Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Amendments to accounting standards applicable to employee future benefits

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

Special publication - June 2011

Currently, Canada's accounting standards are undergoing changes and are being brought in line with new Canadian standards or with international accounting standards. Canadian organizations are thus in the middle of a transition period and must already anticipate the impact of further amendments for employee future benefits in the short term:

  • International accounting standards applicable to publicly accountable enterprises will be amended as of January 1, 2013 (as expected and discussed in our December 2010 bulletin – Accounting standards applicable to employee future benefits: measures that could impact future results).
  • Amendments to Canadian standards for private enterprises are expected as of January 1, 2014, and would also apply to not-for-profit organizations.
     

Amendments to international standards applicable to employee future benefits (IAS 19)

The goal of the amendments to IAS 19 is to enhance the recognition, presentation and disclosures of costs associated with employee future benefits.

Defined benefit cost components

Effective January 1, 2013, organizations applying IAS 19 will have to present the defined benefit cost in their financial statements broken down in three distinct components. It is important to note that, as of that date, the deferred recognition method will be eliminated. As such, enterprises will now have to immediately recognize any change in the value of plan assets or the defined benefit obligation (the “obligation”), as well as the vested and unvested past service costs in the period in which these changes occurred.

The immediate recognition of costs will serve to present the surplus or deficit status of employee future benefit plans on an accounting basis in the statement of financial position, including the effect of the application of the limit on the net defined benefit asset (the “asset ceiling”).

The first defined benefit cost component is the service cost and will be presented in the profit or loss. The service cost includes the current service cost, past service cost and gains and losses on settlements. Curtailments will be handled in the same way as past service cost and will be recognized immediately and completely in the profit or loss.

The second defined benefit cost component, the net interest on the net defined benefit liability (asset), will also appear in the profit or loss. The net interest represents the net effect of the interest on the obligation plus the interest calculated on the plan assets based on the discount rate, and includes the effect of the interest on the impact of the asset ceiling. Therefore, the expected return on plan assets will now be based on the discount rate used to determine the obligation.

The final defined benefit cost component, the remeasurement of the net benefit liability (asset), will be included in the other comprehensive income (OCI). The remeasurement of the net benefit liability (asset) includes elements such as those related to the elimination of the deferred recognition method. Accordingly, actuarial gains and losses on the obligation, the actual return on plan assets exceeding the amounts recognized in the net interest on the net defined benefit liability (asset), and the variation in the effect of the asset ceiling exceeding the amounts recognized in the net interest on the net defined benefit liability (asset), will be included in the remeasurement of the net benefit liability (asset) component.

Financial statement disclosures

Amendments will also be made to financial statement disclosures. In general, organizations will have to disclose the characteristics of their defined benefit plans and risks associated with them, explain the different amounts in the financial statements arising from their defined benefit plans and describe the factors that may affect future cash flows. An example of one of the amendments is the disclosure of a sensitivity analysis for each actuarial assumption deemed significant.

Transition

The new IAS 19 will be applicable for the fiscal years beginning on or after January 1, 2013. However, early application will be permitted for those organizations that choose to do so.

The transition to the new IAS 19 will be carried out in compliance with the requirements of the IAS 8. As such, organizations will have to adjust the results retroactively from the creation of the benefits plan and immediately and directly recognize the adjustment in the equity component in the first comparative year of the financial statements (without affecting the profit or loss).

Amendments to other Canadian standards applicable to employee future benefits (Section 3461)

Amendments may also be made to the Canadian standards applicable to private enterprises and not-for-profit organizations in the private sector, effective January 1, 2014.

The Canadian Accounting Standards Board is examining the possibility of eliminating the deferral and amortization approach to immediately recognize all gains and losses, as well as the possibility of eliminating the early measurement provision.

These amendments are intended to help financial statements users obtain information that is easier to understand and to compare to other organizations.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Modifications aux normes comptables applicables aux avantages sociaux futurs

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Publication spéciale - Juin 2011

Les normes comptables canadiennes connaissent des modifications et migrent soit vers de nouvelles normes canadiennes, soit vers les normes comptables internationales. Les organisations canadiennes sont donc en pleine transition et doivent déjà anticiper l’impact d’autres changements pour les avantages sociaux futurs dans un avenir rapproché :

  • Les normes comptables internationales applicables aux organisations ayant une obligation d’information du public seront révisées à compter du 1er janvier 2013 (comme prévu et discuté dans notre bulletin de décembre 2010 - Normes comptables applicables aux avantages sociaux futurs : des éléments qui pourraient affecter les résultats futurs).
  • Des modifications aux normes canadiennes pour les organisations à capital fermé sont envisagées à compter du 1er janvier 2014 et seraient également applicables aux organismes à but non lucratif.

