Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Investing in private debt and in mortgage debt

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB bulletin Vol. 17 N. 6, June 2014

In spite of the 2013 rise in interest rates, the yield to maturity of Canadian bonds remains low. For instance, the Universe1 bond index’s annual yield to maturity as at April 30, 2014 was only at 2.5%.

This low yield to maturity brings challenges for institutional investors, particularly those for whom bonds make up a significant portion of their investments. In this context, private and mortgage debt are attractive alternatives to traditional bonds, in particular because of the higher expected yield.

Private debt

The majority of bonds issued by companies are traded on public markets. However, for smaller organizations or those with smaller loan needs, bank financing is usually preferred in order to avoid fees related to obtaining a credit rating, which is required to access the public bond market. Furthermore, for mid-sized borrowers who are well-managed and profitable, private debt is a lesser-known source of capital, even though it is an interesting alternative to bank financing.

At the end of 2013, a private debt investor could expect a yield to maturity of 5.5% to 6.5% compared to a yield to maturity of 3.1% for the corporate bond index. As with publicly-traded corporate bonds, private debt yield to maturity includes a credit premium that varies depending on the risk profile. However, private debt offers a higher yield than what is offered by public market corporate bonds because of a liquidity premium and a uniqueness premium.

The credit risk of borrowers who have access to private debt is often equivalent to that of investment-grade companies rated BBB and higher. In addition, private debt managers make sure to include significantly restrictive clauses in the loan contracts in order to limit loss in case of financial hardship. Thus, the yield premium provided by these products is attractive considering the risk.

The normal maturity of private debt usually varies from two to seven years. However, maturities are normally greater than 10 years for infrastructure related companies.

Based on our research, we estimate the value of the Canadian private debt market at around $25 billion to $30 billion.

Commercial mortgage debt

To gain exposure to the commercial real estate market2, an investor can invest in mortgage equity or in mortgage debt. Mortgage debt is often used by the equity owners to improve their earnings prospects.

  • Mortgage equity: as a building owner, the investor benefits from the rent received and the building’s appreciation (or depreciation) in value.
  • Mortgage debt: as a lender, the investor earns interest income paid by the building owner from the building’s rent income. Mortgage debt is a similar investment to a bond, but with the underlying building’s value as collateral.

Mortgage debt is not a new product on the market. It has been an important part of insurance companies’ investment portfolios for decades. However, this market has grown quickly for institutional investors in recent years.

As with private debt, mortgage debt includes a liquidity premium and uniqueness premium which give it an attractive risk-return profile for the investor.

In addition, mortgage funds generally have a lifespan of three to four years, which is shorter than typical bond indices. At the end of 2013, an investor could expect a yield to maturity of 3.5% to 4.5% compared to a yield to maturity of 2.2% for the short-term corporate bond index 

The real estate assets that securitize the loans, the attractive current return and the short length of the investment make a negative return for a given year unlikely. The approximate value of the Canadian mortgage debt market has risen to approximately $170 billion3.

Managers

Demonstrated expertise is essential for managers of both asset categories, since their roles and responsibilities are greater than in the context of traditional bond management. In particular, the manager must demonstrate expertise in three key roles in order to hopefully generate a predictable and reliable yield premium.

Firstly, he must be proactive and efficient in screening investment opportunities. The way in which the manager generates his transactions will be analyzed at this step.

Secondly, he must have the expertise necessary to establish and negotiate the loan agreement. The process begins with collecting information for the credit risk assessment. For example, for mortgage debt, the manager must know how to analyze income projections, borrowers’ and renters’ financial statements, property assessment, building condition reports and environmental reports. Next, an appropriate loan structure must be determined by taking into consideration the borrowers’ unique characteristics. Contract negotiation and drafting will require, among other things, legal expertise.

Thirdly, the manager must possess operational expertise. This begins by keeping a close relationship with the borrower during the loan’s term, which limits payment defaulting risk. Significant payment defaults are rare, but the manager must have the expertise necessary to screen, restructure and negotiate in order to resolve such a situation. In particular, for the mortgage debt manager, he must be ready to become involved in the management of the lending organization, and if an irreversible default situation arises, in the sale of the building in order to recover the amounts lent.

