Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Proposed amendments to accounting standards applicable to employee future benefits

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 15 N. 4, February 2012

Private enterprises that only recently transitioned to new Canadian accounting standards already need to anticipate the impact of other amendments for employee future benefits that could be introduced in the near future. Private sector not-for-profit organizations are also preparing to adopt the new Canadian standards and must already consider the impact of future amendments to these standards.

The Accounting Standards Board (AcSB) recently published an exposure draft on the proposed amendments for employee future benefits. These amendments would apply to private enterprises (Part II of the Canadian Institute of Chartered Accountants (CICA) Handbook) and to not-for-profit organizations (Part III of the CICA Handbook) and could take effect on January 1, 2014.

Purpose of the amendments

The purpose of replacing Section 3461 of Parts II and III of the Handbook with Section 3462 is to improve the understanding, comparability and transparency of financial information on defined benefit plans for financial statement users.

Elimination of the deferral and amortization approach

The proposed amendments provide for the elimination of the deferred recognition method. As such, enterprises and organizations would now have to immediately recognize in income any change in:

  • the value of plan assets (the “assets”);
  • the value of the accrued benefit obligation (the “obligation”);
  • past service costs; and
  • gains and losses arising from settlements and curtailments.

The immediate recognition of costs would serve to present the actual surplus or deficit status on an accounting basis of employee future benefit plans (taking into account the limit that applies when the plan is in a surplus position).

Choice of using a funding valuation

The choice between two types of valuations, a valuation for funding purposes or a valuation for accounting purposes, would be maintained. With the elimination of the deferred recognition method, these two types of valuations would recognize plan costs in the same way. However, the assumptions used for the two types of valuations may differ, particularly with respect to the method used to select the discount rate. For some plans, this could have a considerable impact on the value of the obligation calculated and thus on the surplus/deficit recognized on the balance sheet. Enterprises and organizations would therefore have to be cautious when choosing the type of valuation.

Transition

New Section 3462 would take effect on January 1, 2014; however, early adoption would be permitted. Transition to new Section 3462 would be completed through the retrospective application of standards, in accordance with the rules set out in Section 1506, Accounting Changes. Enterprises and organizations would adjust results retroactively to plan creation and would immediately and directly recognize the adjustment in retained earnings for the year preceding the year in which the Section would first be applied (without impacting net income).

Elimination of the early measurement provision

The proposed amendments provide for the elimination of the early measurement of assets and the obligation. Enterprises and organizations would thus need to measure plan assets and the obligation as of the balance sheet date rather than up to three months before this date. This would require enterprises and organizations to adopt a tighter schedule for finalizing their financial statements. A provision aimed at simplifying the transition for this amendment is included in the exposure draft.

Components of the cost for the period

The proposed amendments provide for a change in the components comprising the cost for the period, which the enterprise or organization must present in the financial statements, to include the following three components:

  • Current service cost for the period
  • Finance cost
    • In accordance with Section 3462, the finance cost would be the net interest on the accrued benefit liability (asset) at the start of the period, based on the discount rate from the beginning of the period. This differs from Section 3461, in accordance with which the finance cost is equal to the interest on the obligation (established using the discount rate from the beginning of the period) net of the expected return on assets (established using the expected rate of return from the beginning of the period).
  • Remeasurements and other items
    • In accordance with Section 3462, remeasurements and other items would include actuarial gains and losses on the obligation, the difference between the actual return on plan assets and the return calculated using the discount rate, the effect of any valuation allowance, past service costs and gains and losses arising from settlements and curtailments.

Financial statement disclosures

Changes regarding financial statement disclosures would also be introduced. Enterprises and organizations would be required to disclose the amount of remeasurements and other items, the date and type of the most recent valuation and any changes in the actuarial method.

Comparison with international standards applicable to employee future benefits

International accounting standards applicable to publicly accountable enterprises will be amended as of January 1, 2013. These amendments were discussed in our June 2011 bulletin entitled Amendments to accounting standards applicable to employee future benefits.

Following these amendments, the immediate recognition of gains and losses will be the only method set out in IAS 19 (Part I of the CICA Handbook), as would also be the case in Section 3462. However, a considerable difference would remain because, under Section 3462, actuarial gains and losses would be recognized in the income, whereas, under IAS 19, as of January 1, 2013, gains and losses will be recognized in the other comprehensive income, without affecting the profit or loss.

Finally, the exposure draft provides for the use of terminology in Section 3462 that is similar to that used in IAS 19, i.e. the use of the term “defined benefit” as opposed to “accrued benefit” for the asset and the liability presented in the balance sheet and for the obligation.

Next steps

The AcSB will be receiving comments on the proposed amendments up to May 25, 2012 and plans to publish the final standard in late 2013.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Modifications proposées aux normes comptables applicables aux avantages sociaux futurs

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol 15 N. 4, février 2012

Les entreprises à capital fermé viennent à peine de basculer vers de nouvelles normes comptables canadiennes que déjà, elles doivent anticiper l’impact d’autres changements pour les avantages sociaux futurs, et ce, dans un avenir rapproché. Quant aux organismes à but non lucratif du secteur privé, ils s’apprêtent eux aussi à adopter les nouvelles normes canadiennes et doivent déjà prévoir l’impact de modifications ultérieures à ces normes.

Le Conseil des normes comptables (CNC) a récemment publié un exposé-sondage portant sur des modifications proposées aux normes pour les avantages sociaux futurs. Ces modifications s’appliqueraient aux entreprises à capital fermé (Partie II du manuel de l’Institut Canadien des Comptables Agréés (ICCA)) et aux organismes à but non lucratif (Partie III du manuel de l’ICCA) et pourraient s’appliquer à compter du 1er janvier 2014.

