Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Review of the institutional fund performances over the first semester of 2008

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

Bulletin NB Vol. 11 N. 9, August 2008

We are pleased to present our mid-year review analyzing the performance as at June 30, 2008, of managers comprising the Normandin Beaudry Investment Funds Universe.

The goal of this review is to keep you up-to-date on the recent performance of financial markets and institutional managers. You will receive this review each year after the end of the first semester.

All institutional managers included in the Normandin Beaudry Investment Funds Universe must adopt an active portfolio management approach, have a performance history of at least three years and manage a minimum of 300 million dollars in assets. All performance statistics are presented before management fees.

The median return for balanced funds for the first half of 2008 was -0.64% and first quartile performance for these funds showed a return of more than 0.26%. Performances for Canadian asset managers, which account for the main components of balanced funds, are presented in the table below.

Canadian asset performance - from January 1, 2008to June 30, 2008
CategoryCanadian BondCanadian Equities
(Large cap)

Number of funds 53 60
BenchmarkDEX UniverseS&P/TSX    
Benchmark return2.22%5.99%
Benchmark percentile rank6826

Median      
Return2.36%2.66%
Value added0.14%-3.33%

First quartile      
Return2.57%6.18%
Value added0.35%0.19%

Interest rates for short-term Canadian bonds fell in the first semester, whereas rates for long-term Canadian bonds remained relatively stable during this period. The bond market was also very volatile throughout the first half of 2008. The strong volatility of the bond market during this period is substantiated by the widening of and variation in credit spreads. The first semester was characterized by the search for high quality bonds ("fly to quality") in an effort to stay away from securities from companies hit hard during this period, particularly those from the Financial Services sector. The median manager return outperformed the benchmark by 0.14%. A first quartile performance generated value added of 0.35% and more. 

In comparison with the benchmark, large cap Canadian equity managers had a median value added of -3.33% in the first semester. This significant subtracted value is the result of the underweighting of the Materials and Energy sectors by the median manager for the first half of 2008. By a large margin, these two sectors posted the best performances relative to the index with respective returns of 26.2% and 24.3%. We can also note the weak value added of the first quartile manager, beating the return posted by the S&P/TSX Index by only 0.19%. 

As regards foreign stocks, the main indexes posted strong negative returns regardless of the currency used, as indicated in the table below. Since the start of 2008, the Canadian dollar weakened by 3.0% versus the U.S. dollar, in comparison to a strengthening of close to 10% for the same period last year. The Canadian dollar also lost ground in relation to the most important currencies (Euro, yen and pound). 

Foreign asset performance - Janvier 1, 2008 to June 30, 2008

CategoryU.S. EquitiesInternational EquitiesGlobal Equities

Number of funds 76 65 49
BenchmarkS&P 500MSCI EAFEMSCI World
Benchmark return
(Canadian dollars)
-9.20%-8.22%-7.80%

Benchmark percentile rank 61 59 47

Benchmark return
(local currency)
-11.91%-15.70%-12.81%

Median      
Return-8.25%-7.64%-8.01%
Value added0.95%0.58%-0.21%

First quartile      
Return-6.22%-5.90%-6.48%
Value added2.98%2.32%1.32%

The median manager for U.S. equities obtained a value added of 0.95% in comparison with the S&P 500 index. This value added stems from the underweighting of the Financial Services sector and the overweighting of the Energy sector for the first half of 2008. This comment also applies to the median manager for International equities. Sector performance in the United States and internationally is comparable to performance in the Canadian market with the Financial Services sector posting significant negative returns and the Energy and Materials sector posting excellent returns. 

As regards the median manager for Global equities, the subtracted value of 0.21% in comparison with the MSCI World Index can be explained in part by geographic distribution. Countries that posted weaker returns, particularly in Europe, were overweighted for the first half of 2008. 

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Performance des fonds de placement institutionnels pour le premier semestre de 2008

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 11 N. 9, août 2008

C'est avec plaisir que nous vous présentons notre revue semestrielle analysant la performance au 30 juin 2008 des gestionnaires composant l'Univers de fonds de placement Normandin Beaudry.

Chaque année, suivant la fin du premier semestre, nous vous faisons parvenir cette analyse dans l'intention de vous informer des plus récentes performances des marchés financiers et des gestionnaires institutionnels.

Il est à noter que tous les gestionnaires institutionnels inclus dans l'Univers de fond de placement Normandin Beaudry doivent avoir une approche de gestion active, un historique de rendement d'au moins trois ans ainsi qu'un minimum d'actifs sous gestion de 300 millions de dollars. Tous les rendements sont présentés avant les frais de gestion.

