Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Bill 57 receives royal assent

LinkedIn

NB Bulletin Vol. 18 N. 15, December 2015

Following the parliamentary committee sessions that took place on October 27 and 28, 2015, Bill 57, An act to amend the Supplemental Pension Plans Act mainly with respect to the funding of defined benefit pension plans (Bill 57), received royal assent on November 26, 2015.

Last June, we issued a bulletin presenting the key measures of Bill 57 and their impacts on pension plans. This bulletin presents key details and outlines the main differences in comparison with the bill. It is important to note that several of the measures introduced will be clarified in the implementing regulations that will be published at a later date.

Frequency of actuarial valuations

A full actuarial valuation must be completed every three years, or annually if the plan's funded ratio is below 90%. The solvency actuarial valuation is thus no longer used to determine the frequency of actuarial valuations.

Stabilization provision

The stabilization provision target level will be determined using a scale prescribed in the regulations. This scale could be based on the proportion of assets invested in variable-income securities, but also on other criteria that remain to be specified.

Special accounting of certain contributions ("banker's clause")

In addition to employer amortization payments, employer contributions made "in excess of the required contributions" will also be recorded in a banker's clause.

A plan may provide that active members fund a portion of the technical deficiencies and stabilization deficiencies. In this case, employee contributions for deficiencies will also be recorded in a separate banker's clause. Priority regarding the use of available surpluses is therefore given to employee and employer banker's clauses, in proportion to their respective accumulated balance.

Annuity purchases

The implementing regulations to be published will specify the funding requirements in relation to annuity purchases used as final payment of benefits. When these requirements are not met, a special annuity purchase contribution will be required. The basis for determining this special contribution will also be clarified in the regulations.

A partial actuarial valuation as at the annuity purchase date (first payment) must be completed within four months of the agreement with the insurer.

Finally, Bill 57 provided that the members and beneficiaries affected by a payment through an annuity purchase would retain their surplus entitlement in the event of termination of the plan within three years of the annuity purchase. It also specifies that members and beneficiaries also retain their status as members or beneficiaries under the plan during this time period in the event of employer bankruptcy and plan termination.

Use of surpluses while the plan is ongoing

While the plan is ongoing, the "available surplus" must be used first to grant an employer and employee contribution holiday, if applicable, up to the balance of the respective banker's clauses.

The conditions regarding the use of the "available surplus" proposed by Bill 57 were adjusted accordingly, and the pension committee's obligation to issue a notice on any use of surplus assets was eliminated.

Use of surpluses in the event of termination

The obligation to change or confirm clauses on the use of surpluses in the event of termination by January 2017 was eliminated, as well as the default provisions set forth by Bill 57.

In the event of termination of the plan, the surplus after the payment of all accrued benefits is used first to repay the employer and employee banker's clauses, if applicable.

The surplus balance, if applicable, is then used in accordance with the plan provisions in effect as at December 31, 2015.

Further clarification

The Bill also stipulates that a plan can provide for the payment of 100% of the entitlements for members whose active membership ends even if the solvency ratio is below 100%. In this case, the balance must be paid to the plan by the employer immediately or within five years of the payment to the member.

Bill 57 announced the elimination of the additional pension benefit. This benefit was introduced in 2001 in all pension plans in Quebec to provide partial coverage against inflation before retirement for members who were receiving a transfer value. The Bill stipulates that plans providing for indexing of the deferred annuity can eliminate the portion equal to the additional pension benefit.

The internal by-laws must provide for the measures to be taken to manage risks. They must now also provide for the measures to be taken to quantify risks.

Pension plan administration turned over to the Régie

Following numerous requests made during the parliamentary committee sessions, the Bill reinstates, for retirees affected by a plan termination, the option of entrusting the administration of their pension to the Régie des rentes du Québec. In the event of plan termination or the withdrawal of an employer participating in a multi-employer pension plan, resulting from an employer bankruptcy, retired members could entrust the administration of their pension to the Régie. However, it is specified that no guarantee applies and that the pensions could be reduced based on the assets available at the time of the annuity purchase at the expiry of a maximum period of 10 years.

