Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Accounting standards applicable to employee future benefits: what Quebec-based companies do?

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 15 N. 15, December 2012

Several private sector companies will soon be finalizing their budgets for the upcoming fiscal year and preparing their financial statements for the current fiscal year. These must include the recognition of the costs for defined benefit pension plans (DB plans) and for group insurance plans offered to retirees (other post-retirement benefits).

The assumptions required to determine the accrued benefit obligation and the annual expense must be established by the company’s management. For the eighth consecutive year, we have analyzed the annual reports of Quebec-based companies listed on the S&P/TSX Index whose fiscal year was ending between September 30 of the previous year and March 31 of the current year. All of these companies sponsored at least one DB plan and the majority of them offered other post-retirement benefits.

Our analysis is divided into three sections. The first section presents the assumptions used by the companies included in our analysis in percentile format. The tables present a comparison of the assumptions used for fiscal years ending in 2011 (between September 30, 2011 and March 31, 2012) and in 2010 (between September 30, 2010 and March 31, 2011). The second section summarizes the findings from these tables and from our data analysis. The third and final section presents our comments with respect to some measures that could potentially impact future results.

We invite you to consult the “Publications” section of our website to review the results, findings and comments for previous years. However, given that the composition of the S&P/TSX Index varies regularly based on predefined criteria, the group of companies analyzed this year may differ from that analyzed in prior years.

1. Selection of assumptions

The tables present, in percentile format, the key economic assumptions used by companies for DB plans and other post-retirement benefits. The assumptions are those that were in effect at the end of the fiscal year considered and were used to calculate the accrued benefit obligation at the end of the fiscal year. However, the assumption used for the expected long-term rate of return on assets is the one that was in effect at the beginning of the fiscal year considered and was used to calculate the annual expense for that fiscal year. The other assumptions that were used to calculate the annual expense for the fiscal year are those at the end of the previous fiscal year.

2. Findings

  • For DB plans, the median annual discount rate used at the end of 2011 was 0.60% lower than the rate used at the end of 2010 (4.90% versus 5.50%). This decrease in the level of discount rates reflects the generalized decrease in interest rates, for any term. Since the temporary increase at the beginning of the financial crisis in 2008 (a median annual rate of 7.33% could be observed at the end of that year), the rates never stopped decreasing.
  • The median annual expected long-term rate of return on DB plan assets for 2011 was identical to the rate for 2010, at 7.00%. Since the start of the 2000s, companies have gradually lowered their long-term return expectations; however, a more stable trend has been observed in the last four years.
  • Several of the companies analyzed sponsor DB plans and other post-retirement benefits that offer benefits based on salary at retirement. These companies must therefore establish an assumption related to the compensation growth rate. At the end of 2011, the median annual compensation growth rate was 3.50%, a rate identical to the median rate used since 2004. Outlooks for the compensation growth rate for accounting recognition purposes have therefore not changed in the last eight years.
  • For companies sponsoring both DB plans and other post-retirement benefits, the median discount rates used for all of the plans were similar. Hence, 75% of the companies analyzed were using a discount rate for other post-retirement benefits identical to that used for DB plans at the end of 2011.
  • The trend rate for health care costs is the other important assumption for other post-retirement benefits. The initial rate, which is higher than the final rate, can vary significantly from company to company. The median final trend rate had been 5.00% since 2004. However, since the end of 2009, the median final trend rate dropped 0.50% to 4.50% for three years now. This decline could be explained by the lower increases in prescription drug insurance costs than in the past, a coverage accounting for a large portion of other post-retirement benefits. We also note that the upward trend in the decreasing rates period, which was observed for a few years before stabilizing last year, continued this year.


3. Additional comment

Amendments to accounting standards applicable to employee future benefits

At the beginning of this year, in a There, in black and white bulletin, we informed you of the proposed amendments to the Canadian accounting standards for private enterprises and private sector not-for-profit organizations applicable for fiscal years beginning on or after January 1, 2014. The purpose of the published exposure draft by the Accounting Standards Board (AcSB) was to improve the understanding, comparability and transparency of financial information on defined benefit plans for financial statement users. Following this publication, the AcSB is currently discussing the comments received and clarifications to be added in the final version of the revised standards. The AcSB plans to publish the final standards during the second quarter of 2013.

Also, we remind you that there are amendments applicable to the international accounting standards (IAS 19) for fiscal years beginning on or after January 1, 2013.

For more information, we invite you to consult our bulletins:

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Normes comptables applicables aux avantages sociaux futurs : que font les entreprises québécoises?

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 15 N. 15, décembre 2012

Plusieurs entreprises du secteur privé finaliseront bientôt leurs budgets pour la prochaine année fiscale et prépareront leurs états financiers pour l’année fiscale en cours. Ceux-ci doivent inclure la reconnaissance des coûts constatés pour les régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées (« régimes PD ») et pour les régimes d’assurance collective offerts aux retraités (« autres avantages après la retraite »).

Les hypothèses requises pour déterminer l’obligation au titre des prestations constituées et le coût constaté doivent être établies par la direction de l’entreprise. Pour une huitième année consécutive, nous avons analysé les rapports annuels des entreprises québécoises faisant partie de l’indice S&P/TSX et dont l’exercice financier se terminait entre le 30 septembre de l’année précédente et le 31 mars de l’année courante. Toutes ces entreprises parrainaient au moins un régime PD et la majorité d’entre elles offraient d’autres avantages après la retraite.

