Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Ontario Retirement Pension Plan (ORPP): comparable plans defined

LinkedIn

NB Bulletins Vol. 18 N. 11, August 2015

On August 11, 2015, Ontario Premier Kathleen Wynne announced additional details on the Ontario Retirement Pension Plan (ORPP), including what defines a comparable workplace pension plan. The ORPP is a new Ontario pension plan aimed at helping working Ontarians who do not have a workplace pension plan. 

The ORPP was first introduced as Bill 56, An Act to require the establishment of the Ontario Retirement Pension Plan, and was the subject of public hearings held up to the end of March 2015. We informed you about the key objectives and features of the ORPP in our April 2015 bulletin. Bill 56 received royal assent on May 5, 2015, providing for the establishment of the ORPP by the government by January 1, 2017 (see our June 2015 bulletin). At that time, the main design concerns had not been addressed, including the definition of a comparable workplace pension plan that could exempt employers from participation in the ORPP. 

Comparable workplace pension plan

Employers that offer their employees a comparable pension plan will not be required to participate in the ORPP. Employers offering a defined benefit or defined contribution plan could be exempt provided that they meet the ORPP's comparability test. Outlined below are the criteria that must be met according to plan type.

1- Defined benefit (DB) plan

a. Be registered and subject to provincial and federal regulations
b. Have an annual benefit accrual rate of at least 0.5%
c. Provide for the required employer contributions

2- Defined contribution (DC) plan

a. Be registered and subject to provincial and federal regulations
b. Provide for locked-in contributions
c. Have a minimum annual contribution rate of 8%
d. Provide for employer contributions of at least 50% of the total minimum contribution (at least 4%)

Other pension plans, such as hybrid plans, could also be deemed comparable and thus be exempt from the ORPP. Ontario has developed conversion tools that will allow for the comparability test to be completed.

Despite the pressure to expand the definition of comparable workplace plan to include capital accumulation plans and not just defined contribution pension plans, capital accumulation plans, such as Group RRSPs and deferred profit-sharing plans (DPSPS), will not pass the government's comparability test.

Employers offering comparable plans must also take the time to analyse their plan's structure and provisions, particularly those concerning eligibility and enrolment. For example, provisions for a waiting period before enrolment in the plan or optional participation could result in some employees not being covered, and could require them to enrol in the ORPP. 

Phased enrolment

Enrolment and contribution levels will be implemented in a phased-in approach from January 1, 2017 to January 1, 2019, starting with larger organizations. Employers already offering a pension plan that could be comparable with the ORPP, but requires a few changes, will have until January 1, 2020 to comply. The table below illustrates this phased enrolment by wave.

Source: Ontario Ministry of Finance

Subject to approval by the Legislative Assembly, the ORPP would be implemented on January 1, 2017 and benefits payments would start in 2022. Although some employers may be exempt from participation in the ORPP, others will need to reflect on the direction they want to take.  

The Normandin Beaudry consultants will continue to monitor this subject closely and will keep you informed of any developments. Feel free to contact them should you have any questions.

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Régime de retraite de la province de l’Ontario (RRPO) : les régimes comparables définis

LinkedIn

Communiqué NB, Vol 18 N. 11, août 2015

Le 11 août dernier, la première ministre de l'Ontario, Kathleen Wynne, présentait des détails additionnels sur le Régime de retraite de la province de l’Ontario (RRPO), dont la définition du concept de régime de retraite d’employeur comparable. Rappelons que le RRPO est un nouveau régime de retraite ontarien visant à aider les travailleurs de l’Ontario qui ne bénéficient pas d’un régime de retraite au travail.

Le RRPO a d’abord vu le jour dans le projet de loi 56, Loi exigeant l’établissement du Régime de retraite de la province de l’Ontario, pour ensuite faire l’objet de séances de consultation publiques jusqu’à la fin mars 2015. Nous vous avions alors informés des principaux objectifs et caractéristiques du RRPO dans notre communiqué d’avril 2015. Le 5 mai 2015, la Loi exigeant l’établissement du Régime de retraite de la province de l’Ontario recevait la sanction royale et prévoyait alors la mise en place du RRPO par le gouvernement d’ici le 1er janvier 2017 (voir notre communiqué de juin 2015). À ce moment, les principales préoccupations de conception n’avaient pas été adressées, dont la définition de régime de retraite comparable qui pourrait faire en sorte qu’un employeur soit exempté de l’application de cette loi.

Régime de retraite d’employeur comparable

Les employeurs offrant à leurs employés un régime de retraite comparable ne seront pas tenus de participer au RRPO. Un employeur offrant un régime de retraite à prestations déterminées ou à cotisations déterminées pourrait être exempté, à condition de satisfaire un test de comparabilité avec le RRPO. Voici les critères qui devront être respectés, selon le type de régime.

1- Régime à prestations déterminées (PD)

a. Être enregistré et assujetti aux règlements provinciaux et fédéraux
b. Avoir un taux d’accumulation de rente minimal de 0,50 %
c. Prévoir des cotisations requises de la part de l’employeur

2- Régime à cotisations déterminées (CD)

a. Être enregistré et assujetti aux règlements provinciaux et fédéraux
b. Prévoir des cotisations immobilisées
c. Avoir un taux de cotisation annuel minimal de 8 %
d. Prévoir des cotisations d’au moins 50 % du taux minimal de la part des employeurs (4 %)

D’autres régimes de retraite, dont les régimes hybrides, pourraient également être reconnus comme régimes comparables et ainsi être exemptés de la mise en place du RRPO. L’Ontario a développé certains outils de conversion qui permettront d’effectuer le test de comparabilité.

Malgré les pressions d’élargir la définition de régime de retraite comparable, afin d’inclure les régimes d’accumulation de capital sans se limiter uniquement aux régimes de retraite à cotisations déterminées, les régimes d’accumulation de capital, tels que les REER collectifs et les régimes de participation différée aux bénéfices (RPDB), ne satisferont pas le test de comparabilité déterminé par le gouvernement.

Un employeur offrant un régime comparable devra également prendre le temps d’analyser sa structure et ses dispositions, particulièrement celles entourant l’admissibilité et l’adhésion à ce régime. Par exemple, des dispositions prévoyant une période d’attente avant de participer au régime ou une participation facultative pourraient faire en sorte que certains employés ne soient pas couverts, et que ceux-ci doivent donc participer au RRPO.

Participation graduelle

Du 1er janvier 2017 au 1er janvier 2019, la participation et le niveau de cotisation s'implanteront de façon graduelle, commençant par les plus grandes organisations. Quant aux employeurs offrant déjà un régime de retraite qui pourrait être comparable au RRPO, mais qui nécessite quelques modifications, ils auront jusqu’au 1er janvier 2020 pour se conformer. Le tableau suivant illustre cette participation graduelle par vague.


 Source : Ministère des finances de l’Ontario

Sous réserve de l'approbation de l’Assemblée législative, le RRPO verrait donc le jour dès le 1er janvier 2017 et les premières prestations pourraient être versées aux participants dès 2022. Bien que certains employeurs pourront se soustraire de la mise en place du RRPO, d’autres devront s’interroger sur les orientations qu’ils désirent prendre.

Les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry suivront de près le dossier et vous tiendront informés de tout développement sur le sujet. Pour toute question, consultez-les!