les anciens participants

  • Les administrateurs de régimes de retraite doivent produire des relevés pour les retraités et les anciens participants à chaque période de deux ans;
     
  • Pour les régimes enregistrés le 1er janvier 2015 ou avant, les premiers relevés doivent être envoyés au plus tard le 1er juillet 2017;
     
  • Pour les régimes enregistrés après le 1er janvier 2015, les relevés doivent être envoyés dans les 18 mois qui suivent la fin du premier exercice financier;
     
  • Par la suite, les relevés doivent être envoyés dans un délai de deux ans à compter du jour de la remise du relevé précédent, chacun des relevés devant toutefois être remis dans les six mois qui suivent la fin de l’exercice financier du régime.
     

3. Divulgations additionnelles sur les relevés annuels et bisannuels

  • Les relevés distribués à tous les participants à compter du 1er juillet 2016 devront inclure une déclaration indiquant que l’administrateur du régime doit établir un EPPP et préciser si des facteurs environnementaux, sociaux ou de gouvernance y sont intégrés;
     
  • Un énoncé devra aussi être ajouté aux relevés indiquant que les participants peuvent consulter sans frais une copie de l’EPPP du régime ou encore, en recevoir une copie à la suite d’une demande écrite et du paiement des frais applicables.
     

4. Modifications apportées au règlement fédéral touchant les régimes de retraite en Ontario

Le 25 mars 2015, des modifications au Règlement de 1985 sur les normes de prestation de pension (le « Règlement fédéral ») ont été publiées dans la Gazette du Canada, dont certaines portent sur les règles de placement. Étant donné que l’Ontario a intégré ces règles fédérales à même sa législation, les administrateurs de régimes de retraite enregistrés auprès de la CSFO sont tenus de respecter ces changements et ce, à compter du 1er juillet 2016, notamment relativement à la règle de placement du 10 % et aux transactions avec un apparenté.

Pour plus de renseignements à cet effet, veuillez vous référer à notre communiqué d’avril 2015 portant sur les modifications apportées au Règlement fédéral.

5. Régime de pension agréé collectif (« RPAC »)

En plus des modifications législatives énumérées ci-dessus, notons que la Loi de 2015 sur les régimes de pension agréés collectifs a été sanctionnée le 28 mai 2015. Cette loi, qui entrera en vigueur le jour fixé par le lieutenant-gouverneur, établit un cadre permettant aux entreprises ontariennes d'offrir un RPAC à leurs employés ainsi que de permettre aux travailleurs autonomes d’avoir accès à un tel régime. Ces régimes offrent une option volontaire, peu coûteuse et bénéficiant d'une aide fiscale pour accroître l'épargne-retraite. La mise en place du RPAC s’inscrit dans le cadre de l’engagement du gouvernement de sécuriser le revenu de retraite des travailleurs ontariens.

Notons que la participation à un RPAC est entièrement volontaire pour les employeurs. Lorsqu’un employeur décide d’offrir un RPAC, ses employés y sont inscrits automatiquement, mais ils ont le droit de se retirer 60 jours après avoir reçu un avis de participation.

6. Régimes de retraite relevant de plus d’une autorité gouvernementale – Date limite de dépôt des modifications : 31 décembre 2015

À la suite à l’entrée en vigueur de la nouvelle loi sur les régimes de retraite en Alberta, le 1er septembre 2014, et de celle entrant en vigueur le 30 septembre 2015 en Colombie-Britannique, les régimes de retraite ontariens comptant des participants dans ces deux provinces disposent d’un délai jusqu’au 31 décembre 2015 afin de déposer les modifications à leur régime devant la CSFO pour se conformer aux modifications apportées à ces lois. Afin de respecter l’harmonisation du contexte réglementaire applicable aux régimes de retraite de ces deux provinces, l’Alberta a remis au 31 décembre 2015 le délai pour le dépôt des modifications. Aucune demande n’est exigée pour bénéficier de cette prolongation du délai de dépôt. Les modifications affectant les droits des participants de ces provinces comprennent notamment :

  • L’acquisition immédiate des prestations; et
     
  • L’élimination du test de la rente inférieure à 4 % du maximum des gains admissibles (MGA) (le test se fait dorénavant uniquement sur la valeur de la prestation inférieure à 20 % du MGA).

Modifications envisagées ou à venir

1. Régime de retraite de la province de l’Ontario (« RRPO »)

Dans notre communiqué d’avril 2015, nous vous informions des caractéristiques du RRPO ainsi que des enjeux soulevés par le gouvernement de l’Ontario à la suite de la publication d’un document de consultation. Le gouvernement a d’ailleurs rencontré un large éventail d’intervenants au début de l’année 2015 dans le but de recevoir des commentaires sur trois grandes questions de conception du RRPO : la portée du régime, le seuil de revenu minimum ainsi que le soutien aux travailleurs autonomes.

Le 5 mai 2015, la Loi de 2015 sur le Régime de retraite de la province de l’Ontario (projet de loi 56) recevait la sanction royale. En plus de jeter les bases du RRPO, la loi prévoit la mise en place du RRPO par le gouvernement d'ici le 1er janvier 2017, mais ne traite pas des préoccupations de conception mentionnées ci-dessus.

