Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Investing in emerging markets

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 13. N. 7, July 2010

With low interest rates, disappointing stock market performances and only modest expected economic growth in developed countries, many institutional investors are looking for new sources of return.

When it comes to investing the variable income portion of an investment fund for exposure to growth factors, emerging market equities are definitely an asset class to consider. In fact, with the strong rebound of their stock market and their economic growth returning to the level it was prior to the financial crisis, emerging markets deserve to be analyzed and followed closely.

Emerging markets: how do we distinguish them?

 An emerging market is a nation with a strong potential for sustainable economic growth, a relatively young and growing population, an expanding stock market and a rapidly liberalizing economy. Excellent examples are the BRIC countries, a term used in economic and financial literature that refers to the economies of Brazil, Russia, India and China.

A major contribution to the global economy

According to a CFA Institute analysis, the combined economies of the BRIC countries could eclipse the combined economies of the G6 (United States, Japan, Great Britain, Germany, France and Italy) by 2040. At the moment, the combined economies of the BRIC countries make up approximately 16% of the global gross domestic product (GDP); by 2040 they could represent close to half of the global GDP.

Here are some of the factors that should enable emerging markets to generate superior economic growth when compared to developed countries:

  • Favourable demographics, with a rapidly rising purchasing power of the main consumer cohort
  • Growth in infrastructure needs
  • Financial institutions with sound balance sheets
  • Governments recording surpluses

As a result of these factors, stock markets in emerging countries rebounded before those in developed countries during the last financial crisis and have generated higher returns over the last decade.

Investing in emerging markets

 There are three main investment vehicles that can be used to get exposure to emerging market equities:

  • A specialized emerging market equity mandate
  • A global equity mandate in which a portion of the assets are invested in emerging market equities
  • Direct investment in companies listed on the stock markets of developed countries that generate income in emerging markets

Certain institutional investors, depending on the size of their assets, prefer to grant global equity mandates which include emerging market equities rather than have two separate investment mandates. Selecting an investment vehicle also raises the question of an appropriate benchmark. Some institutional managers use the MSCI ACWI (All Country World Index), which includes all developed and emerging countries, because it is more representative of an equity mandate that includes investments in emerging markets.

Risks and manager selection

Certain risks apply more specifically to emerging market equities, such as political risk, corporate governance risk, contagion risk (risk that an event will impact all countries even though it actually affects only one country) and currency risk. In terms of currency exposure, emerging market equity portfolios must be diversified to minimize the impact of crises associated with a particular country or currency. It is also important to realize that the financial statements of companies listed on emerging market exchanges are generally less transparent.

Despite the strong investments in emerging market equities and increased coverage of this asset class by analysts, there are still very few passively managed products, mainly because of the high transaction costs. Active management should be favoured, considering the many sources of value added, such as the selection of countries, sectors, currencies as well as securities.

Given the risks associated with emerging market equities, the selection of a manager with in-depth expertise in this area and excellent knowledge of local markets is crucial. It should also be noted that due to significant investments in this asset class, many institutional products are closed to new investors.

To invest or not to invest?

 Emerging markets offer attractive growth potential and account for more than 10% of the world stock market capitalization compared to about 4% for Canada. Institutional investors must therefore position themselves with respect to this asset class. With equity diversification in mind, an institutional investor should consider investing a proportion of its assets in emerging market equities in the framework of an overall risk tolerance analysis.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Investir dans les pays émergents

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 13 N. 7, juillet 2010

Lorsque vient le temps d'investir la portion à revenu variable des fonds de placement afin de s'exposer à des facteurs de croissance, les actions de pays émergents sont assurément une catégorie d'actif à considérer. Grâce au fort rebond de leur marché boursier ainsi qu'à leur retour au rythme de croissance d'avant la crise financière, ces pays méritent d'être analysés et suivis de plus près.

Les pays émergents : comment les distinguer?

Pour être qualifié d'émergent, un pays doit avoir un fort potentiel de croissance économique soutenue, une démographie relativement jeune et en croissance, un marché boursier en expansion, ainsi qu'une économie en pleine libéralisation. Les pays qui composent l'acronyme « BRIC » en sont d'excellents exemples. Cet acronyme est couramment utilisé dans la littérature économique et financière pour parler du Brésil, de la Russie, de l'Inde et de la Chine.

