Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Amendments to the Pension Benefits Standards Regulations, 1985

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 18 N. 5, April 2015

On March 25, 2015, the final amendments to the Pension Benefits Standards Regulations, 1985 (the "Regulations") were published in the Canada Gazette.

The main objectives of these amendments are to improve the framework for defined contribution plans, enhance the disclosure of information and the protection of pension benefits for all plans, and modernize investment rules. The majority of the amendments detailed below will come into force on July 1, 2016. The other amendments take effect on April 1, 2015.

These amendments are the third and final set of measures announced in 2009 by the federal government to strengthen the legislative and regulatory framework applicable to federally regulated private pension plans. These amendments follow a series of amendments already introduced to the Pension Benefits Standards Act, 1985 (the "Act") and the Regulations.

Improve the framework for defined contribution plans

Variable benefits (April 1, 2015)


Since April 1, 2015, plans can offer members and former members (i.e. retirees, deferred members and members whose benefits have not been paid) of defined contribution pension plans to receive annual variable benefits paid directly by the plan ("variable benefits").

The amendments to the Regulations specify the maximum variable benefit amount for members aged 55 and over. The minimum amount is prescribed by the Income Tax Regulations. Starting at age 90, no maximum amount applies. The formula used is similar to that used for life income funds. Payment of variable benefits requires the spouse's prior consent, which is obtained through a form designed for this purpose.


Defined contribution plans offering members investment choices (July 1, 2016)

The Regulations require plan administrators to provide annual statements to members who have a defined contribution plan that offers investment choices ("member choice account"). This statement must include a description of each of the investment options offered that indicates:

  • its investment objective;
  • the type of investment and degree of risk associated with it;
  • its 10 largest asset holdings based on market value, each expressed as a percentage of the total assets;
  • its performance history;
  • that its past performance is not necessarily an indication of its future performance;
  • the benchmark that best reflects its composition;
  • the fees, levies and other charges associated with it that reduce return on investment expressed as a percentage or a fixed amount; and
  • its target asset allocation.

The Regulations also require the communication of a description of how the funds are currently invested and any timing requirements that apply to investment choices.

Enhance the disclosure of information and the protection of pension benefits

Annual statement for former members (July 1, 2016)


An annual statement must now be sent to former members (i.e. retirees, deferred members and members whose benefits have not been paid) and to their spouses or common-law partners.


New disclosure requirements (July 1, 2016)

The Regulations provide for new disclosure requirements for all annual statements.

For defined benefit pension plans, plan administrators must disclose:

  • the valuation date and the date of the next valuation;
  • the value and the description of the solvency ratio;
  • the total value of the plan's solvency assets and liabilities on the valuation date; and
  • the total employer payments made to the plan for the plan year.

As regards to defined benefit plans and the portion of assets that do not constitute a member choice account of defined contribution plans, the following information must be communicated:

  • a list of the 10 largest asset holdings based on market value, each expressed as a percentage of the total assets; and
  • the target asset allocation expressed as a percentage of the total assets.

Some additional disclosure requirements apply in relation to participants who opted to receive variable benefits.

Electronic communications (April 1, 2015)

The Act expressly states that administrators have the option of providing the required information in electronic form (via electronic communications) with the addressee's consent. The Regulations stipulate that this consent and its revocation can be given in writing, in paper or electronic form, or orally. Before the addressee gives his or her consent, the administrator must notify the addressee of the effective date of the consent and its revocable nature.

If the electronic documents are available on a generally accessible information system, such as a website, the administrator must provide to the addressee a written notice indicating the availability and location of the documents, and must also allow the addressee to keep these documents for future reference. The administrator must also ensure that the electronic document was received by the addressee. In case of doubt, the administrator must mail a paper version of the document to the addressee.

It should be noted that if electronic statements are currently used, the administrator must ensure compliance with these new rules.

