Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Report by the Committee of Experts on the Future of the Quebec Retirement System

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 16 N. 2, April 2013

Yesterday, the committee of experts on the future of the Quebec retirement system, chaired by Alban D’Amours, released its report. In the coming weeks, a series of four communiqués will present the key recommendations in greater detail.

In the interim, this is an overview of the key aspects of this report.

Mandate

At inception, the committee of experts was charged with studying the complementary retirement plans under the supervision of the Régie des rentes du Québec, i.e., mainly defined benefit plans. At the request of the Government of Quebec and the stakeholders consulted, the mandate took on a more comprehensive scope: the financial security provided by the Quebec retirement system as a whole.

Objectives, Values and Principles

The committee of experts determined the basic premises of this exercise by returning to the very foundations of a retirement system.

The social partners were of like mind on two objectives:

  • To enhance financial security at retirement, i.e., obtain assurance of sufficient and realistic retirement income
  • To promote the permanence of the retirement system, i.e., design a sustainable retirement system. Sustainability cannot be dissociated from the financial security that the system must provide to Quebecers

The committee retained three values:

  • Intergenerational equity: the retirement system must benefit all generations; deficits must not be systematically transferred to subsequent generations
  • Transparency: plan administrators, employers, unions, participants and beneficiaries must be informed of the scope of the risks that can affect their benefits and financing
  • Accountability: retirement is a responsibility shared between the State, employers and individuals

Four principles guided the recommendations:

  • Respect of the actual costs: financial security at retirement rests largely on financing the actual costs of pension commitments
  • Flexible legislative framework: pension plans must have a more flexible legal framework to stabilize financing and meet the needs of the various stakeholders
  • Pooling: the retirement system should derive greater profit from the benefits resulting from the management of group savings and longevity risk
  • Diversified income sources: the variety of income sources contributes to better risk sharing and to a less vulnerable retirement system

Recommendations

Based on these fundamentals, the committee of experts issued 21 recommendations that it divided into five categories, three of which concern defined benefit pension plans.


1) Return to Financial Reality

For a few years now, falling interest rates, pension fund returns and increased life expectancy have led to a significant deterioration in the financial situation of defined benefit pension plans in Quebec, like elsewhere.

The committee of experts believes the current pension plan situation is no reason to give up. It is important to favour the maintenance of defined benefit pension plans, which provide a greater guarantee of financial security at retirement.

To do so, the committee issued recommendations aimed at simplifying the existing financing rules, protecting basic plan commitments and ensuring these plans are viable for future generations:

  • Use a single financing base for all defined benefit pension plans in all sectors:
    • This base will be the “enhanced funding” that will use realistic hypothesis that more closely reflect the actual costs.
  • Abandon the solvency method for financing pension plans:
    • This method will nonetheless be retained to govern the management of surplus assets, combined with a provision for adverse deviations increased to 15%. It will also serve to establish the debt of the employer in the event the pension plan is terminated.
  • Amortize deficits over a period of 15 years that will gradually be reduced to 10 years
  • Review the calculation method for transfer values based on corporate bonds rather than federal bonds
  • Institute measures for increasing risk management, including the obligation to develop a funding policy

In general, the new “enhanced funding method” will mean that benefits for future services will cost more, and that deficit amortization costs will more closely reflect the actual costs:

  • For retirement plans that are currently subject to the solvency method (mainly private companies), the cost of benefits for future services should increase on average 15%. Conversely, the new method will relax the deficit amortization costs (lower amortization payments).
  • For retirement plans that are currently exempt from the solvency method (mainly municipalities and universities), the costs of benefits for future services should increase on average approximately 20%. The new method will also be stricter with regard to deficit amortization (higher amortization payments).