Next steps

With these important changes to the funding rules for pension plans, including the elimination of solvency funding, risk management will play a key role in pension plan management in the years ahead.

Several things must be clarified by the regulations that should be published shortly. However, we already know that the different pension plan stakeholders must take action in the coming months. More specifically, they must:

Pension committee

  • Have an actuarial valuation prepared as at December 31, 2015, taking into account the funding policy.
  • Amend the internal by-laws to add the quantification of risks, after first completing the critical reflection process.
  • Amend the investment policy to reflect the funding policy.

Plan sponsor

  • Establish the plan's funding policy.
  • Amend the plan text to provide for the elimination of the additional pension benefit (or its equivalent), to introduce the concepts of banker's clauses and to include separate sections on surplus provisions.
  • Determine the payment conditions for termination of active membership.


The Normandin Beaudry consultants will continue to monitor developments relating to Bill 57 and will notify you as soon as the regulations have been published. Please feel free to send us your questions.

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Sanction du projet de loi 57

LinkedIn

Communiqué NB Vol. 18 N. 15, décembre 2015

À la suite de la commission parlementaire tenue les 27 et 28 octobre 2015, le projet de loi 57, intitulé « Loi modifiant la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite principalement quant au financement des régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées » (« PL57 »), a été sanctionné le 26 novembre dernier.

En juin dernier, nous avions diffusé un communiqué présentant les principales mesures du PL57 et leurs effets sur les régimes de retraite. Le présent communiqué vous informe des précisions importantes et des principales différences avec le projet de loi. Il est important de noter que plusieurs des mesures introduites seront précisées par un règlement d’application, dont la publication est à venir.

Fréquence des évaluations actuarielles

Une évaluation actuarielle complète est requise tous les trois ans, mais elle doit être effectuée sur une base annuelle si le degré de capitalisation du régime est inférieur à 90 %. L’évaluation actuarielle sur base de solvabilité n’est ainsi plus utilisée pour déterminer la fréquence des évaluations actuarielles.

Provision de stabilisation

Le niveau visé de la provision de stabilisation sera établi selon une grille prescrite par règlement. Cette grille pourrait être basée sur la proportion des actifs investis en titres à revenu variable, mais aussi sur d’autres critères, toujours à préciser.

Comptabilisation particulière de certaines cotisations (« clause banquier »)

En plus des cotisations patronales d’équilibre, les cotisations patronales versées « en excédent de celles requises » seront également comptabilisées dans la clause banquier. 

Un régime peut prévoir que les participants actifs financent une part des déficits techniques et des déficits de stabilisation. Dans ce cas, les cotisations salariales d’équilibre versées seront également comptabilisées dans une clause banquier distincte. La priorité d’utilisation des surplus disponibles est ainsi attribuée aux clauses banquiers salariales et patronales, en proportion de leur solde accumulé respectif.

Achat de rentes

Le règlement d’application à être publié viendra préciser les exigences de financement imposées aux achats de rentes utilisés comme acquittement final des prestations. Lorsque ces exigences ne seront pas rencontrées, une cotisation spéciale d’achat de rentes sera requise. La base de détermination de cette cotisation spéciale sera également précisée par règlement.

Aussi, une évaluation actuarielle partielle à la date de l’achat de rentes (premier versement) devra être complétée dans les 4 mois suivant l’entente avec l’assureur.

Finalement, le PL57 prévoyait que les participants et bénéficiaires visés par un acquittement par achat de rentes conservaient leur droit au surplus en cas de terminaison du régime dans les trois années suivant l’achat de rentes. La loi vient préciser que ces participants et bénéficiaires demeurent également liés au régime pendant cette période en cas de faillite de l'employeur et de terminaison du régime.

