Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Health Insurance at Retirement

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 12 N. 3, January 2009

Since accounting standards applicable to post-retirement group insurance plans were introduced, organizations offering these types of benefits have been required to report their accounting cost in their financial statements. This accounting cost, added to the current and expected significant increase in health care costs, to the increase in the number of retirees associated with the aging of the population and to the increase in the life expectancy of these retirees, have led numerous organizations to question the future of this coverage.

Some organizations have reduced the coverage offered to retirees or limited the premium paid by the employer, while others have decided to completely eliminate their post-retirement group insurance plan for all future retirees. Only a rare few have recently decided to introduce these types of plans.

Some organizations that do not offer or are no longer offering a post-retirement group insurance plan would still like to assist their employees when they retire and ensure that their insurance needs are met in spite of their age and state of health.

Alternatives to post-retirement group insurance benefits

Most insurers offer individual insurance products to retirees who were covered under their group insurance plan before retirement, with no evidence of insurability or medical questionnaire required. Most insurers offer their products to all new retirees who enjoyed group insurance coverage before retirement, regardless of which insurer was providing the coverage.

This privilege, offered to all interested members of your plan, allows them to obtain coverage, for themselves and their family, in addition to that offered by the provincial health care and prescription drug insurance plans.

Coverage offered and cost

Each insurer offers different products with specific features and restrictions. Several insurers offer multiple options, including hospitalization, prescription drugs complementary to the provincial plan, paramedical care, travel insurance, vision care, various medical supplies and dental care.

As a general rule, the products are lifetime products, with the exception of travel insurance, which is subject to more restrictions.

To benefit from this privilege, new retirees must submit their enrolment application within 30 to 90 days (based on the insurer) following the termination of their membership in the group insurance plan as an active employee. Because this is an individual product, the retiree is responsible for determining which insurer and which option best meets his or her needs, and for paying for the selected coverage (premiums vary based on age, province of residence and option selected).

Communication

Organizations can plan communication activities to inform future retirees about the different options available to them and the steps to take to take advantage of this privilege. The organization can also elect to refer employees to one or several pre-selected insurers to make their search easier.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

L'assurance santé à la retraite, c'est possible!

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 12 N. 3, janvier 2009

Dans les organisations n'offrant pas de régime d'assurance collective après la retraite, une alternative existe pour les retraités souhaitant bénéficier d'une protection d'assurance santé complémentaire au régime provincial et ce, sans devoir soumettre de preuve de bonne santé.

Depuis l'arrivée des normes comptables applicables aux régimes d'assurance collective après la retraite, les organisations offrant ce type d'avantages sociaux doivent en reconnaître le coût comptable dans leurs états financiers. Ce coût comptable, ajouté à la hausse importante actuelle et anticipée des coûts des soins de santé, à l'augmentation du nombre de retraités associée au vieillissement de la population et à l'augmentation de l'espérance de vie de ceux-ci, ont amené de nombreuses organisations à se questionner sur l'avenir de cette protection.

Alors que certaines organisations ont réduit les protections offertes aux retraités ou limité la prime payée par l'employeur, d'autres ont décidé de complètement éliminer leur régime d'assurance collective post-retraite pour tous les futurs retraités. De plus, rares sont les organisations qui ont récemment mis en place de tels régimes.

Certaines organisations n'offrant pas ou plus de régime d'assurance collective post-retraite souhaitent tout de même accompagner leurs employés au moment de la retraite afin que leurs besoins d'assurance soient comblés malgré leur âge et leur condition de santé.

Les alternatives au régime d'assurance collective post-retraite

La majorité des principaux assureurs offre des produits d'assurance individuels aux retraités qui étaient couverts par leur régime d'assurance collective avant leur retraite et ce, sans devoir fournir une preuve de bonne santé ou remplir un questionnaire médical. La plupart des assureurs offrent leurs produits à tous les nouveaux retraités ayant bénéficié d'un régime d'assurance collective avant la retraite, et ce, peu importe avec quel assureur ils étaient couverts.

Ce privilège, offert à tous les participants de votre régime qui désirent s'en prévaloir, leur permet de bénéficier d'une protection, pour eux et leur famille, supplémentaire à celle offerte par le régime d'assurance maladie et médicaments provincial.

Protections offertes et coûts

Chacun des assureurs offre des produits différents, lesquels comportent des particularités et restrictions propres. Plusieurs assureurs offrent de multiples options incluant notamment l'hospitalisation, les médicaments complémentaires au régime provincial, les soins paramédicaux, l'assurance voyage, les soins visuels, diverses fournitures médicales et les soins dentaires.

En règle générale, les produits sont viagers, à l'exception de l'assurance voyage, cette dernière étant sujette à davantage de restrictions.

Afin de profiter de ce privilège, les nouveaux retraités doivent présenter leur demande d'adhésion dans les 30 à 90 jours (selon l'assureur) suivant la fin de leur participation au régime d'assurance collective en tant qu'employé actif. Puisqu'il s'agit d'un produit individuel, il en revient au retraité de déterminer quels assureur et option répondent le mieux à ses besoins, et lui seul est responsable de défrayer le coût correspondant (la prime varie selon l'âge, la province de résidence et les options choisies).

La communication

Une communication par l'organisation peut être envisagée afin d'informer les futurs retraités des différentes possibilités qui s'offrent à eux et des démarches à effectuer pour se prévaloir de ce privilège. L'organisation peut également choisir de diriger les employés vers un ou quelques assureurs présélectionnés pour simplifier leurs recherches.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6