Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Changes to funding rules for registered pension plans

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 13 N. 12, October 2010

The Canadian pension system has not undergone any major changes for several years. The system is founded on the model below:

The provincial and federal governments are currently examining our pension system with a view to finding a consensus on the changes to be made to it. Employer pension plans, including registered pension plans, figure among the retirement income sources. With less than 40% of employees in Canada covered under an employee sponsored registered pension plan, the goal is to offer all Canadian employees greater access to a pension plan that provides sufficient retirement income. While searching for a solution, the governments have begun making amendments to legislation governing employer sponsored registered pension plans.

Differences in legislation, particularly those concerning member rights, make plan administration complex when employees covered by the same pension plan work in different provinces. Employers have been long awaiting changes designed to standardize and simplify plan administration and provide funding relief, especially given the state of plan funding position over the past few years. The governments, however, are reluctant to provide permanent funding relief as they want to ensure that benefit security is not compromised.

Working toward uniform rights?

Important changes were recently made to legislation in Quebec, Ontario and Manitoba and to federal legislation. Some other provinces are also working on amendments to their legislation and are currently in the consultative stage. With the exception of Quebec's Supplemental Pension Plans Act, which was amended in 2001, no major changes have been made to this legislation in twenty years.

The changes affect member rights and pension funding rules. Outlined below are some of the changes that will make the rights of members similar to those adopted in Quebec in 2001.

  • The employer's share will be immediately vested. The share was previously vested after a two-year waiting period.
  • Partial wind-ups that add to the complexity of plan administration have been abolished.
  • Benefits whose value is less than 20% of maximum pensionable earnings (MPE) can be paid out at the time of termination of membership. Rules previously varied by province.
  • Manitoba is following suit of the other provinces by changing the death benefit after retirement to 60% of the pension (previously 66 2/3%) when there is no spousal benefits waiver.

Despite an effort to standardize minimum requirements regarding member rights, differences remain, including differences linked to excess contribution management, indexing before retirement in the event of termination of employment, the obligation to use or not use unisex factors and minimum eligibility requirements.

Some legislation still needs to be amended, and it is hoped that the amendments introduced will coincide with the recent legislative reforms.

Changes to funding rules

Pension plan funding must be carried out in accordance with the rules of the province of registration. Up until now, these permanent funding rules were fairly similar and the province of registration therefore did not have a major impact on the employer's minimum contributions.

The recent changes made to Quebec and federal legislation introduced different rules. Funding rules for Ontario have yet to be amended; however, according to the press release issued on August 24, 2010 by the Ontario government, the rules applicable in Ontario are expected to be different from the Quebec and federal rules. Manitoba is introducing very few funding changes for the time being.

Permanent funding rules for Quebec and federally regulated plans

   Quebec  Federal
Frequency of actuarial valuations   Annual if the plan is not funded and not solvent (otherwise every three years)
 
  Annual (every three years if the solvency ratio is above 120%)
Provision for adverse deviation applicable on solvency liabilities
 
  Unique to each plan but should be around 7%   A 5% margin is required only for a contribution holiday
Determining solvency contributions  Unconsolidated deficiency amortized over 5 years with interest  Consolidated deficiency amortized over 5 years without interest
 
    The deficiency is determined based on the solvency ratio at the time of the valuation
 
  The deficiency is determined based on the 3-year average solvency ratio
Determining going concern contributions  Consolidated deficiency amortized over 15 years  Unconsolidated deficiency amortized over 15 years
 
Threshold below which an immediate contribution must be made for amendments   Degree of solvency under 90%   Degree of solvency under 85% (to be confirmed by the regulations)

As regards funding rules in Ontario, the press release recently issued by the government outlines the following changes that are expected to be introduced in the fall:

  • Option of averaging solvency interest rates eliminated;
  • Requirement that the smoothed value of assets be no more than 20% of the market value of assets;
  • Option of not funding the indexing of going concern benefits eliminated (the option remains for the solvency basis);
  • Option of beginning deficiency amortization one year after the valuation date;
  • Margin of 5% of solvency liabilities required before a contribution holiday may be taken; and
  • Actuarial valuations continue to be performed annually if the plan is less than 85% funded and every three years otherwise.