Objectif des modifications

L’objectif des modifications proposées au chapitre 3461 des Parties II et III du Manuel, en le remplaçant par le chapitre 3462, est d’améliorer la compréhension, la comparabilité et la transparence de l’information financière sur les régimes à prestations déterminées pour les utilisateurs d’états financiers.

Élimination de la méthode du report et de l’amortissement

Les modifications proposées prévoient que la méthode de reconnaissance différée soit éliminée. Ainsi, les entreprises et organismes devraient dorénavant reconnaître immédiatement aux résultats toute variation :

  • de la valeur des actifs du régime (les actifs);
  • de la valeur de l’obligation au titre des prestations constituées (l’obligation);
  • du coût des services passés;
  • des gains et pertes de règlements et de compressions.

Cette reconnaissance immédiate aurait pour effet de présenter au bilan le statut réel de surplus/déficit sur la base comptable des régimes d’avantages sociaux futurs (en tenant toutefois compte de la limite qui s’applique lorsque le régime est en surplus).

Choix d’utiliser l’évaluation aux fins de la capitalisation

Le choix entre deux types d’évaluation pour l’obligation serait maintenu, soit l’évaluation aux fins de la capitalisation ou l’évaluation aux fins de la comptabilisation. Avec l’élimination de la méthode de reconnaissance différée, ces deux types d’évaluation reconnaîtraient les coûts des régimes au même rythme. Toutefois, les hypothèses utilisées peuvent être différentes entre l’évaluation aux fins de la capitalisation et celle aux fins de la comptabilisation, notamment en ce qui a trait à la méthode de sélection du taux d’actualisation. Ceci pourrait avoir un impact important sur la valeur de l’obligation calculée pour certains régimes, donc dans le surplus/déficit reconnu au bilan. Une attention particulière devrait donc être accordée par les entreprises et organismes quant au choix du type d’évaluation.

Transition

Le nouveau chapitre 3462 serait applicable à compter du 1er janvier 2014, mais l’adoption anticipée serait permise. La transition vers le nouveau chapitre 3462 serait faite sur la base d’une application rétrospective des normes, conformément aux règles du chapitre 1506 Modifications comptables. Ainsi, les entreprises et organismes devraient ajuster rétroactivement les résultats depuis la création du régime et reconnaître immédiatement et directement l’ajustement dans les bénéfices non répartis de l’année précédant la première application (sans affecter le résultat net).

Élimination de la mesure hâtive

Les modifications proposées prévoient l’élimination de la mesure hâtive des actifs et de l’obligation. Les entreprises et organismes devraient donc évaluer les actifs et l’obligation à la date de clôture des états financiers plutôt qu’à une date pouvant se situer jusqu’à trois mois précédant la date de clôture. Ceci obligerait les entreprises et organismes à adopter un calendrier plus serré afin de finaliser leurs états financiers. Une disposition visant à simplifier la transition pour cet aspect est prévue dans l’exposé-sondage.

Les composantes du coût de la période

Les modifications proposées prévoient une modification dans les composantes du coût de la période, que l’entreprise ou l’organisme doit présenter aux états financiers, pour inclure trois composantes, soit :

  • Le coût des services rendus au cours de la période
  • Le coût financier
    • Le coût financier selon le chapitre 3462 correspondrait à l’intérêt net sur le passif (actif) au titre des prestations constituées au début de la période sur la base du taux d’actualisation de début de période. Ceci diffère du chapitre 3461 selon lequel l’équivalent du coût financier correspond à l’intérêt sur l’obligation (sur la base du taux d’actualisation de début de période) net du rendement espéré sur les actifs (sur la base d’un taux de rendement espéré en début de période).
  • Les réévaluations et autres éléments
    • Selon le chapitre 3462, la composante de réévaluations et autres éléments inclurait les gains et pertes actuariels sur l’obligation, la différence entre le rendement réel des actifs et le rendement selon le taux d’actualisation, l’effet de la provision pour moins-value, le coût de services passés ainsi que les gains et pertes de règlements et de compressions.

Les divulgations aux états financiers

En ce qui concerne les divulgations aux états financiers, des modifications seraient également apportées. Les entreprises et organismes devraient divulguer le montant de la composante de réévaluations et autres éléments, la date et le type de l’évaluation la plus récente ainsi que tout changement de méthode actuarielle.

Comparaison avec les normes internationales applicables aux avantages sociaux futurs

Les normes comptables internationales applicables aux organisations ayant une obligation d’information du public seront révisées à compter du 1er janvier 2013. Ces modifications ont été discutées dans notre communiqué de juin 2011 – Modifications aux normes comptables applicables aux avantages sociaux futurs.

Après ces modifications, la méthode de reconnaissance immédiate des gains et pertes sera l’unique méthode prévue dans IAS 19 (Partie I du manuel de l’ICCA), comme ce serait également le cas dans le chapitre 3462. Toutefois, une différence notable subsisterait puisque, selon le chapitre 3462, les gains et pertes actuariels seraient reconnus dans les résultats alors que, selon IAS 19, à compter du 1er janvier 2013, les gains et pertes seront reconnus dans les autres éléments du résultat global, sans affecter les résultats.

L’exposé-sondage prévoit finalement pour le chapitre 3462 une terminologie similaire à celle dans IAS 19, soit l’utilisation du terme « prestations définies » plutôt que « prestations constituées » pour l’actif et le passif présenté au bilan ainsi que pour l’obligation.

Prochaines étapes

Le CNC recueille les commentaires sur les modifications proposées jusqu’au 25 mai 2012 et prévoit publier la norme définitive à la fin de 2013.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6