Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

2013 Bulletins

NB Bulletin Vol. 16 N. 20, January 2014
Quebec government action plan for pension plan sustainability

On December 12, the Quebec government unveiled its action plan for ensuring the sustainability of pension plans and protecting defined benefit pension plans (DB plans).

NB Bulletin Vol. 16 N. 19, December 2013
Voluntary retirement savings plans (VRSPs): it’s a go!

Bill 39, An act respecting voluntary retirement savings plans, has been adopted on December 3rd. This new act will force employers with five or more employees to offer a retirement savings plan as of July 1, 2014.

NB Bulletin Vol. 16 N. 18, December 2013
Accounting standards applicable to employee future benefits: what Quebec-based companies do?

Several private sector companies will soon be finalizing their budgets for the upcoming fiscal year and preparing their financial statements for the current fiscal year. These must include the recognition of the promises for defined benefit pension plans (DB plans) and for group insurance plans offered to retirees (other post-retirement benefits).

NB Bulletin Vol. 16 N. 17, November 2013
Regulation extending relief measures for private sector plans to 2014-2015 passed

The Quebec government recently confirmed that private pension plan funding relief measures will be extended to 2014 and 2015. 

NB Bulletin Vol. 16 N. 16, November 2013
Investments in emerging markets, still attractive?

Since the financial crisis of 2008, bond interest rates and economic growth forecasts for developed markets have declined dramatically. As a result, many investors turned to emerging market equities and bonds in search of higher expected returns.  
 

NB Bulletin Vol. 16 N. 15, November 2013
Quebec survey on salary increases

2013-2014 highlights

 

In the summer of 2013, Normandin Beaudry invited Quebec organizations to participate in the third edition of its salary increase survey.

 

A total of 123 organizations representing more than 280 000 employees completed the survey, allowing us to build a reliable, information-rich database that reflects the realities of Quebec. Data collected was analyzed by Normandin Beaudry’s compensation specialists so as to identify labour market trends and present salary forecasts for 2014 that reflect the economic conditions specific to Quebec.

NB Bulletin Vol. 16 N. 14, September 2013
Rates for Health Care Professionals in 2013

During the summer of 2013, Normandin Beaudry conducted its 16th annual survey of fees charged by health care professionals in Quebec.  Because health care services provided by these specialists are typically covered by group benefits plans, we believe that the results presented below will be of interest to you. 

NB Bulletin Vol. 16 N. 13, August 2013
Institutional Investment Fund Performance

Below are the highlights from our mid-year review analyzing the performance as at June 30, 2013, of the institutional managers comprising the Normandin Beaudry Investment Funds Universe.

NB Bulletin Vol 16 N. 12, July 2013
Draft Regulation Extending Relief Measures to 2014 and 2015 – Private Sector

On July 10, 2013, the Quebec government published a draft regulation to extend until December 31, 2015, relief measures applicable to private sector1 defined benefit pension plans. These measures will provide answers to sponsors’ questions concerning funding contributions required for 2014 and 2015.

NB Bulletin Vol 16 N. 11, July 2013
New Financial Parameters for the Quebec Prescription Drug Insurance Plan

On July 1 each year, the Régie de l’assurance maladie du Québec adjusts the financial parameters applicable to the public prescription drug insurance plan to take into account the increase or decrease in plan costs.

NB bulletin Vol. 16 N. 10, June 2013
Health and dental care insurance offered to employees on extended disability: trends observed

In 2012, we surveyed 90 Quebec and Canadian organizations on practices concerning health and dental care coverage offered to employees on extended disability leave. Below is a summary of the main findings concerning the maintenance or termination of coverage, followed by a comparison of practices against minimum legal requirements.

NB bulletin Vol. 16 N. 9, June 2013
Rethinking the role of retirement savings

The Expert Committee's report from every angle. A series of bulletins to enlighten you.

 

Out of the 21 recommendations issued by the Expert Committee on the Future of the Quebec Retirement System (the “Committee”), chaired by Mr. Alban D’Amours, four are related to retirement savings plans other than defined benefit plans. The goal of these recommendations is to help workers save more for retirement and to make the Quebec retirement system more effective.

 

Many workers who do not have access to a defined benefit pension plan offered by their employer must rely more on retirement savings plans and their personal savings to ensure their financial security at retirement.

