Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

2012 Bulletins

Quickfacts for NB Bulletin Vol 15 N. 16
Quickfacts on Health Insurance Premiums and tax in Canada for 2013

In addition to the NB Bulletin, Vol. 15, no 16, published in December 2012, here is a summary of the Health insurance premiums and tax for all Canadian provinces for 2013.

Click here to download the PDF (53 Kb).

NB Bulletin Vol. 15 N. 16, December 2012
The 2013 Social Security Programs Parameters

As in previous years, we are pleased to inform you about the parameters that will be used by the major social security programs in 2013.

NB Bulletin Vol. 15 N. 15, December 2012
Accounting standards applicable to employee future benefits: what Quebec-based companies do?

Several private sector companies will soon be finalizing their budgets for the upcoming fiscal year and preparing their financial statements for the current fiscal year. These must include the recognition of the costs for defined benefit pension plans (DB plans) and for group insurance plans offered to retirees (other post-retirement benefits).

NB Bulletin Vol. 15 N. 14, November 2012
Impacts of the Quebec budget on group insurance plans

During the unveiling of its budget on November 20, the Quebec Government announced several measures that could affect group insurance plans:

  • Elimination of the “15-year rule” for patented drugs
  • Increase in the compensation tax on insurance premiums and extension of its application
  • Adjustment of the health contribution based on income
NB Bulletin Vol. 15 N. 13, November 2012
Highlights of the Quebec specific survey on salary budget increase for 2011-2012

In the summer of 2012, the Ordre des conseillers en resources humaines agréés, in collaboration with Normandin Beaudry, invited Quebec organizations to participate in the second edition of the
Enquête québécoise sur les augmentations salariales, a survey on salary budget projections.

 

Some 178 organizations representing close to 250 000 employees completed the survey, allowing us to build a reliable database that reflects the realities of Quebec.  Data collected was analyzed by Normandin Beaudry’s compensation specialists so as to identify labour market trends and present salary projections budget projections for 2013 that reflect Quebec’s economic conditions.

NB Bulletin Vol. 15 N. 12, September 2012
Rates for Health Care Professionals in 2012

During the summer, Normandin Beaudry conducted its 15th annual survey of fees charged by health care professionals in Quebec. Since health care services provided by these specialists are generally covered by group insurance plans, we believe that the results of our survey will be of great interest to you. 

NB Bulletin Vol. 15 N. 11, August 2012
Institutional Investment Fund Performance

We are pleased to present our mid-year review analyzing the performance as at June 30, 2012, of the institutional managers comprising the Normandin Beaudry Investment Funds Universe.

NB Bulletin Vol. 15 N. 10, August 2012
New Canadian drug pooling system

The Canadian Life and Health Insurance Association Inc. (CLHIA) announced an agreement to pool recurring drug claims for fully insured group benefits plans effective January 1, 2013. This information bulletin outlines the key elements of the agreement and the impacts for plan sponsors.

NB Bulletin Vol. 15 N. 9, July 2012
Voluntary retirement savings plans (VRSPs): don’t get caught unprepared

The countdown has officially begun. If Bill 80, An act respecting voluntary retirement savings plans, remains unchanged when it is adopted, employers with five or more employees will be required to offer a retirement savings plan as of January 1, 2013.

NB Bulletin Vol. 15 N. 8, July 2012
New Financial Parameters for the Quebec Prescription Drug Insurance Plan

The Régie de l’assurance maladie du Québec recently announced the new financial parameters that will apply to the public prescription drug insurance plan for the period of July 1st, 2012 to June 30, 2013. One of the provisions of Quebec’s Act respecting prescription drug insurance provides for the revision of these parameters on July 1st each year to take into account the increase or decrease in plan costs.

NB Bulletin Vol. 15 N. 7, June 2012
Prescription Drug Insurance: RAMQ Position Update

The document entitled Info assurance médicaments and published on the website of the Régie de l’assurance maladie du Québec (RAMQ) presents the RAMQ’s positions on various topics related to Quebec’s Act respecting prescription drug insurance (hereinafter called “the Act”) and on the administration of private drug insurance plans. The RAMQ recently updated this document.

NB Bulletin Vol. 15 N. 6, April 2012
Pay equity: mandatory report on pay equity for employers behind in their work

Employers behind in their work to ensure compliance with Quebec’s Pay Equity Act (“the Act”) are wondering how to tackle the report on pay equity (referred to as “DEMES” by Quebec government entities). Let’s examine this question.

NB Bulletin Vol. 15 N. 5, February 2012
Tax credit for medical expenses

Subject to certain eligibility criteria, a tax credit of between 4% and 20% of the incurred expenses can be granted to the taxpayer(1).

NB Bulletin Vol. 15 N. 4, February 2012
Proposed amendments to accounting standards applicable to employee future benefits

Private enterprises that only recently transitioned to new Canadian accounting standards already need to anticipate the impact of other amendments for employee future benefits that could be introduced in the near future. Private sector not-for-profit organizations are also preparing to adopt the new Canadian standards and must already consider the impact of future amendments to these standards.

