Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Bill 28 passed - implications for group benefits plans

LinkedIn

NB Bulletins Vol. 18 N. 6, may 2015

A step in the right direction

The National Assembly passed Bill 28 on April 20, 2015. This bill includes a host of budget measures and numerous changes to different laws. Several of the measures announced impact directly or indirectly group benefits plans. The table below presents a summary of expected impacts on plans. 

The process is not complete…

Over the past few months, a public consultation exercise was completed in relation to Bill 28. As part of this exercise, several stakeholders from the insurance sector (including the Regroupement des assureurs de personnes à charte du Québec (RACQ) and the Canadian Life and Health Insurance Association (CLHIA)) expressed their views on the directions that the government should take on drug coverage. Normandin Beaudry consultants have also been focused on the elements necessary for ensuring the sustainability of group benefits plans.

The final content of Bill 28 was undoubtedly influenced by the actions taken by the industry to put forward the point of view of private plans. Although the final version of the bill is a step in the right direction from its original version, three key elements are still missing: 

  • Regarding drug costs, there is still no mechanism available to private plans to reduce the gap with the public plan. The last evaluation completed by private plan insurers indicates that drugs cost 17% more for insureds under private plans than for insureds of the Quebec public plan. 
  • Along with any other health professionals, including chiropractors, psychologists and dentists, private plan sponsors should be able to choose whether or not to cover the new medical services provided by pharmacists, and to determine the level of reimbursement if these services are covered. 
  •  Legislative barriers continue to prevent us from adequately guiding members to a pharmacy where the drug is the least expensive or from entering into agreements with a pharmacy chain to obtain lower drug costs. Quebec is the only province in which these barriers continue to exist.

Following the evaluation of the regulations that will be published by June 20, 2015, and the analysis of the impacts for our group benefits clients, we are examining the possibility of supporting a movement aimed at mobilizing plan sponsors to influence the government. The form and the specific objectives of this type of movement would need to be determined. If we want the government's next actions to protect the interest of plan sponsors to the same extent as those of the public plan, the real payers, plan sponsors and their members, should perhaps get involved to present their point of view.

Next steps

  • The government will deliver the regulations concerning the application of the legislation, which will allow us to determine the full impacts on plans. This step will be completed by June 20, 2015 and will also serve to establish fees for the new services provided by pharmacists. Stay tuned for our upcoming communications on this subject.
  •  If you want to learn more about the expected impacts on your plans or required adjustments to your plans, get in touch with your usual contact who will refer you to a Normandin Beaudry group benefits consultant. If you are a Normandin Beaudry group benefits client, your consultant will be contacting you directly in the coming weeks.

If you have questions or comments on this information bulletin, feel free to contact your Normandin Beaudry consultant.

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Projet de Loi 28 adopté - Des conséquences pour les régimes d'assurance collective

LinkedIn

Communiqué NB Vol. 18 N. 6, mai 2015

Un pas dans la bonne direction

Le 20 avril dernier, l’Assemblée nationale a adopté le projet de loi 28. Ce projet de loi inclut une foule de mesures budgétaires et de multiples changements à différentes lois. Parmi les mesures annoncées, plusieurs touchent les régimes d’assurance collective de façon directe ou indirecte. Le tableau suivant présente le sommaire des effets attendus sur les régimes. 

La marche n’est pas terminée…

Au cours des derniers mois, un exercice de consultation publique a été tenu, en lien avec le projet de loi 28. Dans le cadre de cet exercice, plusieurs intervenants du milieu des assurances se sont exprimés sur les orientations que devrait prendre le gouvernement dans la couverture des médicaments, incluant le Regroupement des assureurs de personnes à charte du Québec (RACQ) et l’Association canadienne des compagnies d’assurances de personnes (ACCAP). Les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry se sont également penchés sur les éléments nécessaires pour assurer la pérennité des régimes d’assurance collective.

Le contenu final du projet de loi 28 a certainement été influencé par les actions prises dans l'industrie visant à faire valoir le point de vue des régimes privés. Bien que la version finale du projet, par rapport à sa version originale, constitue un pas dans la bonne direction, trois éléments essentiels sont toujours manquants : 

  • En ce qui a trait aux coûts des médicaments, il n’y a toujours pas de mécanisme à la disposition des régimes privés pour réduire l’écart avec le régime public. La dernière évaluation faite par les assureurs indique que les médicaments coûtent 17 % plus cher pour les assurés des régimes privés que pour les assurés du régime public au Québec.
  • Au même titre que tout autre professionnel de la santé, comme les chiropraticiens, les psychologues ou les dentistes, la couverture des nouveaux actes médicaux prodigués par les pharmaciens devrait être au libre choix des promoteurs de régime privé et non obligatoire, tant pour l’admissibilité de ces frais dans le régime que pour le niveau de remboursement.
  • Les barrières législatives continuent de nous empêcher de guider adéquatement le participant vers une pharmacie où le coût du médicament est le moins cher, ou encore de conclure des ententes avec une chaîne de pharmacies pour obtenir des coûts de médicaments moins élevés. Ainsi, le Québec demeure la seule province où ces barrières subsistent.

À la suite de l’évaluation des règlements, qui seront publiés d’ici le 20 juin prochain, et de l’analyse des impacts pour nos clients en assurance collective, nous évaluerons la possibilité de soutenir un mouvement de mobilisation des promoteurs de régime dans le but d’influencer le gouvernement. La forme et les objectifs spécifiques d’un tel mouvement seraient à déterminer. Si nous souhaitons que les prochaines actions du gouvernement permettent de protéger les intérêts des régimes privés autant que ceux du régime public, les réels payeurs, les promoteurs de régime et leurs participants, devront peut-être s’impliquer pour faire valoir leur point de vue.

Prochaines étapes

  • Le gouvernement livrera les règlements d’application de la loi, ce qui nous permettra de prendre la pleine mesure des impacts sur les régimes. Cette étape sera franchie d’ici le 20 juin 2015, puisqu’elle viendra, entre autres, déterminer les tarifs des nouveaux actes médicaux des pharmaciens. Restez à l’affût de nos prochaines communications à cet effet.
  • Si vous désirez en savoir plus sur les effets à prévoir sur vos régimes ou sur les ajustements requis à vos régimes, communiquez avec votre contact habituel et il vous dirigera vers un conseiller en assurance collective chez Normandin Beaudry. Si vous êtes un client de Normandin Beaudry en assurance collective, votre conseiller communiquera directement avec vous dans les prochaines semaines.

Si vous avez des questions ou des commentaires quant au présent communiqué, communiquez avec votre conseiller Normandin Beaudry.