Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

2010 Bulletins

NB Bulletin Vol. 13 N. 17, December 2010
Recent legislative changes to pension plans in Quebec

In the last year, Quebec's pay equity commission, the Commission de l'équité salariale (hereinafter, "Commission"), has made major efforts to educate and inform employers about their obligations under the Pay Equity Act (hereinafter, "Act") and the measures to be taken to fulfil them. The Commission, the Pay Equity Act and pay equity in general have also been covered extensively and continuously in the media over the last year and a half to inform the employees of their rights.

NB Bulletin Vol 13 N. 16, December 2010
Pay equity: the consequences of noncompliance

In the last year, Quebec's pay equity commission, the Commission de l'équité salariale (hereinafter, "Commission"), has made major efforts to educate and inform employers about their obligations under the Pay Equity Act (hereinafter, "Act") and the measures to be taken to fulfil them. The Commission, the Pay Equity Act and pay equity in general have also been covered extensively and continuously in the media over the last year and a half to inform the employees of their rights.

NB Bulletin Vol. 13 N. 15, December 2010
Accounting standards applicable to employee future benefits: measures that could impact future results

In a recent there in black in white bulletin entitled Accounting standards applicable to employee future benefits: what Quebec-based companies do, we shared the results of our analysis of the annual reports of Quebec-based companies to help companies select their assumptions for employee future benefits.

NB Bulletin Vol 13. N. 14, December 2010
Accounting standards applicable to employee future benefits: what Quebec-based companies do

Several private sector companies will soon be finalizing their budgets for the upcoming fiscal year and preparing their financial statements for the current fiscal year. Included among the accompanying notes that should be prepared for these financial statements are those pertaining to costs for defined benefit pension plans (DB plans) and for group insurance plans offered to retirees (other post-retirement benefits).

NB Bulletin Vol. 13 N. 13, November 2010
Interest rates continue to fall... again

Interest rates on long-term maturities have fallen substantially since the start of 2010. Despite the fact that the Bank of Canada began adjusting its overnight rate, long-term interest rates, which influence the value of actuarial liabilities, reached levels similar to those attained at the height of the financial crisis of 2008. This trend intensified in the third quarter of 2010.

NB Bulletin Vol. 13 N. 12, October 2010
Changes to funding rules for registered pension plans

The Canadian pension system has not undergone any major changes for several years. The system is founded on the model below:

NB Bulletin Vol. 13 N. 11, October 2010
Salary Projections and Trends for 2011

It is once again that time of year when the results of salary projection surveys are released. These projections continue to be an important source of information for guiding employers in determining their annual salary increase budgets.  

NB Bulletin Vol 13, N. 10, August 2010
Rates for Health Care Professionals in 2010

The average fees per visit could be useful in establishing the maximum amounts payable under your group insurance plans. Moreover, the average fee per visit increase compared to that of 2009 allows you to validate the inflation assumption used by your insurer in renewing your health premium rates.

NB Bulletin Vol. 13 N. 9, August 2010
Review of the institutional fund performances over the first semester of 2010

We are pleased to present our mid-year review analyzing the performance as at June 30, 2010, of institutional managers comprising the Normandin Beaudry Investment Funds Universe. The purpose of this review is to keep you up-to-date on the recent performance of financial markets and institutional managers. You will receive this review each year after the end of the first semester.

NB Bulletin Vol. 13 N. 8, July 2010
New funding rules applicable to pension plans of the municipal and university sectors adopted

The anticipated final version of the Regulation respecting the funding of pension plans of the municipal and university sectors was published in the July 7, 2010 edition of the Gazette officielle du Québec.

NB Bulletin Vol. 13. N. 7, July 2010
Investing in emerging markets

With low interest rates, disappointing stock market performances and only modest expected economic growth in developed countries, many institutional investors are looking for new sources of return.

NB Bulletin, Vol. 13 N. 6, June 2010
New Financial Parameters for the Quebec Prescription Drug Insurance Plan

The Régie de l'assurance maladie du Québec recently announced the new financial parameters that will apply to the public prescription drug insurance plan for the period of July 1st, 2010 to June 30, 2011. One of the provisions of Quebec's Act respecting prescription drug insurance provides for the revision of these parameters on July 1st each year to take into account the increase in plan costs. 

NB Bulletin Vol. 13 N. 5, June 2010
Potential cost savings with the arrival of generic drugs

Generic versions of many popular drugs will be hitting pharmacy shelves by 2013. The generic version of Lipitor (cholesterol pill), the best-selling drug in the world, was recently launched on the Canadian market. Apotex, a generic drug manufacturer, is the first to make the generic version available (Apo-Atorvastatin). Other generic drug manufacturers should follow suit. In fact, even Lipitor's manufacturer, Pfizer, announced that it will produce a generic equivalent of its best-selling drug.

