Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Return to Financial Reality

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 16 N. 3, May 2013

In its report Innovating for a Sustainable Retirement System released on April 17, 2013, the Expert Committee on the Future of the Québec Retirement System (the “Committee”), chaired by Alban D’Amours, issued 21 recommendations including recommendations concerning new funding rules that would apply to defined benefit pension plans that fall under the supervision of the Régie des rentes du Québec. This information bulletin focuses on these recommendations. 

An entirely new valuation method: the “enhanced funding” method

The Committee recommends standardizing funding rules for all pension plans under the supervision of the Régie des rentes du Québec:

  • Plans would be funded using a single funding method called the “enhanced funding” method, which is similar to the current funding method with the exception of certain constraints related to the choice of discount rate:
    • For retirees:  a single rate determined based on the yield of high-quality corporate bonds (this rate is similar to the rate used for accounting valuation purposes in the private sector).
    • For other members:  one rate that applies as of the assumed retirement date equal to the discount rate used for retired members and another rate that applies before the assumed retirement date that takes into account the expected return based on the pension plan’s overall investment policy.  
  • Under the “enhanced funding” method, deficits would be amortized over a period of 15 years, and this period would gradually be reduced to 10 years. Deficits would be consolidated annually and special amortization payments could not be reduced as long as the plan would be in a deficit position.

Click here to review and compare the current rules.
 


It should be noted that pension committees would remain responsible
for investment decisions. Even if the discount rate for retirees
would be based on corporate bond yields, the pension committee
would not be obligated to invest underlying assets in corporate bonds.



Financial impacts of the “enhanced funding” method

The impacts of the new “enhanced funding” method would vary depending on the specific situation of the plan (benefits offered, plan maturity, average age of members and actuarial assumptions currently used for funding valuations). 

The table below presents an example of a “mature” (significant proportion of liabilities allocated to retired members) private sector plan taken from the Committee’s report.
 



In this example, funding contributions amount to 52% of salaries according to the current rules and with the application of temporary relief measures. The new rules would reduce funding contributions from 52% to 35% of salaries. The current service cost would increase from 14% to 16% with the use of a lower discount rate. In addition, required special amortization payments would be reduced considerably (from 38% to 19%). This reduction can be explained in large part by the following two factors:

  • The deficit to be funded decreases from $49.2M (solvency method and current rules) to $31.0M (new “enhanced funding” method); and
  • The deficit amortization period increases from 10 years to 15 years. 

According to another example taken from the Committee’s report and involving a “young” private sector plan, the new rules would increase the total contributions related to plan funding. The increase in the current service cost, which is the predominant element, would be greater than the decrease in special amortization payments.
       


In the short-term, for a large number of private sector organizations,
the “enhanced funding” method would reduce
the required contributions associated
with pension plan funding while strengthening
the security of member benefits over the long term.



The table below presents an example of a “mature” public sector pension plan taken from the Committee’s report:

Funding contributions currently amount to 37% of salaries and exclude the use of temporary relief measures (public sector plans are exempt from solvency requirements). The new rules would significantly increase the required total contributions (from 37% to 57%). The use of a more conservative valuation method would in fact increase the current service cost (from 19% to 24% of salaries) and the special amortization contributions (from 18% to 33%). The increase in special amortization contributions would largely be the result of the increase in the deficit to be funded ($16.7M according to the current rules and $34.9M according to the proposed rules).
 


In the long term, the new rules would strengthen
the security of benefits for pension plan members,
and the “enhanced funding” method would reflect
the risk associated with plan maturity.



Lower transfer values

The Committee also recommends changing transfer values to reflect high-quality corporate bond rates. This change would:

  • Increase discount rates used by approximately 1%;
  • Reduce solvency liabilities by 10% to 20% depending on plan maturity;
  • Improve solvency ratio; and
  • Decrease the value of refunds paid to members requesting a transfer out of the plan.
     

According to the new rules, in the event of employer bankruptcy,
pension fund assets would be redistributed differently among
the different member groups. Retirees would be entitled to pensions
that would be less reduced because of a higher solvency ratio,
whereas other members who have more time to improve
their situation would receive lower transfer values.



New rules for surplus assets

The solvency method would no longer be used for funding purposes.  However, it would continue to be used for other purposes, including the management of surplus assets.  Two conditions would have to be satisfied before these surplus assets can be used: 

  • The plan would have to be fully funded according to the “enhanced funding” method; and
  • The plan would have to be fully solvent and the surplus assets must be greater than a provision for adverse deviation of approximately 15% of solvency liabilities. 

