Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Alberta to eliminate Health Care Premiums on January 1, 2009

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

Bulletin NB Vol. 11 N. 7, May 2008

On April 22, the Alberta government confirmed that it will eliminate premiums under the publicly-funded health care program effective January 1, 2009.

This bulletin is intended specifically for employers with employees in Alberta, because changes to benefits plans or internal policies may be required.

While delivering the province's budget on April 22, 2008, Alberta's Minister of Finance and Enterprise confirmed that premiums under Alberta's publicly-funded health care program (Alberta Health Care Insurance Plan (AHCIP)) will be eliminated effective January 1, 2009. This measure was announced in February 2008 during the last electoral campaign. Premiums for Alberta residents age 65 and over were abolished in 2004.

Annual AHCIP premiums for 2008 are $528 ($44 per month) for singles and $1056 ($88 per month) for families. No changes have been made to the premiums for 2008, which are therefore payable up to the end of the year.

Impacts and Considerations for Employers

Alberta employers who are currently paying some or all of the AHCIP premiums will benefit from savings resulting from the elimination of these premiums.

Some employers may be required to review the cost sharing arrangements for their group insurance plan if the plan takes into account AHCIP premiums. Alberta employers will also need to examine the relevance of revising their employee manuals and any other documents that make reference to the payment of these government premiums.

As regards to collective agreements, it would be wise to consider removing all clauses that refer to the payment of these premiums to avoid any recourse or future obligation on the part of the employer. It is worth noting that several Ontario employers found themselves in court following the introduction of the Ontario Health Premium because their collective agreements provided for the payment of the individual premium that was previously in place.

The elimination of AHCIP premiums could also reduce the obligation with respect to post-retirement benefit plans for employers paying a portion of these premiums.

Summary of Funding Methods for the Various Provincial Health Care Plans

Starting in 2009, only British Columbia and Ontario will charge an individual premium to fund their public health care plans. The table below presents a summary of the funding practices of each province, other than Alberta.  

   

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Abolition de la prime du régime public d'assurance maladie de l'Alberta à compter du 1er janvier 2009

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 11 N. 7, mai 2008

Le 22 avril dernier, le gouvernement de l'Alberta a confirmé l'abolition de la prime du régime public d'assurance maladie de l'Alberta au 1er janvier 2009.

Ce communiqué s'adresse en particulier aux employeurs ayant des employés en Alberta, puisque certaines révisions pourraient devoir être apportées aux avantages sociaux ou aux politiques internes.

Lors du dépôt de son budget le 22 avril dernier, la Ministre des Finances de l'Alberta a confirmé l'abolition de la prime du régime public d'assurance maladie de l'Alberta (Alberta Health Care Insurance Plan (AHCIP)) au 1er janvier 2009. Cette mesure avait d'ailleurs été annoncée en février dernier, lors de la dernière campagne électorale. Nous désirons rappeler que la prime pour les résidents de 65 ans et plus avait été abolie en 2004.

En 2008, la prime annuelle du AHCIP est de 528 $ (44 $ par mois) pour un individu et de 1 056 $ (88 $ par mois) pour une famille. Aucune modification n'a été apportée à la prime pour l'année 2008, qui continue donc à être payable jusqu'à la fin de l'année.

Impact et aspects à considérer pour les employeurs

Les employeurs de l'Alberta qui défraient une portion ou la totalité de la prime du régime public d'assurance maladie bénéficieront d'une économie reliée à l'abolition de cette prime.

Certains employeurs pourraient par contre devoir revoir le partage des primes de leur régime d'assurance collective si ce dernier tient compte de la prime du AHCIP. Les employeurs de l'Alberta devront également réfléchir à la pertinence de réviser leurs manuels d'employés et tout autre document faisant allusion au paiement de cette prime gouvernementale.

Quant aux conventions collectives, il serait souhaitable de considérer le retrait de toute clause faisant allusion au paiement de cette prime afin d'éviter tout recours ou obligation future de la part de l'employeur. Il est à noter que plusieurs employeurs ontariens se sont retrouvés devant les tribunaux à la suite de l'introduction de la contribution-santé de l'Ontario, puisque leurs conventions collectives prévoyaient le paiement de la prime individuelle qui était jadis en place.

Enfin, l'abolition de la prime du AHCIP pourrait réduire l'obligation des employeurs défrayant une portion de cette prime en vertu d'avantages sociaux à la retraite.

Sommaire des méthodes de provisionnement des différents régimes provinciaux d'assurance maladie

À compter de 2009, seule la Colombie-Britannique et l'Ontario chargeront une prime individuelle pour le provisionnement du régime public d'assurance maladie. Le tableau ci-dessous résume les pratiques de provisionnement des provinces, autres que l'Alberta. 

    

 

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6