Le rendement médian d'un fond équilibré lors du premier semestre de 2008 a été de -0,64 % tandis qu'une performance de premier quartile correspond à un rendement supérieur à 0,26 %. La performance des gestionnaires d'actifs canadiens, qui représentent les composantes principales des fonds équilibrés, est présentée au tableau ci-dessous.


Performance des actifs canadiens - du 1er janvier 2008au 30 juin 2008
CatégorieObligations
canadiennes
Actions canadiennes
(grande capitalisation)

Nombre de fonds 53 60
Indice de référenceDEX UniversS&P/TSX    
Rendement de l'indice2,22 %5,99 %
Rang centile de l'indice6826

Médiane      
Rendement2,36 %2,66 %
Valeur ajoutée0,14 %-3,33 %

Premier quartile      
Rendement2,57 %6,18 %
Valeur ajoutée0,35 %0,19 %

Pour les obligations canadiennes, les taux d'intérêt ont diminué au cours du premier semestre principalement pour les obligations court terme alors que les taux d'intérêt pour les obligations long terme sont demeurés relativement stables lors de cette période. Notons également qu'une forte volatilité a été constatée sur le marché obligataire tout au long du semestre. L'élargissement et la fluctuation des écarts de crédit témoignent de la forte volatilité du marché obligataire lors de cette période. Le premier semestre a été caractérisé par la recherche de titres obligataires de grande qualité («fly to quality») tentant ainsi d'éviter les titres de sociétés durement touchés lors de cette période, plus particulièrement les titres du secteur des Services financiers. Le rendement du gestionnaire médian a été supérieur de 0,14 % par rapport à l'indice de référence. Une performance de premier quartile a généré une valeur ajoutée de 0,35 % et plus.

Du côté des actions canadiennes de grande capitalisation, on observe que la valeur ajoutée médiane a été de -3,33 % lors du premier semestre, par rapport à son indice de référence. Cette valeur retranchée très importante est attribuable à la sous-pondération du secteur des Matériaux et du secteur de l'Énergie par le gestionnaire médian lors du premier semestre de 2008. Ces deux secteurs ont obtenu, et de loin, les meilleures performances de l'indice avec des rendements respectifs de 26,2 % et 24,3 %. De plus, on peut noter la faible valeur ajoutée du gestionnaire de premier quartile avec 0,19 % de plus que l'indice S&P/TSX.

Quant aux actions étrangères, soulignons les forts rendements négatifs des principaux indices et ce, peu importe la devise utilisée, tel qu'indiqué dans le tableau ci-dessous. Depuis le début de l'année 2008, le dollar canadien s'est déprécié de 3,0 % par rapport à la devise américaine comparativement à une appréciation de près de 10 % à la même période l'année dernière. Le dollar canadien s'est également déprécié face aux plus importantes devises, soit l'Euro, le Yen et la Livre.

 

Performance des actifs étrangers - du 1er janvier 2008 au 30 juin 2008

CatégorieActions
américaines
Actions
internationales
Actions
mondiales

Nombre de fonds 76 65 49
Indice de référenceS&P 500MSCI EAEOMSCI Monde
Rendement de l'indice
(en dollars canadiens)
-9,20 %-8,22 %-7,80 %

Rang centile de l'indice 61 59 47

Rendement de l'indice
(en devises locales)
-11,91 %-15,70 %-12,81 %

Médiane      
Rendement-8,25 %-7,64 %-8,01 %
Valeur ajoutée0,95 %0,58 %-0,21 %

Premier quartile      
Rendement-6,22 %-5,90 %-6,48 %
Valeur ajoutée2,98 %2,32 %1,32 % 

Le gestionnaire médian en actions américaines a obtenu une valeur ajoutée de 0,95 % par rapport à l'indice S&P 500. Cette valeur ajoutée est attribuable à la sous-pondération du secteur des Services financiers et à la surpondération du secteur de l'Énergie lors du premier semestre de 2008. Ce commentaire prévaut également pour le gestionnaire médian en actions internationales. La performance sectorielle aux États-Unis et à l'international est comparable au marché canadien où le secteur des Services financiers a obtenu des rendements négatifs importants alors que le secteur de l'Énergie et des Matériaux obtenaient d'excellents rendements. 

Quant au gestionnaire médian en actions mondiales, la valeur retranchée de 0,21 % par rapport à l'indice MSCI Monde est en partie attribuable à la répartition géographique où les pays ayant obtenu les moins bons rendements, notamment en Europe, ont été surpondérés lors du premier semestre de 2008.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6