To invest or not to invest?

Private debt and mortgage debt provide attractive yield premiums compared to Canadian public bond markets. Nevertheless, the choice among the limited selection of managers will have a major effect on the quality of investment opportunities and risk management of the underlying security.

In addition, the private debt fund investor must be comfortable with holding these investments to maturity, since they are usually closed-end funds. With mortgage debt funds, investors have access to open-end funds, which have the advantage of easier exit and entrance into the funds.

In short, these asset categories definitely have their place in an institutional investor’s portfolio. However, like any investment, the amount and role of these investments categories depend on the investor’s needs and risk tolerance. Consequently, investors should proceed to a thorough portfolio analysis before investing in these asset categories.
 


1 The FTSE TMX Canada Index, formerly known as “DEX”
2 Apartment or office buildings, shopping centres and storage depots
3 Source : Summer 2013 CMLS Financial Newsletter 
 

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Investir en dette privée et en dette hypothécaire

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 17 N. 6, juin 2014

En dépit de la hausse des taux d’intérêt de 2013, le rendement annuel à échéance des obligations canadiennes demeure faible, comme en témoigne celui de l’indice obligataire Univers1 qui se situait à 2,5 % au 30 avril 2014.

Ce faible taux de rendement à échéance amène des défis pour les investisseurs institutionnels, particulièrement ceux pour qui les obligations représentent une forte proportion des placements. Dans ce contexte, la dette privée et la dette hypothécaire sont des options attrayantes aux obligations traditionnelles, notamment en raison du rendement supérieur attendu.

Dette privée

La majorité des obligations émises par des sociétés s'échangent sur les marchés publics. Toutefois, pour les organisations de plus petite taille ou pour des besoins d’emprunts de plus faibles montants, le financement bancaire est habituellement préféré afin d’éviter les frais relatifs à l’obtention d’une notation de crédit, tel que requis pour accéder au marché des obligations publiques. Par ailleurs, pour les emprunteurs de moyenne taille qui sont bien gérés et profitables, la dette privée est une source de capital moins connue, bien qu’elle soit pour eux une alternative intéressante au financement bancaire.

À la fin de 2013, un investisseur en dette privée pouvait s’attendre à un rendement à échéance de 5,5 % à 6,5 %, comparativement au rendement à échéance de 3,1 % pour l’indice des obligations de sociétés. Tout comme les obligations de sociétés échangées publiquement, le rendement à échéance de la dette privée comprend une prime de crédit qui varie selon le profil de risque. Toutefois, la dette privée offre un rendement supérieur à celui des obligations de sociétés du marché public en raison d’une prime de liquidité et d’une prime d’unicité.

Le risque de crédit des emprunteurs ayant accès à la dette privée est souvent équivalent à celui des sociétés de qualité d’investissement, soit celles cotées BBB et mieux. De plus, les gestionnaires de dette privée s’assurent d’inclure des clauses musclées dans les contrats d’emprunt afin de limiter les pertes en cas de difficulté financière. Ainsi, la prime de rendement offerte par ces produits est intéressante compte tenu du risque.

L’échéance habituelle de la dette privée varie habituellement de deux à sept ans. Toutefois, les échéances sont habituellement supérieures à 10 ans pour les sociétés œuvrant dans le domaine des infrastructures.

Sur la base de nos recherches et discussions avec divers intervenants, nous estimons la valeur du marché canadien de dette privée à environ 25 à 30 milliards $.

Dette hypothécaire commerciale

Pour s’exposer au marché immobilier commercial2, un investisseur peut détenir directement des immeubles ou détenir de la dette hypothécaire. La dette hypothécaire est souvent utilisée par les propriétaires d’immeubles pour améliorer leurs perspectives de rendement.

  • Placements immobiliers : en tant que propriétaire d’immeuble, l’investisseur bénéficie des loyers perçus et de l’appréciation (ou la dépréciation) de la valeur de l’immeuble.
  • Dette hypothécaire : en tant que prêteur, l’investisseur tire des revenus d’intérêt payés par le propriétaire d’immeuble à partir des revenus de loyers générés par l’immeuble. La dette hypothécaire représente un investissement comparable à une obligation, avec comme garantie la valeur de l’immeuble sous-jacent.