 

This information bulletin focuses on the recommendations related to retirement savings plans.

NB bulletin Vol. 16 N. 8, June 2013
The audit program of the Commission de l’équité salariale: what employers should know

As set out in its strategic plan for 2009-2014, the Commission de l’équité salariale (“the Commission”) has implemented an audit program intended to ensure the application of the Pay Equity Act (“the Act”) by Quebec employers subject to it.

NB Bulletin Vol. 16 N. 7, June 2013
Amendments to accounting standards applicable to employee future benefits

The Accounting Standards Board (AcSB) recently approved the final standards on employee future benefits that apply to private enterprises (Part II of the Canadian Institute of Chartered Accountants (CICA) Handbook). Section 3461 will be replaced by Section 3462 for fiscal years beginning on or after January 1, 2014.

NB Bulletin Vol. 16 N. 6, May 2013
A more flexible legislative framework

The Expert Committee's report from every angle. A series of bulletins to enlighten you.

Of the 21 recommendations issued by the Expert Committee on the Future of the Quebec Retirement System (the “Committee”), chaired by Mr. Alban D’Amours, almost half aim to make the legislative framework applicable to supplemental pension plans more flexible in order to better govern and manage defined benefit pension plans.

NB Bulletin Vol. 16 N. 5, may 2013
Voluntary retirement savings plans (VRSPs): take 2!

The new Bill 39, An act respecting voluntary retirement savings plans, confirms the political will to give birth to this new type of plan. Hence, this Bill will force employers with five or more employees to offer a retirement savings plan as of January 1, 2014.

NB Bulletin Vol. 16 N. 4, may 2013
The Longevity Pension from Every Angle

The Expert Committee's report from every angle. A series of bulletins to enlighten you.

 

The Expert Committee on the Future of the Quebec Retirement System, chaired by Alban D’Amours, released its report on April 17, 2013. Among the Committee’s 21 recommendations is an innovative measure that has created quite a buzz, the longevity pension. This bulletin explains this new pension.

NB Bulletin Vol. 16 N. 3, May 2013
Return to Financial Reality

The Expert Committee's report from every angle. A series of bulletins to enlighten you.

 

In its report Innovating for a Sustainable Retirement System released on April 17, 2013, the Expert Committee on the Future of the Québec Retirement System (the “Committee”), chaired by Alban D’Amours, issued 21 recommendations including recommendations concerning new funding rules that would apply to defined benefit pension plans that fall under the supervision of the Régie des rentes du Québec. This information bulletin focuses on these recommendations.

NB Bulletin Vol. 16 N. 2, April 2013
Report by the Committee of Experts on the Future of the Quebec Retirement System

The Expert Committee's report from every angle. A series of bulletins to enlighten you.

 

Yesterday, the committee of experts on the future of the Quebec retirement system, chaired by Alban D’Amours, released its report. In the coming weeks, a series of four communiqués will present the key recommendations in greater detail. 

In the interim, this is an overview of the key aspects of this report.

NB Bulletin Vol. 16 N. 1, March 2013
2012 tax credit for medical expenses

For 2012, a tax credit varying from 4% to 20% of incurred expenses can be granted to Canadian taxpayers(1) depending on their province of residence and subject to certain conditions.

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Communiqués 2013

Communiqué NB Vol. 16 N. 20, décembre 2013
Le plan d’action du gouvernement du Québec pour la pérennité des régimes de retraite

Le gouvernement du Québec a annoncé la semaine dernière son plan d’action pour assurer la pérennité des régimes de retraite et pour sécuriser les régimes à prestations déterminées (régimes PD).

Communiqué NB Vol. 16 N. 19, décembre 2013
Régimes volontaires d’épargne-retraite (RVER) : c’est parti !

Le projet de loi no 39 sur les RVER a été adopté le 3 décembre. Cette nouvelle Loi obligera tous les employeurs de 5 employés et plus à offrir un régime d’épargne retraite, et ce, à compter du 1er juillet 2014.

Communiqué NB Vol. 16 N. 18, décembre 2013
Normes comptables applicables aux avantages sociaux futurs : que font les entreprises québécoises?

