Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Accounting standards applicable to employee future benefits: measures that could impact future results

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 13 N. 15, December 2010

In a recent there in black in white bulletin entitled Accounting standards applicable to employee future benefits: what Quebec-based companies do, we shared the results of our analysis of the annual reports of Quebec-based companies to help companies select their assumptions for employee future benefits.

This information bulletin is a follow-up of sorts, providing comments on some measures that could potentially impact future results.

Determining the discount rate

Recent substantial variations in discount rates, in line with the market data used to determine these rates, have highlighted an issue associated with determining discount rates. Even though the rates must be selected by the company's management, management typically looks to its actuary or actuaries for advice on the rates to use. Accounting standards and guides for applying them do not define in detail the meaning of certain terms that they use or the methodology that must be followed. Each actuarial firm has thus developed its own methodology.

To facilitate the process of determining discount rates, the Canadian Institute of Actuaries (CIA) created a task force responsible for issuing recommendations on the approach to use to determine the discount rate in accordance with Section 3461 of the CICA Handbook. The task force is analyzing several options, including that of basing discount rates on provincial bonds. The task force is also examining the possibility of having the CIA publish a discount rate curve each month. More details should be available by mid-2011.

Transition to international standards

For fiscal years starting on or after January 1, 2011, publicly accountable enterprises will be required to adhere to international standards (IFRS) when preparing and presenting their financial statements. The comparison year must also be prepared and presented in accordance with IFRS, which requires the adjustment of certain results at the start of this fiscal year.

At the transition for employee future benefits plans, companies will need to decide whether or not to use the optional exemption under the First-time adoption of International Financial Reporting Standards in recognizing unamortized actuarial gains and losses at the time of transition. To make their decision, companies will need to consider the impact on financial position and annual expense, as well as the complexity of the calculations required if the exemption is not used. Companies must also make a decision concerning the method for recognizing future actuarial gains and losses, and, going forward, companies still using the provision from Section 3461 concerning early measurement must use a measurement date corresponding to the end of their fiscal year.

Proposed amendments to international standards beginning in 2013

While targeted Canadian companies are preparing to apply international standards for the first time, they need to take into account the fact that these standards will be amended within a few years. An exposure draft outlining the proposed amendments was published last April. The goal is to make significant improvements regarding recognition, presentation and disclosures for employee future benefits plans. The revised standards should be published in mid-2011 for fiscal years starting on or after January 1, 2013 (early application will be permitted once the amendments have been adopted). According to the exposure draft, the improvements will help financial statements users understand the impact of employee future benefits plans on the company's financial position, thereby facilitating the comparison between companies. The key amendments are as follows:

  • mmediate recognition of all costs (actuarial gains and losses, past service costs);
  • Standardization of the presentation of the annual expense components; and
  • Amendments to required disclosures.

Change in standards for private enterprises

For fiscal years starting on or after January 1, 2011, private enterprises will be required to adhere to new standards (new version of Section 3461) when presenting their financial statements. Private enterprises can elect to adopt these new Canadian standards or the international standards.

Included in the new Canadian standards are some simplifications in comparison to Section 3461 in effect up to December 31, 2010, given the nature of private enterprises.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Normes comptables applicables aux avantages sociaux futurs : des éléments qui pourraient affecter les résultats futurs

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol 13 N. 15, décembre 2010

Récemment, par voie du bulletin noir sur blanc, nous vous avons fait part des résultats de notre analyse des rapports annuels d'entreprises québécoises, afin de vous aider à sélectionner vos propres hypothèses pour les avantages sociaux futurs (communiqué intitulé Les normes comptables applicables aux avantages sociaux futurs : que font les entreprises québécoises?).

Le présent bulletin se veut en quelque sorte la suite, en commentant certains éléments qui pourraient affecter les résultats futurs.

