Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Changes to the Quebec Pension Plan: Will They Affect My Retirement?

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin, Vol 14, N. 5, July 2011

On June 13, 2011, the Quebec government passed the changes to the Quebec Pension Plan announced in its latest budget. The change concerning the pension reduction for early retirement (before age 65) has captured popular attention. From January 1, 2012 until 2016, the actuarial adjustment factor will gradually increase from 0.5% to 0.6% for each month between the time the pension payment begins and age 65. 

The announcement of this change appears to have caused some concern. Some articles have drawn attention to the insecurity created as regards retirement planning, and others have even alluded to the idea of ''freedom 70'' in reference to the well-known expression ''freedom 55.'' But what does it really mean? To answer this question, the worker's entire situation at retirement must be considered. 

What are the retirement income sources? 

Studies typically indicate that around 70% of the pre-retirement income is needed to have a sufficient post-retirement income to maintain an accustomed lifestyle after retirement.

The table below presents the different income sources based on retirement age: 

 Retirement
before age 60
Retirement
between age
60 and 64
Retirement at
age 65 or later
Individual retirement savings
plans, employment income or
other income sources
Yes Yes Yes
Private group pension plans Pension
reduced or not
reduced with
conditions
Pension
reduced or not
reduced with
conditions
Yes
QPP No Reduced pension Yes
Old Age Security (OAS, GIS) No No Yes

As the above table illustrates, workers who wish to retire before age 65 must rely on a private group pension plan or perhaps even individual savings because they are not eligible for Old Age Security benefits until age 65. They will also receive a reduced pension from the Quebec pension plan because it is payable before age 65 and averaged out over time as it will be payable for a longer period.

How does this change impact my QPP pension if I still want to retire at age 60?

Let's look at the example of a worker named Bernard. Bernard's employment income is $50,000 and he plans to retire in 2016, at age 60, with a retirement income of $35,000 (income replacement ratio of 70%). The table below illustrates the different monthly income sources, including the QPP pension before and after the announced change:

 Before the changeAfter the change
OAS $0 $0
QPP (1) $672 $615
Other sources $2,245 $2,245
Monthly total $2,917 $2,860
Replacement percentage 70,0% 68,6%
(1)Assumes that Bernard is entitled to the maximum QPP pension at age 60.

Even though the QPP pension that Bernard will receive after the change is lower ($615 versus $672), the impact on his total retirement income is fairly minimal (pension reduced by $57/month before tax).

What is the impact if I want to receive the same QPP pension that I would have received before the changes?

Bernard could opt to postpone his retirement until he reaches his retirement income goal of $35,000. When would Bernard be able to retire? Taking into account only the increase in the QPP pension, Bernard would be able to retire with his target retirement income ($35,000) if he were to postpone his retirement for a maximum of 10 months.

The table below indicates the retirement postponement period (months) necessary for offsetting the effects of the QPP reform for a retirement before age 65, beginning in 2016:

Desired retirement age (years)Postponement period
60 10 months
61 8 months
62 6 months
63 4 months
64 2 months

Therefore, to offset the effects of the QPP changes on retirement income, a worker who plans to retire in or after 2016 will need to postpone his or her retirement for up to 10 months. This is nowhere close to ''freedom 70.'' And this postponement period would be even shorter if an increase in retirement income from other sources (private pension plan, personal savings) was taken into account. 

Conclusion 

By targeting the Quebec Pension Plan in its latest budget, the government has created a great deal of insecurity among Quebec workers concerning retirement planning. If we examine the situation more closely, we can see that the impact on workers is rather limited, whereas the benefits of these changes on the sustainability of the QPP are, in our opinion, undeniable and for everyone's greater good. 

The proposed changes to the QPP were also tempered to limit the impacts on low income workers. Beginning in 2016, the actuarial adjustment factor for a retirement before age 65 for these workers is limited based on average employment income. For an average income below $12,075, the QPP pension will be reduced by less than $4 a month. 

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Modification à la rente de retraite du RRQ : Un effet sur ma retraite?

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 14 N. 5, juillet 2011

Le 13 juin 2011, le gouvernement du Québec a adopté les modifications relatives au Régime de rentes du Québec annoncées dans son dernier budget. Le changement visant la réduction de la rente pour une retraite avant 65 ans a retenu l'attention populaire : il a été décidé d'augmenter graduellement, d'ici 2016, le facteur de réduction de 0,5 % à 0,6 % par mois d'anticipation de la rente avant 65 ans. 

L'annonce de ce changement semble avoir causé de l'inquiétude. Certains articles ont souligné l'insécurité créée au chapitre de la planification de la retraite, et d'autres ont même parlé de « liberté 70 » en référence à la célèbre expression « liberté 55 ». Qu'en est-il vraiment? Pour répondre à cette question, il importe de considérer l'ensemble de la situation du travailleur au moment de la retraite. 