Transfer of pension benefit credits to a prescribed savings plan (July 1, 2016)

For pension plans that allow for the transfer of pension benefit credits to a prescribed retirement savings plan (e.g.: a locked-in RRSP), once the individual is eligible for retirement, his or her spouse must provide consent for this transfer using the form designed for this purpose and included in a schedule of the Regulations.

Modernize the investment rules

Schedule III of the Regulations (permitted investments) sets out the rules applicable to investments for federally regulated pension plans. Please note that these rules also apply to plans in Ontario, British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan and Manitoba, because these provinces have integrated the federal rules into their legislation.

10% investment rule (July 1, 2016)

This rule prohibits administrators from investing or lending more than 10% of the "total book value" of the plan's assets in or to a single entity. The 10% limit is now based on the "total market value". In light of the clarifications made to the final amendments of the Regulations, we understand that this 10% limit must be respected when the transaction is completed, regardless of subsequent fluctuations in the market value of the investments targeted by the transaction. This limit does not require the administrator to divest itself of the investments targeted by the transaction if the market value exceeds the 10% limit once the transaction is complete.

In many cases, these amendments will require a revision of the Statement of Investment Policies and Procedures (SIPP).

For defined contribution plans, the administrator must ensure that the 10% limit is respected for member choice accounts.

Transactions with a related party (July 1, 2016)

Under certain conditions, the administrator is permitted to invest in the securities of a related party if the securities are held in an investment fund. "Related party" refers to a group of legal or natural persons who are linked to the pension plan (primarily the employer participating in the plan). The definition of investment fund was introduced in the Regulations to replace the definition of pooled funds and mutual funds, which are repealed.

These amendments repeal the exemption permitting the acquisition of the securities of a related party if the securities were acquired at a public exchange. They also prevent the administrator from investing plan assets directly or indirectly in the employer's securities. This new rule does not apply to administrators that retain the services of a related party for plan administration purposes, for example, by hiring a related party to act as a broker. Pension plan administrators that fail to satisfy the provisions concerning related parties will be given five years to comply with the related party rules.

Conclusion

By using July 1, 2016, as the effective date for most of the amendments to the Regulations, the federal government is giving pension plan administrators time to implement these new requirements. Some work can, however, be started now to align plan administration processes with the new rules before these rules take effect.

Please note that there are other amendments impacting the waiting period for the distribution of surplus assets, statements to be sent in the event of plan termination, negotiated contribution plans and pooled registered pension plans.
 

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Modifications apportées au Règlement de 1985 sur les normes de prestation de pension

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB, Vol 18 N. 5, avril 2015

Le 25 mars dernier ont été publiées dans la Gazette du Canada les modifications finales apportées au Règlement de 1985 sur les normes de prestation de pension (« Règlement »).

Ces modifications visent principalement à améliorer le cadre des régimes à cotisations déterminées, la divulgation des renseignements et la protection des prestations de retraite pour l’ensemble des régimes ainsi qu’à moderniser les règles de placement. La plupart des modifications détaillées ci-dessous entreront en vigueur le 1er juillet 2016; les autres modifications sont déjà en vigueur depuis le 1er avril dernier.

Ces modifications constituent le troisième et dernier volet des mesures annoncées en 2009 par le gouvernement fédéral visant à renforcer le cadre législatif et réglementaire applicable aux régimes de retraite privés sous juridiction fédérale. Ces modifications suivent une série d’amendements déjà apportés à la Loi de 1985 sur les normes de prestation de pension (« Loi ») et au Règlement.

Améliorer le cadre des régimes à cotisations déterminées

Prestations variables (1er avril 2015)


Depuis le 1er avril 2015, les régimes peuvent prévoir la possibilité pour les participants et les anciens participants (c.-à-d. les retraités, participants différés et participants dont les droits n’ont pas été acquittés) de régimes de retraite à cotisations déterminées de recevoir des prestations annuelles variables versées directement par le régime (« prestations variables »).

