Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

2014 Social Security Programs Parameters

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 17 N. 1, January 2014

As in previous years, we inform you about the parameters that will be used by the major social security programs in 2014.

Quebec Pension Plan and Canada Pension Plan

YMPE
The Year’s Maximum Pensionable Earnings (YMPE) for 2014 is $52,500, an increase of 2.7% over the 2013 YMPE of $51,100. The basic exemption remains at the current level of $3,500, which is the level applicable since January 1st, 1998.

Annual Contribution
Employee and employer contribution rates for the Quebec Pension Plan increase from 5.100% to 5.175% of contributory earnings in 2014, for an annual maximum contribution of $2,535.75. For the Canada Pension Plan, the employee and employer contribution rates remain at 4.950% of contributory earnings in 2014, for an annual maximum contribution of $2,425.50.

Monthly Pension
The maximum monthly retirement pension at age 65 for the Quebec Pension Plan and the Canada Pension Plan is set at $1,038.33 for 2014, based on the average YMPE over the last five years.

Employment Insurance

The Employment Insurance premium rate for employees in Quebec increases by $0.01 per $100 of insurable employee earnings effective January 1st, 2014. The premium rate for employees in Quebec therefore increases from $1.52 to $1.53. As for employers, they continue to contribute 1.4 times the employee rate so their premium rate will move up from approximately $2.13 to $2.14. These rates consider the Quebec Parental Insurance Plan (QPIP) in place since January 1st, 2006.

The Employment Insurance premium rate for employees outside Quebec remains at $1.88 per $100 of insurable employee earnings for 2014 and the employers continue to contribute 1.4 times the employee rate, for a premium rate of approximately $2.63 per $100 of insurable employee earnings.

The maximum insurable earnings increase from $47,400 to $48,600 for 2014.

Employer contributions can be further reduced for those offering a salary continuation program (SCP) registered with the Employment Insurance Commission. There are four types of SCPs each offering a unique Employment Insurance premium rate reduction:

Type 1: SCP based on the accumulation of paid sick days of at least one day per month and a maximum of at least 75 days.

Type 2: SCP based on the accumulation of paid sick days of at least one day and 2/3 per month and a maximum of at least 125 days.

Type 3: SCP providing a weekly indemnity1 for at least 15 weeks.

Type 4: SCP providing a weekly indemnity1 for at least 52 weeks (this reduction is only available to employers of public and para-public sectors).

Quebec Parental Insurance Plan (QPIP)

The QPIP contribution rates remain unchanged for 2014. These rates are 0.559% for employees, 0.782% for employers and 0.993% for self-employed workers. The maximum insurable income increases from $67,500 to $69,000 for 2014.

Régime d’assurance maladie du Québec

The current contribution rate remains unchanged for 2014. This rate is set at 4.26% of total payroll for certain public sector employers and for companies with a total payroll of more than $5 million. For companies with a total payroll of less than $1 million, the rate is set at 2.70% of total payroll. For companies which have a total payroll of more than $1 million but less than $5 million, the rate is a function of total payroll and ranges from 2.70% to 4.26% of total payroll according to the following formula:

Commission de la santé et de la sécurité du travail

The contribution rate to the Commission de la santé et de la sécurité du travail is determined according to the type of industry and, if applicable, to the claims experience. The maximum earnings for the income replacement benefit increase from $67,500 to $69,000 for 2014.

Commission des normes du travail

The current contribution rate remains unchanged for 2014, and is set at 0.08% of earnings subject to contribution. The maximum earnings subject to contribution increase from $67,500 to $69,000 for 2014.

In Quebec, the minimum hourly wage is currently at $10.15.


Download the
Summary of the Health insurance premiums and tax
for all Canadian provinces and territories
by clicking here PDF (20 kb).

1 The SCP weekly indemnity must be at least equal to the benefits provided by the Employment Insurance.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Les programmes de sécurité sociale : nouveaux paramètres pour 2014

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 17 N. 1, janvier 2014

Comme à chaque année, nous vous informons des paramètres qui seront utilisés par les principaux programmes de sécurité sociale en 2014.

Régime de rentes du Québec et Régime de pensions du Canada

MGA
Le maximum des gains admissibles (MGA) est de 52 500 $ pour 2014, ce qui représente une hausse de 2,7 % par rapport au MGA de 2013, qui s’établissait à 51 100 $. L’exemption générale est fixée à 3 500 $ depuis le 1er janvier 1998.

