Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

The 2011 Social Security Programs Parameters

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 14 N. 1, January 2011

The Quebec Pension Plan and the Canada Pension Plan

The Year's Maximum Pensionable Earnings (YMPE) for 2011 is $48,300, an increase of 2.3% over the 2010 YMPE of $47,200. The basic exemption remains at the current level of $3,500, which is the level applicable since January 1st, 1998. Employee and employer contribution rates remain at 4.95% of contributory earnings in 2011, for an annual maximum contribution of $2,217.60. The maximum monthly retirement pension at age 65 is set at $960.00 for 2011, based on the average YMPE over the last five years.

Employment Insurance

The Employment Insurance premium rate for employees in Quebec increases by $0.05 per $100 of insurable employee earnings effective January 1st, 2011. The premium rate for employees in Quebec therefore increases from $1.36 to $1.41. As for employers, they continue to contribute 1.4 times the employee rate so their premium rate will move up from approximately $1.90 to $1.97. These rates consider the Quebec Parental Insurance Plan (QPIP) in place since January 1st, 2006.


The Employment Insurance premium rate for employees outside Quebec will increase from $1.73 to $1.78 per $100 of insurable employee earnings for 2011 and the employers continue to contribute 1.4 times the employee rate, for a premium rate of approximately $2.49 per $100 of insurable employee earnings.

The maximum insurable earnings increases from $43,200 to $44,200 for 2011.

Employer contributions can be further reduced for those offering a salary continuation program (SCP) registered with the Employment Insurance Commission. There are four types of SCPs each offering a unique Employment Insurance premium rate reduction:

  • Type 1: SCP based on the accumulation of paid sick days of at least one day per month and a maximum of at least 75 days.
  • Type 2: SCP based on the accumulation of paid sick days of at least one day and 2/3 per month and a maximum of at least 125 days.
  • Type 3: SCP providing a weekly indemnity1 for at least 15 weeks.
  • Type 4: SCP providing a weekly indemnity1 for at least 52 weeks (this reduction is only available to employers of public and para-public sectors).

Employer Premium Rates as of January 1st, 2011(1)
 


 

  Reduced Rates(2)
 Regular Rates Applicable
Rates
Employee
Premium Factor
SCP
Type
QcOther
Provinces
ReductionQc(3)Other
Provinces
Qc(3)(4)Other(5)
Provinces
1$1.97$2.49$0.27$1.70$2.221.2091.248
2$1.97$2.49$0.40$1.57$2.091.1161.175
3$1.97$2.49$0.39$1.58$2.101.1231.181
4$1.97$2.49$0.42$1.55$2.071.1021.164
(1)Per $100 of insurable employee earnings.
(2)The reduced premium rates are applicable for one complete year. In the event a plan is registered during the year, the adjustment is prorated according to the date of registration.
(3)For Quebec employers whose employees all work in Quebec.
(4)Premium factor to be applied to the employee premium rate of $1.41 per $100 of insurable employee earnings.
(5)Premium factor to be applied to the employee premium rate of $1.78 per $100 of insurable employee earnings.


__________________________
1 The SCP weekly indemnity must be at least equal to the benefits provided by the Employment Insurance.

Quebec Parental Insurance Plan (QPIP) 

The QPIP contribution rates for the year 2011 are 0.537% for employees, 0.752% for employers and 0.955% for self-employed workers, representing an increase of 6.2% over the 2010 rates of 0.506%, 0.708% and 0.899% respectively. The maximum insurable income increases from $62,500 to $64,000 for 2011. 

Régime d'assurance maladie du Québec 

The current contribution rate remains unchanged for 2011. This rate is set at 4.26% of total payroll for certain public sector employers and for companies with a total payroll of more than $5 million. For companies with a total payroll of less than $1 million, the rate is set at 2.70% of total payroll. For companies which have a total payroll of more than $1 million but less than $5 million, the rate is a function of total payroll and ranges from 2.70% to 4.26% of total payroll according to the following formula: 

Commission de la santé et de la sécurité du travail

The contribution rate to the Commission de la santé et de la sécurité du travail is determined according to the type of industry and, if applicable, to the claims experience. The maximum earnings for the income replacement benefit increases from $62,500 to $64,000 for 2011.

Commission des normes du travail

The current contribution rate remains unchanged for 2011, and is set at 0.08% of earnings subject to contribution. The maximum earnings subject to contribution increases from $62,500 to $64,000 for 2011.

In Quebec, the minimum hourly wage is currently at $9.50 and will be adjusted to $9.65 on May 1st, 2011.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Les nouveaux paramètres des programmes de sécurité sociale pour l'année 2011

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol 14 N. 1, janvier 2011

Le maximum des gains admissibles (MGA) est de 48 300 $ pour 2011, ce qui représente une hausse de 2,3 % par rapport au MGA de 2010, qui s'établissait à 47 200 $. L'exemption générale est fixée à 3 500 $ depuis le 1er janvier 1998 et le taux de cotisation pour les employés et l'employeur demeure à 4,95 % des gains cotisables en 2011, pour une cotisation annuelle maximale de 2 217,60 $. Finalement, la rente mensuelle maximale de retraite à 65 ans, calculée sur la base des MGA des cinq dernières années, s'établit à 960,00 $ en 2011. 

