Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

2009 Bulletins

NB Bulletin Vol. 12 N. 17, December 2009
The 2010 Social Security Programs Parameters

The Year's Maximum Pensionable Earnings (YMPE) for 2010 will be $47,200, an increase of 1.9% over the 2009 YMPE of $46,300. The basic exemption remains at the current level of $3,500, which is the level applicable since January 1st, 1998. Employee and employer contribution rates will remain at 4.95% of contributory earnings in 2010, for an annual maximum contribution of $2,163.15. The maximum monthly retirement pension at age 65 is set at $934.17 for 2010, based on the average YMPE over the last five years.

NB Bulletin Vol. 12 N. 16, December 2009
Influenza A (H1N1): How does it impact your group benefits plan?

Under normal circumstances, insurance companies require a doctor's note for the payment of short-term disability insurance claims. However, all of the insurers surveyed confirmed that they are prepared to show flexibility on this requirement when it comes to the reimbursement of short-term disability benefits for individuals who exhibit flu-like symptoms. This decision was made following recommendations issued by public authorities requesting that individuals exhibiting these symptoms stay home to prevent the potential inundation of medical centres. With these recommendations in mind, and in an effort to simplify claims processing, some insurers teamed up with the Canadian Life and Health Insurance Association to develop a self declaration form to be completed by the employee, whereas others will manage the situation separately for each client based on the region affected and the risks inherent to the group.

NB Bulletin Vol. 12 N. 15, November 2009
Pay Equity - A New Deadline

The new Pay Equity Act (the "Act"), which came into force on May 28, 2009, incorporates important changes, including a new deadline. Employers subject to the Act have until the end of 2010 to complete their pay equity program and pay adjustments in compensation to eligible employees, if they haven't already done so. Employers who have already done so must conduct an audit of the pay equity established. An employer's obligations and options depend on which of the following three scenarios best reflects the employer's situation.

NB Bulletin Vol. 12 N. 14, November 2009
Accounting standards applicable to employee future benefits: what Quebec-based companies listed on the S&P/TSX Index do

Several private sector companies will soon be finalizing their budgets for the upcoming fiscal year and preparing their financial statements for the current fiscal year. Included among the accompanying notes that should be prepared for these financial statements are those pertaining to costs for defined benefit (DB) plans and for group insurance plans offered to retirees (other post-retirement benefits).

NB Bulletin Vol. 12 N. 13, November 2009
Rates for Health Care Professionals in 2009

The average fees per visit could be useful in establishing the maximum amounts payable under your group insurance plans. Moreover, the average fee per visit increase compared to that of 2008 allows you to validate the inflation assumption used by your insurer in renewing your health premium rates.

NB Bulletin Vol. 12 N. 12, October 2009
Tax relief measures for municipal sector defined-benefit pension plans

In the wake of various consultations with the municipal sector, the Ministère des Affaires municipales, des Régions et de l'Occupation du territoire (MAMROT) published an information document on October 7 concerning the supervision and follow-up of the tax relief measure for municipal sector defined-benefit pension plans. Initially introduced during the 2009 budget preparations for municipal organizations, this tax relief measure was intended to mitigate the effects of the 2008 economic crisis on the 2009 tax burden. This new MAMROT document specifies its future application.

NB Bulletin Vol. 12 N. 11, August 2009
Review of the institutional fund performances over the first semester of 2009

We are pleased to present our mid-year review analyzing the performance as at June 30, 2009, of institutional managers comprising the Normandin Beaudry Investment Funds Universe. The purpose of this review is to keep you up-to-date on the recent performance of financial markets and institutional managers. You will receive this review each year after the end of the first semester.

NB Bulletin Vol. 12 N. 10, July 2009
Currency hedging

The high volatility of the Canadian dollar in recent years relative to the major foreign currencies has had a strong impact on returns on foreign assets for Canadian investors. The current economic environment coupled with the effect of currency fluctuations on pension fund performance is encouraging investors to consider hedging foreign assets against currency risk.

NB Bulletin Vol. 12 N. 9, July 2009
How much your employees need to save for their retirement: rules of thumb

The current financial market crisis has led many employees to question some fundamental retirement savings concepts and strategies. Will investment in stocks yield a better long-term return than an investment in bonds? Add to this the fact that, beyond contributions paid to your capital accumulation plan (CAP), whether it is a defined contribution (DC) registered pension plan, a group registered retirement savings plan (RRSP) or a deferred profit-sharing plan (DPSP), your employees generally find it difficult to determine how much they need to save for retirement.