Utilisation des surplus en cours d’existence du régime

En cours d’existence du régime, le « surplus disponible » doit être utilisé de façon prioritaire pour accorder un congé de cotisation patronale et salariale, le cas échéant, jusqu’à concurrence du solde des clauses banquiers respectives. 

Les conditions d’utilisation du solde du « surplus disponible » proposées par le PL57 ont été adaptées en conséquence, et l’obligation pour le comité de retraite de transmettre un avis concernant toute utilisation de surplus a été éliminée.

Utilisation des surplus en cas de terminaison

L’obligation de modifier ou confirmer les clauses d’utilisation de surplus en cas de terminaison d’ici janvier 2017 a été éliminée, de même que les dispositions par défaut que prévoyait le PL57.

En cas de terminaison du régime, le surplus après l’acquittement de toutes les prestations acquises est utilisé, de façon prioritaire, pour le remboursement des clauses banquiers patronales et salariales, le cas échéant. 

Le solde du surplus, s’il y a lieu, est ensuite utilisé selon les dispositions du régime en vigueur au 31 décembre 2015.

Autres précisions

La loi précise également qu’un régime peut prévoir l'acquittement à 100 % des droits à la cessation d’un participant, même si le degré de solvabilité est inférieur à 100 %. Dans un tel cas, le solde doit être versé au régime par l'employeur, immédiatement ou dans les cinq ans suivant le remboursement au participant.

Le PL57 annonçait l’élimination de la prestation additionnelle. Cette prestation avait été introduite en 2001 dans tous les régimes de retraite au Québec afin d’offrir une protection partielle contre l’inflation avant la retraite pour les participants qui recevaient une valeur de transfert. La loi vient préciser que les régimes prévoyant une indexation de la rente différée pourront éliminer la portion équivalente à la prestation additionnelle.

Le règlement intérieur devait prévoir les mesures à prendre pour gérer les risques. Il est maintenant ajouté qu’il doit également prévoir les mesures à prendre pour les quantifier.

Retour de l’administration des rentes par la Régie

À la suite des nombreuses demandes formulées en commission parlementaire, la loi remet en vigueur, pour les retraités visés par une terminaison de régime, l'option de confier l’administration de leur rente à la Régie des rentes du Québec. En effet, dans un cas de terminaison de régime, ou de retrait d’un employeur participant à un régime interentreprises, découlant d’une faillite de l’employeur, les participants retraités pourront confier l’administration de leur rente à la Régie. Toutefois, il est précisé qu’aucune garantie n’est applicable et que les rentes pourraient ainsi être réduites en fonction des actifs disponibles au moment de l’achat de rentes à l’expiration d’une période maximale de 10 ans.

Prochaines étapes

Avec ces changements importants aux règles de financement des régimes de retraite, notamment avec l’élimination du financement de la solvabilité, la gestion des risques occupera une place centrale dans la gestion des régimes de retraite pour les années à venir.

À ce jour, plusieurs éléments doivent être précisés par le règlement qui devrait être publié prochainement. Cependant, nous savons déjà que les divers intervenants des régimes de retraite devront prendre action dans les mois à venir, pour, notamment :

Comité de retraite

  • Faire préparer l’évaluation actuarielle au 31 décembre 2015 en tenant compte de la politique de financement
  • Modifier le règlement intérieur pour ajouter la quantification des risques et tenir les réflexions essentielles à cette fin
  • Modifier la politique de placement afin de refléter la politique de financement

Promoteur des régimes

  • Établir la politique de financement du régime
  • Modifier le texte du régime pour prévoir l’élimination de la prestation additionnelle (ou de son équivalent), pour introduire les concepts de clauses banquiers et pour prévoir des sections distinctes portant sur les dispositions de surplus
  • Déterminer les conditions d'acquittement pour les cessations de participation


Les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry continueront de suivre les développements de cette loi et vous tiendront informés dès la publication du règlement. N’hésitez pas à nous soumettre vos questions.