In light of the changes made to Quebec and federal legislation and based on the changes proposed in Ontario, pension plan funding could vary throughout Canada according to the jurisdiction in which the plan is registered.

For illustration purposes, the chart below presents the amortization payments resulting from different funding measures adopted in Quebec and federally. These amortization payments are required to fund a $20 million solvency deficit as at December 31, 2009 for a pension plan registered in Quebec and a federally registered pension plan. There is no funding deficiency.

The solvency deficiency is projected based on an interest rate of 4.5% and assuming that there will be no gains or losses over the 5-year period.

For the same deficiency, the contributions become lower for the federally registered plan over a 5-year period owing to the calculation of the deficiency based on a 3-year average solvency ratio, the consolidation of the deficiency at each valuation and an amortization over 5 years without interest. 

The situation becomes complicated when the same plan covers employees in Quebec and under federal jurisdiction because there is no reciprocal agreement between Quebec and the federal government for administrating their legislation under this type of scenario. According to our discussions with the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions that administers federal plans, federal rules would apply to this type of plan. The Régie des rentes du Québec indicated to us that it would analyze each case where this type of situation arose before issuing a decision. If the Régie des rentes du Québec also comes to the conclusion that Quebec rules must be adhered to, the minimum contribution would need to satisfy the requirements of both legislations simultaneously. The minimum contribution to be paid would thus be the maximum contribution between that determined in accordance with Quebec funding rules and that determined in accordance with federal funding rules. 

Contribution holidays 

Employers can exercise their right to contribution holidays if such holidays are permitted under plan provisions and agreements concerning the use of surpluses. Going forward, a certain margin will be required before contributions may be suspended. Contribution holidays are permitted in Quebec only if the provision for adverse deviation has been constituted. Federally and in Manitoba, the plan's solvency ratio must be above 105%, whereas in Ontario, since 2009, an actuarial certificate showing a sufficient funding excess must be filed within the first 90 days of the fiscal year before contributions can be suspended. According to the press release issued by the Ontario government, it also plans to require that the solvency ratio be above 105%. 

The employer can, however, continue to make contributions even if there is a surplus and the margin requirement is satisfied. However, the Income Tax Act imposes a limit on surplus amount over which employer contributions are not allowed. This limit was recently increased from 10% to 25% of the actuarial liabilities. This new cap will allow employees to keep more surplus in the plan than was previously permitted to help offset future bad times. 

Although efforts have been made to ensure that member rights are similar from province to province, some of these rights continue to differ. In addition, recent changes to funding rules appear to be driving toward funding rules that will vary based on province. We can expect to see more changes to pension plan legislation and the Canadian pension system in general introduced in the future. We must remain hopeful that these changes will facilitate the implementation of defined benefit or defined contribution plans that will guarantee adequate retirement income for a larger proportion of the Canadian population while being much less complex and expensive to administer. 


 

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Des changements au financement des régimes de pension agréés

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 13 N. 12, octobre 2010

Le système de retraite au Canada n'a pas fait l'objet de changements majeurs depuis plusieurs années. Il est basé sur le modèle suivant : 

 

Les gouvernements provinciaux et fédéral se penchent actuellement sur notre système de retraite afin d'en venir à un consensus quant aux changements à y apporter. Parmi les sources de revenus à la retraite, nous retrouvons les régimes de retraite de l'employeur, notamment les régimes de pension agréés. Considérant qu'au Canada, moins de 40 % des employés sont couverts par un régime de pension agréé de leur employeur, l'objectif visé est de rendre la participation à un régime de retraite procurant un revenu de retraite adéquat, plus accessible pour tous. Pendant que les gouvernements cherchent une solution, ils ont commencé à apporter des modifications aux lois qui régissent les régimes de pension agréés parrainés par un employeur.

Ces lois étant assez différentes, notamment au niveau des droits des participants, cela rend l'administration complexe lorsque des employés d'un même régime de retraite travaillent dans différentes provinces. Les employeurs attendent depuis longtemps des changements afin d'uniformiser et simplifier l'administration de leurs régimes de retraite et alléger le financement, surtout considérant l'état de la situation financière des régimes des dernières années. Toutefois, les gouvernements sont réticents à alléger les règles sur le financement de façon permanente, car ils veulent s'assurer que la sécurité des prestations n'en sera pas compromise.

