Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Quebec salaries expected to increase by 2.9% in 2015

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 17 N. 8, September 2014

Normandin Beaudry’s annual survey on salary increases reveals that Quebec salaries are expected to increase by 2.9% in 2015. Salary structure increases remain stable with an average increase of 2.0%.

The economic outlook for 2015 is positive. According to economists and financial experts, the labour market is expected to regain its momentum with an increase in job creation. The economic downturn observed in Quebec in recent years is expected to dissipate in favour of a rebound in economic growth. Despite this, organizations continue to be cautious with stable salary increase budgets for a third consecutive year. These budgets have increased since 2010 but remain significantly lower than the budgets of around 3.6% that were granted before the economic crisis hit.

Small businesses are more generous

Once again this year, small businesses are setting themselves apart from the market by forecasting salary increase budgets between 3.4% and 4.5% on average. These budgets are well above the provincial average and higher than 2014 forecasts.

Medium size businesses are more cautious with budgets below the Quebec average (on average between 2.3% and 2.5%). These forecasts are below budgets granted in 2014 in spite of a positive economic outlook. Large size businesses compare to the provincial average and continue to maintain their confidence by announcing salary increase budgets that are higher (3.0%) than those granted in 2014 (2.8%) for the upcoming year.

Regional differences persist in Quebec

Salary increase budgets for certain regions in Quebec are considerably higher than the provincial average for both the budget granted in 2014 and the 2015 forecasts.

  • Quebec City (projected for 2015: 3.3%, granted in 2014: 3.2%);
  • Laurentides, Lanaudière, Mauricie and Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean (projected for 2015: 3.0%, granted in 2014: 3.3%).

For a fourth consecutive year, organizations from Quebec City are forecasting salary increases higher than those for organizations from Montreal. This year, the expected difference is of 0.5% for all job categories.

In spite of a slight decline in the unemployment rate in Montreal, a gap in forecasts continues to exist between these two cities.  One possible explanation is that Quebec City, a region verging on full employment, must continue to stand out to attract talent in that region.

Higher salary increases for a few industries

Despite a certain degree of homogeneity in the salary increase budgets among the different industry sectors, some sectors are forecasting salary increase budgets that are higher than the provincial average. These sectors include retail trade/wholesale trade (3.0%), manufacturing (3.1%), high technology (3.0%), educational services (4.2%) and professional, scientific and technological services (3.0%).

For a second consecutive year, salary increase budgets for privately owned organizations are lower (2.7%) than those for public and parapublic organizations (3.2%).

The employer brand: a driver for improving organizational performance

According to the organizations that participated in the survey conducted by Normandin Beaudry, the issues of workforce attraction and retention continue to be of primary concerns, and monetary compensation alone is not necessarily the solution for these issues.

The results indicate that monetary compensation is very important when it comes to attracting employees, but less important when it comes to retaining them and encouraging them to excel. Non-monetary aspects of work such as challenges and professional development seem to have the opposite impact and are important for enabling organizations to attract talent, retain them and encourage performance.

About the survey

The fourth edition of the Quebec survey on salary increases was conducted in the summer of 2014. A total of 124 organizations completed this survey representing more than 337 000 employees, allowing us to build a reliable database that reflects the realities of Quebec. Data was collected by Normandin Beaudry’s compensation specialists so as to identify labour market trends and present salary forecasts for 2015 that reflect the economic conditions specific to Quebec.

Click here  to access full report (PDF). Available in French only.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Le salaire des Québécois devrait augmenter en moyenne de 2,9 % en 2015

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 17 N. 8, septembre 2014

L’enquête annuelle de Normandin Beaudry sur les prévisions salariales révèle que les salaires québécois devraient augmenter en moyenne de 2,9 % en 2015. Les augmentations de structures salariales, quant à elles, demeurent stables avec en moyenne 2,0 % d’augmentation.

