Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Impact of tax measures announced by the Quebec government on group benefits plans

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 17 N. 13, December 2014

On December 2, 2014, in the Update on Québec's Economic and Financial Situation, the Quebec Government announced some tax measures that have an impact on group benefits plans and employers' contributions to the Health Services Fund:

  • Increase in the temporary contribution relative to the compensation tax for financial institutions;
  • Increase in the tax on capital for insurance corporations; and
  • Reduction of the Heath Services Fund contribution rate for SMEs in the primary and manufacturing sectors.

These measures took effect on December 3, 2014 and will have an impact on group benefits plan costs.

Increase in the temporary contribution relative to compensation tax and increase in the tax on capital

Compensation tax and tax on capital are payable by insurance companies that include these taxes in their administration fees and, consequently, in premium rates for group benefits plans.

For the past several years, the Quebec government has imposed a temporary contribution relative to compensation tax on insurance premiums for financial institutions. The contribution rate was 0.30% of the premium up to December 2, 2014. In the Update on Québec's Economic and Financial Situation, the Quebec government announced that this rate will increase from 0.30% to 0.48% up to March 31, 2017. The 0.30% rate will be reinstated on April 1, 2017 and abolished on April 1, 2019.

It should be noted that compensation tax is generally combined with tax on capital for insurance corporations. The tax on capital rate, which is was previously 2.00% of premiums, increased to 3.00% of premiums on December 3, 2014.

These taxes increased from 2.30% to 3.48% since December 3, 2014. An adjustment of around 1.18% owing to the increase in taxes can thus be expected when your group benefits plan premiums next increase. 

Reduction of the Health Services Fund contribution rate for SMEs in the primary and manufacturing sectors

In Quebec, all employers must make a contribution to the Health Services Fund. Before January 1, 2015, this contribution was based solely on the employer's total payroll and ranged from 2.70% to 4.26% of payroll.

As of 2015, SMEs in the primary and manufacturing sectors will be able to benefit from a reduction in this contribution. Eligibility for the reduced rate is subject to certain conditions, which are detailed on page 5 of the Information Bulletin published on December 2, 2014 and available on the Ministère des Finances website. The table below presents the contribution rates that will apply in 2015:

Employer's contribution rate as a percentage of total payroll
(1)Subject to certain conditions.

You can consult the Information Bulletin published on December 2, 2014 on the Ministère des Finances du Québec website.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Effet des mesures fiscales annoncées par le Gouvernement du Québec sur les régimes d’assurance collective

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB, Vol 17 N. 13, décembre 2014

Le 2 décembre dernier, à l’occasion du Point sur la situation économique et financière du Québec, le Gouvernement du Québec a annoncé quelques mesures fiscales ayant un impact sur les régimes d’assurance collective et les cotisations des employeurs au Fonds des services de santé :

  • La hausse de la contribution temporaire sur la taxe compensatoire des institutions financières;
  • La hausse de la taxe sur le capital des sociétés d’assurance;
  • La réduction du taux de cotisation au Fonds des services de santé pour les PME des secteurs primaire et manufacturier.

Ces mesures sont entrées en vigueur le 3 décembre 2014 et auront un effet sur les coûts des régimes d’assurance collective.

Hausse de la contribution temporaire sur la taxe compensatoire et hausse de la taxe sur le capital

La taxe compensatoire et la taxe sur le capital sont payables par les compagnies d’assurance qui les incluent dans leurs frais d’administration et, par conséquent, dans les taux de primes des régimes d’assurance collective.

Depuis plusieurs années, le gouvernement du Québec impose aux institutions financières une contribution temporaire sur la taxe compensatoire sur les primes d’assurance dont le niveau s’établissait à 0,30 % de la prime jusqu’au 2 décembre 2014. Le gouvernement du Québec a annoncé à l’occasion du Point sur la situation économique et financière du Québec que cette taxe passera de 0,30 % à 0,48 %, et ce, jusqu’au 31 mars 2017. À compter du 1er avril 2017, elle devrait revenir à 0,30 % pour être abolie à compter du 1er avril 2019.

Rappelons que la taxe compensatoire est généralement combinée à la taxe sur le capital des sociétés d’assurance. Le niveau de la taxe sur le capital qui s’établissait à 2,00 % des primes est aussi augmenté à 3,00 % à compter du 3 décembre 2014.

Ces taxes sont passées de 2,30 % à 3,48 % depuis le 3 décembre 2014. On peut donc s’attendre à ce que la prochaine hausse des primes de vos régimes d’assurance collective comprenne un ajustement d’environ 1,18 % dû à l’augmentation des taxes.

Réduction du taux de cotisation au Fonds des services de santé pour les PME des secteurs primaire et manufacturier

Au Québec, tous les employeurs doivent verser une cotisation au Fonds des services de santé. Avant le 1er janvier 2015, cette cotisation dépendait uniquement de la masse salariale totale de l’employeur et variait entre 2,70 % et 4,26 % de la masse salariale.

À partir de 2015, les PME des secteurs primaire et manufacturier pourront bénéficier d’un taux réduit de cotisation. Certaines conditions s’appliquent pour avoir droit au taux réduit et sont détaillées à la page 5 du Bulletin d’information publié le 2 décembre 2014 et disponible sur le site du Ministère des Finances. Le tableau suivant présente le taux de cotisation applicable en 2015 :

Taux de cotisation de l’employeur en pourcentage de la masse salariale totale 


(1) Sujet à certaines conditions

Vous pouvez consulter le bulletin d’information publié le 2 décembre 2014 sur le site du Ministère des Finances du Québec.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6