La dette hypothécaire n’est pas un nouveau produit sur les marchés. Elle constitue depuis des décennies une part importante des placements des compagnies d’assurances. Ce marché a toutefois connu une croissance accélérée au cours des dernières années du côté des investisseurs institutionnels.

Comme pour la dette privée, la dette hypothécaire comporte une prime de liquidité et une prime d’unicité, ce qui lui donne un profil rendement-risque attrayant pour l’investisseur.

De plus, les fonds hypothécaires ont généralement une durée de trois à quatre ans, ce qui est plus court que la majorité des indices de référence. À la fin de 2013, un investisseur pouvait s’attendre à un rendement à échéance de 3,5 % à 4,5 % comparativement au rendement à échéance de 2,2 % pour l’indice obligataire de Sociétés court terme.

La sécurisation des prêts par des actifs immobiliers, le rendement courant attrayant et la courte durée du placement rendent peu probable un rendement négatif pour une année donnée. La valeur du marché canadien de dette hypothécaire s’élève à environ 170 milliards $3.

Gestionnaire

L’expertise démontrée du gestionnaire est primordiale pour ces deux catégories d’actifs, puisque leurs rôles et responsabilités sont plus larges qu’en contexte de gestion d’obligations traditionnelles. Le gestionnaire devra notamment démontrer une expertise pour trois rôles essentiels afin d’espérer générer une prime de rendement prévisible et fiable.

Premièrement, il doit être proactif et efficace dans le dépistage d’opportunités d’investissement. La façon dont le gestionnaire génère ses transactions sera ici un élément à analyser.

Deuxièmement, il doit avoir l’expertise pour établir et négocier le contrat d’emprunt. Le processus débute par la collecte d’information pour l’évaluation du risque de crédit. Par exemple, pour la dette hypothécaire, le gestionnaire devra savoir analyser la projection des revenus, les états financiers de l’emprunteur et des locataires, l’évaluation foncière, les rapports sur l’état du bâtiment et les rapports environnementaux. Ensuite, une structure de prêt appropriée est déterminée en considération des caractéristiques uniques de l’emprunteur. La négociation et la rédaction des contrats demanderont entre autres une expertise juridique.

Troisièmement, le gestionnaire doit posséder une expertise opérationnelle. Cela commence par le maintien d’une relation étroite avec l’emprunteur durant le terme du prêt, ce qui limite le risque de défaillance de paiement. Les importantes défaillances de paiement sont rares, mais le gestionnaire doit avoir l’expertise nécessaire pour dépister, restructurer et négocier afin de résoudre une telle situation. En particulier pour le gestionnaire de dette hypothécaire, il doit être prêt à s’impliquer dans la gestion de l’organisation emprunteuse et, advenant une situation de défaut irréversible, dans la vente de l’immeuble afin de recouvrer les sommes prêtées.

Investir ou non?

La dette privée et la dette hypothécaire prévoient des primes de rendement intéressantes relativement aux marchés obligataires publics canadiens. Néanmoins, le choix parmi la sélection limitée de gestionnaires aura une incidence importante sur la qualité des opportunités de placements et la gestion des risques propres à chaque titre sous-jacent.

De plus, l’investisseur en fonds de dette privée devra être à l’aise de détenir ces placements à maturité puisque ces fonds sont habituellement de type fermé. Avec les fonds de dette hypothécaire, les investisseurs ont accès à des fonds ouverts, ce qui a l’avantage de faciliter les entrées et sorties de fonds.

Bref, ces catégories d’actifs ont définitivement leur place dans le portefeuille d’un investisseur institutionnel. Toutefois, comme tout placement, le montant et la nature des investissements dans ces catégories d’actifs dépendront des besoins et de la tolérance au risque de l’investisseur. Par conséquent, ces investissements devront donc être supportés par un exercice de bonne diligence. 


1 Indice FTSE TMX Canada, anciennement connu sous le nom « DEX »
2 Immeubles d’appartements ou de bureaux, centres commerciaux et entrepôts
3 Source : Bulletin été-2013 de la Financière CMLS 
 

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6