Only 20% of surplus assets could be used each year to improve the benefits offered by the plan, to take contribution holidays or to reimburse the employer, in part or in full, for amounts previously paid to fund deficits (important new option).
 


The provision for adverse deviation that would be increased
to approximately15% would thus be applied to decreased solvency liabilities.
The combined effect of these two elements would imply a similar level
of caution as in current rules before surplus assets could be used.   



Funding policy: beyond the investment policy

Finally, the Committee proposes reinforcing the Supplemental Pension Plans Act to ensure a better understanding and communication of the risks affecting pension plans. Employers would be obligated to develop a funding policy that defines the goals to be achieved, particularly in relation to the security of benefits. Every six years, pension committees would be required to prepare a valuation quantifying the different risks to which the pension plans are exposed.

To accompany these new pension plan funding rules, the Committee is proposing other measures for better governing and managing defined benefit pension plans, and tools for addressing deficits through plan restructuring. These recommendations will be discussed in an upcoming information bulletin.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Revenir à la réalité financière

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 16 N. 3, mai 2013

Dans son rapport Innover pour pérenniser le système de retraite déposé le 17 avril 2013, le comité d’experts, présidé par Alban D’Amours, fait 21 recommandations dont certaines portent sur de nouvelles règles qui pourraient s’appliquer au financement des régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées sous la surveillance de la Régie des rentes du Québec. Le présent communiqué se concentre sur ces recommandations.

Une toute nouvelle base d’évaluation : la « capitalisation améliorée »

Le comité d’experts recommande d’uniformiser les règles de financement pour l’ensemble des régimes de retraite supervisés par la Régie des rentes du Québec :

  • Le financement des régimes de retraite se ferait uniquement sur la base d’une évaluation dite de « capitalisation améliorée », une base similaire à la capitalisation actuelle, à l’exception de certaines contraintes en ce qui a trait au choix du taux d’actualisation :
    • Pour les retraités, un taux unique déterminé par référence aux taux de rendement des obligations corporatives de haute qualité (ce taux est similaire au taux utilisé aux fins des évaluations comptables dans le secteur privé)
    • Pour les autres participants, un taux applicable à compter de la date présumée de retraite égal au taux d’actualisation utilisé pour les participants retraités et un taux applicable avant la date présumée de retraite qui tiendrait compte du rendement espéré de la politique de placement globale du régime de retraite
  • L’amortissement des déficits sur base de « capitalisation améliorée » se ferait sur une période de 15 ans, période qui serait graduellement ramenée à 10 ans. Les déficits seraient consolidés d’une année à l’autre et les cotisations d’équilibre ne pourraient pas diminuer tant et aussi longtemps que les régimes seraient en situation de déficit.

À titre comparatif, cliquez ici pour vous référer aux règles actuelles.
 


Il est à noter que les décisions en matière d’investissement
demeureraient celles du comité de retraite.
Ainsi, même si le taux d’actualisation pour les retraités
devrait être basé sur les obligations corporatives,
le comité de retraite ne serait pas tenu d’investir
les actifs sous-jacents en obligations corporatives.



La « capitalisation améliorée » et ses impacts financiers

Les impacts de la nouvelle méthode de la « capitalisation améliorée » seraient différents selon la situation particulière des régimes de retraite, notamment en ce qui a trait aux prestations offertes, à la maturité des régimes, à l’âge moyen des participants et aux hypothèses actuarielles actuellement utilisées sur base de capitalisation.

Le tableau suivant reprend un exemple tiré du rapport du comité d’experts d’un régime « mature » (proportion importante du passif attribué aux participants retraités) représentatif du secteur privé. 


 

Dans cet exemple, les cotisations de financement s’élèvent à 52 % des salaires selon les règles actuelles avec l’application des mesures d’allègement. Les nouvelles règles auraient pour effet de réduire globalement les cotisations de financement de 52 % à 35 % des salaires. Le coût de service courant augmenterait de 14 % à 16 % avec l’utilisation d’un taux d’actualisation plus bas. De plus, il y aurait une réduction significative des cotisations d’équilibre requises (de 38 % à 19 %) qui s’explique en grande partie par les deux facteurs suivants :

  • Le déficit à financer est passé de 49,2 M $ (base de solvabilité selon les règles actuelles) à 31,0 M $ (nouvelle base de « capitalisation améliorée »)
  • La période d’amortissement du déficit est passée de 10 ans à 15 ans

Selon un autre exemple tiré du rapport du comité d’experts et visant un régime « jeune » du secteur privé, les nouvelles règles auraient pour effet d’augmenter les cotisations totales liées au financement du régime. En effet, la hausse du coût de service courant, qui est l’élément prédominant, serait supérieure à la diminution des cotisations d’équilibre.       
 


