Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Quebec survey on salary increases

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 16 N. 15, November 2013

2013-2014 highlights

In the summer of 2013, Normandin Beaudry invited Quebec organizations to participate in the third edition of its salary increase survey.

A total of 123 organizations representing more than 280 000 employees completed the survey, allowing us to build a reliable, information-rich database that reflects the realities of Quebec. Data collected was analyzed by Normandin Beaudry’s compensation specialists so as to identify labour market trends and present salary forecasts for 2014 that reflect the economic conditions specific to Quebec.

We are confident that the results of this survey will provide decision makers from Quebec organizations with accurate data that reflects the realities of their specific reference market, whether it is sector-based, geographic or linked to organizational size. This year, special attention was given to the management approach adopted by Quebec organizations as regards to total compensation.

The average total salary increase budget is estimated at 2.9% for 2014. This is equal to what was projected for 2013 but slightly higher than what was actually granted in 2013 (2.8%). Salary structure increases remain stable at 2.0%.

Relatively stable economic outlook for 2014

According to economists and financial experts, the economic outlook for 2014 is positive, although moderate. Household debt, which continues to rise, combined with the labour costs, which is high in comparison with international competition, are real risks that Quebec and Canada will be facing in the coming years.

However, we observe that organizations remain confident and that salary increase budgets remain stable compared to what we have observed in recent years. This stability is also reflected among the different job categories and among unionized employees. 

Shift toward more uniform salary increases

Industry sectors becoming less and less differentiated

Salary increase budgets for 2014 are relatively similar across the various industry sectors.

However, some sectors, including the manufacturing, public services, finance and insurance sectors, continue to set themselves apart with forecasts higher than the provincial average.

Public administration, pharmaceutical and biotechnology and retail and wholesale trade sectors appear to be more conservative with forecast below the provincial average.

We also measured participating organizations’ level of optimisim. This level is determined using the positive difference between the salary projection for last year and the projection for this year. Organizations projecting the largest increase in their budget compared to last year are considered to be the most optimistic.

        

The information, cultural and entertainment, manufacturing and pharmaceutical and biotechnology sectors are among the sectors with the highest positive differences. The pharmaceutical and biotechnology sector, although one of the most conservative sectors, is also one of the most optimistic sectors.

Professional, scientific and technological services and the public administration sectors appear to be more pessimistic with respect to economic outlook and forecast a decrease in their average total salary increase budget compared to previous years.
 

Regional differences persist in Quebec

Salary increase budgets for certain regions in Quebec are considerably higher than the Quebec average for both the budget granted in 2013 and the budget projected for 2014:

  • Quebec City (projected for 2014: 3.3%, granted in 2013: 3.5%);
  • Central Quebec, Lower St. Lawrence and Estrie (projected for 2014: 3.3%, granted in 2013: 3.2%).

For a third consecutive year, organizations from Quebec City are forecasting salary increases that are 0.5% higher than those for Montreal organizations. This difference is especially true for executives, managers and professionals. Salary increase budgets are comparable in the two cities for technical, administrative and operations personnel.

In spite of a declining unemployment rate in Montreal, a gap continues to exist between these two cities. Given the strong economy verging on full employment, employers in Quebec City must continue to stand out to attract talent.

As was the case last year, employers from the Montérégie region will have limited salary increase budgets as compared to Quebec as a whole, with an average total budget of 2.7%, followed closely by the Montreal region, with an average total budget of 2.8%.

Quebec City is focused on performance

Overall, we find the general/economic budget (1) to be systematically higher than the performance-based budget (2). However, the Quebec City region is the only region for which this situation is reversed, and more weight is given to performance.

This is the case for both the budget granted in 2013 and the budget projected for 2014. 

Standardization of salary increases… a balance between caution and confidence

Last year, we observed that SMEs compared favourably to large organizations, forecasting large salary increase budgets. The budgets granted in 2013 and the projections for 2014 confirm these observations.

This year, it’s time for small businesses to set themselves apart from the market by forecasting salary increase budgets that are well above the provincial average.

A phenomenon of caution is generally observed among SMEs who are projecting salary increase budgets for 2014 that are lower than the budgets granted in 2013. Conversely, large organizations continue to maintain their confidence level by announcing for 2014 salary increase budgets that are higher than those granted in 2013.

Is it time to rethink performance management?

Recognizing individual performance continues to be more popular. In fact, 83% of participating organizations confirmed that the salary increases granted in 2013 took into account individual performance.

On average, over the last three years, the monetary recognition provided by organizations for performance that exceeded expectations was 1.48 times those that met expectations. Organizations also monetarily penalized performance that did not meet expectations by granting underperformers a salary increase that was 0.22 times those who met expectations. 

     

Monetary recognition of high performers is losing steam

We observe a downward trend in the salary increase budget allocated to high performers. The budget decreased from 5.7% in 2011 to 3.5% in 2013. In 2011, the salary increase budget granted for employees who exceeded expectations was double that granted for employees who met expectations. In 2013, the budget for high performers was only 1.35 times that for employees who met expectations.

