Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Quebec survey on salary increases

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 18 N. 12, September 2015

Access full report (available in French only).

2015-2016 highlights

Normandin Beaudry's annual survey on salary increases reveals that Quebec salaries are expected to increase by 2.7% in 2016. Salary structures are expected to increase by an average of 1.8%.

The uncertain economic outlook for 2016 and the current economic contraction are causing organizations to be cautious. The final budget of 2.7% granted for 2015 was lower than the initial forecast of budget of 2.9%. 

Small businesses are more generous

Once again this year, small businesses are setting themselves apart from the market by forecasting salary increase budgets above the provincial average (between 2.8% and 3.1% on average). 

Large businesses are the most cautious with forecasts below the Quebec average (2.6%). Forecasts for 2016 for organizations of all sizes are aligned with the increases granted in 2015. In addition to being the most cautious for 2016, large businesses granted salary increases that were lower than what they had forecasted last year. 

Lower budgets for Quebec City

For the first time in five years, organizations from Quebec City are forecasting salary increases that are lower than those for organizations from Montreal. This difference is more pronounced for technical, administrative and operations personnel. 

  • Quebec City (projected for 2016: 2.4%, granted in 2015: 2.8%);
  • Montreal (projected for 2016: 2.7%, granted in 2015: 2.7%).

Differences among industry sectors

Some industry sectors set themselves apart with forecasts higher than the provincial average. These sectors include durable goods manufacturing (3.0%), high technology (3.3%), professional, scientific and technological services (2.9%), the information, culture and recreation industry (3.1%) and the municipal sector (2.9%).

Conversely, some sectors are well below the provincial average. These sectors include transportation and warehousing (1.5%) and education (1.4%). It should be noted that the education sector was the most optimist sector last year with forecasts of 4.2%. In the end, average budgets of 2.0% were granted in this sector for 2015. 

Unlike the last two years, salary increase forecasts for privately owned organizations are higher (2.7%) than those for public and parapublic organizations (2.3%).

Quebec organizations with nationwide operations are below the Quebec average 

Quebec organizations with nationwide operations (n=45) expect to grant increases lower than the Quebec average of 2.6%. For the most part, these organizations have stable budgets across the provinces. It is therefore not surprising that the percentages are similar from one province to another, due to uniform policies across provinces of employment. Below are some observations drawn from the sample: 

  • 68% of organizations granted equal salary increase budgets for all provinces in 2015. 
  • 90% of organizations granted the same salary structure increase in 2015, and 98% expect to do the same in 2016.

Pension plans and salary increases: a winning combination

An analysis of the pension plans for organizations that participated in the survey showed that, despite excellent employee participation rates (90% for more than half of the organizations), contribution levels vary greatly from one organization to another. For more than 60% of the organizations surveyed, the average contribution level is less than 10% of the employee's salary, which may not be sufficient for meeting the retirement income target for the majority of employees. Faced with the challenge of increasing participation and contribution rates, more and more organizations are using the salary increase period to encourage employees to save more. Why not use the next salary increase to promote retirement savings? 

About the survey

The fifth edition of the Quebec survey on salary increases was conducted in the summer of 2015. A total of 160 organizations, including 45 with nationwide operations, representing more than 440 000 employees completed this survey, allowing us to build a reliable database. The data collected was analyzed by Normandin Beaudry's compensation specialists to identify market trends and present salary forecasts for 2016 that reflect the economic conditions specific to Quebec organisations.

For more information about the survey, contact:

 

Anna Potvin, M.Sc.
Consultant, Compensation
apotvin@normandin-beaudry.ca

514 285-1122 #624
Philip Longpré, B. Sc. Act., CEBS, CRHA
Senior Consultant, Compensation
plongpre@normandin-beaudry.ca

514 285-1122 #240
 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

L'enquête québécoise sur les augmentations salariales

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 18 N. 12, septembre 2015

 


Faits saillants 2015-2016
 

L’enquête annuelle   de Normandin Beaudry sur les prévisions salariales révèle un budget global d’augmentations salariales estimé à 2,7 % pour l’année 2016. L’augmentation des structures salariales, quant à elle, est estimée en moyenne à 1,8 %.

Les perspectives incertaines pour 2016 et le contexte de contraction économique incitent les organisations à la prudence. Le budget de 2,7 % accordé pour 2015 représente une baisse par rapport au budget de 2,9 % prévu l’an dernier à pareille date.
 

Les petites organisations plus généreuses

Cette année encore, les petites organisations se démarquent du reste du marché en prévoyant des budgets d’augmentations salariales supérieurs à la moyenne provinciale (en moyenne entre 2,8 % et 3,1 %).