Modifications des normes internationales applicables aux avantages sociaux futurs (IAS 19)

L’objectif des modifications à IAS 19 est d’améliorer la reconnaissance, la présentation et les divulgations des coûts reliés aux avantages sociaux futurs.

Les composantes de la charge

Les entreprises appliquant IAS 19 devront, à compter du 1er janvier 2013, présenter la charge dans leurs états financiers selon trois composantes distinctes. Il est important de noter qu’à compter de cette date, la méthode de reconnaissance différée sera éliminée. Ainsi, les entreprises devront dorénavant reconnaître immédiatement toute variation de la valeur de l’actif et de la valeur de l’obligation au titre des prestations définies (obligation) ainsi que le coût des services passés acquis et non acquis dans la période où ces variations surviennent.

Cette reconnaissance immédiate des coûts aura pour effet de présenter dans l’état de la situation financière le statut de surplus/déficit des régimes d’avantages sociaux futurs sur base comptable, incluant l’effet de l’application du plafonnement de l’actif au titre des régimes à prestations définies.

La première composante de la charge sera le coût des services et sera présentée dans le résultat net. Le coût des services inclut, entre autres, le coût des services rendus au cours de l’exercice, le coût des services passés et les gains et pertes de liquidations (règlements). Les réductions (compressions) seront traitées de la même manière que le coût des services passés et seront reconnues immédiatement et entièrement dans le résultat net.

La deuxième composante, soit les intérêts nets sur le passif (actif) net au titre des prestations définies (passif (actif)), sera également présentée dans le résultat net. Les intérêts nets représentent l’effet net de l’intérêt sur l’obligation et de l’intérêt calculé sur l’actif en utilisant le taux d’actualisation, en plus d’inclure l’effet de l’intérêt sur l’impact du plafonnement sur l’actif au titre des régimes à prestations définies. Le rendement espéré sur l’actif sera donc dorénavant basé sur le taux d’actualisation utilisé pour déterminer l’obligation.

Finalement, la dernière composante, soit les réévaluations du passif (actif), sera présentée dans les autres éléments du résultat global. Les réévaluations du passif (actif) incluent, entre autres, les éléments liés à l’élimination de la méthode de reconnaissance différée. Ainsi, les gains et pertes actuariels sur l’obligation, le rendement réel de l’actif en excédent des montants reconnus dans les intérêts nets et la variation de l’impact du plafonnement de l’actif au titre des régimes à prestations définies en excédent des montants reconnus dans les intérêts nets seront inclus dans la composante des réévaluations du passif (actif).

Les divulgations aux états financiers

En ce qui concerne les divulgations aux états financiers, des modifications sont également apportées. Globalement, les organisations devront divulguer les caractéristiques de leurs régimes à prestations déterminées et le niveau de risque auquel ces régimes les exposent, expliquer les différents montants associés aux régimes dans les états financiers et décrire les facteurs qui pourraient influencer les cotisations. Un exemple de modifications est la divulgation d’une analyse de sensibilité de l’obligation pour chacune des hypothèses jugées importantes.

La transition 

Les nouvelles normes IAS 19 seront applicables pour les exercices ouverts à compter du 1er janvier 2013. Toutefois, pour les organisations qui le désirent, l’application anticipée sera permise.

La transition vers les nouvelles normes IAS 19 sera effectuée conformément aux règles des normes IAS 8. Ainsi, les organisations devront ajuster rétroactivement les résultats depuis la création du régime et reconnaître immédiatement et directement l’ajustement dans les capitaux propres dans la première année comparative des états financiers (sans affecter le résultat net).

Modifications des autres normes canadiennes applicables aux avantages sociaux futurs (Chapitre 3461)

Des modifications pourraient être apportées aux normes canadiennes applicables aux organisations à capital fermé ainsi qu’aux organismes à but non lucratif du secteur privé à compter du 1er janvier 2014.

Le conseil des normes comptables étudie la possibilité d’éliminer la méthode du report et de l’amortissement afin de reconnaître immédiatement tous gains et pertes ainsi que la possibilité de ne plus permettre la mesure hâtive.

Ces modifications sont envisagées afin que les utilisateurs d’états financiers obtiennent de l’information plus simple à comprendre et à comparer entre organisations.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6