Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Review of the institutional fund performances over the first semester of 2011

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 14 N. 7, August 2011

We are pleased to present our mid-year review analyzing the performance as at June 30, 2011, of institutional managers comprising the Normandin Beaudry Investment Funds Universe. The purpose of this review is to keep you up-to-date on the recent performance of financial markets and institutional managers. You will receive this review each year after the end of the first semester.

Institutional managers included in the Normandin Beaudry Investment Funds Universe must have an active portfolio management approach, a performance history of at least three years and must manage a minimum of assets. All performance statistics are presented before management fees.  

Balanced Fund

The median return for balanced funds for the first half of 2011 was 1.38%, and first quartile performance for these funds showed a return of more than 2.77%.

Canadian Assets

Performance of Canadian assets –From January 1st to June 30 2011


Category

Canadian
Bonds

Canadian Equities
(Large Cap)

Number of funds

46

59

Benchmark

DEX Universe

S&P/TSX

Benchmark return

2.20%

0.16%

Benchmark percentile rank

72

42

Median

 

 

Return

2.36%

-0.14%

Value added

0.16%

-0.30%

First quartile

 

 

Return

2.56%

2.00%

Value added

0.36%

1.84%


On the bond market, interest rates increased during the first quarter of 2011 while the opposite occurred during the second quarter of the year. Bonds with a maturity of 5 to 10 years generated the best returns in the first half of 2011. The performance of bond managers compared to the benchmark for the first half of 2011 are primarily explained by duration management, i.e. portfolio positioning on the yield curve, and off index exposure (Real return bonds (4.59%) and CMBS (3.97%)).

Large cap Canadian equities posted a return of 0.16% during the first semester of 2011. The value added by the median manager was -0.30% compared to the benchmark. This can be explained in part by the performance of some important stocks within the index. Overweight in stocks like Cameco (-37%), Kinross (-20%), Barrick Gold (-18%) and Research in Motion (-52%) can explain an important portion of the subtracted value of several investment managers. It should also be noted that large cap securities (S&P/TSX 60: 0.59%) outperformed small cap securities (BMO Small Cap Index: -5.60%). Lastly, the first quartile manager was able to generate a good value added, outperforming the S&P/TSX index by 1.84%.

Foreign Assets

Performance of Foreign assets –From January 1st to June 30 2011


Category

U.S.Equities

International Equities

Global Equities

Emerging Markets Equities

Number of funds

79

74

60

36

Benchmark

S&P 500

MSCI EAEO
(net)

MSCI Monde
(net)

MSCI ME
(net)

Benchmark return
(Canadian dollars)

2.80%

1.78%

2.08%

-2.19% 

Benchmark percentile
rank

53

65

52

52

Benchmark return
(local currency)

6.03% 

0.18% 

2.93% 

-2.05%

Median

 

 

 

 

Return

2.84%

2.58%

2.33%

-1.95%

Value added

0.04%

0.80%

0.25%

0.24%

First quartile

 

 

 

 

Return

4.66%

3.56%

3.91%

-0.97%

Value added

1.86%

1.78%

1.83%

1.22% 


The median US equity manager generated a value added of 0.04% compared to the S&P 500 index. We can also note the good value added of the first quartile manager at 1.86%. Due to the appreciation of the Canadian dollar compared to the US dollar (3.1%), returns converted into Canadian dollars were lower. With respect to international equities, the median manager generated a value added of 0.80%. To obtain a first quartile performance, the manager needed to add more than 1.78% compared to the MSCI EAFE. The depreciation of the Canadian dollar relative to the Euro (4.9%) and the Swiss Franc (7.1%) increased returns of investors when converted into Canadian dollars.

As for global equities, the median manager added 0.25% during the first half of 2011. The first quartile manager added 1.83% compared to the MSCI World Index. To add value, global equity managers had to underweight Japan (-7.7%) who experienced a difficult semester due to the uncertainty of the effects of the tsunami. Moreover, the decision to overweigh the United States was beneficial to global equity managers. It should also be noted that large cap securities slightly outperformed small cap securities in the international market, while in the United States, mid cap securities generated the highest returns.

Finally, the median emerging markets equity manager added 0.24% during the first half of 2011. The first quartile manager added more than 1.22% compared to the MSCI Emerging Markets Index.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Performance des fonds de placement institutionnels

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 14 N. 7, août 2011

C’est avec plaisir que nous présentons notre revue semestrielle analysant la performance au 30 juin 2011 des gestionnaires institutionnels composant l’Univers de fonds de placement Normandin Beaudry. Cette revue est réalisée chaque année suivant la fin du premier semestre et vise à vous informer des plus récentes performances des marchés financiers et des gestionnaires institutionnels.                                                                

Les gestionnaires institutionnels inclus dans l’Univers de fonds de placement de Normandin Beaudry doivent avoir une approche de gestion active, un historique de rendement d’au moins trois ans ainsi qu’un minimum d’actifs sous gestion. Tous les rendements sont présentés avant les frais de gestion.

Fonds équilibrés

Le rendement médian d’un fonds équilibré lors du premier semestre de 2011 a été de 1,38 % alors qu’une performance de premier quartile représente un rendement supérieur à 2,77 %. 