Un apport important à l'économie mondiale

 Selon une analyse du CFA Institute, l'économie jumelée du BRIC pourrait devenir plus importante que celle du G6 (États-Unis, Japon, Grande-Bretagne, Allemagne, France, Italie), et ce, dès 2040. Actuellement, l'économie jumelée du BRIC représente approximativement 16 % du produit intérieur brut (PIB) mondial et, vers 2040, pourrait représenter près de la moitié du PIB mondial.

Voici quelques facteurs qui devraient permettre aux pays émergents de générer une croissance économique supérieure à celle des pays développés :

  • Une démographie où le pouvoir d'achat de la cohorte des consommateurs les plus nombreux est en pleine croissance;
  • Une croissance des besoins en infrastructures;
  • Des institutions financières avec de sains bilans;
  • Des administrations publiques dégageant des surplus.

Ces facteurs ont permis aux marchés boursiers des pays émergents de rebondir avant ceux des pays développés lors de la dernière crise financière et de générer des rendements supérieurs lors de la dernière décennie.

Investir dans les pays émergents

Il existe trois principaux véhicules d'investissement permettant de s'exposer aux actions de pays émergents :

  • Mandat spécialisé d'actions de pays émergents;
  • Mandat d'actions mondiales dans lequel une proportion des actifs est investie en actions de marchés émergents;
  • Investissements directs dans des sociétés inscrites sur des bourses de pays développés générant des revenus dans des pays émergents.

Certains investisseurs institutionnels, en fonction de la taille de leurs actifs, préfèrent octroyer des mandats d'actions mondiales au sein desquels on retrouve des actions de pays émergents, plutôt que d'avoir deux mandats de gestion séparés. Le choix d'un véhicule d'investissement suscite aussi un questionnement sur l'indice de référence approprié. Certains gestionnaires institutionnels utilisent l'indice MSCI ACWI (All Country World Index) qui inclut tous les pays développés et émergents, car il est plus représentatif d'un mandat d'actions incluant des investissements en pays émergents.

Risques et sélection d'un gestionnaire

Certains risques plus spécifiques s'appliquent aux actions de pays émergents tels le risque politique, le risque de gouvernance des sociétés, le risque de contagion (impact d'un événement sur l'ensemble des pays lorsque cet événement ne touche en fait qu'un seul pays) ainsi que le risque de devises. En termes d'exposition aux devises, les portefeuilles en actions de pays émergents doivent être diversifiés afin d'amenuiser les impacts de crises reliées à un pays ou à une devise en particulier. Il est également à noter que les états financiers des sociétés inscrites sur les bourses des pays émergents font généralement preuve de moins de transparence.

Par ailleurs, malgré l'apport important de capitaux en actions de pays émergents ainsi que la couverture accrue de cette catégorie d'actifs par les analystes, il existe encore très peu de produits en gestion indicielle, notamment en raison des coûts élevés de transactions. La gestion active est à privilégier considérant les multiples sources de valeur ajoutée telles la sélection de pays, de secteurs, de devises ainsi que de titres.

Compte tenu des risques associés aux actions de pays émergents, la sélection d'un gestionnaire ayant une expertise pointue et une excellente connaissance des marchés locaux est cruciale. Il est également à noter qu'en raison de l'importance des investissements au sein de cette catégorie d'actif, plusieurs produits institutionnels sont fermés aux nouveaux investisseurs.

Investir ou non ?

 Les pays émergents offrent un potentiel de croissance intéressant et représentent plus de 10 % de la capitalisation boursière mondiale, comparativement à environ 4 % pour le Canada. Ainsi, les investisseurs institutionnels doivent se positionner par rapport à la catégorie d'actif. Dans une perspective de diversification en actions, un investisseur institutionnel doit donc considérer la possibilité d'attribuer une proportion de ses actifs aux actions de pays émergents dans un cadre d'analyse globale de sa tolérance au risque.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6