Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Ontario Retirement Pension Plan (ORPP)

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 18 N. 4, April 2015

Public consultations on Bill 56, An Act to require the establishment of the Ontario Retirement Pension Plan (ORPP), were recently held and ended in late March 2015. The purpose of this major bill is to create an additional savings instrument that will strengthen the current retirement income system for working Ontarians.

The ORPP would be a mandatory defined benefit (DB) pension plan in which more than three million Ontarians would be required to participate. The plan would target in particular individuals most at risk of not saving enough for retirement and those for which benefits provided by current public plans are not sufficient, i.e. middle-income workers.

The idea of increasing retirement benefits provided by public plans is not new. The Ontario government has been advocating for the enhancement of the Canada Pension Plan (CPP) since 2010, a proposal to which the federal government has always closed the door. Despite this, the Ontario government remains intent on potentially integrating the ORPP with the CPP in the future.

Brief overview of the ORPP

The key objectives and features of the ORPP, which would be administered by an independent government entity, are as follows:

  • Offer a predictable source of lifetime retirement income that is indexed to inflation.
  • Pool longevity and investment risk.
  • Provide for the mandatory enrolment of all eligible working Ontarians starting in 2017, excluding federally regulated workers and self-employed workers.
  • Allow Ontarians already enrolled in a comparable workplace pension plan to be exempt from participation.
  • Aim for a replacement rate equivalent to 15% of income before retirement up to a maximum annual threshold of $90,000 (in 2014 dollars).
  • Require equal employee and employer contributions of 1.9% of income.
  • Require benefits to be earned as contributions are paid to prevent the intergenerational transfer of funding costs.

Publication of a consultation paper

On December 17, 2014, the Ontario government released a consultation paper entitled "Ontario Retirement Pension Plan: Key Design Questions". The goal of this paper is to elicit feedback from business, labour, associations, experts and individuals on design aspects of the ORPP. In addition to the feedback obtained in relation to this document, public hearings were recently held (up to the end of March 2015) to gather additional feedback.

The consultation paper aimed to discuss three key issues concerning the implementation of the ORPP, while presenting the approach advocated by the government for each issue.

1- Definition of the concept of comparable workplace pension plan

Working Ontarians already participating in a workplace pension plan comparable to the ORPP would not be required to enrol in the ORPP. The Ontario government's preferred approach would be to define as a comparable plan "a DB pension plan or target benefit multi-employer pension plan".

The consultation paper asked stakeholders to determine whether or not other retirement savings instruments should be considered comparable. For example, the government wanted to know whether, under certain conditions, a defined contribution (DC) pension plan with a minimum contribution rate that would provide benefits similar to those provided under the ORPP should be considered a comparable plan.

This aspect is probably the element sparking the most debate. Several stakeholders indicated that a DC plan with total contributions at least equal to those required by the ORPP should be considered comparable. Other capital accumulation plans, such as group RRSPs and deferred profit sharing plans (DPSPs) could also be considered. However, could the fact that contributions to these plans are not locked-in (unlike contributions to traditional DC plans) prevent these plans from being considered to be comparable plans?

If capital accumulation plans, including DC plans, should not be considered comparable, sponsors of these plans will need to question the level of contributions paid to their plans, given the additional contribution of 1.9% that would be required of the employer and the employee by the ORPP.

2- Establishing a minimum earnings threshold

Ontarians whose income is below an established threshold would not be required to contribute to the ORPP. The Ontario government's preferred approach is to align the ORPP's annual lower-income threshold with that of the CPP at $3,500. The government believes that this approach would be beneficial because it would simplify administration for employers and would facilitate the ORPP's future integration with the CPP.

The consultation paper asked stakeholders to provide their views on the minimum earnings threshold. The government acknowledged that an earnings threshold above its preferred threshold would allow for a reduction in contributions for low-income workers and for which the benefits from existing public pension plans already replace a significant portion of income before retirement. However, for low-income individuals, eligibility for benefits from the ORPP could have an impact on future benefits from the Guaranteed Income Supplement.