Les modifications apportées au Règlement prévoient le montant maximal des prestations variables pour les participants âgés de 55 ans et plus, le montant minimal étant fixé par le Règlement de l’impôt sur le revenu. À compter de l’âge de 90 ans, aucun plafond annuel n’est prévu. La formule utilisée est analogue à celle applicable aux fonds de revenu viager. Le versement des prestations variables requiert au préalable le consentement du conjoint, communiqué via un formulaire prévu à ce titre.


Régimes à cotisations déterminées offrant des choix de placement aux participants (1er juillet 2016)

Le Règlement prévoit désormais qu’un relevé annuel doit être transmis aux participants bénéficiant d’un régime à cotisations déterminées qui offre des choix de placement (« compte accompagné de choix »). Ce relevé doit comprendre une explication de chacune des options de placement offertes qui indique :

  • son objectif de placement
  • le type de placement et le niveau de risque afférent
  • les dix placements les plus importants compris dans l’option, selon la valeur marchande de chacun exprimée en pourcentage des actifs totaux
  • le rendement antérieur de l’option
  • le fait que le rendement antérieur de l’option n’est pas nécessairement une indication de son rendement futur
  • l’indice de référence qui reflète le mieux le contenu de l’option
  • les frais, prélèvements et autres dépenses liés à l’option qui réduisent le rendement des placements, exprimés en pourcentage ou sous la forme d’un montant forfaitaire
  • les cibles de répartition des actifs de l’option

Le Règlement requiert également que soient communiquées une explication de la manière dont les fonds sont investis ainsi qu’une indication des délais dans lesquels les choix doivent être effectués.

Améliorer la divulgation des renseignements et la protection des prestations de retraite

Relevé annuel aux anciens participants (1er juillet 2016)


Un relevé annuel devra désormais être transmis aux anciens participants (c.-à-d. les retraités, participants différés et participants dont les droits n’ont pas été acquittés) ainsi qu’à leur époux ou conjoint de fait.


Nouvelles divulgations obligatoires (1er juillet 2016)

Le Règlement prévoit de nouvelles divulgations obligatoires pour tous les relevés annuels.

Pour les régimes à prestations déterminées, devront être divulgués :

  • la date d’évaluation ainsi que la date de la prochaine évaluation
  • la valeur et la description du ratio de solvabilité
  • la valeur totale de l’actif de solvabilité et du passif de solvabilité du régime à la date d’évaluation
  • le total des paiements que l’employeur a versés au régime à l’égard de l’exercice

Pour les régimes à prestations déterminées et les régimes à cotisations déterminées, relativement à la portion des actifs qui ne constituent pas un compte accompagné de choix, devront être communiqués :

  • les dix actifs les plus importants, selon la valeur marchande de chacun exprimée en pourcentage des actifs totaux
  • la répartition des actifs cibles exprimée en pourcentage des actifs totaux

Certaines divulgations supplémentaires devront également être faites à l’égard des participants ayant choisi de toucher des prestations variables.

Communications électroniques (1er avril 2015)

La Loi prévoit expressément la possibilité pour l’administrateur de fournir l’information requise par le biais de communications électroniques lorsque le destinataire y consent. Le Règlement prévoit pour sa part que ce consentement et sa révocation peuvent être communiqués par écrit, au moyen d’un formulaire papier ou électronique, ou de vive voix. Avant que le destinataire ne donne son consentement, l’administrateur devra l’informer de la date d’effet de son consentement et du caractère révocable de ce dernier.

Si les documents électroniques sont disponibles sur un système d’information généralement accessible tel un site Web, l’administrateur doit fournir au destinataire un avis mentionnant la disponibilité des documents et leur emplacement; il doit également permettre au destinataire de conserver ces documents pour consultation future. Aussi, l’administrateur doit s’assurer que le document électronique a véritablement été reçu par le destinataire. S’il en doute, il doit en transmettre une version papier au destinataire par courrier.