Notre analyse est divisée en trois parties. La première partie présente, en rang centile, les hypothèses utilisées par les entreprises incluses dans notre analyse. Les tableaux permettent de comparer les hypothèses utilisées pour les exercices se terminant à la fin de 2011 (entre le 30 septembre 2011 et le 31 mars 2012) et à la fin de 2010 (entre le 30 septembre 2010 et le 31 mars 2011). La deuxième partie résume les constats tirés de ces tableaux et de notre analyse des données. Finalement, la troisième partie de notre analyse présente nos commentaires sur certaines mesures qui pourraient affecter les résultats futurs.

Nous vous invitons à consulter la section « Publications » de notre site internet pour connaître les résultats, les constats et les commentaires des communiqués précédents. Cependant, comme la composition de l’indice S&P/TSX varie régulièrement selon des critères préétablis, le groupe d’entreprises de l’analyse de cette année pourrait être différent de celui des années précédentes.

1. La sélection des hypothèses

Les tableaux présentent, en rang centile, les hypothèses économiques les plus importantes utilisées par les entreprises analysées pour leurs régimes PD et les autres avantages après la retraite. Les hypothèses sont celles qui étaient en vigueur à la fin de l’exercice financier considéré afin de déterminer l’obligation à la fin de l’exercice. Toutefois, pour le taux de rendement espéré à long terme sur les actifs du régime, l’hypothèse est celle qui était en vigueur au début de l’exercice financier considéré afin de déterminer le coût constaté pour cet exercice. Les autres hypothèses ayant servi à déterminer le coût constaté pour l’exercice sont celles à la fin de l’exercice financier précédent.

2. Les constats

  • Pour les régimes PD, le taux annuel d’actualisation médian utilisé à la fin de 2011 était inférieur de 0,60 % à celui utilisé à la fin de 2010, soit 4,90 % au lieu de 5,50 %. Cette baisse du niveau des taux d’actualisation reflète la baisse généralisée des taux d’intérêt, et ce, peu importe l’échéance. Depuis la hausse temporaire au début de la crise financière en 2008 (on observait un taux annuel médian de 7,33 % à la fin de cette année), les taux n'ont cessé de diminuer.
  • Le taux annuel médian de rendement espéré à long terme sur les actifs des régimes PD était le même au cours de l’année 2011 qu’au cours de l’année 2010, soit 7,00 %. Depuis le début des années 2000, les entreprises ont réajusté graduellement à la baisse leurs attentes de rendements à long terme. Toutefois, on note une tendance plus stable au cours des quatre dernières années.
  • Plusieurs entreprises parmi celles analysées parrainent des régimes PD et d’autres avantages après la retraite offrant des prestations basées sur le salaire à la retraite. Ces entreprises doivent donc établir une hypothèse de taux de croissance de la rémunération. Le taux annuel médian de croissance de la rémunération était de 3,50 % à la fin de 2011, soit le même taux depuis 2004. Les perspectives concernant le taux de croissance de la rémunération aux fins de la reconnaissance comptable n’ont donc pas changé au cours des huit dernières années.
  • Pour les entreprises qui parrainent à la fois des régimes PD et d’autres avantages après la retraite, les taux d’actualisation médians utilisés pour l’ensemble des régimes étaient similaires. Ainsi, 75 % des entreprises analysées utilisaient, à la fin de 2011, un taux d’actualisation pour les autres avantages après la retraite identique à celui divulgué pour les régimes PD.
  • Le taux de croissance des coûts des soins de santé est l’autre hypothèse importante pour les autres avantages après la retraite. Le taux initial, plus élevé que le taux ultime, peut varier de façon importante d’une entreprise à l’autre. Pendant plusieurs années à compter de 2004, le taux ultime médian était le même, soit 5,00 %. Toutefois, depuis la fin de 2009, on a noté une baisse de 0,50 %, le taux ultime médian étant de 4,50 % depuis maintenant trois ans. Cette baisse pourrait s’expliquer par l’observation d’augmentations moins élevées qu’auparavant en assurance médicaments, la protection représentant une large portion des coûts des autres avantages après la retraite. Nous notons également que la tendance à la hausse pour la période à taux décroissants observée pendant quelques années avant de se stabiliser l’année dernière s’est poursuivie cette année.

3. Un commentaire additionnel

Modifications aux normes comptables applicables aux avantages sociaux futurs

Au début de l’année 2012, par voie de communiqué noir sur blanc, nous vous avons fait part des modifications envisagées aux normes canadiennes pour les organisations à capital fermé et aux organismes à but non lucratif du secteur privé pour les exercices ouverts à compter du 1er janvier 2014. En effet, l’exposé-sondage publié par le Conseil des normes comptables (CNC) sur les modifications proposées avait pour objectif d’améliorer la compréhension, la comparabilité et la transparence de l’information financière sur les régimes à prestations déterminées pour les utilisateurs d’états financiers. À la suite de cette publication, le CNC discute des commentaires reçus et des clarifications à ajouter dans la version finale des normes révisées. Le CNC prévoit publier les normes révisées sur les avantages sociaux futurs durant le deuxième trimestre de 2013.

De plus, rappelons que des modifications s’appliquent aux normes comptables internationales (IAS 19) pour les exercices ouverts à compter du 1er janvier 2013.

Pour plus d’information, nous vous invitons à vous référer à nos communiqués intitulés :

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6