3- Addressing the needs of the self-employed

The Ontario government stipulated that self-employed workers would not be able to participate in the ORPP under the current rules set forth by the Income Tax Act. The government is, however, searching for the best way to assist self-employed workers as they are often less well prepared financially at retirement than salaried workers.

Considerations

Several other issues must still be clarified, including the applicable treatment for temporary or part-time employees, or for employees subject to a waiting period for a comparable plan. Even though several details concerning the design of the ORPP need to be confirmed, the most important issue is without a doubt the definition of the concept of comparable workplace pension plan.

We must now await the conclusions of the Ontario government following the feedback received on the consultation paper and the opinions shared during the public hearing sessions that have just been completed.

The Normandin Beaudry consultants will continue to monitor closely the progress of the work on the ORPP and will keep you informed of future developments.
 

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Régime de retraite de la province de l’Ontario (RRPO)

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB, Vol 18 N. 4, avril 2015

Des séances de consultation publiques portant sur le projet de loi 56, Loi exigeant l’établissement du Régime de retraite de la province de l’Ontario (« RRPO »), ont été tenues récemment et ont pris fin en mars 2015. Ce projet de loi d’envergure vise la création d’un instrument d’épargne additionnel qui renforcera le système de revenu de retraite actuel pour les travailleurs de l’Ontario.

Le RRPO serait un régime de retraite obligatoire à prestations déterminées (« PD ») auquel plus de trois millions d’Ontariens devraient participer. Le régime viserait tout particulièrement les personnes les plus à risque de ne pas épargner suffisamment pour la retraite et celles dont les prestations prévues par les régimes publics actuels ne seront pas suffisantes, soit les travailleurs à revenu moyen.

L’idée d’augmenter les prestations de retraite provenant des régimes publics n’est pas nouvelle. Le gouvernement de l’Ontario revendique depuis 2010 la bonification du Régime de pensions du Canada (« RPC »), proposition à laquelle le gouvernement fédéral a toujours fermé la porte. Malgré cela, l’intention du gouvernement ontarien demeure une éventuelle intégration du RRPO au RPC.

Le RRPO en bref

Les principaux objectifs et caractéristiques du RRPO, lequel serait administré par une entité gouvernementale indépendante, se résumeraient comme suit :

  • Offrir une source prévisible de revenu de retraite à vie et indexé selon l’inflation;
  • Répartir les risques liés aux placements et à la longévité;
  • Prévoir l’adhésion obligatoire à compter de 2017 pour tous les travailleurs de l’Ontario qui sont admissibles, à l’exclusion de ceux des secteurs sous réglementation fédérale et des travailleurs autonomes;
  • Permettre une exception de participation pour les Ontariens qui souscrivent déjà à un régime de retraite d’employeur comparable;
  • Prévoir un taux de remplacement équivalant à 15 % du revenu avant la retraite jusqu’à concurrence d’un seuil annuel maximum de 90 000 $ (en dollars de 2014);
  • Exiger des cotisations égales des employés et des employeurs de 1,9 % des revenus;
  • Exiger que les prestations soient gagnées en fonction des cotisations versées de façon à éviter un transfert intergénérationnel des coûts de financement.

Publication d’un document de consultation

Le 17 décembre 2014, le gouvernement de l’Ontario publiait un document de consultation intitulé « Régime de retraite de la province de l’Ontario : Principales considérations liées à la conception » ayant comme objectif d’obtenir les points de vue des employeurs, syndicats, associations, experts et citoyens sur des aspects de la conception du RRPO. En plus des commentaires recueillis sur ce document, des séances de consultation publiques étaient tenues récemment jusqu’à la fin du mois de mars 2015 afin de récolter des commentaires additionnels.

Le document de consultation visait à débattre de trois grandes questions relatives à la mise en place du RRPO, tout en présentant l’approche préconisée par le gouvernement pour chacune d’elles.

