Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Budget - A new savings vehicle: the Tax-Free Savings Account (TFSA)

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

Bulletin NB Vol. 11 N. 3, March 2008

During the unveiling of its budget on February 26, the Federal Government announced that a new personal savings instrument, the Tax-Free Savings Account (TFSA) will be introduced starting January 1, 2009. The Federal Government's goal is to encourage Canadians to save more by allowing them to set money aside and watch it grow tax-free.

Features of the TFSA

The TFSA will allow taxpayers age 18 or older to contribute up to $5,000 annually through eligible investment vehicles. Investment income (interest, dividends or capital gains) earned through these contributions will not be taxed, and withdrawals will also be tax-free.

As is the case with the Registered Retirement Savings Plan (RRSP), unused contribution room can be carried forward to future years. Individuals can thus contribute more than $5,000 annually to their TFSA if they did not use all of their contribution room in previous years.

There are, however, key differences between a TFSA and an RRSP. Contributions to a TFSA will not be deductible for income tax purposes. On the other hand, funds from the TFSA can be withdrawn at any time for any purpose, and withdrawals will be tax-free. Amounts withdrawn can also be put back in the TFSA at a later date without reducing contribution room.

Benefits of the TFSA

Canadians will be able to use the TFSA to begin saving at a young age for potential future needs, specifically needs not associated with retirement. The RRSP will thus be used primarily to accommodate retirement needs and individuals will be less likely to withdraw funds from their RRSP, as is often currently the case.

The table below presents a comparison of the key features of the TFSA and the RRSP:

 

The TFSA will provide seniors with a savings vehicle they can use to meet their needs because no age limit is imposed. Seniors currently have only limited access to these types of vehicles once they are over the age of 71 and are required to begin drawing on their retirement savings.

The TFSA will afford employers that offer a group pension plan such as a defined contribution plan, a group RRSP or a Deferred Profit Sharing Plan (DPSP), combined with any other unregistered plan for the receipt of additional non-deductible contributions, a number of benefits pertaining to the implementation of such a plan.

Service providers are, in fact, already planning to offer employers the option of setting up a group TFSA to receive additional non-deductible contributions up to the allowable limits. Unregistered plans will then be used to receive excess contributions beyond the TFSA limit.

The TFSA should also be relatively simple for service providers and employers to administer because they will not be required to issue tax receipts for contribution deductions or investment income.

Adoption Process

It is important to note that the coming into force of the TFSA-related measures outlined in this bulletin is contingent upon the adoption of thefederal budget. It is also important to clarify that these measures would apply only at the federal level if the budget were adopted. The provinces would then need to decide whether or not to follow suit.  

Tax-Free Savings Account (TFSA) in a Nutshell

  • Starting in 2009, Canadian residents age 18 and older will be eligible to contribute up to $5,000 annually to a TFSA, and unused contribution room will be carried forward to future years;
  • Contributions will not be deductible;
  • Capital gains and other investment income earned in a TFSA will not be taxed;
  • Withdrawals will be tax-free;
  • Withdrawals will create contribution room for the same amount for future savings;
  • Contributions to a spouse's or common-law partner's TFSA will be allowed, and TFSA assets will be transferable to a spouse or common-law partner upon death;
  • Neither investment income earned in a TFSA nor withdrawals from it will affect eligibility for federal income-tested benefits and credits;
  • Qualified investments include all arm's length RRSP qualified investments;
  • The $5,000 annual contribution limit will be indexed to inflation in $500 increments.

Examples illustrating the potential use and benefits of the TFSA are presented on the website below:

Canada Revenue Agency:
http://www.budget.gc.ca/2008/plan/chap3b-eng.asp
 

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Budget - Un nouveau véhicule d'épargne : le compte d'épargne libre d'impôt (CELI)

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 11 N. 3, mars 2008

Lors du dévoilement de son budget le 26 février dernier, le gouvernement fédéral a fait l'annonce de la création, à compter du 1er janvier 2009, d'un tout nouveau mécanisme d'épargne personnelle, le compte d'épargne libre d'impôt (CELI). Le gouvernement fédéral compte ainsi encourager les Canadiens à épargner davantage en leur permettant de mettre de l'argent de côté et de faire fructifier celui-ci à l'abri de l'impôt.

Les caractéristiques du CELI

Le CELI permettra aux contribuables âgés de 18 ans ou plus de verser des cotisations allant jusqu'à 5 000 $ par année et d'investir ces sommes dans des instruments financiers admissibles. Les revenus de placement provenant de ces cotisations, qu'il s'agisse de revenus d'intérêt, de dividendes ou de gains en capital, seront exempts d'impôt fédéral, même en cas de retrait.