2) Improve Governance and Flexibility

The committee of experts proposes a set of measures for better governing and managing retirement plans, including:

  • Promoting true cost sharing between employers and employees. For public sector retirement plans, the committee recommends making it mandatory to share equally the current service costs
  • Offering employers the option of withdrawing a portion of surplus assets from the plan while the plan is in effect, subject to certain conditions
  • Allowing retirement committees to purchase life annuities from insurance companies and thereby release themselves from liability to affected retirees. In return, these retirees will no longer be vulnerable to the effects of a possible bankruptcy of their former employers
  • Allowing retirement funds to manage their assets in separate accounts for retirees and other participants


3) Restructure Defined Benefit Retirement Plans

The committee of experts proposes that the parties agree on how to restructure retirement plans to make sure they endure. Therefore, in the five years after the new funding rules come into effect, employers and pension plan participants (employees, retirees and participants entitled to a deferred annuity) can agree to review or suspend certain vested rights, including:

  • Pension indexation, before and after retirement
  • Early retirement subsidy
  • Pension subsidy for surviving spouse
  • Transformation of so-called “final earnings” pensions to “career earnings” pensions
    It is important to note that the basic pension cannot be reduced, nor can the pensions of retirees. For them, only the indexation can be changed.

The agreement between the parties must be negotiated with participants or they must be consulted. In the fourth and fifth years, if the parties do not reach an agreement, employers may suspend or revise the pension indexation by making a payment to the plan that would reduce the deficit in proportion to the impact of any indexation changes.


4) Institute a Longevity Pension

To reduce the risk of Quebec workers outliving their retirement savings, the committee of experts recommends implementing a longevity pension, a new plan exclusively for workers, managed by the Régie des rentes du Québec.

The longevity pension will be a lifetime pension payable as of age 75, but no earlier. It will provide for the annual accumulation of an annuity of 0.5% of earnings (up to the maximum pensionable earnings, i.e., $51,100 in 2013). This longevity pension will most benefit those who contribute to it for the longest, i.e., young workers.

To ensure intergenerational equity, the longevity pension will be entirely financed in advance according to realistic assumptions that more closely reflect actual costs. The total cost, estimated at 3.3% of earnings, will be shared equally between workers (1.65%) and employers (1.65%). This cost could be reduced or cancelled by reallocating current savings.


5) Reinvent the Place of Personal Savings

The committee of experts insists on a sound diversification of retirement income sources and recognizes the importance of savings plans and personal savings.

It recommends the swift implementation of voluntary retirement savings plans (VRSP), with some changes to make them more effective. To better meet the needs of savers, the committee also proposes measures to optimize the disbursement of amounts in the savings plans.

Normandin Beaudry consultants will continue to analyze the implications of these recommendations for the retirement system and for Quebec workers. This analysis will be the subject of a series of four bulletins in the coming weeks.

 

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Rapport du comité d’experts sur l’avenir du système de retraite québécois

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 16 N. 2, avril 2013

Le comité d’experts sur l’avenir du système de retraite québécois, présidé par M. Alban D’Amours, a présenté hier son rapport. Dans les prochaines semaines, une série de quatre communiqués présentera plus en détails les principales recommandations.

Pour l’instant, voici un survol des principaux éléments de ce rapport.

Mandat

À l’origine, le mandat du comité d’experts était d’étudier les régimes complémentaires de retraite sous la surveillance de la Régie des rentes du Québec, soit principalement les régimes à prestations déterminées. À la demande du gouvernement du Québec et des intervenants rencontrés, le mandat a évolué vers une vision plus globale : la sécurité financière que procure le système de retraite québécois dans son ensemble.

Objectifs, valeurs et principes formulés

C’est en revenant aux fondements mêmes d’un système de retraite que le comité d’experts a déterminé les prémisses de base de sa réflexion.

