Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Bill 68: Phased retirement and more

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

Bulletin NB Vol. 11 N. 6, April 2008

On April 2, 2008, the Quebec government introduced Bill 68 aimed at amending the Supplemental Pension Plans Act (SPPA). With this bill, the government hopes to offer defined benefit plan sponsors concrete measures for combating potential labour shortages.

This announcement confirms that Quebec is following suit with the federal government that introduced several amendments to the Income Tax Act (ITA) earlier this year. These amendments, which aim to promote phased retirement to encourage certain individuals nearing retirement to continue to work, took effect on January 1, 2008. The key measures announced in the Quebec bill are similar to those stipulated in the ITA and can be summarized as follows:

  • Going forward, a defined benefit plan could provide for the payment of a pension to members who continue to work and could allow these members to continue to accrue benefits in the plan.
  • To be eligible, members must have signed an agreement with their employer, be under 65 years of age and satisfy one of the criteria below:
    • be at least 55 years of age and entitled to an unreduced early retirement pension;
    • be at least 60 years of age.
  • Eligible participants could receive up to 60% of their accumulated benefits (life annuity and bridging benefit) while continuing to accumulate benefits in their pension plan based on time worked. Upon full retirement, the plan's pension will be determined without consideration of the amounts paid during the phased retirement period.
  • Members who receive phased retirement benefits will be considered active members and not retired members. As such, in the event of the member's death during the phased retirement period, the member will be considered to have retired on the day preceding his/her death.
  • Beginning January 1, 2009, the current provisions regarding phased retirement set out in the SPPA will no longer be in effect. However, members who made agreements with their employer before the bill's assent date will continue to avail themselves of these provisions.
  • As regards defined benefit plans with a defined contribution provision, the bill also provides for the possibility of paying a benefit other than a pension from the defined contribution provision. This benefit could not, however, exceed 60% of the pension the member would have been entitled to at the end of the previous fiscal year.

Other highlights of the bill

To support the measures promoting continued employment proposed in the SPPA, the bill also provides for some amendments to the Act respecting the Quebec Pension Plan:

  • additional pension would be payable to individuals who receive employment income after they have begun drawing Quebec Pension Plan benefits.
  • The additional pension would be equal to 0.5% of annual employment income after 2007 in excess of the basic exemption ($3500).
  • The additional supplement would be determined annually and would become payable beginning January 1 of the following year. It would subsequently be indexed annually, as for the pension from the Quebec Pension Plan.

The bill also proposes some amendments to legislations applicable to pension plan funding to supplement or clarify certain measures set out in this legislation. It also repeals the act that has established temporary funding measures since 2005.

Tools for promoting continued employment

The decline in the Quebec workforce is an undeniable fact. The government's strategy for maintaining the Quebec workforce is promising for Quebec and the entire labour market. However, this strategy is not necessarily appropriate for all employers because they will experience the labour market transformation in very different ways over time. To support their workforce management efforts, employers will certainly want to persuade some of their employees to work longer than planned.

Before amending the official pension plan text to allow for the application of the measures proposed by the governments, it is important for all employers to assess their workforce requirements, identify all the tools they have at their disposal to help them achieve their workforce management objectives and understand the expectations of their employees whose careers are winding down.

Pension plans are certainly very valuable tools for supporting workforce management efforts, primarily when the employer's needs target its entire workforce. When, however, these needs target only certain employees or job categories, other tools that are not universally applied, as is typically the case with pension plans, may also be used effectively. Tools available to employers include salary adjustments, retention bonuses, group insurance plans and departure allowance programs. Other possible and very promising solutions worth considering to better meet the expectations of employees nearing the end of their career are flexible employment conditions, additional vacation and leave without pay.

Significant impacts

The proposed measures have made an agreement between the employer and employee an eligibility requirement. How effective will employers actually be in managing these types of agreements on an individual basis? This question is vital, given the costs associated with these measures arising from the new benefits payable. If an employer is unable to withstand the pressure from employees who will most certainly want these measures to be applied uniformly and universally, the impact on plan funding costs will be significant. For example, phased pension benefits paid to an eligible employee over two years represent an increase of approximately 10% in the value of plan commitments with respect to this employee.