Le seul élément qui diffère entre le projet de loi initial et la loi adoptée consiste en la préparation d’une analyse coûts-avantages du RRPO d’ici le 31 décembre 2015. En effet, les rétroactions issues du processus de consultation entamé au début de 2015 ont démontré la complexité de certains éléments de conception du RRPO ainsi que la nécessité d’une analyse plus approfondie.

Il est à noter que la Chambre de commerce de l’Ontario ainsi qu’une coalition d’employeurs ontariens importants pressent le gouvernement d'élargir la définition de régime de retraite comparable afin d’inclure les régimes d’accumulation de capital sans se limiter uniquement aux régimes de retraite à cotisations déterminées.

2. Budget de l’Ontario 2015

Le 23 avril dernier, le gouvernement de l’Ontario a présenté son budget de 2015. Plusieurs annonces relativement aux régimes de retraite y sont faites, dont les principales se résument ainsi :

  • Création de la Société d’administration du Régime de retraite de la province de l’Ontario : cet organisme professionnel et indépendant, composé de neuf à quinze membres nommés par le lieutenant-gouverneur, sera responsable de l’opérationnalisation et de l’administration du RRPO ainsi que de l’investissement des cotisations.
     
  • Régimes de retraite à prestations cibles : le gouvernement réitère son engagement à mettre de l’avant un cadre réglementaire pour les régimes à prestations cibles pour les régimes de retraite interentreprises. Le gouvernement publiera sous peu un document de consultation à ce sujet, ce qui aidera par la suite à élaborer un cadre qui régira les régimes de retraite à prestations cibles à employeur unique.
     
  • Versement de prestations variables pour les régimes à cotisations déterminées : des modifications proposées à la Loi sur les régimes de retraite permettraient aux régimes à cotisations déterminées de verser directement aux participants et anciens participants des prestations variables. Notons que le gouvernement fédéral a déjà modifié le Règlement fédéral à cet effet le 25 mars dernier.
     
  • Congés de cotisations et bonifications des prestations : en avril 2015, le gouvernement de l’Ontario a déposé, à des fins de consultation, des propositions de modifications, soit :
    • Pour un régime dont le ratio de transfert ou de capitalisation est inférieur à 85 % :
      • Financement immédiat de toute modification pour ramener le ratio à 85 %; et, s’il y a lieu,
      • Financement du solde du coût de la modification sur une période maximale de cinq ans
    • Pour un régime dont le ratio de transfert ou de capitalisation est supérieur ou égal à 85 %
      • Financement du coût de toute modification effectué sur une période maximale de huit ans selon l’approche de capitalisation et de cinq ans selon l’approche de solvabilité.
    • Réduction ou suspension permise des cotisations si cela n’a pas pour effet de réduire le ratio de transfert en deçà de 105 % 

 

  • Exemption  de la règle des 30 % limitant la capacité des régimes de retraite d’investir dans l’infrastructure ontarienne : le 6 novembre 2014, le gouvernement de l'Ontario avait proposé une modification de la réglementation relativement à l’exemption de la règle du 30 % quant aux investissements dans les infrastructures de l’Ontario. Cette règle limite la capacité de détenir une grande proportion des actions avec droit de vote d’une personne morale. La période de consultation étant achevée, un règlement à cet effet est en cours de préparation. 
     
  • Mise à jour des normes de déclaration : à l’été 2014, le gouvernement a demandé l’avis de plusieurs intervenants concernant un projet qui mettrait à jour les exigences de déclaration afin de tenir compte des modifications apportées aux normes comptables. À la suite de ces consultations, le gouvernement envisage les modifications suivantes :
    • Hausser le seuil des actifs à partir duquel un rapport d’audit doit être déposé concernant les états financiers d’un régime pour le faire passer de trois à dix millions de dollars;
    • Trouver une solution de remplacement à l’obligation de déposer des états financiers audités dans le cas des caisses de retraite;
    • Obliger les régimes à cotisations déterminées à déposer un sommaire des renseignements sur les placements;
    • Assouplir l’obligation de fournir des renseignements détaillés pour les placements individuels supérieurs à 1 % de la juste valeur de la caisse de retraite.
       
  • Comités consultatifs des régimes de retraite : afin d’accroître davantage la transparence pour les participants de régimes de retraite, le gouvernement prendra des mesures visant à faciliter la mise sur pied de comités consultatifs. Ces comités auront pour rôle de surveiller l’administration des régimes, de faire des recommandations à l’administrateur concernant le régime et de promouvoir la connaissance et la compréhension de celui-ci.
     
  • Régimes de retraite des secteurs publics et parapublics :
    • Le gouvernement de l’Ontario vise à établir un cadre législatif permettant la conversion de régimes de retraite à employeur unique (RREU) du secteur parapublic en régimes de retraite conjoints (RRC) ou leur fusion avec des RRC existants sous certaines conditions; 
    • Le gouvernement a publié un document de consultation sur les critères qu’il propose pour dispenser les nouveaux RRC du secteur public des règles de capitalisation du déficit de solvabilité.

Les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry continuent de suivre de près l’évolution des changements législatifs pour les régimes de retraite enregistrés auprès de la province de l’Ontario. Ils vous tiendront informés de tout développement futur.