Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Investments in emerging markets, still attractive?

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 16 N. 16, November 2013

Since the financial crisis of 2008, bond interest rates and economic growth forecasts for developed markets have declined dramatically. As a result, many investors turned to emerging market equities and bonds in search of higher expected returns.

In 2013, it appears that investors are turning their backs on these markets, as evidenced by the capital outflows in both bonds and equities1. The table below compares the performance of emerging market bonds and equities with that of developed market equities.

Does the significant return differential in favour of developed market equities challenge the long-term potential of emerging market equities and bonds? 

The JPMorgan EMBI Index and the MSCI Emerging Markets Index (MSCI EM) have been posting negative returns since the beginning of 2013, whereas developed market equities have posted a return of 21.3%. Returns for the MSCI EM Index for the past three years have also been negative. It should be noted, however, that performance varies considerably from one country to another, as illustrated in Table 2. 

For the past three years, the BRIC countries (Brazil, Russia, India and China) have not performed as well as other countries in the MSCI EM Index. China maintained annual growth of close to 10% from 2000 to 2010. However, following the arrival of a new government, China’s annualized growth rate has slowed to around 7% in recent quarters (according to data provided by the National Bureau of Statistics of China). The objective of these changes is to achieve sustainable long-term growth. 

This slowdown, combined with a potential gradual decrease in bond purchases by the U.S. Federal Reserve announced last May, has caused investment activity to cool for certain investors who were borrowing in the United States or in other developed markets at interest rates around 0%, to subsequently invest in emerging market bonds (carry trade). Since then, due in part to the closing of carry trade operations and the concerns associated with the economic strength of the country, India’s currency depreciated by more than 10% following the massive sell-off of assets. Other emerging markets in the region also experienced capital outflows, which negatively impacted bond and equity returns. 

Some institutional investors draw a parallel between the current climate and the financial crisis of the 1990s that affected emerging Asian markets, more specifically, countries that had pegged their currency to the U.S. dollar and had sizeable budget and trade deficits. However, a few noticeable differences are that most emerging market currencies now fluctuate freely against the U.S. dollar, and the governments of these countries are no longer heavily indebted. In short, their economic situation is not as precarious as it was 20 years ago. In recent months, the emerging markets have reacted swiftly, creating a $100 billion currency stabilization fund designed to offset potential currency fluctuations. 

This downturn presents buying opportunities for other investors who do not see it as a structural change for them. It is the result of the influence of the central banks of developed countries and their accommodating monetary policies that are injecting billions of dollars in cash into the financial system. Moreover, based on various financial ratios, the valuation of emerging market equities appears to be more attractive when compared to developed market equities. 

The underlying reasons for investing in emerging market bonds and equities are still present: 

  • Young and growing population
    • 80% of the world population
  • Governments close to achieving a balanced budget and whose debt level as a percentage of gross domestic product is lower than that of developed countries
  • Better outlook for economic growth
    • Expanding middle class
    • Increased access to credit 
  • Major stock market and currency diversification benefits
    • 50% of the world’s gross domestic product at purchasing power parity 

The arguments that support investing in emerging market equities are for emerging market bonds. The risk premium is in some cases more attractive for higher credit quality measures than in developed markets. The yield to maturity for the JPMorgan EMBI Index is 6.0% as at September 30, 2013, as compared to 2.7% for Canadian bonds. However, some risks (economic, political and currency-related) remain and the economic environment poses challenges for these economies. Returns should however offset risks both for equities and bonds. 

Finally, according to the Normandin Beaudry Investment Funds Universe comprised of nearly 50 emerging market equity funds, the first quartile manager adds more than 3% compared to the MSCI EM Index over the past four years, which argues for active management for this asset class. 


1BlackRock report on capital flows between the different asset classes.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Les investissements dans les pays émergents : encore attrayants?

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 16 N. 16, novembre 2013

Depuis la crise financière de 2008, les taux d’intérêt obligataires et les prévisions de croissance économique des pays développés ont considérablement diminué. Par conséquent, plusieurs investisseurs se sont tournés vers les actions et les obligations de pays émergents à la recherche de meilleures perspectives de rendements.

En 2013, il semble que les investisseurs boudent maintenant ces marchés. Les sorties de capitaux observées tant en obligations qu’en actions1 en témoignent. Le tableau ci-dessous présente la performance des obligations et des actions de pays émergents par rapport aux actions de pays développés.

L’écart non négligeable de rendement en faveur des actions de pays développés vient-il remettre en doute le potentiel à long terme des actions et des obligations de pays émergents?

