Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Infrastructure Bonds: Why Consider Them?

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 15 N. 3, January 2012

Pension funds are now—more than ever—looking for secure, long-term assets that produce a high steady rate of income. For several years now, bonds related to infrastructure projects, particularly those structured as public-private partnerships (PPPs), have become increasingly popular and have taken on a growing position in bond indexes. For some organizations, certain values or ideologies might render these investments inappropriate. However, they have characteristics that meet the needs of many pension funds to manage their mismatch risk and some institutional managers have set up funds dedicated to infrastructure debt.

Growing Needs

According to a 2007 survey conducted jointly by the Federation of Canadian Municipalities and McGill University, there is an enormous deficit in the Canadian infrastructures sector. In order to improve or maintain existing infrastructures, investments in the order of $123 billion are required. This amount rises an additional $115 billion when new projects are taken into account.

The current outstanding amount of infrastructure bonds is over $45 billion, and they represent more than 40% of corporate bonds with a 10-plus year maturity. There are two types of infrastructure bonds: traditional bonds and PPP bonds. The outstanding amount of bonds related to PPPs alone will reach $20 billion shortly, which is double the current outstanding PPP debt according to a study by the Royal Bank of Canada.

Traditional Bonds

Traditional bonds are issued to finance infrastructures that operate mainly in the public services sector (renewable energy, waste water treatment) or transportation (bridges, roads and airports). Examples of frequent issuers of bonds rated AA to BBB are NAV CANADA, Aéroports de Montréal and Hydro One Inc. Considering their more traditional structure and significant weight on the DEX Index, these securities represent good liquidity relative to other infrastructure bonds in Canada.

PPP Infrastructure Bonds

Governments are increasingly resorting to PPPs to finance, structure and operate public service infrastructure projects. A consortium of builders, operators and financiers is selected by the government to carry out the project, after a formal call for tenders. The government can therefore transfer the risks of construction, operation and financing to specialized firms. The government then usually takes possession of the asset and operations at the debt maturity.

To finance a PPP project, consortium members usually provide equity often representing 10% to 20% of the project. They finance the balance by borrowing on the markets and issuing long term bonds. The PPP bonds generally have a 30- to 40-year maturity and a credit rating of AA to BBB. The credit risk is concentrated on the construction period, where cost overrun risks are carried by the companies part of the consortium. After the construction period, which usually runs four to five years, interest and principal payment is contractually secured by the government. There is a risk related to operating costs during the post-construction period and it depends on the consortium’s competency to properly evaluate the long-term operating costs.

PPP bond yields are more attractive in the first few years following issuance, i.e., about 5% to 6%, then quickly decline once the construction period has ended, potentially resulting in capital gains. Examples of PPP bonds are the super-hospitals in Montreal, such as the McGill University Health Centre (MUHC) and the Centre hospitalier universitaire de Montréal (CHUM), the RCMP headquarters, and Highway 25.

The main risk of PPP bonds is the credit risk. The complexity of financial structures, contracts and guarantees require specialized expertise in infrastructure project analysis to reduce this risk. Another important risk to consider is the liquidity risk, as a more complex structure means such bonds are bought and sold less frequently on the secondary market. An increase in the number of investors and standardization of bond structures are factors that progressively improve liquidity. In addition, the risk of concentrating in the same sector should be considered.

Conclusion

Infrastructure bonds have attractive features for pension funds and this corporate bond market sector is expected to grow in the coming years. The long maturities, the steady high income and the quality of bonds issued in sectors overseen by governments are good reasons for investing. If you want to learn more on infrastructure bonds, please contact one of our consultants.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Les obligations d’infrastructures : Pourquoi s’y intéresser?

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol 15 N. 3, janvier 2012

Les caisses de retraite sont plus que jamais à la recherche d’actifs à long terme sécuritaires, offrant un revenu courant élevé et stable. Depuis quelques années, les obligations liées à des projets d’infrastructure, particulièrement ceux structurés en partenariat public-privé (PPP), font émergence et se taillent une place non-négligeable au sein des indices obligataires. Pour certaines organisations, des valeurs ou idéologies pourraient rendre ces obligations moins appropriées. Il n’en demeure pas moins que celles-ci répondent aux besoins de gestion du risque de non-appariement de plusieurs caisses de retraite et que certains gestionnaires institutionnels ont mis sur pied des fonds dédiés à la dette d’infrastructures.