Plusieurs entreprises du secteur privé finaliseront bientôt leurs budgets pour la prochaine année fiscale et prépareront leurs états financiers pour l’année fiscale en cours. Ceux-ci doivent inclure la reconnaissance des engagements pour les régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées (« régimes PD ») et pour les régimes d’assurance collective offerts aux retraités (« autres avantages après la retraite »).

Communiqué NB Vol. 16 N. 17, novembre 2013
Adoption du règlement prolongeant la mesure d’allègement pour 2014-2015 - Secteur privé

Le gouvernement du Québec vient de confirmer le prolongement des mesures d’allègement pour le financement des régimes de retraite du secteur privé pour les années 2014 et 2015.

Communiqué NB Vol. 16 N. 16, novembre 2013
Les investissements dans les pays émergents : encore attrayants?

Depuis la crise financière de 2008, les taux d’intérêt obligataires et les prévisions de croissance économique des pays développés ont considérablement diminué. Par conséquent, plusieurs investisseurs se sont tournés vers les actions et les obligations de pays émergents à la recherche de meilleures perspectives de rendements.

Communiqué NB Vol. 16 N. 15, novembre 2013
L'enquête québécoise sur les augmentations salariales

Faits saillants 2013-2014

 

Au cours de l’été 2013, Normandin Beaudry a invité les organisations du Québec à participer à la 3e édition de l’Enquête québécoise sur les augmentations salariales.

 

Ce sont 123 organisations, représentant plus de 280 000 employés, qui ont répondu à l’appel, ce qui a permis d’établir une base de données fiable, riche en information et représentative des réalités du Québec. Les données recueillies ont été analysées par les experts en rémunération de Normandin Beaudry. Ceux-ci en dégagent les tendances du marché du travail et présentent les prévisions salariales pour 2014 selon les réalités économiques particulières du Québec.
 

Communiqué NB, Vol 16 N. 14, septembre 2013
Les tarifs des spécialistes de la santé en 2013

Au cours de l’été 2013, Normandin Beaudry a mené sa 16e enquête annuelle sur les tarifs exigés par les spécialistes de la santé au Québec. Ces coûts étant généralement couverts par les régimes d’assurance collective, les constats qui suivent sauront sûrement vous intéresser.

Communiqué NB, Vol 16 N. 13, août 2013
Performance des fonds de placement institutionnels

Voici les faits saillants de notre Revue semestrielle de la performance des gestionnaires institutionnels composant l’Univers de fonds de placement Normandin Beaudry, au 30 juin 2013.

Communiqué NB, Vol 16 N. 12, juillet 2013
Projet de règlement prolongeant les mesures d’allègement pour 2014 et 2015 - Secteur privé

Le 10 juillet dernier, le gouvernement du Québec a publié un projet de règlement dans le but de prolonger, jusqu’au 31 décembre 2015, les mesures d’allègement relatives aux régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées du secteur privé1. Ces mesures apporteront des réponses aux interrogations des promoteurs quant aux cotisations de financement requises pour 2014 et 2015.

Communiqué NB, Vol 16 N. 11, juillet 2013
Nouveaux paramètres financiers du régime d’assurance médicaments du Québec

Au 1er juillet de chaque année, la Régie de l’assurance maladie du Québec ajuste les paramètres financiers applicables au régime public d’assurance médicaments afin de tenir compte de l’accroissement ou de la diminution des coûts du régime.  

Communiqué NB Vol. 16 N. 10, juin 2013
Offre d’assurance soins médicaux et soins dentaires aux employés lors d’une invalidité prolongée : les tendances observées

Nous avons mené un sondage auprès de 90 organisations québécoises et pancanadiennes sur les pratiques en matière d’offre d’assurance soins médicaux et soins dentaires aux employés absents pour une invalidité prolongée. Voici un survol des principaux constats soulevés en 2012 relativement au maintien ou à la terminaison des protections. Nous terminons en comparant les pratiques aux exigences légales minimales.

Communiqué NB Vol. 16 N. 9, juin 2013
Repenser le rôle de l’épargne-retraite

Le rapport du comité d'experts sous tous ses angles. Une série de communiqués pour vous éclairer.

 

Parmi les 21 recommandations du rapport du comité d’experts, présidé par M. Alban D’Amours, quatre portent sur les régimes d’épargne-retraite autres que les régimes à prestations déterminées. Elles visent à aider les travailleurs à épargner davantage pour leur retraite et à rendre le système de retraite québécois plus efficace.