Quelles sont les sources de revenus à la retraite? 

Pour avoir un niveau de revenu suffisant après la retraite et ainsi espérer maintenir son rythme de vie, les études situent généralement le taux de remplacement cible à 70 % des revenus d'emploi avant la retraite. 

Voici un tableau qui indique les différentes sources de revenus en fonction de l'âge de retraite. 

 Retraite avant 
60 ans
Retraite entre 
60 et 64 ans
Retraite à 
65 ans ou plus
Régimes d'épargne retraite 
individuels, revenu d'emploi 
ou autres sources de revenus
OuiOuiOui
Régimes de retraite 
privés collectifs
Rente réduite 
ou non réduite 
avec conditions
Rente réduite 
ou non réduite 
avec conditions
Oui
RRQNonRente réduiteOui
Sécurité de la vieillesse 
(PSV, SRG)
NonNonOui

Comme l'illustre le tableau ci-dessus, pour une rente avant 65 ans, le travailleur devra compter principalement sur l'apport d'un régime privé collectif et peut-être même d'épargne individuelle, car il n'est pas admissible aux prestations de la Sécurité de la vieillesse avant l'âge de 65 ans. Également, il recevra une rente réduite du Régime de rentes du Québec (RRQ), étant donné qu'elle est payable avant 65 ans, donc étalée dans le temps puisqu'elle lui sera potentiellement versée sur une plus longue période. 

Quels sont les impacts de la modification sur ma rente de retraite du RRQ si je désire toujours prendre ma retraite à 60 ans? 

Prenons l'exemple d'un travailleur, Bernard, ayant un revenu d'emploi de 50 000 $, qui a planifié se retirer en 2016, à 60 ans, avec un revenu de retraite de 35 000 $ (niveau de remplacement de revenu de 70 %). Le tableau suivant illustre ses différentes sources de revenus mensuelles, incluant la rente du RRQ avant et après la réforme annoncée. 

 Avant réformeAprès réforme
PSV0 $0 $
RRQ (1)672 $615 $
Autres sources2 245 $2 245 $
Total mensuel2 917 $2 860 $
Ratio de remplacement70,0 %68,6 %
(1)Présume que le travailleur a droit à la rente maximale du RRQ à 60 ans.

Bien que la rente qu'il recevra du RRQ suite à la réforme sera moins élevée (615 $ comparativement à 672 $), l'effet sur ses revenus de retraite totaux demeure assez limité (une réduction de la rente de 57 $/mois, avant impôt). 

Quel est l'effet sur ma retraite si je souhaite recevoir la même rente du RRQ qu'avant la réforme? 

Notre travailleur Bernard peut reporter sa date de retraite jusqu'au moment où ses revenus de retraite seront égaux à son objectif de 35 000 $ par année. De combien de mois doit-il alors reporter sa retraite? En ne tenant compte que de l'accroissement de la rente du RRQ, Bernard pourra se retirer avec les revenus de retraite souhaités (35 000 $) s'il reporte sa retraite de 10 mois au maximum

Le tableau ci-dessous illustre le nombre de mois de report de la retraite nécessaire pour compenser l'effet de la réforme du RRQ pour une retraite avant 65 ans, à compter de 2016:

Âge souhaité de retraitePériode de report
60 ans10 mois
61 ans8 mois
62 ans6 mois
63 ans4 mois
64 ans2 mois
 

Ainsi, pour combler les effets de la réforme du RRQ sur ses revenus de retraite, un travailleur qui compte se retirer en 2016 ou après devra reporter sa retraite d'au plus 10 mois. Nous sommes bien loin de la « liberté 70 »! Cette période de report pourrait même être moindre si l'on tient compte de l'accroissement des revenus de retraite provenant des autres sources (régime de retraite privé, épargne personnelle, etc.). 

Conclusion 

En visant le Régime de rentes du Québec dans son dernier budget, le gouvernement a fait ressortir de grandes insécurités quant à la planification de la retraite des travailleurs québécois. En somme, on s'aperçoit que l'effet pour chacun des travailleurs est plutôt limité, mais les bienfaits de ces changements sur la pérennité du régime sont, selon nous, indéniables, pour le plus grand bénéfice de notre collectivité. 

De plus, les changements proposés du RRQ ont été modulés afin de limiter les effets sur les travailleurs ayant de faibles revenus. Pour ces travailleurs, la hausse du facteur de réduction applicable à compter de 2016, pour une retraite avant 65 ans, est limitée en fonction du revenu d'emploi moyen des travailleurs. Avec un revenu annuel moyen inférieur à 12 075 $, la rente de retraite du RRQ sera réduite de moins de 4 $ par mois. 

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6