Des besoins en croissance

Selon un sondage réalisé en 2007 par la Fédération des municipalités canadiennes conjointement avec l’université McGill, un déficit énorme existe dans le secteur des infrastructures au Canada. Pour améliorer ou maintenir les infrastructures existantes, des investissements de l’ordre de 123 milliards $ seront requis. Ce montant grimpe de 115 milliards $ lorsque sont inclus les nouveaux projets.

L’encours actuel d’obligations liées à la dette d’infrastructures représente plus de 45 milliards $, pour constituer plus de 40 % des obligations de sociétés portant une échéance de plus de 10 ans disponibles sur le marché. Il existe deux types d’obligations d’infrastructures : les obligations traditionnelles et les obligations de PPP. Le montant disponible d’obligations liées aux PPP atteindra à lui seul 20 milliards $ d’ici peu, soit le double de l’encours actuel selon une étude de la Banque Royale du Canada.

Obligations traditionnelles

Les obligations traditionnelles sont émises pour le financement d’infrastructures dont les opérations sont principalement dans le secteur des services publics (énergies renouvelables, traitement des eaux usées) ou du transport (ponts, routes et aéroports). Des exemples d’émetteurs fréquents de qualité AA à BBB sont NAV Canada, Aéroports de Montréal et Hydro One Inc. Étant donné leur structure plus classique et leur poids important dans l’indice DEX, ces titres présentent une bonne liquidité au sein des obligations de sociétés au Canada.

Obligations d’infrastructures en PPP

Les gouvernements ont recours davantage aux PPP pour financer, structurer et opérer des projets d’infrastructures de services publics. Un consortium de constructeurs, opérateurs et financiers est sélectionné par le gouvernement afin de réaliser un projet, au terme d’un appel d’offres formel. Le gouvernement peut ainsi transférer les risques de construction, d’opération et de financement à des firmes spécialisées. Il prend normalement possession de l’actif et des opérations à l’échéance de la dette.

Afin de financer un projet en PPP, les membres du consortium fournissent conjointement un montant d’équité souvent équivalent à environ 10 % à 20 % du projet. Ils financent la différence en empruntant sur les marchés par l’émission de dettes à long terme. Les obligations de PPP ont généralement une échéance de 30 à 40 ans et portent une cote de crédit de AA à BBB. Le risque de crédit est concentré sur la période de construction, où les risques de dépassement de coûts sont la responsabilité des compagnies faisant partie du consortium. Après la période de construction, qui s’étend normalement sur 4 à 5 ans, le paiement des intérêts et du capital est assuré contractuellement par le gouvernement. Un risque lié aux coûts d’opérations durant la période post-construction existe et celui-ci dépend de l’habileté du consortium à bien évaluer les dépenses d’opérations à long terme.

Les taux de rendement des obligations de PPP sont plus attrayants durant les premières années, soit d’environ de 5 % à 6 %, pour ensuite diminuer rapidement une fois la période de construction terminée, donnant lieu possiblement à des gains de capitaux. Des exemples d’obligations de PPP sont les super hôpitaux de Montréal, tels le Centre universitaire de santé McGill et le Centre hospitalier universitaire de Montréal (CHUM), le siège social de la Gendarmerie Royale et l’autoroute 25.

Le risque principal des obligations de PPP est le risque de crédit. La complexité des structures financières, des contrats et des garanties requiert une expertise spécialisée en analyse de projets d’infrastructures afin de réduire ce risque. Un autre risque à considérer est le risque de liquidité, la structure plus complexe faisant en sorte que ces obligations sont transigées moins fréquemment sur le marché secondaire. L’augmentation du nombre d’investisseurs et la standardisation des émissions sont des éléments qui contribuent progressivement à améliorer la liquidité. De plus, le risque de concentration dans un même secteur est à considérer.

Conclusion

Les obligations d’infrastructures présentent des caractéristiques attrayantes pour les caisses de retraite et ce secteur du marché des obligations de sociétés est appelé à croître au cours des prochaines années. La durée longue des échéances, le revenu courant élevé et la qualité des obligations émises dans des secteurs supervisés par les gouvernements sont des raisons de s’y intéresser. Si vous voulez en apprendre davantage sur les obligations d’infrastructures, n’hésitez pas à communiquer avec l'un de nos conseillers.
 

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6