Vers une uniformisation des droits des participants?

Des changements d'importance ont récemment été apportés aux lois du Québec, de l'Ontario, du Manitoba et à la loi fédérale (ci-après «Fédéral»). Certaines provinces procèdent actuellement à des consultations afin d'apporter elles aussi des modifications à leur législation. À l'exception de la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite du Québec, qui a été modifiée en 2001, ces lois n'avaient pas subi de modifications majeures depuis une vingtaine d'années.

Les changements touchent autant les droits des participants que les règles entourant le financement des régimes de retraite. Voici quelques changements qui rendront les droits des participants similaires à ceux que le Québec a adoptés en 2001 :

  • L'acquisition de la part de l'employeur sera dorénavant immédiate comparativement à une période d'attente de deux ans auparavant.
  • Les terminaisons partielles qui ajoutaient une complexité à l'administration des régimes sont abolies.
  • Les prestations dont la valeur est de moins de 20 % du maximum des gains admissibles (MGA) peuvent être remboursées au moment de la cessation de participation. Auparavant les règles variaient selon les provinces.
  • Le Manitoba s'arrime sur les autres provinces en changeant la prestation de décès après la retraite à 60 % de la rente (comparativement à 66 2/3 %) lorsqu'il n'y a pas de renonciation du conjoint.

Malgré un effort d'uniformisation des exigences minimales quant aux droits des participants, des différences subsistent encore, par exemple, en ce qui a trait au traitement des cotisations excédentaires, à l'indexation avant la retraite en cas de cessation d'emploi, à l'obligation d'utiliser des facteurs unisexes ou non et aux règles minimales d'admissibilité.

Certaines législations restent à être modifiées et il est à espérer qu'elles iront dans le même sens que celles qui ont récemment subi une réforme.

Changements aux règles de financement

Le financement d'un régime de retraite doit s'effectuer selon les règles de la province d'enregistrement et, jusqu'à maintenant, ces règles de financement permanentes étaient assez similaires. Par conséquent, la province d'enregistrement n'avait pas d'impact majeur sur les cotisations minimales de l'employeur.

Les récents changements au Québec et au Fédéral introduisent des règles différentes. Les règles de financement en Ontario ne sont quant à elles pas encore modifiées mais, selon le communiqué émis le 24 août 2010 par le gouvernement de l'Ontario, on s'attend à ce que les règles soient différentes de celles du Québec et du Fédéral. Quant au Manitoba, il y a peu de changements liés au financement pour l'instant.

Règles permanentes de financement au Québec et au Fédéral

   Québec  Fédéral
Fréquence des évaluations actuarielles   Annuelle si le régime est non capitalisé et non solvable (sinon triennale)
 
  Annuelle (triennale si le ratio de solvabilité est plus de 120 %)
Provision pour écarts défavorables applicable sur le passif de solvabilité   Propre à chaque régime et devrait être autour de 7 %   Une marge de 5 % est requise mais seulement pour un congé de cotisations
 
Détermination des cotisations sur base de solvabilité   Amortissement avec intérêt du déficit non consolidé sur 5 ans   Amortissement sans intérêt du déficit consolidé sur 5 ans
   
Le déficit est déterminé
selon le ratio de solvabilité
au moment de
l'évaluation
 
Le déficit est déterminé
selon le ratio de solvabilité
moyen sur 3 ans

Détermination des
cotisations sur base
de capitalisation
 
Amortissement du déficit
consolidé sur 15 ans
 
Amortissement du déficit
non consolidé sur 15 ans

Seuil en-deçà duquel une cotisation immédiate doit être versée lors de modifications
 
Degré de solvabilité de moins de 90 %
 
Degré de solvabilité de
moins de 85 % (à être
confirmé par règlement)

En ce qui concerne les règles de financement en Ontario, le communiqué récemment émis par le gouvernement mentionne, notamment, les changements suivants prévus pour l'automne :

  • Abolition de la possibilité d'utiliser une moyenne de taux d'intérêt dans l'évaluation de solvabilité;
  • Exigence quant à une valeur lissée de l'actif qui ne devra pas être plus de 20 % de la valeur marchande;
  • Abolition de la possibilité de ne pas financer l'indexation des prestations sur base de capitalisation mais cette possibilité demeurerait pour la base de solvabilité;
  • Possibilité de commencer l'amortissement des déficits un an après la date de l'évaluation;
  • Exigence d'une marge de 5 % du passif de solvabilité avant de pouvoir prendre un congé de cotisation; et
  • Maintien de la fréquence annuelle des évaluations actuarielles lorsque le financement du régime est de moins de 85 % et triennale dans les autres cas.

