Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Drugs available without a prescription remain eligible

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

Bulletin NB Vol. 11 N. 4, March 2008

In its budget tabled on February 26, 2008, the federal government addressed a few provisions pertaining to the Medical Expense Tax Credit (METC). Amongst other things, Budget 2008 proposes to clarify the METC provisions regarding the non eligibility of drugs and medications available without a prescription. This Bulletin confirms that this provision will have no consequence for group insurance.

In Budget 2008, the federal government proposes to clarify the wording of the provisions of the Income Tax Act concerning eligible drugs and medications under the METC to ensure that those that may be purchased without a prescription are clearly ineligible, whether they are obtained with or without a prescription. If adopted, this clarification would take effect retroactively to February 27, 2008.

In addition to affecting taxpayers' income tax returns(1) for 2008 and subsequent years, this measure could have had a significant and immediate impact on most Canadian group insurance plans. Indeed, under the Act(2), to qualify as a "private health services plan" (PHSP) and thereby continue to enjoy an advantageous tax status, Canadian plans must reimburse expenses only for drugs considered eligible under the METC. Thus, many insurance representatives interpreted that any plan covering at least one "over the counter" (OTC) medication, even if prescribed, could have lost its federal preferred tax status.

Final impacts

The Canadian Life and Health Insurance Association (CLHIA) asked the government to clarify its proposal.

In an official statement released on March 7, 2008, CHLIA announced that discussions with Department of Finance staff have confirmed that amongst other things:

  • The Budget's clarification regarding OTC medications is specific to the METC, while PHSPs are not restricted only to cover METC;
  • The Budget was not intended to change the existing treatment of PHSPs with regards to OTC medications.

Proposed actions

No modification to group insurance plan must be done following the federal budget 2008.

However, even if your plan does not provide reimbursement for any OTC medications, clear communication to insureds could prove beneficial in effectively managing the message they receive. Mentioning that even if the clarifications regarding METC still apply, they will not affect the coverage of their group insurance plan.

Other proposed modifications

The government also proposes to extend eligibility under the METC to the cost to purchase, operate and maintain some devices prescribed by a medical practitioner. These devices, related in majority to severe mobility impairments or speach disorders, are not intended for a large number of individuals.

It is also proposed to extend eligibility under the METC to recognize expenses for service animals specially trained to assist an individual who isseverely affected by autism or epilepsy.

These modifications will be affecting taxpayers' income tax
returns for 2008 and subsequent years. At this time, group insurance plan will be authorized to reimburse these expenses and maintain the PHSP status. Plan sponsors will have the choice to cover these expenses or not.

(1) Normandin Beaudry information bulletin on tax credits for medical expenses (Vol. 11, No.1, February 2008)

(2) Interpretation Bulletins IT-339R2 and IT-519R2

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Les médicaments disponibles sans ordonnance demeurent des dépenses admissibles pour les régimes privés

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 11 N. 4, mars 2008

Lors du dévoilement de son budget le 26 février dernier, le gouvernement fédéral a abordé quelques dispositions relatives au crédit d'impôt pour frais médicaux (CIFM). Entre autres, le budget précise l'inadmissibilité au CIFM des médicaments et des produits pharmaceutiques disponibles sans ordonnance. Ce Bulletin confirme que cette mesure n'aura toutefois pas d'impact sur les régimes privés d'assurance collective.

Dans le budget 2008, le gouvernement fédéral a proposé de préciser le libellé des dispositions de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu concernant les médicaments et produits pharmaceutiques admissibles au CIFM de façon à ce que ceux qui peuvent être achetés en vente libre soient clairement inadmissibles, qu'ils soient obtenus avec ou sans ordonnance. Si elle est adoptée, cette précision entrerait en vigueur rétroactivement le 27 février 2008.

En plus d'affecter la déclaration de revenus des contribuables(1) pour l'année 2008 et les suivantes, cette mesure aurait pu avoir un impact important et immédiat sur la majorité des régimes d'assurance collective canadiens. En effet, au sens strict de la Loi(2), tout régime canadien ne doit rembourser que les médicaments admissibles au CIFM afin d'être qualifié de « régime privé d'assurance-maladie » et ainsi maintenir un statut fiscal avantageux. Ainsi, plusieurs intervenants du milieu de l'assurance avaient avancé que tout régime prévoyant le remboursement d'au moins un médicament disponible en vente libre, même s'il est prescrit, perdrait son statut fiscal privilégié au fédéral.

Quels sont les impacts finaux de la précision à la Loi?

L'Association canadienne des compagnies d'assurances de personnes (ACCAP) a demandé au gouvernement de clarifier sa proposition.

Dans un communiqué émis le 7 mars dernier, l'ACCAP assure que des discussions tenues avec le ministère des Finances ont entre autre permis de confirmer que :

  • la précision du libellé dans le budget en ce qui concerne les médicaments en vente libre ne concerne que le CIFM; 
  • le budget ne vise pas à modifier le traitement actuel des régimes privés d'assurance-maladie en ce qui a trait au médicaments en vente libre.

Quelles devraient être les actions entreprises?

Aucun changement n'est nécessaire concernant les régimes privés d'assurance collective à la suite du budget fédéral 2008.

Toutefois, que votre régime couvre ou non des médicaments disponibles en vente-libre lorsqu'ils sont prescrits, une communication claire auprès des assurés pourrait être appropriée afin de bien gérer le message que ces derniers reçoivent. Il sera alors important de mentionner que bien que la précision du libellé des dispositions portant sur le CIFM demeure, celle-ci n'affecte pas la protection à l'égard des médicaments aux termes du régime d'assurance-maladie.

Quelles sont les autres modifications envisagées dans le budget?

Le gouvernement propose d'ajouter à la liste des dépenses admissibles au CIFM le coût d'achat, de fonctionnement et d'entretien de certains appareils prescrits par un médecin. Ces appareils, majoritairement liés à des troubles d'élocution ou moteur, ne s'adressent toutefois pas à un large public.

Il est également proposé d'élargir les critères d'admissibilité au CIFM de manière à tenir compte des dépenses admissibles liées à un animal d'assistance spécialement dressé pour aider une personne atteinte d'autisme grave ou d'épilepsie grave.

Ces ajouts à la liste des dépenses qui donnent droit au CIFM s'appliqueront pour les années d'imposition 2008 et suivantes. Les régimes d'assurance collective seront alors autorisés à rembourser les frais reliés à ces dépenses tout en maintenant le statut de « régime privé d'assurance-maladie ». Il appartient alors aux promoteurs de régime de décider s'ils souhaitent couvrir de telles dépenses dans leur régime.


(1) Bulletin d'information Normandin Beaudry traitant des crédits pour frais médicaux (Vol. 11, no 1, février 2008)

(2) Bulletins d'interprétations IT-339R2 et IT-519R2

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6