On remarque que ce sont les grandes organisations qui sont les plus prudentes avec des prévisions inférieures à la moyenne québécoise (2,6 %). Peu importe la taille des organisations, les prévisions pour 2016 sont alignées avec les augmentations accordées en 2015. En plus d’être les plus prudentes pour 2016, les grandes organisations ont finalement accordé en 2015 des augmentations salariales inférieures à ce qu’elles prévoyaient à pareille date l’an dernier.

Baisse des budgets pour la Capitale-Nationale

Pour la première fois depuis cinq ans, les organisations de la Capitale-Nationale prévoient des augmentations salariales inférieures aux organisations de Montréal. Cette différence est plus marquée pour le personnel technique, administratif et d’opérations.

  • Capitale-Nationale (prévu 2016 : 2,4 % et accordé 2015 : 2,8 %);
  • Montréal (prévu 2016 : 2,7 % et accordé 2015 : 2,7 %).

Différences entre les secteurs d’activité

Certains secteurs d’activité se démarquent en proposant des budgets d’augmentations salariales supérieurs à la moyenne provinciale, notamment les secteurs de la fabrication de biens durables (3,0 %), des hautes technologies (3,3 %), des services professionnels, scientifiques et techniques (2,9 %), l’industrie de l’information, culture et loisirs (3,1 %) et le secteur municipal (2,9 %).

À l’inverse, certains secteurs sont significativement inférieurs à la moyenne provinciale. C’est le cas des secteurs du transport et de l’entreposage (1,5 %) et de l’enseignement (1,4 %). À noter que le secteur de l’enseignement était le plus généreux l’an dernier avec des prévisions de l’ordre de 4,2 % pour 2015. Toutefois, ce sont finalement des budgets moyens de 2,0 % qui ont été accordés en 2015 dans ce secteur.

Contrairement aux deux dernières années, les organisations à propriété privée disposent d’un budget d’augmentations salariales supérieur (2,7 %) aux secteurs public et parapublic (2,3 %).

Les organisations québécoises avec des activités pancanadiennes sous la moyenne au Québec

Les organisations québécoises avec des activités pancanadiennes (n=45) prévoient accorder en moyennes des pourcentages d’augmentation inférieurs au Québec (2,6 %). Ces organisations ont, pour la plupart, des budgets stables à travers les provinces. Il n’est donc pas étonnant que les pourcentages soient similaires d’une province à l’autre, puisque les politiques salariales sont généralement uniformes dans les organisations, peu importe la province d’emploi. Voici quelques observations tirées de l’échantillon :

  • 68 % des organisations ont accordé des budgets d’augmentations salariales équivalents à travers les provinces en 2015.
  • 90 % des organisations ont accordé le même pourcentage d’augmentation de la structure salariale en 2015 et 98 % prévoient faire de même en 2016.

Régimes de retraite et augmentation salariale, une combinaison gagnante!

L’analyse des régimes de retraite des organisations ayant participé à l’enquête démontre que malgré d’excellents taux de participation des employés (taux de participation supérieur à 90 % pour plus de la moitié des organisations), le niveau de cotisations varie grandement d’une organisation à l’autre. Pour plus de 60 % des organisations sondées, le niveau moyen de cotisations est inférieur à 10 % du salaire, ce qui pourrait s’avérer insuffisant pour procurer le revenu de retraite visé par une majorité d’employés. Face à ces défis visant à augmenter les taux de participation et de cotisation, de plus en plus d’organisations utilisent la période des augmentations salariales pour encourager une épargne additionnelle chez les employés. Profiter de la prochaine augmentation salariale pour encourager l’épargne, pourquoi pas?

À propos de l’enquête

La 5édition de l’enquête québécoise sur les augmentations salariales a été menée au cours de l’été 2015. Ce sont 160 organisations, dont 45 ayant des activités pancanadiennes, représentant plus de 440 000 employés qui ont participé, permettant d’établir une base de données fiable et riche en information. Les données recueillies ont été analysées par les experts en rémunération de Normandin Beaudry. Ceux-ci en dégagent les tendances du marché du travail et présentent les prévisions salariales pour 2016 selon les réalités économiques particulières du Québec.

Pour plus de détails à propos de l'enquête, communiquez avec :
 

Anna Potvin, M.Sc.    
Conseillère, Rémunération
apotvin@normandin-beaudry.ca
514 285-1122 #624
Philip Longpré, B. Sc. Act., CEBS, CRHA
Conseiller principal, Rémunération
plongpre@normandin-beaudry.ca
514 285-1122 #240

   


 

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6