Ainsi, à la lumière des changements apportés au Québec et au Fédéral et selon les changements suggérés en Ontario, le financement d'un régime de retraite pourrait varier au Canada selon la juridiction où le régime est enregistré.

À titre d'exemple, le graphique suivant illustre les cotisations d'équilibre résultant des différentes mesures de financement du Québec et du Fédéral. Il s'agit des cotisations d'équilibre pour financer un déficit de solvabilité établi à 20 millions au 31 décembre 2009, pour un régime de retraite enregistré au Québec et un régime de retraite enregistré au Fédéral. Il n'existe aucun déficit de capitalisation.

La projection du déficit de solvabilité est basée sur un taux d'intérêt de 4,5 % et suppose ni gain ni perte sur la période de 5 ans.       

Pour un même déficit, les cotisations s'avèrent donc moins élevées au Fédéral sur une période de 5 ans, en raison du calcul du déficit selon un ratio de solvabilité moyen sur 3 ans, de la consolidation du déficit à chaque évaluation et d'un amortissement sur 5 ans sans intérêt. 

La situation se complique lorsqu'un même régime de retraite couvre des employés du Québec et sous la juridiction fédérale, car aucun accord réciproque n'existe entre le Québec et le Fédéral pour l'administration de leur législation dans un tel cas. Selon nos discussions avec le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières qui administre les régimes fédéraux, pour ce type de régime, les règles fédérales doivent être respectées. Quant à la Régie des rentes du Québec, elle nous a indiqué qu'elle analysera chaque cas où cette situation se présente avant de se prononcer. Si la Régie des rentes du Québec conclut également que les règles du Québec doivent être respectées, il faudra que la cotisation minimale satisfasse aux exigences de ces deux législations en même temps. La cotisation minimale à verser serait alors la cotisation maximale entre celle déterminée selon les règles de financement du Québec et celle selon les règles de financement du Fédéral. 

Congé de cotisation 

Lorsque les dispositions du régime et les ententes conclues entourant l'utilisation du surplus le permettent, l'employeur peut se prévaloir d'un congé de cotisation. Dorénavant, une certaine marge sera toutefois exigée avant que les cotisations ne puissent cesser. À cet effet, un congé de cotisation est permis au Québec seulement si la provision pour écarts défavorables est constituée. Au Fédéral et au Manitoba, le régime de retraite doit avoir un ratio de solvabilité supérieur à 105 % alors qu'en Ontario, depuis 2009, un certificat actuariel démontrant un surplus suffisant est requis dans les 90 premiers jours de l'exercice avant de pouvoir suspendre les cotisations. Selon le communiqué du gouvernement de l'Ontario, il projette également d'exiger que le ratio de solvabilité soit également supérieur à 105 %. 

L'employeur peut toutefois continuer de verser des cotisations tout en ayant un surplus dans le régime de retraite incluant la marge requise. Cependant, la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu définit une limite au montant de surplus au-delà de laquelle l'employeur ne peut plus verser de cotisation. À cet égard, la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu a récemment augmenté cette limite de 10 % du passif actuariel à 25 %. Cette nouvelle limite permettra aux employeurs qui le désirent de garder plus de surplus qu'auparavant dans le régime pour les mauvais jours futurs. 

En somme, alors qu'il y a un effort pour que les droits des participants soient similaires d'une province à l'autre, certains de ces droits demeurent encore différents. De plus, les changements récents aux règles de financement semblent nous conduire vers des règles de financement qui varieront par province. On peut s'attendre à d'autres changements au niveau des lois en matière de régimes de retraite ainsi qu'au niveau du système de retraite canadien en général. Il faut espérer que ces changements faciliteront la mise sur pied de régimes à prestations déterminées ou à cotisations déterminées qui assureront des revenus de retraite adéquats pour une plus grande proportion de la population canadienne et ce, tout en étant beaucoup moins complexes et coûteux à administrer. 

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6