Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Review of the institutional fund performances over the first semester of 2010

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 13 N. 9, August 2010

We are pleased to present our mid-year review analyzing the performance as at June 30, 2010, of institutional managers comprising the Normandin Beaudry Investment Funds Universe. The purpose of this review is to keep you up-to-date on the recent performance of financial markets and institutional managers. You will receive this review each year after the end of the first semester.

Institutional managers included in the Normandin Beaudry Investment Funds Universe must adopt an active portfolio management approach, have a performance history of at least three years and manage a minimum of assets. All performance statistics are presented before management fees.

The median return for balanced funds for the first half of 2010 was -1.91%, and first quartile performance for these funds showed a return of more than -1.29%. Also, over the one year period ending on June 30, 2010, the median return for balanced funds was 6.77%, and first quartile performance for these funds showed a return of more than 7.81%.

Performances for Canadian assets, which account for the main components of balanced funds, are presented in the table below.

Canadian asset performance - from January 1, 2010 to June 30, 2010

CategoryCanadian BondsCanadian Equities
(large cap)

Number of funds4758
BenchmarkDEX UniverseS&P/TSX
Benchmark return4.23%-2.54%
Benchmark percentile rank6737

Median    
Return4.41%-3.36%
Value added0.18%-0.82%

First quartile    
Return4.77%-2.12%
Value added0.54%0.42%

Bonds with longer maturities performed well in the first half of 2010. The performance of bond managers versus the benchmark for the first half of 2010 are thus primarily explained by duration management in comparison with the benchmark, i.e. portfolio positioning on the interest rate curve and security selection among corporate bond subsectors. Provincial bonds and corporate bonds posted similar returns (4.57% and 4.52%), and federal bonds posted a return of 3.84%.

Large cap Canadian equities posted a return of -2.54% in the first half of 2010. The valued added by the median manager was -0.82% in comparison with the benchmark. This can be explained in part by the strong performance of the gold securities subsector that obtained a return of 13%, primarily in the second quarter of 2010. It should be noted that several institutional managers typically underweight this subsector. Small cap securities (BMO Small Cap Index: 0.42%) outperformed large cap securities (S&P/TSX 60: -3.28%). In addition, the first quartile manager generated little value added, outperforming the S&P/TSX index by only 0.42%.

In the first six months of 2010, the Canadian dollar depreciated by 1.3% versus the U.S. dollar and 6.2% to the yen, but appreciated by 15.1% versus the euro and 6.7% on the pound sterling. Foreign stocks generated negative returns in the first half of 2010, as indicated in the table below.

Foreign asset performance - from January 1, 2010 to June 30, 2010

CategoryU.S.
Equities
International
Equities
Global
Equities
Emerging
Markets
Equities

Number of funds75745632
BenchmarkS&P 500MSCI EAFE
(net)
MSCI World
(net)
MSCI EM
(net)
Benchmark return
(Canadian dollars)
-5.40%-12.06%-8.64%-4.91%

Benchmark percentile
rank
29785947

Benchmark return
(local currency)
-6.66%-7.34%-7.05%-4.30%

Median        
Return-6.15%-10.27%-8.30%-5.10%
Value added-0.75%1.79%0.34%-0.19%

First quartile        
Return-5.26%-8.76%-7.42%-3.84%
Value added0.14%3.30%1.22%1.07%

The median US equity manager obtained an added value of -0.75% in comparison with the S&P 500 index. We can also note the weak value added of the first quarter manager at 0.14%. In the first half of 2010, managers that favoured large cap securities subtracted value in comparison with the benchmark, and small cap securities generated a return of -0.63%, outperforming large cap securities.

As regards international equities, the median manager obtained a strong value added of 1.79%. To obtain a first quartile performance, the manager needed to add more than 3.30% versus the MSCI EAFE. On average, international equities managers appear to have avoided countries that generated strong negative returns owing to issues concerning public debt funding. Small cap securities also outperformed large cap securities in the international equity market during the first half of 2010.

As regards global equities, the median manager added 0.34% in the first half of 2010. The first quartile manager added 1.22% in comparison with the MSCI World Index. Finally, the median emerging markets equity manager subtracted 0.19% in the first half of 2010. The first quartile manager added more than 1.07% in comparison with the MSCI Emerging Markets Index.


 

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Performance des fonds de placement institutionnels pour le premier semestre de 2010

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 13 N. 9, août 2010

C'est avec plaisir que nous présentons notre revue semestrielle analysant la performance au 30 juin 2010 des gestionnaires institutionnels composant l'Univers de fonds de placement Normandin Beaudry. Cette revue est acheminée chaque année suivant la fin du premier semestre et vise à vous informer des plus récentes performances des marchés financiers et des gestionnaires institutionnels.

Les gestionnaires institutionnels inclus dans l'Univers de fonds de placement de Normandin Beaudry doivent avoir une approche de gestion active, un historique de rendement d'au moins trois ans ainsi qu'un minimum d'actifs sous gestion. Tous les rendements sont présentés avant les frais de gestion.

Le rendement médian d'un fonds équilibré lors du premier semestre de 2010 a été de -1,91 % alors qu'une performance de premier quartile représente un rendement supérieur à -1,29 %. Notons que sur la période d'un an se terminant au 30 juin 2010, le rendement médian d'un fonds équilibré a été de 6,77 % alors qu'une performance de premier quartile représente un rendement supérieur à 7,81 %.

