Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

New funding rules applicable to pension plans of the municipal and university sectors adopted

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 13 N. 8, July 2010

Municipal edition

The anticipated final version of the Regulation respecting the funding of pension plans of the municipal and university sectors was published in the July 7, 2010 edition of the Gazette officielle du Québec.

Although this final version includes certain modifications to the proposed regulation, the principles and substance of the regulation remain unaltered. We invite you to read our January 2010 bulletin (Vol. 13, No. 1, January 2010 "Proposed Regulation") outlining the proposed regulation.

Below is a summary of the modifications made to the proposed regulation:

  • No reserve will be established before December 31, 2012. Thus, actuarial gains revealed before this date will not be transferred from the general account to the reserve.
  • The provision for adverse deviations (PAD) is set at zero until December 30, 2012. It will therefore be calculated for the first time during the first actuarial valuation prepared after this date. This delay will allow pension committees to implement measures related to the new funding rules.
  • Actuarial gains from contributions exceeding those minimally required will not increase the reserve.
  • The reserve can be used to fund up to 50% of amortization payments related to a technical deficit, whether this contribution is funded by the employer or the employees.
  • Surplus assets on a going concern basis that can be used to fund a plan improvement or to grant a contribution holiday will correspond to the excess of the general account over the liability.
  • Transitional provisions outlining specific rules pertaining to the consolidation of certain deficits created before December 31, 2008 for municipal sector plans are simplified.
  • The deadline for submitting to the Régie des rentes du Québec an actuarial valuation report prepared between December 30, 2008 and November 30, 2009 is extended to August 31, 2010. The September 30, 2010 deadline continues to apply for actuarial valuations as at December 31, 2009.

Finally, following certain clarifications made by the Act to amend various legislative provisions respecting municipal affairs which was adopted on July 10, 2010, we are expecting a new regulatory amendment clarifying the redemption procedure for redeemable bonds issued pursuant to the adoption of Bill 54.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Adoption des nouvelles mesures de financement pour les régimes de retraite des secteurs municipal et universitaire

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 13 N. 8, juillet 2010

La version finale attendue du Règlement concernant le financement des régimes de retraite des secteurs municipal et universitaire a été publiée dans la Gazette officielle du 7 juillet dernier.

Bien que dans cette version finale certaines modifications aient été apportées au projet de règlement, les principes et l'essence du règlement sont restés les mêmes. Nous vous invitons à lire notre communiqué de janvier 2010 (vol. 13, no. 1, Janvier 2010 « Projet de Règlement ») qui présentait le projet de Règlement.

Voici un résumé des modifications du projet de Règlement qui ont été apportées :

  • Aucune réserve ne doit être constituée avant le 31 décembre 2012. Ainsi, les gains actuariels révélés avant cette date ne seront pas transférés du compte général à la réserve;
  • La provision pour écarts défavorables (la « PED ») est établie à zéro jusqu'au 30 décembre 2012. Elle sera donc calculée pour la première fois lors de la première évaluation actuarielle suivant cette date. Ce délai permettra aux comités de retraite de mettre en place des mesures pour s'adapter aux nouvelles règles de financement;
  • Les gains actuariels engendrés par les cotisations versées en excédent de celles requises ne serviront pas à accroître la réserve;
  • La réserve pourra financer jusqu'à 50 % de la cotisation d'équilibre liée à un déficit technique, et ce, peu importe que cette cotisation soit financée par l'employeur ou les employés;
  • L'excédent d'actif sur base de capitalisation qui peut être affecté au financement d'une amélioration au régime ou à l'octroi d'un congé de cotisation correspond à l'excédent du compte général sur le passif;
  • Les mesures transitoires portant sur les restrictions et les règles particulières pour la consolidation de certains déficits créés avant le 31 décembre 2008 pour les régimes du secteur municipal ont été simplifiées;
  • Le délai pour transmettre à la Régie des rentes du Québec un rapport visant une évaluation actuarielle préparée à une date entre le 30 décembre 2008 et le 30 novembre 2009 est prolongé au 31 août 2010. Le délai du 30 septembre 2010 demeure pour une évaluation actuarielle au 31 décembre 2009.

Enfin, à la suite de certaines précisions apportées le 10 juillet dernier par la Loi modifiant diverses dispositions législatives en matière municipale, nous anticipons une nouvelle modification réglementaire pour préciser le traitement relatif au rachat des obligations rachetables émises en vertu de l'adoption du Projet de loi 54.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6