Les indices JP Morgan EMBI et MSCI ME (MSCI Marchés émergents) affichent un rendement négatif depuis le début de l’année 2013 alors que les actions de pays développés affichent un rendement de 21,3 %. Le rendement de l’indice MSCI ME au cours des 3 dernières années est également négatif, toutefois, il faut noter que la performance varie significativement d’un pays à l’autre, tel qu’indiqué au tableau 2.

Depuis trois ans, les pays du BRIC (Brésil, Russie, Inde et Chine) ont sous-performé par rapport à d’autres pays de l’indice MSCI ME. La Chine a maintenu une croissance annuelle de près de 10 % de 2000 à 2010 et, au cours des derniers trimestres, à la suite de l’arrivée en place du nouveau gouvernement, elle a ralenti avec une croissance avoisinant les 7 % annualisée selon les données provenant du bureau chinois de la statistique. Ces changements ont pour objectif d’atteindre une croissance soutenable à long terme.

Ce ralentissement, jumelé à une diminution potentielle d’achat d’obligations par la Réserve fédérale américaine annoncée en mai dernier, est venu refroidir certains investisseurs qui empruntaient aux États-Unis, ou dans d’autres pays développés, à des taux d’intérêt avoisinant 0 %, pour ensuite investir en obligations de pays émergents (« carry trade »). Depuis, dû en partie à la fermeture des opérations de carry trade et aux craintes liées à la vigueur économique du pays, l’Inde a vu sa devise se déprécier de plus de 10 % à la suite de la vente massive d’actifs. D’autres pays émergents de la région ont également vécu des sorties de capitaux, affectant ainsi négativement les rendements obligataires et des actions.

Certains investisseurs institutionnels font le parallèle entre le contexte actuel et la crise financière des années 1990 ayant touché les pays émergents asiatiques, plus précisément les pays ayant fixé leur devise au dollar américain et présentant un déficit budgétaire et commercial important. Cependant, une différence notable est que la plupart des devises de pays émergents fluctuent maintenant librement par rapport au dollar américain et les gouvernements de ces pays ne sont plus lourdement endettés; bref leur situation économique est moins précaire qu’il y a 20 ans. Au cours des derniers mois, les pays émergents ont rapidement réagi pour créer un fonds de stabilisation des devises de 100 milliards $ dans le but de pallier à d’éventuelles fluctuations de leurs devises.

Pour d’autres investisseurs, ce repli présente des opportunités d’achats, car pour eux, il ne s’agit pas d’un changement structurel, mais plutôt une conséquence de l’influence des banques centrales des pays développés avec leur politique monétaire accommodante qui injectent des milliards de dollars en liquidité dans le système financier.

De plus, basée sur divers ratios financiers, l’évaluation des actions de pays émergents semble plus attrayante lorsque comparée aux actions de pays développés.

Les raisons fondamentales qui soutenaient l’investissement en obligations et en actions de pays émergents sont toujours présentes :

  • Population jeune et démographie en croissance
    • 80 % de la population mondiale
  • Gouvernements près de l’équilibre budgétaire et ayant en moyenne un niveau de dette en pourcentage du produit intérieur brut inférieur aux pays développés
  • Meilleures perspectives de croissance économique
    • Classe moyenne en expansion
    • Augmentation de l’accès au crédit 
  • Bénéfice de diversification des grands marchés boursiers et des devises
    • 50 % du produit intérieur brut mondial à pouvoir d’achat égal

Les arguments qui supportent un investissement en actions de pays émergents sont également les mêmes pour les obligations. En obligations, la prime de risque est dans certains cas attrayante pour des mesures de qualité de crédit supérieures aux pays développés. Le rendement à échéance de l’indice JP Morgan EMBI est de 6,0 % au 30 septembre 2013 alors qu’il est de 2,7 % pour les obligations canadiennes. Cependant, certains risques (économique, politique et de devises) demeurent présents et l’environnement économique pose des défis à ces économies. Les rendements devraient par contre compenser pour les risques encourus, tant pour les actions que les obligations.

Finalement, selon l’Univers Normandin Beaudry composé de près de 50 fonds d’actions de pays émergents, le gestionnaire de 1er quartile ajoute plus de 3 % par rapport à l’indice MSCI ME au cours des quatre dernières années, ce qui milite en faveur de la gestion active pour cette catégorie d’actifs.


1Rapport de BlackRock quant aux flux de capitaux entre les différentes catégories d’actifs.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6