Suivant le principe du régime enregistré d'épargne-retraite (REER), les droits de cotisation inutilisés pourront être reportés aux années suivantes. Les particuliers pourront donc verser plus de 5 000 $ par année dans leur CELI s'ils n'ont pas utilisé la totalité de leurs droits de cotisation lors des années précédentes.

Le CELI présentera toutefois d'importantes différences avec le REER. En effet, les cotisations qui seront versées à un CELI ne seront pas déductibles du revenu aux fins de l'impôt. En revanche, il sera possible de retirer de l'argent d'un CELI en tout temps et à n'importe quelle fin, sans que les retraits ne soient imposables. Les montants retirés pourront également être retournés dans le CELI, à une date ultérieure, sans entamer ses droits de cotisation.

Les avantages du CELI

Les Canadiens auront la possibilité d'utiliser leur CELI pour commencer à épargner à un jeune âge en prévision de divers besoins qu'ils pourraient avoir dans l'avenir, notamment pour des besoins non liés à la retraite. Le REER pourra alors servir principalement à combler les besoins à la retraite et serait ainsi moins susceptible de faire l'objet de retraits comme c'est souvent le cas actuellement.

Le tableau suivant présente par ailleurs une comparaison des principales caractéristiques du CELI et du REER :

  

Pour les aînés, le CELI constituera un mécanisme leur permettant de répondre à tout besoin d'épargne puisqu'il ne sera pas sujet à une limite d'âge. Ceux-ci disposent actuellement d'une marge de manoeuvre limitée à cet égard après l'âge de 71 ans, lorsqu'ils sont obligés de commencer à utiliser leur épargne-retraite.

Pour les employeurs qui offrent un régime de retraite collectif tel qu'un régime à cotisations déterminées (CD), un REER collectif ou un régime de participation différée aux bénéfices (RPDB), combiné à tout autre régime non enregistré pour recevoir les cotisations additionnelles non déductibles, le CELI offrira plusieurs avantages.

En effet, les fournisseurs de services envisagent d'ores et déjà d'offrir aux employeurs de mettre en place un CELI collectif qui pourra recevoir les cotisations additionnelles non déductibles jusqu'aux limites permises. Les régimes non enregistrés serviront alors à recevoir les cotisations excédentaires au-delà de la limite du CELI.

Pour les fournisseurs de services et les employeurs, le CELI devrait également être relativement simple à administrer puisqu'il ne nécessitera pas l'émission de reçus d'impôt pour la déduction des cotisations ou pour la déclaration des revenus de placement.

Le processus d'adoption

Il est important de noter que l'entrée en vigueur des mesures relatives au CELI, telles que présentées dans ce bulletin, est sujette à l'adoption du budget fédéral. Il faut également préciser qu'en cas d'adoption du budget, ces mesures ne s'appliqueront alors qu'au niveau fédéral. Les provinces devront décider, par la suite, si elles emboîteront le pas à cette initiative.

 

Le compte d'épargne libre d'impôt (CELI) en bref
  • À compter de 2009, les résidents canadiens âgés de 18 ans et plus pourront verser des cotisations allant jusqu'à 5 000 $ par année à un CELI; les droits de cotisation inutilisés seront reportés aux années suivantes;
  • Les cotisations ne seront pas déductibles;
  • Les gains en capital et les autres revenus de placement gagnés dans un CELI seront libres d'impôt;
  • Les retraits ne seront pas imposables;
  • Les retraits engendreront des droits de cotisation du même montant pour l'avenir;
  • Un contribuable pourra cotiser au CELI de son époux ou conjoint de fait. Au décès, l'actif détenu dans un CELI pourra être transféré à l'époux ou au conjoint de fait;
  • Ni les revenus de placement gagnés dans un CELI, ni les retraits d'un tel compte ne modifieront les droits aux prestations fédérales et aux crédits fédéraux fondés sur le revenu;
  • Les placements admissibles dans les CELI comprennent tous les placements sans lien de dépendance admissibles aux REER;
  • Le plafond annuel des cotisations, d'abord fixé à 5 000 $, sera indexé à l'inflation, par multiple de 500 $.


 Des exemples illustrant certaines des utilisations et des avantages du CELI sont présentés sur le site Internet suivant :

Agence du revenu du Canada :
http://www.budget.gc.ca/2008/plan/chap3b-fra.asp#allegements

 

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6