À court terme, pour un grand nombre d’organisations du secteur privé,
la « capitalisation améliorée » aurait pour effet de réduire
le fardeau lié au financement du régime de retraite
tout en assurant une meilleure sécurité
des prestations des participants à long terme.       



Le tableau suivant illustre l’exemple d’un régime « mature » du secteur public tiré du rapport du comité d’experts.

Les cotisations de financement sont de 37 % des salaires présentement et excluent l’utilisation des mesures d’allègement (les régimes du secteur public sont cependant soustraits aux exigences de solvabilité). Les nouvelles règles auraient pour effet d’augmenter de façon significative les cotisations totales requises (de 37 % à 57 %). En effet, l’utilisation d’une base d’évaluation plus conservatrice augmenterait le coût de service courant (de 19 % à 24 % des salaires) et augmenterait le niveau des cotisations d’équilibre (de 18 % à 33 %). L’augmentation des cotisations d’équilibre proviendrait essentiellement de l’augmentation du déficit à financer (16,7 M $ selon les règles actuelles et 34,9 M $ selon les règles proposées).
 


À long terme, les nouvelles règles assureraient
une meilleure sécurité des prestations aux participants des régimes.
La « capitalisation améliorée » aurait pour effet
de refléter le risque lié à la maturité des régimes
de retraite à mesure que celle-ci progressera.



Des valeurs de transfert moins élevées

Le comité d’experts recommande également que soient modifiées les valeurs de transfert afin de refléter les taux des obligations corporatives de haute qualité. Cela aurait pour effet :

  • D’augmenter les taux d’actualisation utilisés d’environ 1 %
  • De réduire le passif de solvabilité de 10 % à 20 % selon la maturité des régimes
  • D’augmenter le degré de solvabilité des régimes
  • De réduire la valeur des remboursements des participants demandant un transfert à l’extérieur du régime
     

En cas de faillite d’un employeur, les nouvelles règles
auraient pour effet de redistribuer de façon différente les actifs
de la caisse de retraite entre les différents groupes de participants.
Ainsi, par rapport aux règles actuelles, les retraités auraient droit
à des rentes moins réduites en raison d’un degré de solvabilité plus élevé,
alors que les autres participants, qui bénéficient d’un horizon
plus grand pour améliorer leur situation,
obtiendraient des valeurs de transfert moins élevées.



De nouvelles règles du jeu pour les excédents d’actifs

L’évaluation de solvabilité ne serait plus utilisée à des fins de financement. Cependant, elle continuerait d’être utilisée à d’autres fins, notamment pour encadrer la gestion des excédents d’actifs. Deux conditions devraient être rencontrées avant toute utilisation de ces excédents d’actifs :

  • Le régime devrait être pleinement capitalisé selon la base de « capitalisation améliorée »
  • Le régime devrait être entièrement solvable et l’excédent d’actifs devrait être supérieur à une provision pour écarts défavorables de l’ordre de 15 % du passif de solvabilité

Une portion seulement de l’excédent d’actifs ainsi disponible, soit 20 %, pourrait être utilisée annuellement pour améliorer les prestations offertes par le régime, permettre des congés de cotisations ou, nouveauté importante, rembourser à l’employeur, en partie ou en totalité, les montants versés pour financer les déficits.
 


C’est donc sur un passif de solvabilité moins élevé que s’appliquerait
la provision pour écarts défavorables augmentée à 15 %;
l’effet combiné de ces deux éléments fait en sorte
de préserver le niveau de prudence qui était requis
auparavant afin de permettre l’utilisation des excédents d’actifs.



Politique de financement : au-delà de la politique de placement

Enfin, le comité d’experts propose de renforcer la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite afin d’assurer une meilleure connaissance et une meilleure communication des risques auxquels sont confrontés les régimes de retraite. D’une part, les employeurs devraient établir une politique de financement qui définirait des objectifs à atteindre, notamment en matière de sécurité des prestations. D’autre part, les comités de retraite devraient faire préparer tous les six ans une évaluation quantifiant les différents risques auxquels sont soumis les régimes de retraite.

Pour accompagner les nouvelles règles de financement des régimes de retraite, le comité d’experts propose d’autres mesures pour mieux gouverner et mieux gérer les régimes à prestations déterminées. Il propose aussi des outils pour régler les déficits en restructurant les régimes. Ces recommandations feront l’objet d’un prochain communiqué.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6