What impact will these measures have on employers' workforces? Employees nearing the end of their career are generally seeking a better work/life balance and would like to have more time for themselves. The proposed measures could allow employees to realize their dreams more quickly than expected, while bringing them additional financial support. Therefore, employees who are eligible for these measures and planning to retire in a few years could cut back their work schedule now and use the additional financial support they would receive to offset the loss of income. For employers, this will inevitably mean a decrease in their workforce.

The proposed changes to the Quebec Pension Plan are very appealing because they would resolve an issue that could previously have been considered a source of contention for retirees. This issue stems from the fact that, in many cases, the retirees were required to contribute to this plan if they continued to work, without receiving any added benefits in return. It is also worth mentioning that individuals who work full-time after age 60 are required to make contributions to the Quebec Pension Plan and are not permitted to draw their pension. They are therefore not eligible for the additional pension. We can expect to see a certain number of workers request to cut back on their hours (by at least 20% to be eligible for a pension) at age 60 so that they can benefit from the additional pension.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Projet de loi no 68 : La retraite progressive et plus encore

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 11 N. 6, avril 2008

Le gouvernement du Québec a présenté, le 2 avril dernier, le projet de loi no 68 visant à modifier la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite (« Loi RCR »). Grâce à ce projet de loi, le gouvernement espère offrir aux promoteurs de régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées des moyens concrets de faire face à une éventuelle pénurie de main d'oeuvre.

Avec cette annonce, le Québec emboîte le pas au gouvernement fédéral qui a apporté, plus tôt cette année, diverses modifications à la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu (« LIR »), lesquelles sont entrées en vigueur au 1er janvier 2008 et visent à favoriser la retraite progressive afin d'encourager le maintien en emploi de certains individus près de la retraite. Les principales mesures annoncées dans le projet de loi québécois sont similaires à celles prévues à la LIR et se résument ainsi :

  • Un régime de retraite à prestations déterminées pourrait dorénavant prévoir le versement d'une rente à un participant qui est toujours à l'emploi et permettre à ce participant de continuer à accumuler des droits dans le régime.
  • Pour être admissible, un participant devrait avoir conclu une entente préalable avec son employeur, être âgé de moins de 65 ans et répondre à l'un des deux critères suivants :
    • Être âgé d'au moins 55 ans et être admissible à une rente sans réduction pour retraite anticipée.
    • Être âgé d'au moins 60 ans
  • Le participant admissible pourrait recevoir jusqu'à 60 % de ses prestations accumulées (rente viagère et prestation de raccordement) et ce, tout en continuant d'accumuler des droits à son régime de retraite en fonction de sa période travaillée. Au moment de la retraite complète, la rente du régime serait déterminée sans égard aux versements reçus pendant la période de retraite progressive.
  • Le participant qui reçoit une prestation de retraite progressive serait considéré comme un participant actif et non comme un participant retraité. Ainsi, en cas de décès pendant la période de retraite progressive, le participant serait considéré comme ayant pris sa retraite la veille de son décès.
  • Les dispositions actuelles de retraite progressive prévues par la Loi RCR ne seraient plus en vigueur à compter du 1er janvier 2009. Toutefois, les participants qui auront conclu une entente avec leur employeur avant la date de sanction du projet de loi pourraient continuer de se prévaloir de ces dispositions.
  • Pour les régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées qui comportent une disposition à cotisation déterminée, le projet de loi prévoit aussi la possibilité de verser une prestation autre qu'une rente, laquelle sera puisée à même la disposition à cotisation déterminée. Une telle prestation serait toutefois limitée à 60 % de la rente dont aurait bénéficié le participant avec son compte individuel à la fin de l'exercice financier précédent.

Autres éléments du projet de loi  

Pour accompagner les mesures favorisant le maintien en emploi proposées dans la Loi RCR, le projet de loi prévoit également certaines modifications à la Loi sur le Régime de rentes du Québec :

  • Un supplément de rente serait payable aux personnes qui recevront des revenus d'emploi après le début du versement de leur rente du Régime de rentes du Québec.
  • Le supplément de rente serait égal à 0,5 % des revenus d'emploi annuels postérieurs à 2007 qui excèdent l'exemption générale (3 500 $).
  • Le supplément de rente serait déterminé annuellement et deviendrait payable à compter du 1er janvier de l'année suivante. Il serait également indexé annuellement par la suite, comme c'est le cas pour la rente du Régime de rentes du Québec.