NB Bulletin Vol. 12, N. 8, July 2009
Pension Plan Governance during the Financial Crisis

The financial crisis severely impacted pension plans in 2008, and the uncertainty remains. Pension committee members must manage this situation and several challenges will need to be addressed in the years ahead. What are the responsibilities of the pension committee in the current economic climate?

NB Bulletin Vol. 12 N. 7, June 2009
New Financial Parameters for the Quebec Prescription Drug Insurance Plan

The Régie de l'assurance maladie du Québec recently announced the new financial parameters that will apply to the public prescription drug insurance plan for the period of July 1, 2009 to June 30, 2010. One of the provisions of Quebec's Act respecting prescription drug insurance provides for the revision of these parameters on July 1 each year to take into account the increase in plan costs.

NB Bulletin Vol. 12 N. 6, June 2009
New regulation regarding pension plans

This bulletin is only available in french

Click the title to access the french version.

NB Bulletin Vol. 12 N. 5, March 2009
Managing compensation in a turbulent economy

The economic news over the past few months provides no shortage of signs that we are in a serious economic crisis. Some say it will soon be over, while others believe it could last several years. For the first time since industrialization, the economic outlook is influenced by divergent factors-a slowdown in global economic activity coupled with a shortage of qualified labour.

NB Bulletin Vol. 12 N. 4, March 2009
Non-refundable tax credits for medical expenses

Several expenses related to medical care can reduce or eliminate the income tax owing by Canadian taxpayers(1). Subject to certain eligibility criteria, a tax credit of between 4% and 20% of the incurred expenses can be granted. It is important to note that unlike some other tax credits, credits for medical expenses are non-refundable. Therefore, credits in excess of the amount of income tax to be paid are not reimbursed.

 

NB Bulletin Vol. 12 N. 3, January 2009
Health Insurance at Retirement

Since accounting standards applicable to post-retirement group insurance plans were introduced, organizations offering these types of benefits have been required to report their accounting cost in their financial statements. This accounting cost, added to the current and expected significant increase in health care costs, to the increase in the number of retirees associated with the aging of the population and to the increase in the life expectancy of these retirees, have led numerous organizations to question the future of this coverage.

Nb Bulletin, Vol. 12 N. 4, January 2009
Risk Management for Pension Committees

Effective December 13, 2007, all pension committees subject to the Supplemental Pension Plans Act must adopt internal by-laws that include a risk management section. But what does risk management really mean and what are the implications? Who is at risk?

NB Bulletin Vol. 12 N. 1, January 2009
A TFSA at Any Cost?

Starting in 2009, the TFSA allows taxpayers aged 18 and older to contribute up to $5,000 every year and earn investment income tax-free. This annual contribution limit will be indexed each year to the consumer price index (CPI) and rounded to the nearest $500. Excess contributions to a TFSA are subject to a penalty of 1% per month.

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Communiqués 2009

Communiqué NB Vol. 12 N. 17, décembre 2009
Les nouveaux paramètres des programmes de sécurité sociale pour l'année 2010

Le maximum des gains admissibles (MGA) sera de 47 200 $ pour l'année 2010, ce qui représente une hausse de 1,9 % par rapport au MGA de 46 300 $ pour l'année 2009. L'exemption générale est fixée à 3 500 $ depuis le 1er janvier 1998 et le taux de cotisation pour les employés et l'employeur demeurera à 4,95 % des gains cotisables en 2010, pour une cotisation annuelle maximale de 2 163,15 $. Finalement, la rente mensuelle maximale de retraite à 65 ans, calculée sur la base des MGA des cinq dernières années, s'établira à 934,17 $ pour l'année 2010.

Communiqué NB Vol. 12 N. 16, décembre 2009
Grippe A (H1N1) - Quel est l'impact sur votre régime d'assurance collective?

En temps normal, les compagnies d’assurance exigent une attestation médicale du médecin pour le paiement des réclamations d’assurance salaire de courte durée. Cependant, tous les assureurs sondés ont confirmé qu’ils sont disposés à faire preuve de souplesse quant à l’obligation de fournir une déclaration du médecin pour le remboursement des prestations d’invalidité de courte durée aux individus qui présentent des symptômes grippaux. Cette décision a été prise à la suite des recommandations formulées par les autorités publiques, lesquelles demandaient aux individus présentant ces symptômes de demeurer à la maison afin d’éviter de créer un engorgement éventuel des centres médicaux. Dans cette optique, et afin de simplifier le traitement des réclamations, certains assureurs ont développé, avec l’appui de l’Association canadienne des compagnies d’assurances de personnes, un formulaire d’auto-déclaration à remplir par l’employé, alors que d’autres traiteront la situation spécifiquement pour chaque client, selon la région touchée et les risques inhérents au groupe.