NB Bulletin Vol. 13 N. 4, May 2010
Provincial budget's impact on group benefit plans

Following the lead of other Canadian provinces, Quebec imposes a 2% tax on insurance premiums. A compensation tax on financial institutions is also added to insurance premiums in Quebec.

NB Bulletin Vol. 13 N. 3, May 2010
Medical insurance mandatory for entering Cuba

Upon their arrival in Cuba, travellers must present proof that they have travel insurance that includes medical expense coverage in Cuba for the duration of their stay. Travel insurance policies underwritten by Canadian insurance companies are recognized by Cuban authorities. Travellers will need to present as proof either an insurance policy, insurance certificate or medical assistance card.

NB Bulletin Vol. 13 N. 2, March 2010
Non-refundable tax credits for medical expenses

Subject to certain eligibility criteria, a tax credit of between 4% and 20% of the incurred expenses can be granted to the taxpayer. It is important to note that, unlike some other tax credits, credits for medical expenses are non-refundable. Therefore, credits in excess of the amount of income tax to be paid are not reimbursed.

NB Bulletin Vol. 13 N. 1, January 2010
Draft Regulation respecting the funding of pension plans of the municipal and university sectors

New permanent financing rules came into effect in Quebec on January 1, 2010, for all pension plans ("Bill 30"). However, for municipal and university sector pension plans, a highly anticipated Draft Regulation was recently published in order to detail the application of Bill 30 as well as certain rules specific to these sectors.

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Communiqués 2010

Communiqué NB Vol. 13 N. 17, décembre 2010
Récents changements législatifs visant les régimes de retraite au Québec

À la suite de la crise financière de l'année 2008, le gouvernement est venu modifier certaines dispositions législatives afin d'atténuer les effets de cette crise. Ainsi, le 15 janvier 2009, la Loi modifiant la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite et d'autres dispositions législatives en vue d'atténuer les effets de la crise financière à l'égard de régimes visés par cette loi (« Loi 1 ») est entrée en vigueur.  

Communiqué NB Vol. 13 N. 16, décembre 2010
L'équité salariale : les impacts de la non conformité

Au cours de la dernière année, la Commission de l'équité salariale (ci-après, « la CÉS ») a déployé d'importants efforts à former et informer les employeurs sur leurs obligations face à la Loi sur l'équité salariale (ci-après, « la Loi »), et des moyens à prendre pour les réaliser. La CÉS, la Loi et le sujet de l'équité salariale (ci-après, « l'équité ») ont aussi bénéficié d'une couverture médiatique étendue et soutenue depuis la dernière année et demie pour informer le public de ses droits.

Communiqué NB Vol 13 N. 15, décembre 2010
Normes comptables applicables aux avantages sociaux futurs : des éléments qui pourraient affecter les résultats futurs

Récemment, par voie du bulletin noir sur blanc, nous vous avons fait part des résultats de notre analyse des rapports annuels d'entreprises québécoises, afin de vous aider à sélectionner vos propres hypothèses pour les avantages sociaux futurs (bulletin intitulé Les normes comptables applicables aux avantages sociaux futurs : que font les entreprises québécoises?).

Communiqué NB Vol. 13 N. 14, décembre 2010
Normes comptables applicables aux avantages sociaux futurs : que font les entreprises québécoises?

Plusieurs entreprises du secteur privé finaliseront bientôt leurs budgets pour la prochaine année fiscale et prépareront leurs états financiers pour l'année fiscale en cours. Parmi les notes complémentaires devant être préparées pour ces états financiers, on retrouve celle relative aux coûts constatés pour les régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées (« régimes PD ») et pour les régimes d'assurance collective offerts aux retraités (« autres avantages après la retraite »).

Communiqué NB Vol. 13 N. 13, novembre 2010
Les taux d'intérêt baissent... encore

Depuis le début de 2010, les taux d'intérêt sur les échéances à long terme ont diminué de manière notable. En dépit du fait que la Banque du Canada ait entamé son redressement du taux de financement à un jour, les taux d'intérêt long terme, qui influencent la valeur des passifs actuariels, ont touché des niveaux semblables à ceux atteints au coeur de la crise financière de 2008. Cette tendance s'est accentuée au cours du 3e trimestre de 2010.

Communiqué NB Vol. 13 N. 12, octobre 2010
Des changements au financement des régimes de pension agréés

Le système de retraite au Canada n'a pas fait l'objet de changements majeurs depuis plusieurs années. Il est basé sur le modèle suivant :

Communiqué NB Vol. 13 N. 11, octobre 2010
Prévisions salariales et tendances 2011

Nous voici arrivés à cette période de l'année où sont publiés les résultats des enquêtes sur les prévisions salariales. Ces prévisions demeurent, année après année, une source d'information importante puisqu'elles guident les employeurs dans l'établissement de leur budget annuel d'augmentations salariales.