Actifs canadiens

Performance des actifs canadiens – du 1er janvier 2011 au 30 juin 2011


Catégorie
 

Obligations
canadiennes

Actions canadiennes
(grande capitalisation)

Nombre de fonds

46

59

Indice de référence

DEX Univers

S&P/TSX

Rendement de l’indice

2,20 %

0,16 %

Rang centile de l’indice

72

42

Médiane

 

 

Rendement

2,36 %

-0,14 %

Valeur ajoutée

0,16 %

-0,30 %

Premier quartile

 

 

Rendement

2,56 %

2,00 %

Valeur ajoutée

0,36 %

1,84 %


Sur le marché obligataire, le premier trimestre de 2011 a été caractérisé par une augmentation généralisée des taux d’intérêt, alors que l’inverse s’est produit lors du second trimestre. Lors du premier semestre de 2011, les obligations ayant une échéance de 5 à 10 ans ont généré les meilleurs rendements. Les écarts de performance d’un gestionnaire à l’autre sont principalement expliqués par la gestion de la durée par rapport à l’indice de référence, soit le positionnement du portefeuille sur la courbe des taux d’intérêt, ainsi que par la sélection de titres qui ne font pas partie de l’indice DEX Univers (Obligations à rendement réel (4,59 %) et CMBS (3,97 %)).

Les actions canadiennes de grande capitalisation ont généré un rendement de 0,16 % lors du premier semestre de 2011. On observe que la valeur ajoutée par le gestionnaire médian a été de -0,30 % par rapport à son indice de référence. Cette valeur retranchée est en partie expliquée par la performance négative de certains titres importants dans l’indice. La surpondération de titres tel que Cameco (-37 %), Kinross (-20 %), Barrick Gold (-18 %) et Research in Motion (-52 %) peut expliquer une portion importante de la valeur retranchée de plusieurs gestionnaires. Notons également que les titres de grande capitalisation (S&P/TSX 60 : 0,59 %) ont surperformé les titres de petite capitalisation (BMO petite capitalisation : -5,60 %). Finalement, le gestionnaire de premier quartile a su générer une bonne valeur ajoutée (1,84 %) durant cette période.

Actifs étrangers

Performance des actions étrangères – du 1er janvier 2011 au 30 juin 2011


Catégorie

Actions
américaines

Actions
internationales

Actions
mondiales

Actions de pays émergents

Nombre de fonds

79

74

60

36

Indice de référence

S&P 500

MSCI EAEO
(net)

MSCI Monde
(net)

MSCI ME
(net)

Rendement de l’indice (en dollars canadiens)

2,80 %

1,78 %

2,08 %

-2,19 %

Rang centile de l’indice

53

65

52

52

Rendement de l’indice
(en devises locales)

6,03 %

0,18 %

2,93 %

-2,05 %

Médiane

 

 

 

 

Rendement

2,84 %

2,58 %

2,33 %

-1,95 %

Valeur ajoutée

0,04 %

0,80 %

0,25 %

0,24 %

Premier quartile

 

 

 

 

Rendement

4,66 %

3,56 %

3,91 %

-0,97 %

Valeur ajoutée

1,86 %

1,78 %

1,83 %

1,22 % 


Le gestionnaire médian en actions américaines a obtenu une valeur ajoutée de 0,04 % par rapport à l’indice S&P 500. On peut noter la bonne valeur ajoutée du gestionnaire de premier quartile avec 1,86 %. En raison de l’appréciation du dollar canadien par rapport au dollar américain (3,1 %), les rendements convertis en dollars canadiens ont été plus faibles. Quant aux actions internationales, le gestionnaire médian a obtenu une valeur ajoutée de 0,80 %. Pour obtenir une performance de premier quartile, le gestionnaire devait ajouter plus de 1,78 % par rapport au MSCI EAEO. La dépréciation du dollar canadien face à l’Euro (4,9 %) et au Franc suisse
(7,1 %) a fait augmenter le rendement des investisseurs lorsque converti en dollars canadiens.

En ce qui a trait aux actions mondiales, le gestionnaire médian a ajouté 0,25 % lors du premier semestre de 2011. Le gestionnaire de premier quartile a ajouté 1,83 % par rapport au MSCI Monde. Afin d’ajouter de la valeur, les gestionnaires d’actions mondiales devaient éviter le Japon (-7,7 %) qui a connu une performance difficile en raison des craintes liées aux effets du tsunami. De plus, la décision de surpondérer les États-Unis était bénéfique pour les gestionnaires d’actions mondiales. Notons également que les titres de grande capitalisation ont généré des rendements légèrement supérieurs aux titres de petite capitalisation en actions internationales, tandis qu’au États-Unis, ce sont les titres de moyenne capitalisation qui ont généré les meilleurs rendements.

Finalement, le gestionnaire médian en actions de pays émergents a ajouté 0,24 % lors du premier semestre de 2011. Le gestionnaire de premier quartile a ajouté plus de 1,22 % par rapport au MSCI Marchés Émergents. 

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6