La détermination du taux d'actualisation

Les récentes variations importantes des taux d'actualisation, en lien avec les données de marché utilisées pour les déterminer, ont accentué une problématique reliée à leur détermination. Bien que les taux doivent être sélectionnés par la direction de l'entreprise, celle-ci demande généralement à son ou ses actuaires de la conseiller sur les taux à utiliser. Les normes comptables et leur guide d'application ne définissent pas en détails la signification de certains termes qu'elles utilisent ni la méthodologie qui doit être suivie. Ainsi, chaque cabinet d'actuaires a développé sa propre méthodologie.

Afin de faciliter la détermination des taux, l'Institut canadien des actuaires (« ICA ») a constitué un groupe de travail chargé d'émettre des recommandations quant à l'approche à utiliser pour déterminer le taux d'actualisation conformément au chapitre 3461 du manuel de l'ICCA. Le groupe examine plusieurs options dont celle de baser les taux d'actualisation sur les obligations provinciales. De plus, le groupe étudie la possibilité que l'ICA publie mensuellement une courbe de taux d'actualisation. Plus de détails devraient être connus d'ici le milieu de l'année 2011.

Le passage aux normes internationales

Pour les années fiscales ouvrant à compter du 1er janvier 2011, les entreprises ayant une obligation d'information du public devront présenter leurs états financiers en vertu des normes internationales (IFRS). L'année de comparaison doit également être présentée selon les IFRS, ce qui requiert l'ajustement de certains éléments des résultats au début de cette année financière.

Lors de la transition pour les régimes d'avantages sociaux futurs, les entreprises devront entre autres faire un choix quant à l'utilisation ou non de l'exemption facultative des normes relatives à la Première adoption des normes internationales d'information financière pour le traitement des gains et pertes actuariels non amortis au moment de la transition. Afin de prendre sa décision, l'entreprise devra considérer l'impact au niveau de la situation financière et de la charge annuelle ainsi que le niveau de complexité des calculs requis si l'exemption n'est pas utilisée. Les entreprises devront également faire un choix quant à la façon de reconnaître les gains et pertes actuariels futurs, et celles qui utilisaient encore la disposition du chapitre 3461 quant à la mesure hâtive devront dorénavant utiliser une date de mesure correspondant à la date de fin de leur année financière.

Les modifications proposées aux normes internationales à compter de 2013

Alors que les entreprises canadiennes visées s'apprêtent à appliquer les normes internationales pour la première fois, elles doivent considérer que ces normes seront modifiées d'ici quelques années. En effet, un exposé-sondage présentant les modifications proposées a été publié en avril dernier. L'objectif est d'apporter des améliorations importantes au niveau de la reconnaissance, de la présentation et des divulgations des régimes d'avantages sociaux futurs. Les normes révisées devraient être publiées en milieu d'année 2011 pour les exercices ouverts à compter du 1er janvier 2013 (l'application anticipée serait permise lorsque les modifications seront adoptées). Selon l'exposé-sondage, les améliorations aideront les utilisateurs des états financiers à comprendre l'impact des régimes d'avantages sociaux futurs sur la situation financière de l'entreprise et ainsi faciliteront la comparaison entre les entreprises. Les principales modifications sont les suivantes :

  • Reconnaissance immédiate de tous les coûts (gains et pertes actuariels, coûts des services passés);
  • Uniformisation de la présentation des éléments de la charge annuelle;
  • Modification des éléments de divulgation requis.

Le changement de normes pour les entreprises à capital fermé

Pour les années fiscales ouvrant à compter du 1er janvier 2011, les entreprises à capital fermé devront présenter leurs états financiers en vertu de nouvelles normes, une nouvelle version du chapitre 3461. Les entreprises à capital fermé ont le choix d'adopter ces nouvelles normes canadiennes ou les normes internationales.

Les nouvelles normes canadiennes incluent certaines simplifications comparativement au chapitre 3461 en vigueur jusqu'au 31 décembre 2010 étant donné la nature des entreprises à capital fermé.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6