1- Définition du concept de régime de retraite d’employeur comparable

Les travailleurs ontariens qui participent déjà à un régime de retraite d’employeur comparable au RRPO ne seraient pas tenus d’y adhérer. L’approche préconisée par le gouvernement de l’Ontario serait de définir comme régime comparable « un régime PD ou un régime interentreprises à prestations cibles ».

Le document de consultation invitait les intervenants à se prononcer si d’autres instruments d’épargne retraite devraient être considérés comme comparables. À cet égard, le gouvernement souhaitait savoir si, par exemple, sous certaines conditions, un régime à cotisations déterminées (« CD ») avec un taux de cotisation minimal permettant d’offrir des prestations similaires à celles du RRPO devrait être considéré comme étant comparable.

Cet aspect est sans doute l’élément clé suscitant le plus de débats. Plusieurs ont mentionné qu’un régime CD avec des cotisations totales au moins égales à celles exigées par le RRPO devrait être considéré comme comparable. D’autres régimes de capitalisation, tels les REER collectifs et les régimes de participation différée aux bénéfices (« RPDB ») pourraient également être ajoutés dans cette réflexion. Toutefois, est-ce que le caractère non immobilisé des cotisations pour ces régimes, contrairement aux régimes CD traditionnels, pourrait faire en sorte que ceux-ci ne soient pas considérés comme comparables?

Si les régimes de capitalisation, incluant les régimes CD, ne devaient pas être considérés comme étant comparables, les promoteurs de ces régimes auront à se questionner sur le niveau de cotisations versées à leurs régimes, étant donné la cotisation additionnelle de 1,9 % qui serait exigée de l’employeur et de l’employé par le RRPO.

2- Détermination d’un seuil de gains minimum

Le RRPO prévoit que les Ontariens dont le revenu est inférieur à un seuil déterminé ne seraient pas tenus d’y cotiser. L’approche préconisée par le gouvernement de l’Ontario est d’aligner le seuil du RRPO avec celui du RPC, soit un seuil annuel de 3 500 $. Cette approche serait avantageuse selon le gouvernement puisque d’une part, elle simplifierait l’administration pour les employeurs et d’autre part, elle faciliterait une éventuelle intégration du RRPO au RPC.

Le document de consultation invitait les intervenants à se prononcer sur le niveau du seuil de gains minimum. À cet égard, le gouvernement reconnaît qu’un seuil de gains supérieur à celui qu’il préconise permettrait de réduire les cotisations pour les travailleurs à faibles revenus et pour lesquels les prestations des régimes de retraite publics existants remplacent déjà une portion importante du revenu avant la retraite. Toutefois, pour les personnes à faibles revenus, l’admissibilité à une prestation du RRPO pourrait avoir un impact sur les prestations éventuelles du Supplément de revenu garanti.

3- Sécuriser la retraite des travailleurs autonomes

Le gouvernement de l’Ontario a stipulé que les travailleurs autonomes ne pourraient participer au RRPO en vertu des règles actuelles prévues par la Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu. Néanmoins, le gouvernement cherche à trouver la meilleure façon de venir en aide aux travailleurs autonomes, puisqu’ils seraient souvent moins bien préparés financièrement à la retraite que les travailleurs salariés.

Considérations

Plusieurs autres enjeux restent à être précisés, notamment le traitement applicable pour des employés temporaires ou à temps partiel, ou encore pour des employés en période d’attente d’adhésion au régime comparable. Toutefois, bien que plusieurs détails entourant la conception du RRPO doivent être confirmés, l’élément le plus important est sans doute la définition du concept de régime de retraite d’employeur comparable.

Reste maintenant à savoir quelles seront les conclusions du gouvernement de l’Ontario à la suite des commentaires sur le document de consultation et des opinions partagées lors des séances publiques venant tout juste de se terminer.

Les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry continuent de suivre de près l’évolution des travaux entourant le RRPO et vous tiendront informés des développements futurs.
 

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6