Deux objectifs qui font consensus parmi les partenaires sociaux :

  • Valoriser la sécurité financière à la retraite, c’est-à-dire procurer l’assurance d’un revenu de retraite suffisant et réaliste
  • Favoriser la pérennité du système de retraite, c’est-à-dire concevoir un système de retraite durable. En fait, sa pérennité est indissociable de la sécurité financière qu’il doit assurer aux Québécois

Trois valeurs qui rassemblent :

  • Équité intergénérationnelle : le système de retraite doit bénéficier à toutes les générations; les déficits ne doivent pas être transférés systématiquement aux générations suivantes
  • Transparence : les administrateurs des régimes, les employeurs, les syndicats, les participants et les bénéficiaires doivent être informés de l’importance des risques pouvant affecter les prestations et leur financement
  • Responsabilisation : la retraite est une responsabilité partagée entre l’État, les individus et les employeurs

Quatre principes qui guident les recommandations :

  • Respect de la vérité des coûts : la sécurité financière à la retraite repose en grande partie sur le financement des véritables coûts des promesses de retraite
  • Cadre législatif flexible : les régimes de retraite doivent évoluer dans un cadre légal plus souple pour stabiliser le financement et répondre aux besoins des différents intervenants
  • Mutualisation : le système de retraite devrait profiter davantage des bénéfices engendrés par la gestion collective de l’épargne et du risque de longévité
  • Diversité des sources de revenus : la diversité des sources de revenus de retraite contribue à un meilleur partage des risques et à une réduction de la vulnérabilité du système de retraite

Recommandations

À partir de ces fondements, le comité d’experts a élaboré 21 recommandations qu’il a regroupées en cinq catégories dont trois visent les régimes à prestations déterminées.

1) Revenir à la réalité financière

Depuis quelques années, la baisse des taux d’intérêt, les rendements des caisses de retraite et l’amélioration de l’espérance de vie ont entraîné une détérioration importante de la situation financière des régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées, au Québec comme ailleurs.

Le comité d’experts est d’avis qu’on ne doit pas baisser les bras devant la situation actuelle des régimes de retraite, et qu’il est important de favoriser le maintien des régimes à prestations déterminées, qui contribuent davantage à assurer la sécurité financière à la retraite.

Pour ce faire, le comité formule une série de recommandations qui visent à simplifier les règles de financement, protéger la promesse de base des régimes et assurer la viabilité de ces régimes pour en faire bénéficier les générations futures :

  • Utiliser une seule et unique base de financement pour tous les régimes à prestations déterminées de tous les secteurs :
    • Cette base serait la « capitalisation améliorée » qui utiliserait des hypothèses réalistes se rapprochant davantage de la vérité des coûts.
  • Abandonner l’approche de solvabilité pour le financement des régimes de retraite :
    • Cette approche serait néanmoins conservée pour encadrer la gestion des excédents d’actifs, combinée avec une provision pour écarts défavorables augmentée à 15 %. Elle servirait aussi à établir la dette de l’employeur en cas de terminaison du régime de retraite.
  • Amortir les déficits sur une période de 15 ans qui serait graduellement ramenée à 10 ans
  • Réviser la méthode de calcul pour les valeurs de transfert sur la base des obligations corporatives plutôt que sur la base des obligations fédérales
  • Instaurer des mesures pour accroître la gestion des risques, dont l’obligation d’élaborer une politique de financement

De façon générale, la nouvelle méthode de la capitalisation améliorée engendrera une augmentation du coût des prestations pour les services futurs, de même qu’un coût de financement pour les déficits plus près de la vérité des coûts :

  • Pour les régimes de retraite actuellement assujettis à la solvabilité (principalement les entreprises privées), le coût des prestations pour les services futurs devrait augmenter en moyenne de 15 %. En contrepartie, la nouvelle méthode constituerait un assouplissement du coût de financement des déficits (cotisations d’équilibre moins élevées).
  • Pour les régimes de retraite actuellement soustraits à la solvabilité (principalement les municipalités et les universités), le coût des prestations pour les services futurs devrait augmenter en moyenne d’environ 20 %. La nouvelle méthode serait également plus stricte en regard du financement des déficits (cotisations d’équilibre plus élevées).