Communiqué NB Vol. 12 N. 15, novembre 2009
Équité salariale - Une deuxième échéance

La nouvelle loi (« la Loi ») de l’équité salariale (« équité ») sanctionnée le 28 mai 2009 a apporté d’importants changements dont une nouvelle échéance. Les employeurs assujettis à celle-ci devront d’ici la fin de 2010, si cela n’est déjà fait, compléter leur programme d’équité ou verser les ajustements salariaux aux employés concernés. Pour ceux qui ont déjà procédé ainsi, ils devront procéder à une évaluation du maintien de l’équité établie précédemment. Leurs obligations et les choix de démarche qui s’offrent à eux seront différents selon lequel des trois scénarios suivants reflète mieux leur situation particulière.

Communiqué NB Vol. 12 N. 14, novembre 2009
Normes comptables applicables aux avantages sociaux futurs : que font les entreprises québécoises inscrites à l'indice S&P/TSX?

Plusieurs entreprises du secteur privé finaliseront bientôt leurs budgets pour la prochaine année fiscale et prépareront leurs états financiers pour l'année fiscale en cours. Parmi les notes complémentaires devant être préparées pour ces états financiers, on retrouve celle relative aux coûts constatés pour les régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées (« régimes PD ») et pour les régimes d'assurance collective offerts aux retraités (« autres avantages post-retraite »).

Communiqué NB Vol. 12 N. 13, novembre 2009
Les tarifs des spécialistes de la santé en 2009

L'information sur les frais moyens par visite peut être utile dans l'établissement des plafonds de remboursement des soins paramédicaux de vos régimes d'assurance collective. Notamment, l'augmentation moyenne des frais par visite comparativement à ceux de 2008 peut vous permettre de valider les hypothèses d'inflation utilisées par votre assureur pour le renouvellement de vos taux de prime d'assurance maladie.

Édition municipale - Communiqué NB Vol. 12 N. 12, octobre 2009
Mesure d'allégement fiscal pour les régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées du secteur municipal

À la suite de diverses consultations avec le milieu municipal, le Ministère des Affaires municipales, des Régions et de l'Occupation du territoire (MAMROT) a publié, le 7 octobre dernier, un document d'information relativement à la poursuite et à l'encadrement de la mesure d'allégement fiscal pour les régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées du secteur municipal. Cette mesure d'allégement, d'abord introduite lors de la préparation des budgets des organismes municipaux de l'année 2009, avait pour but d'atténuer les effets de la crise économique de l'année 2008 sur la charge fiscale de l'année 2009. Ce nouveau document du MAMROT vient en préciser l'application future.

Communiqué NB Vol. 12 N. 11, août 2009
Performance des fonds de placement institutionnels pour le premier semestre de 2009

C'est avec plaisir que nous présentons notre revue semestrielle analysant la performance au 30 juin 2009 des gestionnaires institutionnels composant l'Univers de fonds de placement Normandin Beaudry. Cette revue est acheminée à chaque année suivant la fin du premier semestre et vise à vous informer des plus récentes performances des marchés financiers et des gestionnaires institutionnels.

Communiqué NB Vol. 12 N. 10, juillet 2009
La couverture des devises

Au cours des dernières années, la volatilité importante du dollar canadien par rapport aux principales devises étrangères a fortement influencé les rendements des actifs étrangers pour les investisseurs canadiens. La conjoncture économique actuelle ainsi que l'impact de la fluctuation des devises sur le rendement des caisses de retraite amènent une réflexion sur la pertinence de couvrir les actifs étrangers contre les risques liés aux devises.

Communiqué NB Vol. 12 N.9, juillet 2009
Combien vos employés doivent épargner pour leur retraite : règles de pouce

Avec la crise des marchés financiers, plusieurs employés ont remis en question certains concepts ou stratégies à la base de l'épargne retraite. Est-ce que l'investissement en actions procurera un meilleur rendement à long terme que celui en obligations? À cela s'ajoute le fait que, au-delà des cotisations versées à votre régime de capitalisation (RC), qu'il s'agisse d'un régime de pension agréé de type cotisations déterminées (CD), d'un régime enregistré d'épargne retraite (REER) collectif ou d'un régime de participation différée aux bénéfices (RPDB), vos employés trouvent généralement difficile de déterminer combien ils devraient épargner en vue de la retraite.
 

