Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Voluntary retirement savings plans (VRSPs): don’t get caught unprepared

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 15 N. 9, July 2012

The countdown has officially begun. If Quebec Bill 80, An act respecting voluntary retirement savings plans, remains unchanged when it is adopted, employers with five or more employees will be required to offer a retirement savings plan as of January 1, 2013.

In addition to existing savings vehicles such as registered pension plans, Group RRSPs, deferred profit sharing plans (DPSPs) and simplified pension plans (SPPs), employers will now have access to a new type of plan, the voluntary retirement savings plan or VRSP.

Faced with this new alternative, employers, regardless of whether they currently offer a retirement savings plan, will have choices to make. And these choices will have administrative implications and an impact on management fees paid by employees. A solid understanding of VRSPs and other plans available on the market is the key to not getting caught unprepared.

  

Administrative implications

Even though VRSPs will be administered by financial institutions, a careful analysis of the bill indicates that the administrative burden would be greater than what was initially expected, particularly for small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs).

The employer will be responsible for making the contributions to the administrator

  • A contribution deduction method must be introduced.
  • Employers who fail to make contributions will be required to pay interest and will be subject to a fine.
  • Tax disclosure implications remain to be clarified.

The employer will be responsible for offering the VRSP to all employees

  • Information on the VRSP must be sent to all employees.
  • Every two years, the employer must once again offer the VRSP to all employees who opted out of or terminated their membership in the plan.
  • A procedure for recording and monitoring members’ decisions must be implemented.

Investment fees

As the figure below illustrates, investment fees for group retirement savings plans (registered pension plans, Group RRSPs, DPSPs, SSPs, etc.) are lower than those for the individual savings market (individual RRSPs offered directly by brokers and financial institutions). The financial market thus suggests that investment fees associated with VRSPs should fall somewhere in the middle. Details concerning investment fees will be clarified in the regulations that are slated to be published this fall.

Comparison of estimated average investment fees by vehicle type:

Conclusion

Starting this fall, employers will most likely be solicited by several financial institutions encouraging employers to choose their VRSP. To make informed decisions that meet their needs, employers will need to compare not only the different VRSPs available to them, but also the other retirement savings vehicles currently on the market.

Administration and costs will be two key decision-making factors; however, fiduciary responsibilities, investment management and uniformity throughout Canada should also be considered. In addition, should not be left aside the distinctive employer brand and competitiveness of total compensation.

For interested parties, a public consultation period will begin on September 11, 2012.
Any citizen or organization that wishes to participate in the public hearingsmust submit a brief
to the Clerk of the Committee on Labour and the Economy no later than August 30, 2012.

 

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Régimes volontaires d’épargne retraite (RVER) : ne vous laissez pas surprendre !

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol 15 N. 9, juillet 2012

Le décompte est maintenant officiellement enclenché. Le projet de loi 80 du Québec sur les RVER, si adopté tel quel, obligera tous les employeurs de cinq employés et plus à offrir un régime d’épargne retraite à compter du 1er janvier 2013.

En plus des véhicules d’épargne existants, tels que les régimes de pension agréés, les REER collectifs, les régimes de participation différée aux bénéfices (RPDB) et les régimes de retraite simplifiés (RRS), les employeurs auront maintenant accès à un nouveau type de régime, soit les régimes volontaires d’épargne retraite, communément appelés RVER. 

Devant cette nouvelle alternative, qu’ils offrent actuellement ou non un régime de retraite, les employeurs auront des choix à faire, des choix qui auront, entre autres, des implications administratives et un impact sur les frais de gestion assumés par les employés. Pour ne pas se laisser surprendre, il est essentiel d’avoir une compréhension approfondie des RVER et des autres régimes disponibles sur le marché.

Administration

Bien que les RVER seront administrés par les institutions financières, une analyse attentive du projet de loi permet de constater que la notion de fardeau administratif des employeurs apparait plus importante qu’initialement prévu, et plus particulièrement pour les petites et moyennes entreprises (PME).

L’employeur sera responsable de verser à l’administrateur les cotisations

  • Une procédure de prélèvement des cotisations devra être mise en place
  • À défaut de verser les cotisations, l’employeur devra verser des intérêts et sera passible d’une amende
  • Les implications de divulgation fiscales restent à être clarifiées

L’employeur sera responsable d’offrir le RVER à tous les employés

  • Une communication devra être envoyée à tous les employés
  • À tous les deux ans, l’employeur devra offrir à nouveau le RVER à tout employé visé qui aura renoncé ou mis fin à leur participation au régime
  • Une procédure pour comptabiliser les décisions des participants et en faire le suivi devra être mise en place

Frais de gestion

Tel que démontré dans l’illustration ci-dessous, les frais des régimes de retraite collectifs (tels que les régimes de pension agréés, REER collectifs, RPDB et RRS) sont inférieurs aux frais du marché de l’épargne individuelle (REER individuels offerts directement par les courtiers et institutions financières). Ainsi, le marché financier laisse sous-entendre que les frais de gestion liés aux RVER devraient se situer quelque part entre les deux. Toutefois, les détails liés aux frais de gestion ne seront précisés que dans le règlement qui devrait sortir cet automne.

Comparaison des frais de gestion moyens estimés par type de régime de retraite :

          

En conclusion

Dès cet automne, les employeurs seront vraisemblablement sollicités par plusieurs institutions financières afin d’adhérer à leur RVER. S’ils souhaitent prendre des décisions éclairées qui répondent bien à leurs besoins, les employeurs devront non seulement comparer les différents RVER qui s’offrent à eux, mais également les autres véhicules d’épargne retraite actuellement disponibles.

Bien que l’administration et les coûts seront deux facteurs décisionnels importants, les responsabilités fiduciaires, la gestion des placements et l’uniformité pancanadienne seront aussi des éléments à considérer. Les notions de marque employeur distinctive et de compétitivité de la rémunération globale ne doivent également pas être oubliées.


Pour les intéressés, une période de consultation publique débutera le 11 septembre 2012.
Ainsi, tout citoyen ou organisme souhaitant être entendu lors des auditions publiques
devra transmettre un mémoire à la secrétaire de la Commission de l’économie et
du travail au plus tard le 30 août 2012.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6