NB Bulletin Vol. 15 N. 3, January 2012
Infrastructure Bonds: Why Consider Them?

Pension funds are now—more than ever—looking for secure, long-term assets that produce a high steady rate of income. For several years now, bonds related to infrastructure projects, particularly those structured as public-private partnerships (PPPs), have become increasingly popular and have taken on a growing position in bond indexes. For some organizations, certain values or ideologies might render these investments inappropriate. However, they have characteristics that meet the needs of many pension funds to manage their mismatch risk and some institutional managers have set up funds dedicated to infrastructure debt.

NB Bulletin Vol. 15 N. 2, January 2012
Pension Plans – Audited Financial Statements

As a result of the various changes made to the CICA Handbook – Accounting and to Canadian auditing standards in 2010, several issues were raised during the preparation of audited financial statements for fiscal 2010.

Quickfacts for NB Bulletin Vol 15 N. 1
Quickfacts on Health Insurance Premiums and tax in Canada

In addition to the NB Bulletin, Vol. 15, no 1, published in January 2012, here is a summary of the Health insurance premiums and tax for all Canadian provinces.

Click here to download the PDF (23 Kb)

NB Bulletin Vol. 15 N. 1, January 2012
The 2012 Social Security Programs Parameters

As in previous years, we are pleased to inform you about the parameters that will be used by the major social security programs in 2012.

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Communiqués 2012

Complément au communiqué NB Vol 15. N. 16
Aide-mémoire des primes d'assurance-maladie et imposition au Canada pour 2013

En complément au Communiqué NB Vol. 15, no 16, publié en décembre 2012, voici le résumé des primes d’assurance-maladie et imposition pour l’ensemble des provinces canadiennes en 2013.

Cliquez ici pour télécharger le PDF (53 Ko).
 

Communiqué NB Vol. 15 N. 16, décembre 2012
Les nouveaux paramètres des programmes de sécurité sociale pour l’année 2013

Comme à chaque année, il nous fait plaisir de vous communiquer les paramètres qui seront utilisés par les principaux programmes de sécurité sociale pour l’année 2013.

Communiqué NB Vol. 15 N. 15, décembre 2012
Normes comptables applicables aux avantages sociaux futurs : que font les entreprises québécoises?

Plusieurs entreprises du secteur privé finaliseront bientôt leurs budgets pour la prochaine année fiscale et prépareront leurs états financiers pour l’année fiscale en cours. Ceux-ci doivent inclure la reconnaissance des coûts constatés pour les régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées (« régimes PD ») et pour les régimes d’assurance collective offerts aux retraités (« autres avantages après la retraite »).

Communiqué NB Vol. 15 N. 14, novembre 2012
Effets du Budget du Québec sur les régimes d’assurance collective

Lors du dévoilement de son budget le 20 novembre dernier, le gouvernement du Québec a annoncé quelques mesures pouvant affecter les régimes d’assurance collective :

  • L’abolition de la « règle des 15 ans » pour les médicaments brevetés.
  • La hausse de la taxe compensatoire sur les primes d’assurance et la prolongation de son application.
  • La modulation de la contribution santé en fonction du revenu.
Communiqué NB Vol. 15 N. 13, novembre 2012
Faits saillants de l'enquête québécoise sur les augmentations salariales 2012-2013

Au cours de l’été 2012, l’Ordre des CRHA, en collaboration avec Normandin Beaudry, a invité les organisations du Québec à participer à la deuxième édition de l’Enquête québécoise sur les augmentations salariales.

 

Ce sont 178 organisations représentant près de 250 000 employés qui ont répondu à notre appel, permettant d’établir une base de données fiable, riche en information et représentative des réalités du Québec. Les données recueillies ont été analysées par les conseillers en rémunération de Normandin Beaudry. Ceux-ci en dégagent les tendances du marché du travail et présentent les prévisions salariales pour 2013 selon les réalités économiques particulières du Québec.
 

Communiqué NB Vol. 15 N. 12, septembre 2012
Les tarifs des spécialistes de la santé en 2012

Au cours de l’été 2012, Normandin Beaudry a mené sa 15e enquête annuelle sur les tarifs exigés par les spécialistes de la santé au Québec. Ces coûts étant généralement couverts par les régimes d’assurance collective, les résultats de notre sondage sauront sûrement vous intéresser.

Communiqué NB Vol 15 N. 11, août 2012
Performance des fonds de placement institutionnels

Comme à chaque année, voici notre revue semestrielle analysant la performance, au 30 juin 2012, des gestionnaires institutionnels composant l’Univers de fonds de placement Normandin Beaudry.

