Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Pension Plans – Audited Financial Statements

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 15 N. 2, January 2012

As a result of the various changes made to the CICA Handbook – Accounting and to Canadian auditing standards in 2010, several issues were raised during the preparation of audited financial statements for fiscal 2010.

In December 2011, the Régie des rentes du Québec and the Ordre des comptables agréés du Québec published notices concerning the preparation of audited financial statements for fiscal 2011 and subsequent fiscal years. Pension committees will now have two options when it comes to preparing audited financial statements.

First option

The first option allows pension committees to have financial statements for pension plans prepared in accordance with the accounting standards for pension plans outlined in Part IV of the CICA Handbook – Accounting.

In this case, elements related to pension obligations must be presented.

Second option

The second option allows pension committees to have financial statements for pension plans prepared in accordance with the accounting standards for pension plans outlined in Part IV of the CICA Handbook – Accounting, but without including elements related to pension obligations.

In this case, the financial statements must be called Plan’s Financial Statements (1) and the notes must include the following statement: “These financial statements were prepared in accordance with the financial reporting framework for audited financial statements referred to in the Guide: Annual Information Return 2011, published by the Régie des rentes du Québec.(1)

To allow pension committees to provide financial statements to the users set out in the Supplemental Pension Plans Act, it is suggested that no dissemination restrictions be imposed by the auditor.

Questions or trouble preparing your financial statements? Our consultants would be happy to help.


(1) Freely translated from the French notice published by the Régie des rentes du Québec in December, as the English version of the notice will be available at the end of January.
 

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Régimes de retraite - Rapports financiers audités

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol 15 N. 2, janvier 2012

En raison de divers changements survenus durant l’année 2010 au Manuel de l'ICCA – Comptabilité et aux normes canadiennes d’audit, plusieurs enjeux ont été soulevés lors de la préparation des rapports financiers audités de l’exercice financier 2010.

En décembre 2011, la Régie des rentes du Québec et l’Ordre des comptables agréés du Québec ont publié des avis concernant la préparation des rapports financiers audités pour l’exercice financier 2011 et les suivants. Dorénavant, les comités de retraite auront deux possibilités pour la préparation d’un rapport financier audité.

Première option 

La première option permet aux comités de retraite de faire préparer des états financiers du régime de retraite conformément aux Normes comptables pour les régimes de retraite de la Partie IV du Manuel de l'ICCA – Comptabilité.

Dans ce cas, les éléments concernant les obligations liées aux prestations de retraite devront être présentés.

Deuxième option

La deuxième option permet de faire préparer un rapport financier du régime de retraite conformément aux Normes comptables pour les régimes de retraite de la Partie IV du Manuel de l'ICCA - Comptabilité, mais sans y inclure les éléments concernant les obligations liées aux prestations de retraite.

Dans ce cas, le rapport devra s'intituler Rapport financier du régime et les notes devront inclure l’énoncé suivant : « Le présent rapport financier est établi conformément au référentiel comptable pour la préparation d'un rapport financier mentionné dans le Guide de la déclaration annuelle de renseignements 2011, publié par la Régie des rentes du Québec. »

Toujours selon cette option, il est suggéré que l’auditeur n’inclue pas de restriction quant à la diffusion, afin de permettre aux comités de retraite de fournir les rapports financiers aux utilisateurs prévus par laLoi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite.

Vous avez des questions ou vous rencontrez des obstacles dans la préparation de vos rapports financiers? Nos conseillers pourront vous accompagner et faire la lumière avec vous. 

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6