Il est à noter que si des relevés électroniques sont actuellement utilisés, l’administrateur devra s’assurer du respect de ces nouvelles règles.

Transfert des droits à un régime d’épargne prescrit (1er juillet 2016)

Pour les régimes qui permettent le transfert des droits à un régime d’épargne retraite prescrit (par exemple : un REER immobilisé) après l’admissibilité à la retraite, ce transfert doit faire l’objet d’un consentement du conjoint communiqué via le formulaire prévu à cet effet en annexe du Règlement.

Moderniser les règles de placement

L’Annexe III du Règlement (placements admissibles) prévoit les règles applicables aux placements des régimes de retraite sous juridiction fédérale. Veuillez noter que ces règles s’appliquent également aux régimes de l’Ontario, de la Colombie-Britannique, de l’Alberta, de la Saskatchewan et du Manitoba, ces provinces ayant intégré les règles fédérales à même leur législation.

Règle de placement du 10 % (1er juillet 2016)

Cette règle interdisait aux administrateurs de placer dans une seule entité ou de prêter à celle-ci plus de 10 % de la « valeur comptable totale » de l’actif du régime. Or, la limite de 10 % se fonde désormais sur la « valeur marchande totale ». Suite aux précisions apportées aux modifications finales du Règlement, nous comprenons que c’est au moment de la transaction qu’il faut s’assurer du respect de cette limite de 10 %, sans égard aux fluctuations subséquentes de la valeur marchande des placements visés par cette transaction. Ainsi, cette limite n’obligerait pas l’administrateur à se départir des placements visés par cette transaction, advenant que la valeur marchande de ceux-ci dépasse le seuil de 10 % par la suite.

Ces modifications nécessiteront dans bien des cas une révision des énoncés des politiques et des procédures de placement des régimes de retraite.

Pour les régimes à cotisations déterminées, l’administrateur devra s’assurer que la limite de 10 % est respectée pour les comptes accompagnés de choix.

Transactions avec un apparenté (1er juillet 2016)

Il est permis à l’administrateur d’investir, à certaines conditions, dans les titres d’un apparenté si ceux-ci sont détenus dans un fonds de placement. La notion d’« apparenté » réfère à un ensemble de personnes, morales ou physiques, qui sont liées au régime de retraite, principalement l’employeur participant au régime. La définition de fonds de placement a pour sa part été introduite dans le Règlement pour remplacer les définitions de fonds communs et de fonds mutuels, désormais abrogées.

Ces modifications viennent abroger la dérogation permettant au régime d’acquérir les titres d’un apparenté si ceux-ci étaient acquis à la bourse. Elles ont aussi pour effet d’empêcher l’administrateur d’investir des actifs du régime directement ou indirectement dans les titres de l’employeur. Cette nouvelle règle ne vise pas l’administrateur qui fait appel aux services d’un apparenté aux fins de l’administration du régime, par exemple, en embauchant un apparenté pour qu’il agisse à titre de maison de courtage. Les administrateurs de régimes de retraite qui, au 1er juillet 2016, ne satisfont pas aux dispositions visant les apparentés ont cinq ans pour s’y conformer.

Conclusion

En prévoyant l’entrée en vigueur de la plupart des modifications apportées au Règlement au 1er juillet 2016, le gouvernement fédéral accorde un délai aux administrateurs de régimes de retraite pour mettre en œuvre ces nouvelles exigences. Certaines actions pourront néanmoins être entamées dès maintenant de façon à bien arrimer les processus d’administration des régimes avec ces nouvelles règles en prévision de leur entrée en vigueur.

Veuillez noter que d’autres modifications touchent également la période d’attente pour la répartition de l’excédent d’actif, les relevés à transmettre en cas de cessation du régime, les régimes à cotisations négociées ainsi que les régimes de pension agréés collectifs (RPAC).


 

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6