Communiqué NB Vol. 12 N. 8, juillet 2009
Gouvernance des régimes de retraite en période de crise financière

La crise financière a durement touché les régimes de retraite en 2008 et l'incertitude demeure présente à ce jour. Les membres des comités de retraite doivent gérer cette situation et plusieurs défis devront être relevés dans les années à venir. Quelles sont les responsabilités du comité de retraite dans le contexte économique actuel?

Communiqué NB Vol. 12 N. 7, juin 2009
Nouveaux paramètres financiers du régime d'assurance médicaments du Québec

La Régie de l'assurance maladie du Québec a récemment annoncé les nouveaux paramètres financiers applicables au régime public d'assurance médicaments pour la période du 1er juillet 2009 au 30 juin 2010. En effet, une des dispositions de la Loi sur l'assurance médicaments du Québec prévoit la révision de ces paramètres au 1er juillet de chaque année afin de tenir compte de l'accroissement des coûts du régime.

Communiqué NB Vol 12 N. 6, avril 2009
Un nouveau règlement pour les régimes de retraite

Tous les régimes complémentaires de retraite enregistrés au Québec doivent se conformer aux dispositions de la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite. Le 1er avril dernier, le gouvernement du Québec publiait, dans la Gazette Officielle, le projet de règlement modifiant le « Règlement sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite », dont voici un résumé.

Communiqué NB Vol. 12 N. 5, mars 2009
Comment gérer la rémunération en période d'instabilité économique?

L'actualité économique des derniers mois regorge d'exemples qui confirment la présence d'une crise économique sérieuse qui, selon certains, passera rapidement ou, selon d'autres, durera encore plusieurs années. Pour la première fois depuis l'avènement industriel, les perspectives économiques sont teintées par des facteurs divergents : une activité économique mondiale en décroissance conjuguée à une pénurie de main-d'oeuvre qualifiée.

Communiqué NB Vol. 12 N. 4, mars 2009
Crédits d'impôt non remboursables pour frais médicaux

Plusieurs dépenses reliées aux soins médicaux peuvent diminuer ou annuler l'impôt payable par un contribuable canadien(1). En effet, sous réserve de certains critères d'admissibilité, un contribuable peut se voir accorder un crédit d'impôt variant de 4 % à 20 % des dépenses engagées. Il est à noter que contrairement à certains autres crédits d'impôt, ce crédit n'est pas remboursable. Ainsi, les crédits pour frais médicaux qui excèdent l'impôt à payer du contribuable ne lui sont pas versés.

Communiqué NB Vol. 12 N. 3, janvier 2009
L'assurance santé à la retraite, c'est possible!

Depuis l'arrivée des normes comptables applicables aux régimes d'assurance collective après la retraite, les organisations offrant ce type d'avantages sociaux doivent en reconnaître le coût comptable dans leurs états financiers. Ce coût comptable, ajouté à la hausse importante actuelle et anticipée des coûts des soins de santé, à l'augmentation du nombre de retraités associée au vieillissement de la population et à l'augmentation de l'espérance de vie de ceux-ci, ont amené de nombreuses organisations à se questionner sur l'avenir de cette protection.

Communiqué NB Vol. 12 N. 2, janvier 2009
La gestion de risques pour les comités de retraite

Depuis le 13 décembre 2007, tous les comités de régimes de retraite assujettis à la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite doivent se doter d'un règlement intérieur qui inclut une section sur la gestion des risques. Mais que signifie concrètement la gestion de risques et quelles en sont les implications? Qui est à risque?

Communiqué NB Vol. 12 N. 1, janvier 2009
Un CELI à tout prix?

Depuis le début de l'année 2009, le CELI permet aux contribuables âgés de 18 ans ou plus de verser des cotisations allant jusqu'à 5 000 $par année et de les accumuler à l'abri de l'impôt. Ce plafond de cotisation annuel sera indexé à chaque année en fonction de l'indice des prix à la consommation (IPC) et sera arrondi au 500 $ près. Une pénalité de 1 %par mois est applicable aux cotisations excédentaires versées dans un CELI.