Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Institutional Investment Fund Performance

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 16 N. 13, August 2013

Below are the highlights from our mid-year review analyzing the performance as at June 30, 2013, of the institutional managers comprising the Normandin Beaudry Investment Funds Universe.

To be included in the Normandin Beaudry Investment Funds Universe, institutional managers must adopt an active portfolio management approach, have a performance history of at least three years and have a minimum level of assets under management. All returns are presented before management fees.

Canadian Assets

Canadian bonds (DEX Universe) generated a return of -1.69%. This performance can be attributed to the increase in interest rates (+0.6% for 10-year federal bonds) in the second quarter of 2013. Long-term bonds (DEX Long Term: - 4.87%) were more affected by the increase because of their heightened sensitivity to changes in interest rates (longer duration).

The value added by Universe and Long-term bond managers is primarily explained by a shorter duration than that of the benchmark and to an overweighting of corporate bonds. This was the top performing sector for the first half of 2013. It should be noted that only 4th quartile managers failed to add value during this period.

The S&P/TSX Composite Index, representing Canadian equities, generated a return of -0.88% in the first half of 2013. This negative return can be attributed to the underperformance of the Gold and Precious Metals subsectors, which generated returns of -33% and -31% respectively. The value added by the median manager was 3.87% compared to the benchmark, which can be explained by the underweighting of the Gold and Precious Metals subsectors by most institutional managers. Only 6 out of 55 managers underperformed the benchmark in the first 6 months of 2013. It should also be noted that the first quartile manager generated substantial value added (6.45%) and that there were significant differences between performance quartiles.
 

Foreign Assets

      

The S&P 500 Index, representing U.S. equities, and the MSCI EAFE Index, representing international equities, generated returns in Canadian dollars of 20.27% and 9.99% respectively. During the first half of 2013, the Canadian dollar lost around 5.4% in relation to the U.S. dollar.

The MSCI World Index, representing global equities, generated a return of 14.56% in Canadian dollars. The value added was 0.81% for the median manager and 1.70% for the first quartile manager compared to the benchmark in the first half of 2013. To add value, global equity managers had to underweight the European zone and its currency and to overweight Japan and the United States. It should be noted that 9 of the 10 benchmark sectors generated positive returns during this period.

The MSCI Emerging Markets Index generated a return of -4.45% in the first 6 months of 2013. As was the case for the Canadian market, emerging market equities were negatively impacted by the Materials sector. The median emerging markets manager generated a value added of 1.59%, whereas the first quartile manager generated a value added of more than 3.43% compared the MSCI Emerging Markets Index. The underweighting of the Materials sector and the BRIC (Brazil, Russia, India and China) countries was a strategy that allowed for value to be added in comparison with the benchmark.

Financial Health of Pension Plans

Finally, during the first half of 2013, the financial health of pension plans improved by around 8%. This improvement is due in part to the increase in interest rates, which decreased the value of liabilities, and to foreign stock markets’ performance that exceeded expectations.
 

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Performance des fonds de placement institutionnels

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB, Vol 16 N. 13, août 2013

Voici les faits saillants de notre Revue semestrielle de la performance des gestionnaires institutionnels composant l’Univers de fonds de placement Normandin Beaudry, au 30 juin 2013.

Pour être inclus dans l’Univers de fonds de placement Normandin Beaudry, les gestionnaires institutionnels doivent avoir une approche en gestion active, un historique de rendement d’au moins trois ans ainsi qu’un minimum d’actifs sous gestion. Tous les rendements sont présentés avant les frais de gestion.

Actifs canadiens

Les obligations canadiennes (DEX Univers) ont généré un rendement de -1,69 %. Cette performance est attribuable à la hausse des taux d’intérêt (+0,6 % pour les obligations fédérales 10 ans) lors du second trimestre de 2013. Les obligations long terme (DEX long terme : -4,87 %) ont été davantage affectées par la hausse en raison de leur sensibilité accrue à la variation des taux d’intérêt (durée plus longue).

La valeur ajoutée par les gestionnaires en obligations Univers et long terme est principalement expliquée par une durée plus courte que celle de l’indice ainsi qu’une surpondération des obligations de sociétés. Ce secteur a été le plus performant lors du premier semestre de 2013. Notons finalement que seuls les gestionnaires de 4quartile n’ont pas ajouté de valeur au cours de cette période.

L’indice Composé S&P/TSX représentant les actions canadiennes a généré un rendement de -0,88 % lors du premier semestre de 2013. Ce rendement négatif est attribuable aux sous-secteurs des Aurifères et des Métaux précieux qui ont respectivement généré des rendements de -33 % et -31 %. On observe que le gestionnaire médian a obtenu une valeur ajoutée de 3,87 % par rapport à l’indice de référence. La valeur ajoutée est expliquée par la sous-pondération des sous-secteurs des Aurifères et des Métaux précieux par la plupart des gestionnaires institutionnels. Seulement 6 gestionnaires sur 55 ont sous-performé l’indice de référence au cours des 6 premiers mois de 2013. Notons également que le gestionnaire de premier quartile a généré une forte valeur ajoutée de 6,45 % et que la disparité entre les quartiles de rendement est importante.  

Actifs étrangers

     

Le S&P 500 représentant les actions américaines et le MSCI EAEO représentant les actions internationales ont respectivement généré des rendements de 20,27 % et 9,99 % en dollars canadiens. Durant le 1er semestre de 2013, le dollar canadien s’est déprécié d’environ 5,4 % par rapport au dollar américain.

Le MSCI Monde représentant les actions mondiales a généré un rendement de 14,56 % en dollars canadiens. Le gestionnaire médian a ajouté 0,81 % et le gestionnaire de premier quartile a ajouté 1,70 % par rapport à l’indice de référence lors du premier semestre de 2013. Afin d’ajouter de la valeur, les gestionnaires d’actions mondiales devaient sous-pondérer la zone européenne ainsi que sa devise et surpondérer le Japon et les États-Unis. Notons que 9 des 10 secteurs de l’indice de référence ont généré des rendements positifs au cours de la période.

Le MSCI Marchés Émergents a généré un rendement de -4,45 % au cours des 6 premiers mois de 2013. Comme le marché canadien, les actions de pays émergents ont été négativement affectées par le secteur des Matériaux. Le gestionnaire médian en actions de pays émergents a ajouté 1,59 % alors que le gestionnaire de premier quartile a ajouté plus de 3,43 % par rapport au MSCI Marchés Émergents. La sous-pondération du secteur des Matériaux et des pays du BRIC (Brésil, Russie, Inde et Chine) était une stratégie qui permettait d’ajouter de la valeur par rapport à l’indice de référence.

Santé financière des régimes de retraite

Finalement, au cours du premier semestre de 2013, la santé financière des régimes de retraite s’est améliorée d’environ 8 %. Cette amélioration est en partie attribuable à la hausse des taux d’intérêt, ayant eu pour effet de diminuer la valeur des passifs, ainsi qu'à une performance des marchés boursiers étrangers au-delà des attentes.
 

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6