Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Recent legislative changes to pension plans in Quebec

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 13 N. 17, December 2010

In light of the financial crisis of 2008, the Quebec government has amended certain legislative provisions to mitigate the effects of this crisis. The Act to amend the Supplemental Pension Plans Act and other legislative provisions in order to reduce the effects of the financial crisis on plans covered by the Act (Bill 1) came into effect on January 15, 2009.

Among the new provisions of Bill 1 is the option for certain members and beneficiaries to apply for payment of their benefits through a pension paid by the Régie des rentes du Québec (Régie) out of plan assets. Eligible members and beneficiaries are those whose benefits were reduced following the termination of their plan resulting from the bankruptcy of their employer between December 31, 2008 and December 31, 2011. The Régie would thus act as the benefits administrator and would have a maximum of five years to exercise this role, after which the members' pensions would be guaranteed by an insurance company.

Bill 1 Regulation

The Regulation was published in the Gazette officielle du Québec on November 3, 2010, and offers clarification on the application of Bill 1 provisions.

The Regulation provides a framework for the settlement of the benefits of members and beneficiaries when a pension plan is terminated as a result of the employer's bankruptcy. It details each of the key steps to follow in the termination process, which include:

1. Divide the pension fund into two separate accounts:

  • One account comprising the portion of assets corresponding to the benefits of retired members and beneficiaries; and
  • One account comprising the portion of assets for other members.

2. Produce and send to the Régie the termination report.

3. Invite members and beneficiaries to an information session on the proposed payment methods and the option of having the Régie administer pensions.

4. Produce and send to the Régie a report presenting information on the payment of benefits for each member and beneficiary.

The Regulation also offers clarifications concerning pension administration by the Régie. The Régie will send an annual statement to each member and beneficiary who opts to have the Régie administer their benefits, and will hold an annual information meeting. The Régie will be required to prepare an actuarial valuation and a financial report annually. If applicable, any surplus assets will be used to pay a lump sum amount to members and beneficiaries concerned.

Adoption of Bill 129

There were many reactions to the provisions contained in Bill 1. Pressure was applied to extend the application of plan administration by the Régie, which led to the tabling of Bill 129 on November 9, 2010 at the National Assembly. This bill was adopted by the National Assembly on December 10, 2010. The main provisions of the bill took effect on this date.

Among other things, Bill 129 proposes extending the application of plan administration by the Régie to employers subject to an order or judgement under the Companies' Creditors Arrangement Act, Part III of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act or the Winding-up and Restructuring Act.

The maximum period granted to the Régie as the pension administrator could also be extended from 5 to 10 years if the Régie deems this to be appropriate.

Use of letters of credit for multi-employer plans

Finally, Bill 129 contains a provision that allows employers party to multi-employer plans to use letters of credit for plan funding purposes, as provided for in the Supplemental Pension Plans Act for other plan types.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Récents changements législatifs visant les régimes de retraite au Québec

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 13 N. 17, décembre 2010

À la suite de la crise financière de l'année 2008, le gouvernement est venu modifier certaines dispositions législatives afin d'atténuer les effets de cette crise. Ainsi, le 15 janvier 2009, la Loi modifiant la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite et d'autres dispositions législatives en vue d'atténuer les effets de la crise financière à l'égard de régimes visés par cette loi (« Loi 1 ») est entrée en vigueur.

Parmi les nouvelles dispositions apportées par la Loi 1 se trouve la possibilité pour certains participants et bénéficiaires de demander le paiement de leurs droits au moyen d'une rente servie par la Régie des rentes du Québec (« Régie »). Les participants et bénéficiaires admissibles sont ceux ayant des droits réduits à la suite de la terminaison de leur régime de retraite résultant de la faillite de leur employeur survenue entre le 31 décembre 2008 et le 31 décembre 2011. La Régie agirait alors en tant qu'administrateur des droits qui lui sont confiés et disposerait d'une période maximale de cinq ans pour exercer ce rôle. Après cette période, les rentes des participants seraient assurées auprès d'une compagnie d'assurance.

Le Règlement de la Loi 1

Le 3 novembre 2010, le Règlement de la Loi 1 (« Règlement ») était publié dans la Gazette officielle du Québec. Le Règlement vient préciser l'application des dispositions contenues dans la Loi 1.

Il précise d'abord le processus encadrant la liquidation des droits des participants et bénéficiaires lors de la terminaison d'un régime de retraite résultant de la faillite de l'employeur. Il détaille chacune des étapes à suivre dans le processus de terminaison qui comprennent principalement les suivantes :

1. Répartition de la caisse de retraite en deux comptes distincts :

  • Un compte constitué de la part de l'actif correspondant aux droits des participants retraités et bénéficiaires;
  • Un compte constitué de la part de l'actif pour les autres participants.

2. Production et transmission à la Régie du rapport de terminaison;

3. Convocation à une assemblée d'information traitant des modes d'acquittement prévus ainsi que de l'option d'administration des rentes par la Régie;

4. Production et transmission à la Régie d'un rapport illustrant l'information relative à l'acquittement des droits de chaque participant et bénéficiaire.

Le Règlement fournit également des précisions quant à l'administration des rentes par la Régie. La Régie transmettra un relevé annuel à chaque participant et bénéficiaire qui aura choisi de confier ses droits à la Régie, en plus de tenir une assemblée annuelle d'information. La Régie devra faire préparer sur une base annuelle une évaluation actuarielle et un rapport financier. Tout excédent d'actif déterminé, le cas échéant, servira au paiement d'une somme forfaitaire pour les participants et bénéficiaires visés.

Adoption du Projet de loi 129

Les dispositions contenues dans la Loi 1 ont suscité plusieurs réactions. Des pressions ont été exercées afin d'étendre l'application de l'administration des rentes par la Régie et elles ont conduit au dépôt du projet de loi 129 le 9 novembre 2010 à l'Assemblée nationale. Ce projet de loi 129 a été adopté à l'Assemblée nationale du Québec le 10 décembre 2010. Les principales dispositions qu'il renferme prennent effet à cette date.

Le projet de loi 129 propose, entre autres, d'étendre l'application de l'administration des rentes par la Régie aux employeurs étant sous l'effet d'une ordonnance ou d'un jugement en vertu de la Loi sur les arrangements avec les créanciers des compagnies, de la partie III de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité ou de la Loi sur les liquidations et les restructurations.

Également, la période maximale accordée à la Régie en tant qu'administrateur des rentes qui lui sont confiées pourrait passer de 5 à 10 ans si la Régie juge approprié de le faire.

Utilisation de lettres de crédit dans le cadre d'un régime interentreprises

Finalement, le projet de loi 129 contient une disposition qui permet aux employeurs parties à un régime interentreprises d'utiliser des lettres de crédit aux fins du financement de leur régime comme le prévoit la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite pour les autres régimes de retraite.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6