Assurance-emploi 

Le taux de cotisation des employés du Québec au régime fédéral d'assurance-emploi a augmenté, depuis le 1er janvier 2011, de 0,05 $ par tranche de 100 $ de rémunération assurable, passant ainsi de 1,36 $ à 1,41 $. Pour leur part, les employeurs continuent de verser 1,4 fois le taux des employés, voyant ainsi leur taux de cotisation passer d'environ 1,90 $ à 1,97 $ par tranche de 100 $ de rémunération assurable des employés du Québec. Ces taux tiennent compte de l'existence du Régime québécois d'assurance parentale (RQAP) depuis le 1er janvier 2006. 

Le taux de cotisation des employés hors Québec au régime fédéral d'assurance-emploi passe de 1,73 $ à 1,78 $ par tranche de 100 $ de rémunération assurable pour 2011. Les employeurs versent quant à eux toujours 1,4 fois ce taux, pour un taux de cotisation d'environ 2,49 $ par tranche de 100 $ de rémunération assurable des employés. 

Le maximum de la rémunération assurable passe finalement de 43 200 $ à 44 200 $ pour 2011. 

Le taux de cotisation de l'employeur peut toutefois être plus bas pour les employeurs offrant un régime d'assurance salaire (RAS) enregistré auprès de la Commission de l'assurance-emploi. Il existe quatre catégories de RAS ayant chacun un taux distinct de réduction de la cotisation à l'assurance-emploi. Les quatre catégories se résument ainsi :

Catégorie 1:RAS fondé sur l'accumulation de congés de maladie payés d'au moins une journée par mois et un nombre maximal de jours d'au moins 75 jours.
Catégorie 2:RAS fondé sur l'accumulation de congés de maladie payés d'au moins une journée et 2/3 par mois et un nombre maximal de jours d'au moins 125 jours.
Catégorie 3:RAS prévoyant des indemnités hebdomadaires1 pour au moins 15 semaines.
Catégorie 4:RAS prévoyant des indemnités hebdomadaires1 pour au moins 52 semaines (cette réduction n'est disponible que pour les employeurs des secteurs public et parapublic).

 

Taux de cotisation de l'employeur au 1er janvier 2011(1)

 


     Taux réduits(2)
 Taux réguliers  Taux
applicables
Multiple du taux
des employés
Catégorie
de RAS
QcAutres
Provinces
RéductionQc(3)Autres
Provinces
Qc(3)(4)Autres(5)
Provinces
11,97 $2,49 $0,27 $1,70 $2,22 $1,2091,248
21,97 $2,49 $0,40 $1,57 $2,09 $1,1161,175
31,97 $2,49 $0,39 $1,58 $2,10 $1,1231,181
41,97 $2,49 $0,42 $1,55 $2,07 $1,1021,164
(1)Par tranche de 100 $ de rémunération assurable des employés.
(2)Les taux réduits sont applicables pour une année complète. Advenant le cas où le régime est enregistré en cours d'année, un ajustement proportionnel est appliqué au taux de cotisation de l'employeur.
(3)Pour les employeurs québécois ayant uniquement des employés au Québec.
(4)Multiple à appliquer au taux de cotisation des employés de 1,41 $ par tranche de 100 $ de rémunération assurable.
(5)Multiple à appliquer au taux de cotisation des employés de 1,78 $ par tranche de 100 $ de rémunération assurable.

__________________________ 
1 Les indemnités hebdomadaires prévues par le RAS doivent être au moins égales aux prestations d'assurance-emploi.

Régime québécois d'assurance parentale (RQAP) 

Les taux de cotisation au RQAP pour 2011 sont établis à 0,537 % pour les employés, 0,752 % pour les employeurs et 0,955 % pour les travailleurs autonomes, ce qui représente une augmentation de 6,2 % par rapport aux taux de cotisation de 2010 de 0,506 %, 0,708 % et 0,899 % respectivement. La rémunération assurable passe pour sa part de 62 500 $ à 64 000 $ pour 2011. 

Régime d'assurance maladie du Québec 

Le taux de cotisation actuel demeure inchangé en 2011. Ce taux est établi à 4,26 % de la masse salariale pour certaines entreprises du secteur public et pour les entreprises dont la masse salariale est supérieure à cinq millions de dollars. Pour les entreprises dont la masse salariale est inférieure à un million de dollars, le taux est établi à 2,70 % de la masse salariale. Enfin, pour les entreprises dont la masse salariale est comprise entre un million et cinq millions de dollars, le taux est établi en fonction de la masse salariale et varie de 2,70 % à 4,26 % de la masse salariale selon la formule suivante :

 

Commission de la santé et de la sécurité du travail 

Le taux de cotisation à la Commission de la santé et de la sécurité du travail varie selon l'industrie et, le cas échéant, l'expérience de réclamations. Le revenu maximal pour l'indemnité de remplacement du revenu passe quant à lui de 62 500 $ à 64 000 $ en 2011. 

Commission des normes du travail 

Le taux de cotisation actuel demeure inchangé pour 2011, soit un taux de 0,08 % de la rémunération assujettie. La rémunération assujettie maximale passe de 62 500 $ à 64 000 $ en 2011. 

Le salaire minimum, au Québec, s'établit actuellement à 9,50 $ de l'heure et sera ajusté à 9,65 $ de l'heure au 1er mai 2011. 
 

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6