 

Bon nombre de travailleurs n’ont pas accès à un régime de retraite à prestations déterminées offert par leur employeur. Ils doivent donc miser davantage sur les régimes d’épargne-retraite et leur épargne personnelle pour assurer leur sécurité financière à la retraite.

 

Le présent communiqué se concentre sur les recommandations portant sur les différents régimes d’épargne-retraite.

Communiqué NB Vol. 16 N. 8, juin 2013
Le programme de vérification de la Commission de l’équité salariale : ce que les employeurs devraient savoir

Comme prévu à son plan stratégique 2009-2014, la Commission de l’équité salariale (« la CÉS ») a entrepris son programme de vérification visant à assurer l’application de la Loi sur l’équité salariale (« la Loi ») chez les employeurs québécois assujettis.

Communiqué NB Vol. 16 N. 7, juin 2013
Modifications aux normes comptables applicables aux avantages sociaux futurs

Le Conseil des normes comptables (CNC) a récemment approuvé les normes définitives pour les avantages sociaux futurs applicables aux entreprises à capital fermé (Partie II du manuel de l’Institut Canadien des Comptables Agréés (ICCA)). Le chapitre 3462 remplacera donc le chapitre 3461 pour les exercices financiers ouverts à compter du 1er janvier 2014.

Communiqué NB Vol. 16 N. 6, mai 2013
Un cadre législatif plus flexible

Le rapport du comité d'experts sous tous ses angles. Une série de communiqués pour vous éclairer.

 

Parmi les 21 recommandations du comité d’experts, présidé par M. Alban D’Amours, presque la moitié vise à rendre plus flexible le cadre législatif applicable aux régimes complémentaires de retraite afin de mieux gouverner et mieux gérer les régimes à prestations déterminées.

Communiqué NB Vol. 16 N. 5, mai 2013
Régimes volontaires d’épargne-retraite (RVER) : prise 2 !

Le nouveau projet de loi no 39 sur les RVER confirme une volonté politique de mettre en place ce nouveau type de régime d’épargne retraite. Ainsi, ce projet de loi obligera tous les employeurs de 5 employés et plus à offrir un régime d’épargne retraite, et ce, à compter du 1er janvier 2014.

Communiqué NB Vol. 16 N. 4, mai 2013
La rente longévité sous tous ses angles

Le rapport du comité d'experts sous tous ses angles. Une série de communiqués pour vous éclairer.

 

Le 17 avril dernier, le comité d’experts sur l’avenir du système de retraite québécois, présidé par M. Alban D’Amours, a présenté son rapport. Parmi les 21 recommandations, une nouveauté qui fait réagir, la rente longévité. Le présent communiqué explique cette innovation proposée par le comité d’experts.

Communiqué NB Vol. 16 N. 3, mai 2013
Revenir à la réalité financière

Le rapport du comité d'experts sous tous ses angles. Une série de communiqués pour vous éclairer.

 

Dans son rapport Innover pour pérenniser le système de retraite déposé le 17 avril 2013, le comité d’experts, présidé par Alban d’Amours, fait 21 recommandations dont certaines portent sur de nouvelles règles qui pourraient s’appliquer au financement des régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées sous la surveillance de la Régie des rentes du Québec. Le présent communiqué se concentre sur ces recommandations.

Communiqué NB Vol. 16 N. 2, avril 2013
Rapport du comité d’experts sur l’avenir du système de retraite québécois

Le rapport du comité d'experts sous tous ses angles. Une série de communiqués pour vous éclairer.

 

Le comité d’experts sur l’avenir du système de retraite québécois, présidé par M. Alban D’Amours, a présenté hier son rapport. Dans les prochaines semaines, une série de quatre communiqués présentera plus en détails les principales recommandations.

Pour l’instant, voici un survol des principaux éléments de ce rapport.
 

Communiqué NB Vol. 16 N. 1, mars 2013
Crédit d'impôt 2012 pour frais médicaux

Pour 2012, un contribuable canadien peut se voir accorder un crédit d'impôt variant entre 4 % et 20 % de ses dépenses engagées pour des frais médicaux(1) dépendamment de sa province de résidence et sous certaines réserves.