2) Améliorer la gouvernance et la flexibilité

Le comité d’experts propose un ensemble de mesures afin de mieux gouverner et gérer les régimes de retraite, notamment :

  • Favoriser un véritable partage des coûts entre les employeurs et les employés. Pour les régimes de retraite du secteur public, le comité recommande de rendre obligatoire le partage à parts égales des coûts de service courant
  • Offrir aux employeurs la possibilité de retirer une partie des excédents d’actifs du régime en cours d’existence du régime, sous réserve de certaines conditions
  • Permettre aux comités de retraite d’acheter des rentes viagères auprès d’une compagnie d’assurance et ainsi se dégager de la responsabilité envers les retraités visés. En revanche, ces retraités ne seraient plus menacés par les effets d’une faillite éventuelle de leur ancien employeur
  • Permettre la gestion des actifs de la caisse de retraite selon des comptes distincts pour les retraités et les autres participants

3) Restructurer les régimes à prestations déterminées

Le comité d’experts propose que les parties puissent s’entendre pour restructurer les régimes de retraite afin d’en assurer la pérennité. Ainsi, sur une période de cinq ans suivant l’entrée en vigueur des nouvelles règles de financement, les employeurs et les participants des régimes de retraite (actifs, retraités et participants ayant droit à une rente différée) pourraient s’entendre sur une révision ou une suspension de certains droits acquis, incluant :

  • L’indexation de la rente, avant et après la retraite
  • La subvention de retraite anticipée
  • La subvention de la rente au conjoint survivant
  • La transformation des rentes dites « salaire final » en « salaire carrière »

Il est important de noter que la rente de base ne pourrait être réduite, ni les rentes des retraités. Pour ces derniers, seule l’indexation de la rente pourrait faire l’objet d’une modification.

L’entente entre les parties devrait faire l’objet d’une négociation ou d’une consultation auprès des participants. Au cours des quatrième et cinquième années, si aucune entente n’est intervenue entre les parties, les employeurs pourraient suspendre ou réviser l’indexation des rentes, moyennant toutefois une contribution financière de l’employeur équivalente à la réduction du déficit découlant de la modification.

4) Instaurer une rente longévité

Afin de réduire le risque que les travailleurs québécois survivent à leur épargne retraite, le comité d’experts recommande la mise en place d’une rente longévité, un nouveau régime pour le bénéfice exclusif des travailleurs, géré par la Régie des rentes du Québec.

La rente longévité serait une rente viagère payable à compter de 75 ans, sans possibilité d’anticipation. Elle prévoirait l’accumulation annuelle d’une rente de 0,5 % du salaire (jusqu’au maximum des gains admissibles, soit 51 100 $ en 2013). Cette rente longévité bénéficierait le plus à ceux qui la financeraient le plus longtemps, soit les jeunes travailleurs.

Pour assurer l’équité intergénérationnelle, elle serait entièrement financée à l’avance selon des hypothèses réalistes se rapprochant de la vérité des coûts. Le coût total, estimé à 3,3 % des salaires, serait partagé également entre les travailleurs (1,65 %) et les employeurs (1,65 %). Ce coût pourrait être réduit ou annulé par une réallocation de l’épargne actuelle.

5) Réinventer la place de l’épargne personnelle

Le comité d’experts insiste sur la saine diversité des sources de revenus à la retraite et reconnait l’importance des régimes d’épargne et de l’épargne personnelle.

Il recommande la mise en œuvre rapide des régimes volontaires d’épargne retraite (RVER), avec certaines modifications pour en améliorer l’efficacité. Afin de mieux répondre aux besoins des épargnants, le comité propose également des mesures pour optimiser le décaissement des sommes se trouvant dans les régimes d’épargne.

Les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry poursuivent leur analyse des implications de ces recommandations sur le système de retraite et sur les travailleurs québécois. Cette analyse fera l’objet d’une série de quatre communiqués au cours des prochaines semaines.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6