Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Interest rates continue to fall... again

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 13 N. 13, November 2010

Interest rates on long-term maturities have fallen substantially since the start of 2010. Despite the fact that the Bank of Canada began adjusting its overnight rate, long-term interest rates, which influence the value of actuarial liabilities, reached levels similar to those attained at the height of the financial crisis of 2008. This trend intensified in the third quarter of 2010.

Low rates result in good returns on bond markets, but could have a less positive impact on the financial position of pension plans. Pension committees and pension plan sponsors should immediately prepare to assess the effects of low interest rates on the financial position of their pension plans at the end of 2010.

The bond market as at September 30, 2010

The table below presents total returns for various Canadian bond market indexes. The strong returns highlight the impact of low interest rates on bond performance.

Indexes3rdquarter
2010
Year to date
(as at sept. 30, 2010)
Universe3.2%7.5%
Long Term5.6%13.9%
Real Return5.2%9.4%

Effects on actuarial valuation assumptions

Pension plans subject to solvency standards and required to file an actuarial valuation report as at December 31, 2010 will be hit hardest by these low interest rates. What will the impact be on the discount rate used for solvency valuations?

Since the end of 2009, the discount rate prescribed by the Canadian Institute of Actuaries for the solvency valuation of a pension plans actuarial liabilities decreased by around 0.5% for non-indexed pension plans and around 0.4% for indexed pension plans. The value of the liabilities of a non-indexed pension plan could increase by 5% to 10% in 2010. There will be less of an impact on indexed pension plans.

As regards to accounting valuations, the effect will be felt even more. Keep in mind that the discount rate for accounting valuations is based on high quality corporate bond yields which fell by approximately 0.75% in 2010.

Impact of market volatility on the financial position of pension plans

The other element that will impact the financial position of pension plans will be the equity performance for 2010. As previously mentioned, bond yields were very positive as at September 30, 2010. Returns on Canadian and Global equities have been around 7.5% and 1.0% respectively since the beginning of 2010.

A typical pension fund with 60% of the fund invested in equities and 40% invested in bonds, obtained a return between 5.0% and 7.5% as at September 30, if the bond portfolio is invested in Long-term or Universe bonds. With respect to risk management, long-term bonds definitely helped protect the financial position of pension plans.

Given the combined impact of returns on equities and low interest rates on the value of actuarial liabilities, pension committee members and sponsors can expect to observe a deterioration over the previous year in the financial position of their pension plan as at December 31, 2010. Unless the third quarter stock market trends continue, this situation will have an adverse effect on the solvency of most pension plans. The effects will be intensified for plans that already have an actuarial deficit.

In a context of low interest rates, long-term nominal bonds, which are more sensitive to changes in interest rates, performed best. Real return bonds, which provide protection against inflation increases, also generated strong yields owing to their long terms to maturity.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Les taux d'intérêt baissent... encore

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 13 N. 13, novembre 2010

Depuis le début de 2010, les taux d'intérêt sur les échéances à long terme ont diminué de manière notable. En dépit du fait que la Banque du Canada ait entamé son redressement du taux de financement à un jour, les taux d'intérêt long terme, qui influencent la valeur des passifs actuariels, ont touché des niveaux semblables à ceux atteints au coeur de la crise financière de 2008. Cette tendance s'est accentuée au cours du 3e trimestre de 2010.

La baisse des taux entraîne de bons rendements sur les marchés obligataires. En revanche, elle pourrait avoir une incidence moins positive sur la situation financière des régimes de retraite. Les comités de retraite et les promoteurs de régimes devraient dès maintenant commencer à prévoir et même évaluer les effets de la baisse des taux d'intérêt sur la situation financière de leurs régimes de retraite à la fin de l'année 2010.

Le marché obligataire au 30 septembre 2010

Le tableau suivant illustre le rendement total de différents indices du marché obligataire canadien. Les rendements élevés mettent en relief l'effet de la baisse des taux d'intérêt sur la performance des obligations.

Indices3etrimestre
2010
Année à date
(au 30 sept. 2010)
Univers3.2%7.5%
Long terme5.6%13.9%
Rendement Réel5.2%9.4%

Dans un contexte de baisse de taux, les obligations nominales long terme, qui ont une plus grande sensibilité aux variations de taux d'intérêt, ont connu la meilleure performance. Les obligations à rendement réel, qui offrent une protection contre une hausse de l'inflation, ont également obtenu de forts rendements compte tenu de leur longue échéance.

Effets à prévoir sur les hypothèses d'évaluation actuarielle

Les régimes de retraite assujettis aux normes de solvabilité et qui doivent déposer une évaluation actuarielle au 31 décembre 2010 ressentiront davantage l'impact de cette baisse des taux d'intérêt. Quels sont les effets à prévoir sur le taux d'actualisation utilisé pour les évaluations sur base de solvabilité?

Depuis la fin de l'année 2009, le taux d'actualisation, prescrit par l'Institut canadien des actuaires pour évaluer le passif actuariel des régimes sur base de solvabilité, a diminué d'environ 0,5 % pour les régimes dont les rentes sont non-indexées, alors que cette diminution est de l'ordre de 0,4 % pour les régimes dont les rentes sont indexées. Par conséquent, la valeur du passif d'un régime dont les rentes sont non-indexées pourrait augmenter de 5 à 10 % en 2010. Les régimes dont les rentes sont indexées seraient légèrement moins touchés.

En ce qui a trait aux évaluations actuarielles comptables, l'effet se fera davantage ressentir. Rappelons que le taux d'actualisation des évaluations actuarielles comptables est basé sur les taux de rendement à échéance des obligations de sociétés de grande qualité qui ont baissé d'environ 0,75% en 2010.

Effet de la volatilité des marchés sur la situation financière des régimes

L'autre élément qui influencera la situation financière des régimes sera le rendement sur les actions en 2010. Tel que mentionné précédemment, les rendements obligataires sont très positifs au 30 septembre. Sur le plan des marchés boursiers, les actions canadiennes et mondiales ont obtenu respectivement des rendements de l'ordre de 7,5 % et 1,0 % depuis le début de l'année 2010.

Au global, une caisse de retraite type répartie 60 % en actions et 40 % en obligations, a obtenu un rendement qui pourrait varier entre 5,0 % et 7,5 % au 30 septembre, selon que le portefeuille obligataire est investi en obligations univers ou long terme. Dans un cadre de gestion du risque, les obligations long terme ont définitivement contribué à protéger la situation financière des régimes de retraite.

Lorsque l'on combine le rendement des actifs et l'impact de la baisse des taux d'intérêt sur la valeur des passifs actuariels, les membres de comités de retraite et les promoteurs peuvent s'attendre à une certaine détérioration de la situation financière de leur régime de retraite au 31 décembre 2010 par rapport à l'année précédente. À moins que les marchés boursiers poursuivent sur la lancée du 3e trimestre, cette situation affectera de manière négative la solvabilité de la plupart des régimes de retraite. Les effets seront accentués pour les régimes ayant déjà un déficit actuariel.
 

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6