Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Amendments to accounting standards applicable to employee future benefits

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 16 N. 7, June 2013

The Accounting Standards Board (AcSB) recently approved the final standards on employee future benefits that apply to private enterprises (Part II of the Canadian Institute of Chartered Accountants (CICA) Handbook). Section 3461 will be replaced by Section 3462 for fiscal years beginning on or after January 1, 2014.

Private sector not-for-profit organizations applying Part III of the CICA Handbook will adopt the new Section 3462, with some adjustments to take into account their specific situation.

Understandability, comparability and transparency

The purpose of the amendments is to improve the understandability and transparency of financial information on defined benefit plans for financial statement users, thereby facilitating comparability with other enterprises.

The new standard is consistent with the amendments announced in the exposure draft issued in January 2012. These amendments were discussed in detail in our information bulletin published in February 2012 entitled Proposed amendments to accounting standards applicable to employee future benefits.

  • Elimination of the deferral and amortization approach that allowed for the deferred recognition of actuarial gains and losses and past service costs. With the immediate recognition approach that will now have to be used, the actual surplus/deficit position of the plan will be presented on the balance sheet.
  • Maintaining the choice between two types of valuations for the defined benefit obligation (“obligation”): the valuation for funding purposes or the valuation for accounting purposes. The chosen method must be applied consistently to the different plans and any change will be considered to be an amendment to the accounting policy.  
  • Elimination of the early measurement of plan assets and the obligation: going forward, enterprises will be required to measure plan assets and the obligation as of the balance sheet date.  
  • Changes to the cost components presented in the financial statements with three components to be included: current service cost for the period, finance cost and remeasurements and other items.
  • Using the discount rate to calculate the present value of the expected future benefit for the purpose of the limit on the carrying amount of an asset on the balance sheet.
  • Changes to financial statement disclosures: enterprises will be required to disclose the amount of remeasurements and other items, the date and type of the most recent valuation used to determine the obligation and any changes in the actuarial method used to determine this obligation.
     

Transition

New section 3462 will take effect on January 1, 2014; however, early adoption is permitted. The transition to new Section 3462 will be completed through the retrospective application of standards, in accordance with the rules set out in Section 1506, Accounting Changes. Enterprises will adjust results retroactively to plan inception and will immediately and directly recognize the adjustment in retained earnings for the year preceding the first application (without impacting net income). However, an exception is offered to simplify the transition in relation to the elimination of the early measurement provision.  

Comparison with international standards applicable to publicly accountable enterprises

New section 3462 will be more closely tied to the revised international accounting standards that took effect on January 1, 2013 (IAS 19 – Part I of the CICA Handbook). However, one significant difference will remain because, under Section 3462, actuarial gains and losses will be recognized in income, whereas, under IAS 19, gains and losses are recognized in other comprehensive income, without affecting the profit or loss. 

Comparison with standards applicable to not-for-profit organizations

Private sector not-for-profit organizations applying Part III will adopt new Section 3462 with the following adjustments to take into account their specific situation and the needs of users of their financial statements:

  • Recognition of variations associated with “remeasurements and other items” (including actuarial gains and losses) in a component of changes in net assets (on the balance sheet), without affecting the profit or loss.
  • Required disclosures similar to those under Section 3461 that applied before January 1, 2012 (Part V of the CICA Handbook).

The AcSB plans to issue in mid-2013 an exposure draft on accounting for employee future benefits by private sector not-for-profit organizations that will integrate the two adjustments listed above. This new version of Section 3462 of Part III should be published in time to allow for its adoption as of January 1, 2014.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Modifications aux normes comptables applicables aux avantages sociaux futurs

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 16 N. 7, juin 2013

Le Conseil des normes comptables (CNC) a récemment approuvé les normes définitives pour les avantages sociaux futurs applicables aux entreprises à capital fermé (Partie II du manuel de l’Institut Canadien des Comptables Agréés (ICCA)). Le chapitre 3462 remplacera donc le chapitre 3461 pour les exercices financiers ouverts à compter du 1er janvier 2014.

Les organismes à but non lucratif du secteur privé présentant leur information selon la Partie III du manuel de l’ICCA adopteront quant à eux le nouveau chapitre 3462, sous réserve de quelques ajustements afin de tenir compte de leur réalité propre.