Are employees who meet expectations overlooked by performance management in 2013?

Budgets allocated for employees who meet expectations were reduced the most in 2013, by about 1.2% from the previous year. It should be noted that the budget granted for this category (2.6%) is below the average total budget (2.9%). This means that a balance was not achieved between the budget for high performers and the budget for employees who do not meet expectations. Consequently, the budget for employees who meet expectations is decreased.

Underperformers: what type of strategy should be adopted?

Even if we often observe a consensus regarding the recognition of high performers, this is not necessarily the cost for employees who fail to meet expectations. Organizations hesitate between sanctions and positive reinforcement.

More than one third of respondents do not grant a salary increase to underperformers, clearly deciding to monetarily penalize poor individual performance.

However, more than half of respondents adopt a less extreme position, granting an average budget of 1.3% for employees who do not meet expectations. In doing so, in a context where salary increase budgets are limited, organizations are reducing their ability to differentiate performance.

Click here to access full report (PDF, 1 MB)  Available in French only.
 

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

L'enquête québécoise sur les augmentations salariales

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 16 N. 15, novembre 2013

Faits saillants 2013-2014 

Au cours de l’été 2013, Normandin Beaudry a invité les organisations du Québec à participer à la 3édition de l’Enquête québécoise sur les augmentations salariales.

Ce sont 123 organisations, représentant plus de 280 000 employés, qui ont répondu à l’appel, ce qui a permis d’établir une base de données fiable, riche en information et représentative des réalités du Québec. Les données recueillies ont été analysées par les experts en rémunération de Normandin Beaudry. Ceux-ci en dégagent les tendances du marché du travail et présentent les prévisions salariales pour 2014 selon les réalités économiques particulières du Québec.

Nous sommes persuadés que les résultats de cette enquête fourniront aux décideurs des organisations québécoises des données pointues, reflétant les réalités de leur marché de référence spécifique, qu’il soit sectoriel, géographique ou lié à la taille de l’organisation. Cette année, une attention particulière a été portée à l’approche de gestion des organisations québécoises au chapitre de la rémunération globale.

Le budget global moyen d’augmentations salariales est estimé à 2,9 % pour 2014. Il est égal au budget que les organisations prévoyaient dégager en 2013 mais légèrement supérieur à ce qui a été finalement octroyé (2,8 %). Les augmentations de structure salariale demeurent stables à 2,0 %.


   

Des perspectives économiques plutôt stables pour 2014

Les perspectives économiques pour 2014 s’annoncent positives, bien que modérées selon les experts économiques et financiers. L’endettement des ménages, toujours en croissance, combiné au coût unitaire de la main-d’œuvre, qui est élevé par rapport à la concurrence internationale, représente des risques réels pour le Québec et le Canada dans les prochaines années.

Toutefois, nous remarquons que la confiance des organisations se maintient et que les budgets d’augmentations salariales restent stables comparativement à ce que nous avons observé au cours des dernières années. Cette stabilité se reflète également auprès des différentes catégories d’emplois et auprès des employés syndiqués.


  

Vers des augmentations salariales plus homogènes

Des secteurs d’activité de moins en moins différenciés

On constate pour 2014 des budgets d’augmentations salariales assez similaires d’un secteur d’activité à l’autre.

Toutefois, certains secteurs continuent de se démarquer en proposant des budgets d’augmentations salariales supérieurs à la moyenne provinciale. C’est le cas notamment des secteurs de la fabrication, des services publics, de la finance et des assurances.

À l’inverse, les secteurs des administrations publiques, de l’industrie pharmaceutique et des biotechnologies, ainsi que le commerce de détail et de gros semblent être plus conservateurs, prévoyant dégager des budgets d’augmentations salariales inférieurs à la moyenne provinciale.

 
Nous avons également mesuré le niveau d’optimisme des organisations participantes. Ce niveau est évalué en fonction de l’écart positif entre la prévision salariale de l’an dernier et celle de cette année. Les organisations qui prévoient la plus grande augmentation de leur budget par rapport à l’an dernier figurent comme les plus optimistes.

Les secteurs de l’industrie de l’information, l’industrie culturelle et des loisirs, de la fabrication et du secteur pharmaceutique et biotechnologie figurent parmi les secteurs dont les écarts positifs sont les plus élevés. Cependant, le secteur pharmaceutique et biotechnologie que l’on retrouve parmi les plus conservateurs se retrouve parmi les plus optimistes. 

À l’inverse, les services professionnels, scientifiques et techniques ainsi que les administrations publiques semblent plus pessimistes eu égard aux perspectives économiques et affichent une diminution de leur budget global moyen d’augmentations salariales par rapport aux années précédentes.

Des différences régionales persistantes au Québec

Certaines régions du Québec affichent des budgets d’augmentations salariales significativement plus élevés que la moyenne québécoise, et ce, à la fois pour le budget réel accordé en 2013 que le budget prévu en 2014 :

  • la Capitale Nationale (prévu 2014 à 3,3 % et accordé 2013 à 3,5 %);
  • le Centre-du-Québec, le Bas-St-Laurent et l’Estrie (prévu 2014 à 3,3 % et accordé 2013 à 3,2 %).

