Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Institutional Investment Fund Performance

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 15 N. 11, August 2012

We are pleased to present our mid-year review analyzing the performance as at June 30, 2012, of the institutional managers comprising the Normandin Beaudry Investment Funds Universe.

To be included in the Normandin Beaudry Investment Funds Universe, institutional managers must adopt an active portfolio management approach, have a performance history of at least three years and manage a minimum of assets. All performance statistics are presented before management fees.

Balanced Funds

The median return for balanced funds for the first half of 2012 was 2.98%, and first quartile performance for these funds showed a return of more than 3.66%.

Canadian Assets

  

On the bond market, interest rates increased during the first quarter of 2012 and decreased in the second quarter. Only 4th quartile managers failed to add value during the period. The value added by the majority of bond managers is primarily explained by the allocation of their corporate bond portfolio in relation to the benchmark.

Large cap Canadian equities generated a return of -1.53% in the first half of 2012. The value added by the median manager was 1.54% compared to the benchmark, which can be explained in part by the underperformance of stocks in the Gold and Mining and Metals subsectors in which institutional managers are generally underweighted. It should also be noted that large cap securities (S&P/TSX 60) outperformed small cap securities (BMO Small Cap Index). Finally, the first quartile manager generated substantial value added (3.63%) during this period.

Foreign Assets

      

The median U.S. equity manager subtracted 0.57% compared to the S&P 500 Index. The value added of the first quartile manager was 0.37%. Fluctuation of the Canadian dollar in relation to the U.S. dollar had little impact during the first half of 2012. With regards to international equities, the median manager generated a value added of 1.70%. To obtain a first quartile performance, the manager needed to add more than 3.15% compared to the MSCI EAFE. The appreciation of the Canadian dollar in relation to the Euro (2.2%) and the Japanese Yen (3.4%) decreased investors’ returns when converted into Canadian dollars.

With respect to global equities, the median manager subtracted 0.26% in the first half of 2012. The first quartile manager added 1.22% compared to the MSCI World Index. To add value, global equity managers needed to underweight the European zone and the Euro, and to overweight the United States. Another strategy for adding value was to underweight the Energy and Materials sectors.

Finally, the median emerging markets equity manager added 0.04% during the first half of 2012. The first quartile manager added more than 2.02% compared to the MSCI Emerging Markets Index.
 

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Performance des fonds de placement institutionnels

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol 15 N. 11, août 2012

Comme à chaque année, voici notre revue semestrielle analysant la performance, au 30 juin 2012, des gestionnaires institutionnels composant l’Univers de fonds de placement Normandin Beaudry.

Pour être inclus dans l’Univers de fonds de placement de Normandin Beaudry, les gestionnaires institutionnels doivent avoir une approche en gestion active, un historique de rendement d’au moins trois ans ainsi qu’un minimum d’actifs sous gestion. Tous les rendements sont présentés avant les frais de gestion.

Fonds équilibrés

Le rendement médian d’un fonds équilibré lors du premier semestre de 2012 a été de 2,98 % alors qu’une performance de premier quartile a représenté un rendement supérieur à 3,66 %.

Actifs canadiens

  

Sur le marché obligataire, le premier trimestre de 2012 a été caractérisé par une augmentation des taux d’intérêt, alors que l’inverse s’est produit lors du trimestre suivant. Seuls les gestionnaires de 4e quartile n’ont pas ajouté de valeur au cours de la période. La valeur ajoutée par la plupart des gestionnaires en obligations est principalement expliquée par l’allocation de leur portefeuille en obligations de sociétés par rapport à l’indice de référence.

Les actions canadiennes de grande capitalisation ont généré un rendement de -1,53 % lors du premier semestre de 2012. On observe que la valeur ajoutée par le gestionnaire médian a été élevée à 1,54 % par rapport à l’indice de référence. La valeur ajoutée est en partie expliquée par la sous-performance des titres dans les sous-secteurs des Aurifères et des Mines et métaux, secteurs d’activités au sein desquels les gestionnaires institutionnels sont généralement sous-pondérés. Notons également que les titres de grande capitalisation (S&P/TSX 60) ont surperformé les titres de petite capitalisation (BMO petite capitalisation). Finalement, le gestionnaire de premier quartile a généré une forte valeur ajoutée (3,63 %) durant cette période.

Actifs étrangers

   

Le gestionnaire médian en actions américaines a obtenu une valeur retranchée de 0,57 % par rapport à l’indice S&P 500. Le gestionnaire de premier quartile a quant à lui ajouté une valeur de 0,37 %. La fluctuation du dollar canadien par rapport à la devise américaine a eu peu d’impact au cours du premier semestre de 2012. Quant aux actions internationales, le gestionnaire médian a obtenu une valeur ajoutée de 1,70 %. Pour obtenir une performance de premier quartile, le gestionnaire devait ajouter plus de 3,15 % par rapport au MSCI EAEO. L’appréciation du dollar canadien face à l’Euro (2,2 %) et au Yen (3,4 %) a fait diminuer le rendement des investisseurs lorsque converti en dollars canadiens.

En ce qui a trait aux actions mondiales, le gestionnaire médian a soustrait 0,26 % lors du premier semestre de 2012. Le gestionnaire de premier quartile a ajouté 1,22 % par rapport au MSCI Monde. Afin d’ajouter de la valeur, les gestionnaires d’actions mondiales devaient sous-pondérer la zone européenne ainsi que l’Euro et surpondérer les États-Unis. La sous-pondération des secteurs de l’Énergie et des Matériaux était également une stratégie qui permettait d’ajouter de la valeur.

Finalement, le gestionnaire médian en actions de pays émergents a ajouté 0,04 % lors du premier semestre de 2012. Le gestionnaire de premier quartile a ajouté plus de 2,02 % par rapport au MSCI Marchés Émergents.

 

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6