Communiqué NB Vol 15 N. 10, août 2012
Nouveau système de mutualisation canadien pour les médicaments

L’Association canadienne des compagnies d’assurances de personnes inc. (ACCAP) a annoncé une entente à compter du 1er janvier 2013 afin de mettre en commun les réclamations récurrentes de médicaments pour les régimes d’assurance collective qui sont entièrement assurés. Ce communiqué présente les principaux éléments de l’entente et l’impact pour les promoteurs de régime.

Communiqué NB Vol 15 N. 9, juillet 2012
Régimes volontaires d’épargne retraite (RVER) : ne vous laissez pas surprendre !

Le décompte est maintenant officiellement enclenché. Le projet de loi no 80 sur les RVER, s’il demeure tel quel dans sa version finale, obligera tous les employeurs de 5 employés et plus à offrir un régime d’épargne retraite à compter du 1er janvier 2013.

Communiqué NB Vol 15 N. 8, juillet 2012
Nouveaux paramètres financiers du régime d’assurance médicaments du Québec

La Régie de l’assurance maladie du Québec a récemment annoncé les nouveaux paramètres financiers applicables au régime public d’assurance médicaments pour la période du 1er juillet 2012 au 30 juin 2013. L’une des dispositions de la Loi sur l’assurance médicaments du Québec prévoit la révision de ces paramètres au 1er juillet de chaque année afin de tenir compte de l’accroissement ou de la diminution des coûts du régime.

Communiqué NB Vol 15 N. 7, juin 2012
Assurance médicaments : mise à jour des positions de la RAMQ

Le document Info assurance médicaments publié sur le site Internet de la Régie de l’assurance maladie du Québec (RAMQ) présente les positions de la RAMQ sur différents sujets se rapportant à la Loi sur l’assurance médicaments (ci-dessous appelée la Loi) et sur l’administration des régimes privés d’assurance médicaments. Ce document a dernièrement été mis à jour par la RAMQ.

Communiqué NB Vol 15 N. 6, avril 2012
Équité salariale : La déclaration obligatoire pour les employeurs en retard

Les employeurs en retard dans leurs travaux de conformité à la Loi sur l’équité salariale du Québec (« la Loi ») se demandent comment aborder la Déclaration de l'employeur en matière d'équité salariale (« DEMES »). Faisons le point sur la question.

Communiqué NB Vol 15 N. 5, février 2012
Crédit d'impôt pour frais médicaux

Sous réserve de certains critères d'admissibilité, un contribuable peut se voir accorder un crédit d'impôt variant de 4 % à 20 % des dépenses engagées pour des frais médicaux.  

Communiqué NB Vol 15 N. 4, février 2012
Modifications proposées aux normes comptables applicables aux avantages sociaux futurs

Les entreprises à capital fermé viennent à peine de basculer vers de nouvelles normes comptables canadiennes que déjà, elles doivent anticiper l’impact d’autres changements pour les avantages sociaux futurs, et ce, dans un avenir rapproché. Quant aux organismes à but non lucratif du secteur privé, ils s’apprêtent eux aussi à adopter les nouvelles normes canadiennes et doivent déjà prévoir l’impact de modifications ultérieures à ces normes.

Communiqué NB Vol 15 N. 3, janvier 2012
Les obligations d’infrastructures : Pourquoi s’y intéresser?

Les caisses de retraite sont plus que jamais à la recherche d’actifs à long terme sécuritaires, offrant un revenu courant élevé et stable. Depuis quelques années, les obligations liées à des projets d’infrastructure, particulièrement ceux structurés en partenariat public-privé (PPP), font émergence et se taillent une place non-négligeable au sein des indices obligataires. Pour certaines organisations, des valeurs ou idéologies pourraient rendre ces obligations moins appropriées. Il n’en demeure pas moins que celles-ci répondent aux besoins de gestion du risque de non-appariement de plusieurs caisses de retraite et que certains gestionnaires institutionnels ont mis sur pied des fonds dédiés à la dette d’infrastructures.

Communiqué NB Vol 15 N. 2, janvier 2012
Régimes de retraite - Rapports financiers audités

En raison de divers changements survenus durant l’année 2010 au Manuel de l'ICCA – Comptabilité et aux normes canadiennes d’audit, plusieurs enjeux ont été soulevés lors de la préparation des rapports financiers audités de l’exercice financier 2010.

Complément au communiqué NB Vol 15. N. 1
Aide-mémoire des primes d'assurance-maladie et imposition au Canada

En complément au Communiqué NB Vol. 15, no 1, publié en janvier 2012, voici le résumé des primes d’assurance-maladie et imposition pour l’ensemble des provinces canadiennes.

Cliquez ici pour télécharger le PDF (23 Ko).

Communiqué NB Vol 15 N. 1, janvier 2012
Les nouveaux paramètres des programmes de sécurité sociale pour l’année 2012

Comme à chaque année, il nous fait plaisir de vous communiquer les paramètres qui seront utilisés par les principaux programmes de sécurité sociale pour l’année 2012.