Pour une troisième année consécutive, les organisations de la Capitale-Nationale prévoient des augmentations salariales de 0,5 % supérieures aux organisations de Montréal. Cette différence est particulièrement marquée pour les emplois de la haute direction, les gestionnaires ainsi que les professionnels. Toutefois, les budgets d’augmentations sont comparables pour les emplois techniques, pour le personnel administratif et pour le personnel d’opérations entre les deux villes.

Malgré un taux de chômage qui tend à baisser à Montréal, l’écart entre les deux villes se maintient. La Capitale Nationale doit continuer à se distinguer pour attirer le talent avec une effervescence économique qui frôle le plein emploi.


Tout comme l’an dernier, les employeurs de la région de la Montérégie disposent de budgets d’augmentations salariales plus limités comparativement à l’ensemble du Québec, avec des budgets globaux moyens autour de 2,7 %, suivis de près par la région de Montréal, avec un budget global moyen de 2,8 %.

La Capitale Nationale mise sur la performance

De façon générale, nous constatons que le budget général/économique (1) est systématiquement supérieur au budget lié au rendement (2). Cependant, la région de la Capitale Nationale est la seule pour laquelle cette situation est inversée, avec un plus grand poids accordé à la performance.

Cette situation se confirme tant pour le budget accordé en 2013 que pour le budget prévu en 2014. Le plein emploi forcerait-il davantage les organisations à reconnaître la performance?

Une uniformisation des augmentations salariales… entre prudence et confiance

L’année dernière, nous observions que les PME se comparaient avantageusement aux grandes entreprises en prévoyant des budgets d’augmentations salariales supérieurs. Les budgets accordés en 2013, ainsi que les prévisions de 2014 confirment ces observations.

Cette année, c’est au tour des petites entreprises de se démarquer du marché en prévoyant des budgets d’augmentations salariales nettement au-dessus de la moyenne provinciale.

De façon générale, nous observons un phénomène de prudence chez les PME qui prévoient en 2014 des budgets d’augmentations salariales inférieurs aux budgets accordés en 2013. À l’inverse, les grandes organisations continuent de maintenir leur indice de confiance en annonçant pour 2014 des budgets d’augmentations salariales supérieurs à ceux accordés en 2013.

Une gestion de la performance à repenser?

La performance individuelle continue à être plus payante. En effet, 83 % des organisations participantes confirment que les augmentations salariales accordées en 2013 ont tenu compte du rendement individuel.

En moyenne, sur les trois dernières années, les organisations ont reconnu monétairement les plus performants de façon supérieure aux employés qui répondent aux attentes par un facteur de 1,48. Les organisations ont également sanctionné monétairement les moins performants en leur versant une augmentation inférieure à ceux qui répondent aux attentes par un facteur de 0,22.

La reconnaissance monétaire des plus performants en perte de vitesse

Par ailleurs, nous observons une tendance décroissante dans la détermination du budget d’augmentations salariales allouées aux plus performants, budget qui est passé de 5,7 % en 2011 à 3,5 % en 2013. En 2011, les organisations accordaient un budget qui allait du simple au double entre ceux qui répondaient aux attentes et ceux qui les dépassaient. Ce rapport s’est considérablement réduit puisqu’en 2013, le budget des plus performants n’était que 1,35 fois supérieur à celui de ceux qui contribuent aux attentes.

Les employés qui répondent aux attentes : les oubliés de la gestion de la performance en 2013?

Les budgets alloués aux employés qui répondent aux attentes ont été ceux qui ont subi la plus forte diminution en 2013, avec une baisse de 1,2 % par rapport à l’an dernier. Force est de constater que le budget alloué à cette catégorie (2,6 %) se retrouve en deçà du budget moyen global (2,9 %). Cela signifie que le budget des plus performants et celui des employés qui ne répondent pas aux attentes ne parviennent pas à s’équilibrer entre eux. Conséquemment, le budget des employés qui répondent aux attentes s’en trouve diminué.

Les moins performants : quelle stratégie adopter?

Même si l’on observe souvent un consensus entourant la reconnaissance des plus performants, celui-ci est moins évident pour les employés qui ne répondent pas aux attentes. Il y a hésitation entre sanction et renforcement positif.

Les tendances de cette année viennent le confirmer.

Plus du tiers des répondants n’accordent aucune augmentation salariale aux moins performants, décidant clairement de sanctionner monétairement un faible niveau de performance individuelle.

Par contre, plus de la moitié adopte une position moins extrême en allouant un budget moyen de 1,3 % à leurs employés qui ne répondent pas aux attentes. En procédant ainsi, dans un contexte de budget d’augmentations salariales limité, les organisations diminuent leur capacité à distinguer la performance.

Cliquez ici pour télécharger le rapport complet (PDF, 1 Mo)

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6