Cotisations annuelles
Pour le Régime de rentes du Québec, le taux de cotisation pour les employés et l’employeur passe de 5,100 % à 5,175 % des gains cotisables en 2014, pour une cotisation annuelle maximale de 2 535,75 $. Quant au Régime de pensions du Canada, le taux de cotisation pour les employés et l’employeur demeure à 4,950 % des gains cotisables en 2014, pour une cotisation annuelle maximale de 2 425,50 $.

Rente mensuelle
Finalement, la rente mensuelle maximale de retraite à 65 ans, calculée sur la base des MGA des cinq dernières années, s’établit à 1 038,33 $ en 2014, tant pour le Régime de rentes du Québec que pour le Régime de pensions du Canada.

Assurance-emploi

Le taux de cotisation des employés du Québec au régime fédéral d’assurance-emploi augmentera à compter du 1er janvier 2014, de 0,01 $ par tranche de 100 $ de rémunération assurable, passant ainsi de 1,52 $ à 1,53 $. Pour leur part, les employeurs continuent de verser 1,4 fois le taux des employés, voyant ainsi leur taux de cotisation passer d’environ 2,13 $ à 2,14 $ par tranche de 100 $ de rémunération assurable des employés du Québec. Ces taux tiennent compte de l’existence du Régime québécois d’assurance parentale (RQAP) depuis le 1er janvier 2006.

Le taux de cotisation des employés hors Québec au régime fédéral d’assurance-emploi demeure à 1,88 $ par tranche de 100 $ de rémunération assurable pour 2014. Les employeurs versent quant à eux toujours 1,4 fois ce taux, pour un taux de cotisation d’environ 2,63 $ par tranche de 100 $ de rémunération assurable des employés.

Le maximum de la rémunération assurable passe finalement de 47 400 $ à 48 600 $ pour 2014.

Le taux de cotisation de l’employeur peut toutefois être moins élevé pour les employeurs offrant un régime d’assurance salaire (RAS) enregistré auprès de la Commission de l’assurance-emploi. Il existe quatre catégories de RAS ayant chacune un taux distinct de réduction de la cotisation à l’assurance-emploi. Les quatre catégories se résument ainsi :

Catégorie 1 : RAS fondé sur l’accumulation de congés de maladie payés d’au moins une journée par mois et un nombre maximal de jours d’au moins 75 jours.

Catégorie 2 : RAS fondé sur l’accumulation de congés de maladie payés d’au moins une journée et 2/3 par mois et un nombre maximal de jours d’au moins 125 jours.

Catégorie 3 : RAS prévoyant des indemnités hebdomadaires1 pour au moins 15 semaines.

Catégorie 4 : RAS prévoyant des indemnités hebdomadaires1 pour au moins 52 semaines (cette réduction n’est disponible que pour les employeurs des secteurs public et parapublic).

 

   

Régime québécois d’assurance parentale (RQAP)

Les taux de cotisation au RQAP demeurent inchangés en 2014. Ces taux sont établis à 0,559 % pour les employés, 0,782 % pour les employeurs et 0,993 % pour les travailleurs autonomes. Le maximum de la rémunération assurable passe pour sa part de 67 500 $ à 69 000 $ pour 2014.

Régime d’assurance maladie du Québec

Le taux de cotisation actuel demeure inchangé en 2014. Ce taux est établi à 4,26 % de la masse salariale pour certaines organisations du secteur public et pour les organisations dont la masse salariale est supérieure à cinq millions de dollars. Pour les organisations dont la masse salariale est inférieure à un million de dollars, le taux est établi à 2,70 % de la masse salariale. Enfin, pour les organisations dont la masse salariale est comprise entre un million et cinq millions de dollars, le taux est établi en fonction de la masse salariale et varie de 2,70 % à 4,26 % de la masse salariale selon la formule suivante :

      ission de la santé et de la sécurité du travail      

Commission de la santé et de la sécurité du travail

Le taux de cotisation à la Commission de la santé et de la sécurité du travail varie selon l’industrie et, le cas échéant, l’expérience de réclamations. Le revenu maximal pour l’indemnité de remplacement du revenu passe quant à lui de 67 500 $ à 69 000 $ en 2014.

Commission des normes du travail

Le taux de cotisation actuel demeure inchangé pour 2014, soit un taux de 0,08 % de la rémunération assujettie. La rémunération assujettie maximale passe de 67 500 $ à 69 000 $ en 2014.

Le salaire minimum, au Québec, s’établit actuellement à 10,15 $ de l’heure.  


Téléchargez le
résumé des primes d’assurance maladie
et imposition pour l’ensemble des provinces et territoires canadiens en 2014
en cliquant ici PDF (20 Ko). 

1 Les indemnités hebdomadaires prévues par le RAS doivent être au moins égales aux prestations d’assurance-emploi.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6