Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Rates for Health Care Professionals in 2014

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 17 N. 10, October 2014

During the summer of 2014, Normandin Beaudry conducted its 17th annual survey of fees charged by health care professionals in Quebec. Considering the fact that health care services provided by these specialists are typically covered by group benefits plans, we believe that the results presented below will be of interest to you.

Premiums for most group benefits plans are on the rise. According to rémun, Normandin Beaudry’s total compensation survey, more than 25% of Quebec organizations are considering making changes to their plan in the coming year. Would the goal of these changes be to better control plan costs?

The information on average fees per visit may prove useful in establishing reimbursement maximums for paramedical care under your group benefits plans. The average increase in fees per visit, in comparison with fees for 2013, also allows you to validate the inflation assumptions used by your insurer in renewing your health insurance premium rates. It should be noted that many specialists charge additional fees for opening a file and the initial assessment. These additional fees are not included in our survey results.

New

This year, we have also included the results for Kinesiologists considering that the services provided by these specialists are covered by some group insurance plans.

Methodology

We surveyed a sample of private clinics in the Montreal, Quebec City and Outaouais regions. The table below presents the results on an average fee per visit basis as opposed to an hourly rate basis to reflect the provisions that generally apply to group benefits plans.   

For comparison purposes, we also consulted professional associations for each specialty. These associations make recommendations to their members concerning fees but do not impose them.  Some associations also compile statistics based on the fee schedules of their members.  This information is also presented in the table below. 

Highlights

  • We observed an average fee increase of 3% in all three regions since the summer of 2013, which represents an average increase of $2 to $3 per visit. 
  • Ever since we began compiling data from the three regions in 2005, we have observed an average annual fee increase for all specialists of approximately 3% in Montreal region and 4% in Quebec City and Outaouais. During this same period, annual inflation in Quebec was 1.7%.
  • The results indicate that for physiotherapists and podiatrists, the fees charged are much higher in the Montreal region than in the other regions.  
  • In Quebec City, the per visit for fee charged by dieticians is higher than the per visit fee charged by dieticians in the other two regions, whereas fees for other health care professionals are typically lower than those in the other two regions, especially for audiologists and speech therapists, homeopaths and naturopaths.
  • The fees charged per visit by homeopaths, kinesiologists, massage therapists, naturopaths and psychologists in the Outaouais region are considerably higher than the fees charged by these professionals in the other regions.

 

For the majority of specialists surveyed, the schedules of reasonable and customary fees used by insurers for claims processing in Quebec are slightly higher than the average fees per visit.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Les tarifs des spécialistes de la santé en 2014

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB, Vol 17 N. 10, octobre 2014

Au cours de l’été 2014, Normandin Beaudry a mené sa 17enquête annuelle sur les tarifs exigés par les spécialistes de la santé au Québec. Ces coûts étant généralement couverts par les régimes d’assurance collective, les constats qui suivent sauront sûrement vous intéresser.

Les primes de la majorité des régimes collectifs de soins médicaux sont en hausse. Et selon rémun, l’enquête de rémunération globale de Normandin Beaudry, plus de 25 % des organisations québécoises songeraient à modifier leur régime au cours de la prochaine année. Souhaiteraient-elles mieux en contrôler les coûts?

L’information sur les tarifs moyens par visite peut être utile dans l’établissement des plafonds de remboursement des soins paramédicaux de vos régimes d’assurance collective. L’augmentation moyenne des frais par visite, comparativement à ceux de 2013, peut également vous permettre de valider les hypothèses d’inflation utilisées par votre assureur pour le renouvellement de vos taux de prime d’assurance maladie. Fait à noter, plusieurs spécialistes exigent des frais supplémentaires pour l’ouverture du dossier et l’évaluation lors de la première visite. Ces coûts ne sont pas inclus dans les résultats de notre enquête.

Nouveauté

Nous avons ajouté cette année les données relatives aux services des kinésiologues puisque les services de ces spécialistes sont couverts dans quelques régimes d’assurance collective.

Méthodologie

Nous avons mené l’enquête auprès d’un échantillon de cliniques privées des régions de Montréal, de Québec et de l’Outaouais. Nous présentons dans le prochain tableau les tarifs moyens par visite, plutôt que les tarifs horaires, afin de refléter les dispositions généralement applicables dans les régimes d’assurance collective.

Aux fins de comparaison, nous avons également consulté les associations professionnelles de chacune des spécialités. Ces associations suggèrent des tarifs à appliquer à leurs membres, sans toutefois les imposer. Certaines associations compilent aussi des statistiques à partir de la grille de tarifs de leurs membres. Le tableau présente également cette information.

Faits saillants

  • Comparativement à l’été 2013, l’augmentation moyenne des tarifs en vigueur est de 3 % dans les trois régions étudiées, ce qui représente une hausse moyenne de 2 $ à 3 $ par visite.
  • Depuis 2005, année à laquelle nous avons débuté la compilation des données des trois régions, nous observons une augmentation annuelle moyenne des tarifs de tous les spécialistes d’environ 3 % à Montréal et 4 % à Québec et en Outaouais. Au cours de la même période, l’inflation générale annuelle a été de 1,7 % au Québec.
  • Les résultats obtenus révèlent que pour les physiothérapeutes ainsi que pour les podiatres, les tarifs exigés sont nettement plus élevés dans la région de Montréal que dans les autres régions.
  • Dans la région de Québec, le tarif par visite pour les diététistes est plus élevé que dans les autres régions, tandis que le tarif pour les autres spécialistes de la santé est en général moins élevé, particulièrement pour les soins d’audiologistes et d’orthophonistes, d’homéopathes et de naturopathes.
  • Les tarifs par visite pour les homéopathes, les kinésiologues, les massothérapeutes, les naturopathes et les psychologues de la région de l’Outaouais sont plus élevés que dans les autres régions, et ce, de façon marquée.

Pour la majorité des spécialistes que nous avons sondés, les barèmes de frais raisonnables et d’ordre courant utilisés par les assureurs pour le traitement des demandes de remboursement au Québec sont légèrement supérieurs aux frais moyens par visite.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6