La performance des gestionnaires d'actifs canadiens, les composantes principales des fonds équilibrés, est présentée au tableau ci-dessous.

Performance des actifs canadiens - du 1er janvier 2010 au 30 juin 2010

CatégorieObligations
canadiennes
Actions canadiennes
(grande capitalisation)
 
Nombre de fonds4758
Indice de référenceDEX UniversS&P/TSX
Rendement de l'indice4,23 %-2,54 %
Rang centile de l'indice6737
 
Médiane    
Rendement4,41 %-3,36 %
Valeur ajoutée0,18 %-0,82 %
 
Premier quartile    
Rendement4,77 %-2,12 %
Valeur ajoutée0,54 %0,42 %

Lors du premier semestre de 2010, le marché obligataire a été caractérisé par la bonne performance des obligations ayant une échéance plus longue. Ainsi, les écarts de performance des gestionnaires obligataires lors du premier semestre de 2010 sont principalement expliqués par la gestion de la durée par rapport à l'indice de référence, soit le positionnement du portefeuille sur la courbe des taux d'intérêt, ainsi que la sélection de titres au sein des sous-secteurs des obligations de sociétés. La performance des obligations provinciales (4,57 %) et de sociétés (4,52 %) ont généré des rendements similaires alors que les obligations fédérales ont généré un rendement de 3,84 %.

Les actions canadiennes de grande capitalisation ont généré un rendement de -2,54 % lors du premier semestre de 2010. On observe que la valeur ajoutée par le gestionnaire médian a été de -0,82 % par rapport à son indice de référence. Cette valeur retranchée est en partie expliquée par la bonne performance du sous-secteur des titres aurifères qui a obtenu un rendement de 13 % et ce, principalement lors du second trimestre de 2010. Il est à noter que plusieurs gestionnaires institutionnels sous-pondèrent généralement ce sous-secteur. Notons également que les titres de grande capitalisation (S&P/TSX 60 : -3,28 %) ont sous performé les titres de petite capitalisation (BMO petite capitalisation : 0,42 %). De plus, on observe la faible valeur ajoutée du gestionnaire de premier quartile avec 0,42 % de plus que l'indice S&P/TSX.

Lors des six premiers mois de 2010, le dollar canadien s'est déprécié de 1,3 % par rapport à la devise américaine et de 6,2 % par rapport au Yen alors qu'il s'est fortement apprécié de 15,1 % par rapport à l'Euro et de 6,7 % par rapport à la Livre. Les actions étrangères ont généré des rendements négatifs lors du premier semestre de 2010 tel qu'indiqué au tableau ci-dessous.

Performance des actifs étrangers - du 1er janvier 2010 au 30 juin 2010

CatégorieActions
américaines
Actions
internationales
Actions
mondiales
Actions
de pays
émergents
 
Nombre de fonds75745632
Indice de référenceS&P 500MSCI EAEO
(net)
MSCI Monde
(net)
MSCI ME
(net)
Rendement de l'indice
(en dollars canadiens)
-5,40 %-12,06 %-8,64 %-4,91 %
 
Rang centile de l'indice29785947
 
Rendement de l'indice
(en devises locales)
-6,66 %-7,34 %-7,05 %-4,30 %
 
Médiane        
Rendement-6,15 %-10,27 %-8,30 %-5,10 %
Valeur ajoutée-0,75 %1,79 %0,34 %-0,19 %
 
Premier quartile      
Rendement-5,26 %-8,76 %-7,42 %-3,84 %
Valeur ajoutée0,14 %3,30 %1,22 %1,07 %

Le gestionnaire médian en actions américaines a obtenu une valeur ajoutée de -0,75 % par rapport à l'indice S&P 500. De plus, on peut noter la faible valeur ajoutée du gestionnaire de premier quartile avec 0,14 %. Lors du premier semestre de 2010, les gestionnaires ayant privilégié les titres de grande capitalisation ont soustrait de la valeur par rapport à l'indice de référence alors que les titres de petite capitalisation ont généré un rendement de -0,63 %, soit une performance supérieure aux titres de grande capitalisation.

Quant aux actions internationales, le gestionnaire médian a obtenu une bonne valeur ajoutée de 1,79 %. Pour obtenir une performance de premier quartile, le gestionnaire devait ajouter plus de 3,30 % par rapport au MSCI EAEO. Les gestionnaires d'actions internationales semblent en moyenne avoir évité les pays qui ont généré des rendements fortement négatifs en raison des problèmes de financement de leur dette publique. Notons également que les titres de petite capitalisation ont généré des rendements supérieurs aux titres de grande capitalisation en actions internationales au cours de la période.

En ce qui a trait aux actions mondiales, le gestionnaire médian a ajouté 0,34 % lors du premier semestre de 2010. Le gestionnaire de premier quartile a ajouté 1,22 % par rapport au MSCI Monde. Finalement, le gestionnaire médian en actions de pays émergents a soustrait 0,19 % lors du premier semestre de 2010. Le gestionnaire de premier quartile a ajouté plus de 1,07 % par rapport au MSCI Marchés Émergents.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6