Communiqué NB Vol 13 N. 10, août 2010
Les tarifs des spécialistes de la santé en 2010

L'information sur les frais moyens par visite peut être utile dans l'établissement des plafonds de remboursement des soins paramédicaux de vos régimes d'assurance collective. Par exemple, l'augmentation moyenne des frais par visite comparativement à ceux de 2009 peut vous permettre de valider les hypothèses d'inflation utilisées par votre assureur pour le renouvellement de vos taux de prime d'assurance maladie.

Communiqué NB Vol. 13 N. 9, août 2010
Performance des fonds de placement institutionnels pour le premier semestre de 2010

C'est avec plaisir que nous présentons notre revue semestrielle analysant la performance au 30 juin 2010 des gestionnaires institutionnels composant l'Univers de fonds de placement Normandin Beaudry. Cette revue est acheminée chaque année suivant la fin du premier semestre et vise à vous informer des plus récentes performances des marchés financiers et des gestionnaires institutionnels.

Communiqué NB Vol. 13 N. 8, juillet 2010
Adoption des nouvelles mesures de financement pour les régimes de retraite des secteurs municipal et universitaire

La version finale attendue du Règlement concernant le financement des régimes de retraite des secteurs municipal et universitaire a été publiée dans la Gazette officielle du 7 juillet dernier.

Communiqué NB Vol. 13 N. 7, juillet 2010
Investir dans les pays émergents

Lorsque vient le temps d'investir la portion à revenu variable des fonds de placement afin de s'exposer à des facteurs de croissance, les actions de pays émergents sont assurément une catégorie d'actif à considérer. Grâce au fort rebond de leur marché boursier ainsi qu'à leur retour au rythme de croissance d'avant la crise financière, ces pays méritent d'être analysés et suivis de plus près.

Communiqué NB Vol. 13 N. 6, juin 2010
Nouveaux paramètres financiers du régime d'assurance médicaments du Québec

La Régie de l'assurance maladie du Québec a récemment annoncé les nouveaux paramètres financiers applicables au régime public d'assurance médicaments pour la période du 1er juillet 2010 au 30 juin 2011. En effet, l'une des dispositions de la Loi sur l'assurance médicaments du Québec prévoit la révision de ces paramètres au 1er juillet de chaque année afin de tenir compte de l'accroissement des coûts du régime. 

Communiqué NB Vol. 13 N. 5, juin 2010
Des économies de coûts potentielles grâce à l'arrivée de médicaments génériques

D'ici 2013, plusieurs médicaments populaires verront leur version générique arriver sur les tablettes des pharmacies. Le médicament Lipitor (anti-cholestérolémie), le médicament le plus populaire au monde, a tout récemment vu sa version générique être mise en marché au Canada. C'est Apotex, un fabricant de médicaments génériques, qui est le premier à le rendre disponible (Apo-Atorvastatin). D'autres fabricants de médicaments devraient également suivre cette voie. Même Pfizer, le fabricant de l'original, produira le générique de son médicament vedette.

Communiqué NB Vol. 13 N. 4, mai 2010
L'impact du budget provincial sur les régimes d'assurance collective

À l'instar des autres provinces canadiennes, Québec impose une taxe sur les primes d'assurance, dont le niveau s'établit à 2 %. De plus, une taxe compensatoire des institutions financières s'ajoute aux primes d'assurance au Québec. 

Communiqué NB Vol. 13 N. 3, mai 2010
Assurance maladie obligatoire pour entrer à Cuba

Lors de leur arrivée à Cuba, les voyageurs devront présenter une preuve qu'ils possèdent une assurance voyage couvrant les frais médicaux sur le territoire cubain pour la durée de leur séjour. Les polices d'assurance voyage souscrites auprès des compagnies d'assurance canadiennes sont reconnues par les autorités cubaines. Le document que les voyageurs devront présenter comme preuve sont l'un ou l'autre des choix suivants : la police, le certificat d'assurance ou la carte d'assistance voyage.

Communiqué NB, Vol. 13 N. 2, mars 2010
Crédits d'impôt non remboursables pour frais médicaux

Sous réserve de certains critères d'admissibilité, un contribuable peut se voir accorder un crédit d'impôt variant de 4 % à 20 % des dépenses engagées pour des frais médicaux. Il est toutefois à noter que contrairement à certains autres crédits d'impôt, ce crédit n'est pas remboursable. Ainsi, les crédits pour frais médicaux qui excèdent l'impôt à payer du contribuable ne lui sont pas versés.

Communiqué NB Vol. 13 N. 1, janvier 2010
Projet de Règlement concernant le financement des régimes de retraite des secteurs municipal et universitaire

De nouvelles règles permanentes de financement s'appliquent au Québec depuis le 1er janvier 2010 pour l'ensemble des régimes de retraite (la « Loi 30 »). Par contre, pour les régimes de retraite des secteurs municipal et universitaire, un Projet de règlement fort attendu vient d'être publié afin de préciser l'application de la Loi 30 ainsi que certaines règles spécifiques à ces secteurs.