Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Did you know that you can save up to 50% on the cost of your drugs?

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 14 N. 9, September 2011
Do not hesitate to send this bulletin to your group benefits plan members!

To save on the cost of your drugs, ask your pharmacist if there is a generic version, or copy, of the brand name drug. Once the patent on a brand name drug expires, generic versions of this drug are produced.

Generic drugs have the same active ingredients as, are administered in the same way as and are just as effective as brand name drugs. Generic drugs are approved by Health Canada which ensures their quality and effectiveness.

The difference between generic and brand name drugs is limited to their non-medicinal ingredients. These ingredients account for the drug’s colour and shape. Some patients may have an allergic reaction to the drug casing. These reactions can occur with both the generic drug and the brand name drug.

You are no doubt familiar with many generic drugs and may already be using them. Pharmacy chain house brands offer generic versions of several brand name drugs, including Tylenol and Advil.

The difference in price between a brand name drug and its generic equivalent can be significant. Let’s take the example of the drug most commonly used in group benefits plans, Lipitor, a drug used to control cholesterol. The generic version costs $37 per month on average, whereas the brand name version costs $85 per month. If your plan reimburses 80% of the cost of drugs, you will save around $115 a year by opting for the generic version. In addition, $460 will not be included in your group benefits plan claims. Because premiums and taxable benefits for your group benefits plan are based on claims for all employees, choosing the generic version can help reduce plan costs. You will save on paid premiums and your taxable benefit will be lower.

Do you want to save? Ask your pharmacist for generic drugs!

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Savez-vous que vous pouvez économiser jusqu'à 50 % sur le prix de vos médicaments?

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol 14 N. 9, septembre 2011
N'hésitez pas à faire parvenir ce communiqué aux participants de votre régime d'assurance collective!

Pour économiser sur le prix de vos médicaments, informez-vous à votre pharmacien afin de savoir s’il existe une version générique, souvent appelée copie, d’un médicament d’origine. Lorsque le brevet de protection d’un médicament d’origine est expiré, des versions génériques de ce médicament sont produites.

Les médicaments génériques ont les mêmes ingrédients actifs, s’administrent de la même façon et offrent la même efficacité que les médicaments d’origine. Les médicaments génériques sont approuvés par Santé Canada qui s’assure de leur qualité et de leur efficacité.

La différence entre les médicaments génériques et les médicaments d’origine se limite aux ingrédients non médicamenteux. Ces ingrédients sont responsables de la couleur et de la forme du médicament. Il arrive parfois que l’enveloppe du médicament entraîne des allergies chez certains patients. Ces réactions peuvent se produire autant avec le médicament générique qu’avec le médicament d’origine.

Vous connaissez certainement plusieurs médicaments génériques et peut-être en utilisez-vous déjà. La marque maison des chaînes de pharmacies offre une version générique de plusieurs médicaments d'origine comme le Tylénol et l’Advil.

La différence de prix entre un médicament d’origine et un médicament générique peut être considérable. Prenons l’exemple du médicament le plus utilisé dans les régimes d’assurance collective, le Lipitor, médicament servant à contrôler le cholestérol. La version générique coûte en moyenne 37 $ par mois, alors que le médicament d’origine coûte 85 $ par mois. Si votre régime rembourse les médicaments à 80 %, vous économiserez environ 115 $ par année en optant pour la version générique du médicament. De plus, un montant de 460 $ ne sera pas inclus dans les réclamations de votre régime d’assurance collective. Puisque les primes et les avantages imposables de votre régime d’assurance collective sont établis en fonction des réclamations de l’ensemble des employés, prendre la version générique des médicaments peut aider à diminuer les coûts du régime d’assurance collective. Vous pourrez ainsi économiser sur les primes payées et votre avantage imposable sera plus bas.

Vous désirez économiser? Demandez à votre pharmacien la version générique de vos médicaments!

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6