De plus, le projet de loi propose certaines modifications aux lois applicables au financement des régimes de retraite afin de compléter ou de préciser certaines mesures énoncées dans ces lois. Entre autres, la loi qui prévoyait des mesures temporaires de financement depuis 2005 a été abrogée.

Les outils pour favoriser le maintien en emploi

La diminution de la main-d'oeuvre québécoise est un fait indéniable. La stratégie gouvernementale pour maintenir la force de travail québécoise est prometteuse pour le Québec et l'ensemble du marché du travail. Cette stratégie n'est toutefois pas nécessairement appropriée pour tous les employeurs, puisqu'ils vivront la transformation du marché de la main-d'oeuvre de façon très variée et étendue dans le temps. Certains employeurs voudront notamment convaincre leurs employés de demeurer en emploi plus longtemps que prévu afin de supporter les efforts de gestion de la main-d'oeuvre.

Avant de modifier le texte officiel du régime de retraite pour permettre l'application des mesures proposées par les gouvernements, il est important pour tout employeur de bien évaluer ses besoins de main-d'oeuvre, d'identifier tous les outils dont il dispose pour atteindre ses objectifs en matière de gestion de main-d'oeuvre et de connaître les attentes de ses employés en fin de carrière.

Les régimes de retraite sont certes un outil fort intéressant pour supporter les efforts de gestion de la main-d'oeuvre, principalement lorsque les besoins de l'employeur visent l'ensemble de sa main-d'oeuvre. Cependant, si ces derniers ciblent certains employés ou certaines catégories d'emploi, d'autres outils, qui ne sont pas d'application universelle comme le sont généralement les régimes de retraite, peuvent également être mis à profit. Notons, entres autres outils disponibles aux employeurs: ajustement salarial, boni de rétention, régime d'assurance collective ou programme d'allocation de départ. Pour répondre encore mieux aux attentes des employés en fin de carrière, la flexibilité en emploi ou des périodes de vacances additionnelles ou de congé sans solde sont également des pistes de solution très prometteuses qui mériteraient réflexion.

Des impacts importants

Les mesures proposées prévoient comme condition d'admissibilité une entente entre l'employeur et l'employé. Quelle sera la réelle capacité des employeurs à gérer de telles ententes sur une base individuelle? Cette question est fondamentale, compte tenu des coûts associés à ces mesures qui découlent des nouvelles prestations payables. Si un employeur ne peut résister à la pression des employés qui souhaiteront assurément une application uniforme et universelle de ces mesures, l'effet sur les coûts de financement de son régime sera certes significatif. À titre illustratif, une rente de retraite progressive versée pendant deux années à un employé admissible représente une augmentation d'environ 10 % de la valeur des engagements du régime à son égard.

Qui plus est, quel sera l'impact de telles mesures sur la force de travail des employeurs? Les employés en fin de carrière recherchent généralement un meilleur équilibre de vie et souhaitent souvent disposer de plus de temps pour eux. Les mesures proposées pourraient permettre à un employé de réaliser ses rêves plus rapidement que prévu en lui apportant un soutien financier additionnel. Ce faisant, l'employé admissible à ces mesures, qui comptait prendre sa retraite dans quelques années, pourrait ralentir son rythme de travail dès maintenant et compenser la baisse de ses revenus d'emploi par le soutien financier additionnel dont il bénéficie. Pour l'employeur, cela signifiera inévitablement une diminution de sa force de travail.

Les changements proposés au Régime de rentes du Québec sont très intéressants car ils viennent régler ce qui pouvait auparavant être considéré comme un irritant par les retraités de ce régime puisqu'ils devaient, dans bien des cas, cotiser à ce régime s'ils demeuraient sur le marché du travail et ce, sans même qu'il n'en résulte une augmentation de leurs prestations. Il est également à noter que si un individu travaille à temps plein après 60 ans, il est tenu de cotiser au Régime de rentes du Québec et ne peut retirer sa rente. De ce fait, il n'est donc pas admissible au supplément. On peut ainsi s'attendre à ce qu'un certain nombre de travailleurs demandent de réduire leur temps de travail (d'au moins de 20 % pour être admissible à une rente) dès l'âge de 60 ans afin de pouvoir bénéficier du supplément. 

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6