Les perspectives économiques pour 2015 s’annoncent positives. Le marché de l’emploi devrait retrouver son dynamisme avec une augmentation de la création d’emplois, selon les experts économiques et financiers. Le ralentissement économique observé au cours des dernières années au Québec devrait se dissiper et faire place à un rebond de la croissance économique. Malgré cela, les organisations sont toujours prudentes avec des budgets d’augmentations salariales stables pour une troisième année consécutive. Ces budgets ont augmenté depuis 2010, mais demeurent nettement inférieurs aux budgets octroyés avant la crise économique lorsque ceux-ci oscillaient plutôt autour de 3,6 %.

Les petites entreprises plus généreuses

Cette année encore, les petites organisations se démarquent du reste du marché avec des budgets d’augmentations salariales prévus en moyenne entre 3,4 % et 4,5 %. Ces budgets sont nettement au-dessus de la moyenne provinciale et plus élevés que ce qui avait été prévu en 2014.

Les moyennes organisations sont quant à elles plus prudentes avec des budgets inférieurs à la moyenne québécoise (en moyenne entre 2,3 % et 2,5 %). Ces prévisions sont également inférieures aux budgets accordés en 2014 malgré des perspectives économiques positives. De leur côté, les grandes entreprises se comparent à la moyenne provinciale et maintiennent leur indice de confiance en annonçant des budgets d’augmentations salariales 2015 supérieurs (3,0 %) à ceux accordés en 2014 (2,8 %).

Des différences régionales persistantes au Québec

Certaines régions du Québec affichent des budgets d’augmentations salariales significativement plus élevés que la moyenne québécoise, et ce, à la fois pour le réel accordé en 2014 et le prévu pour 2015.

  • Capitale-Nationale (prévu en 2015 : 3,3 % et accordé 2014 : 3,2 %);
  • Laurentides, Lanaudière, Mauricie et Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean (prévu en 2015 : 3,0 % et accordé 2014 : 3,3 %).

Pour une quatrième année consécutive, les organisations de la Capitale-Nationale prévoient des augmentations salariales supérieures aux organisations de Montréal, soit de 0,5 %. Cette année, la différence est marquée pour toutes les catégories d’emplois.

Malgré une légère baisse du taux de chômage à Montréal, l’écart entre les deux villes se maintient. Une explication possible est que la Capitale-Nationale, qui frôle le plein emploi, doit continuer à se distinguer pour attirer les talents.

Des augmentations salariales plus élevées dans quelques secteurs d’activité

Malgré une certaine homogénéité dans les budgets d’augmentations salariales parmi les différents secteurs d’activités, certains prévoient des budgets d’augmentations salariales supérieurs à la moyenne provinciale, notamment le secteur du commerce de détail, de gros et distribution (3,0 %), de la fabrication (3,1 %), des hautes technologies (3,0 %), des services d’enseignement (4,2 %) et des services professionnels, scientifiques et techniques (3,0 %).

Pour une deuxième année consécutive, les organisations à propriété privée disposent d'un budget d’augmentations salariales inférieur (2,7 %) aux secteurs public et parapublic (3,2 %).

La marque employeur, un levier pour accroître la performance organisationnelle

Selon les organisations ayant participé à l’enquête menée par Normandin Beaudry, les enjeux d’attraction et de rétention de la main-d’œuvre sont toujours au cœur des préoccupations et la rémunération monétaire ne suffit pas à régler ces enjeux.

À la lumière des résultats, l’offre de rémunération monétaire s’avère très importante au moment d’attirer, mais l’est moins pour retenir et inciter au dépassement. L’effet inverse semble se produire pour les éléments non monétaires tels que les défis et le développement professionnel qui sont importants pour permettre aux organisations d’attirer et retenir les talents et contribuer à leur dépassement.

À propos de l’enquête

La quatrième enquête québécoise sur les augmentations salariales a été menée au cours de l’été 2014. Ce sont 124 organisations représentant plus de 337 000 employés qui ont participé permettant d’établir une base de données fiable, riche en information et représentative des réalités du Québec. Les données recueillies ont été analysées par les experts en rémunération de Normandin Beaudry. Ceux-ci en dégagent les tendances du marché du travail et présentent les prévisions salariales pour 2015 selon les réalités économiques particulières du Québec.

Pour obtenir le rapport complet de cette enquête, cliquez ici.
 

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6