Compréhensibilité, comparabilité et transparence

L’objectif des modifications est de rendre l’information financière sur les régimes à prestations déterminées plus compréhensible et transparente pour les utilisateurs d’états financiers, ainsi que d’en faciliter la comparabilité avec d’autres entreprises.

En somme, la nouvelle norme est conforme aux modifications annoncées dans l’exposé-sondage publié en janvier 2012. Ces modifications ont d’ailleurs été discutées en détail dans notre bulletin de février 2012 – Modifications proposées aux normes comptables applicables aux avantages sociaux futurs.

  • Élimination de la méthode de report et de l’amortissement laquelle permettait une reconnaissance différée des gains et pertes actuariels et des coûts de services passés. La reconnaissance immédiate dans les résultats, qui sera désormais requise, a pour effet de présenter au bilan le statut réel de surplus/déficit des régimes.
  • Maintien du choix entre deux types d’évaluation pour l’obligation au titre des prestations définies (« obligation »), soit l’évaluation aux fins de la capitalisation ou l’évaluation aux fins de la comptabilisation. La méthode devra être uniforme entre les différents régimes et tout changement sera considéré comme une modification à la méthode comptable.
  • Élimination de la mesure hâtive des actifs du régime et de l’obligation obligeant dorénavant les entreprises à évaluer ceux-ci à la date de clôture des états financiers.
  • Modification aux composantes du coût présentées aux états financiers : trois composantes devront être incluses, soit le coût des services rendus au cours de la période, le coût financier ainsi que les réévaluations et autres éléments.
  • Utilisation du taux d’actualisation pour le calcul de la valeur actualisée de l’avantage économique aux fins du plafonnement de la valeur de l’actif au bilan.
  • Modifications des divulgations aux états financiers : les divulgations devront inclure la composante de réévaluations et autres éléments, la date et le type de l’évaluation la plus récente ayant servi à déterminer l’obligation ainsi que tout changement à la méthode actuarielle utilisée pour déterminer cette obligation.
     

Transition

Le nouveau chapitre 3462 est applicable à compter du 1er janvier 2014, mais l’adoption anticipée est permise. La transition vers le nouveau chapitre 3462 sera faite sur la base d’une application rétrospective des normes, conformément aux règles du chapitre 1506 Modifications comptables. Ainsi, les entreprises devront ajuster rétroactivement les résultats depuis la création du régime et reconnaître immédiatement et directement l’ajustement dans les bénéfices non répartis de l’année précédant la première application (sans affecter le résultat net). Une exception est toutefois prévue afin de simplifier la transition liée à l’élimination de la mesure hâtive.

Comparaison avec les normes internationales applicables aux organisations ayant une obligation d’information du public

Le nouveau chapitre 3462 ressemblera davantage aux normes comptables internationales révisées au 1er janvier 2013 (IAS 19 de la Partie I du manuel de l’ICCA). Toutefois, une différence notable demeurera puisque, selon le chapitre 3462, les gains et pertes actuariels seront reconnus dans les résultats alors que, selon IAS 19, les gains et pertes sont reconnus dans les autres éléments du résultat global, sans affecter les résultats.

Comparaison avec les normes applicables pour les organismes à but non lucratif

Quant aux organismes à but non lucratif du secteur privé présentant leur information selon la Partie III, ils adopteront le nouveau chapitre 3462 sous réserve des ajustements suivants pour tenir compte de leur réalité propre et des besoins des utilisateurs de leurs états financiers :

  • Reconnaissance des variations liées à des « réévaluations et autres éléments » (incluant les gains et pertes actuariels) dans un poste de l’état de l’évolution de l’actif net (au bilan), sans affecter les résultats.
  • Divulgations requises similaires à celles du chapitre 3461 applicables avant le 1er janvier 2012 (Partie V du Manuel de l’ICCA).

Le CNC prévoit publier au milieu de 2013 un exposé-sondage sur la comptabilisation des avantages sociaux futurs par les organismes à but non lucratif du secteur privé qui intégrera les deux éléments mentionnées ci-dessus. Cette nouvelle version du chapitre 3462 de la Partie III devrait ainsi être publiée à temps pour permettre son adoption à compter du 1er janvier 2014.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6