Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Accounting standards applicable to employee future benefits: what Quebec-based compagnies listed on the S&P/TSX index do

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

Bulletin NB Vol. 11 N. 14, December 2008

Please note that, in spite of simplification efforts, given the subject matter and use of terms defined in Section 3461 of the Canadian Institute of Chartered Accountant's (CICA) Handbook, this document contains technical content.

Several private sector companies will soon be finalizing their budgets for the upcoming fiscal year and preparing their financial statements for the current fiscal year. Included among the accompanying notes that should be prepared for these financial statements are those pertaining to costs for defined benefit (DB) pension plans and group insurance plans offered to retirees (other post-retirement benefits).

The assumptions required to determine the accrued benefit obligation and the cost must be established by the company's management. To help companies select these assumptions, we have analyzed the annual reports of 21 Quebec-based companies listed on the S&P/TSX Index whose fiscal year ended between September 30, 2007 and March 31, 2008. All of these companies sponsored at least one DB pension plan and 14 of them offered at least one group insurance plan to their retired employees.

Our analysis is divided into three sections. The first section presents the assumptions used by the companies included in our analysis in percentile format. The charts present a comparison of the assumptions used for fiscal years ending in 2007 (between September 30, 2007 and March 31, 2008) and in 2006 (between September 30, 2006 and March 31, 2007). The second section summarizes the findings from these charts and additional results that could be obtained only through data analysis. The third and final section presents our comments with respect to some measures that could potentially impact future results.

Please note that this is the fourth year that we have conducted this analysis. We therefore invite you to consult the "Publications" section of our website to review the results, findings and comments for previous years. However, given that the composition of the S&P/TSX Index varies regularly based on predefined criteria, the group of companies analyzed this year differs from that analyzed in prior years. The results presented on a comparable basis for 2006 may also differ from those presented in previous years.

1. Selection of assumptions

The following charts present the analysis results, in percentile format, for the key economic assumptions used for DB pension plans and other post-retirement benefits. 


 End of 2007
(Sept. 30, 2007 to
March 31, 2008)
End of 2006
(Sept 30. 2006 to
March 31, 2007)

DB Pension Plans

Discount Rate
  • 5th percentile
5.90%5.40%
  • 25th percentile
5.75%5.25%
  • 50th percentile
5.60%5.25%
  • 75th percentile
5.25%5.10%
  • 95th percentile
5.15%4.95%
Expexted Long-Term Rate of Retourn on Assets
  • 5th percentile
7.80%7.95%
  • 25th percentile
7.50%7.50%
  • 50th percentile
7.15%7.15%
  • 75th percentile
7.00%7.00%
  • 95th percentile
6.65%6.20%
Compensation Growth Rate1
  • 5th percentile
5.00%5.00%
  • 25th percentile
4.00%3.95%
  • 50th percentile
3.50%3.50%
  • 75th percentile
3.25%3.25%
  • 95th percentile
2.50%2.50%
    1Also applicable in some cases to other post-retirement benefits

Other Post-Retirement Benefits

Discount Rate
  • 5th percentile
6.00%5.59%
  • 25th percentile
5.80%5.42%
  • 50th percentile
5.65%5.28%
  • 75th percentile
5.50%5.14%
  • 95th percentile
5.36%4.91%
Trend Rate for Health Care Costs - Initial Period
  • 5th percentile
11.22%11.57%
  • 25th percentile
9.88%10.00%
  • 50th percentile
9.45%9.68%
  • 75th percentile
8.63%8.25%
  • 95th percentile
6.80%7.07%
Trend Rate for Health Care Costs - Final Period
  • 5th percentile
6.00%5.68%
  • 25th percentile
5.21%5.19%
  • 50th percentile
5.00%5.00%
  • 75th percentile
4.83%4.83%
  • 95th percentile
4.33%4.33%

2. Findings

  • For DB pension plans, the median annual discount rate used at the end of 2007 was 0.35% higher than the rate used at the end of 2006 (5.60% versus 5.25%). However, the annual discount rate increased by 0.50% or more in one third of the companies analyzed. Moreover, 60% of the companies analyzed used an annual discount rate between 5.50% and 5.75% at the end of 2007. This increase in discount rates can be explained in part by higher yield spreads between federal bonds and corporate bonds caused by asset-backed commercial papers (ABCPs). 
  • The median annual expected long-term rate of return on DB pension plan assets was the same for 2007 as it was for 2006 at 7.15%. This stability follows declines of 0.25% and 0.15% in previous years. 
  • Several of the companies analyzed sponsor DB pension plans and other post-retirement benefits that offer benefits based on salary at retirement. These companies must therefore establish an assumption related to the compensation growth rate. At the end of 2007, the median annual compensation growth rate was 3.50%, a rate identical to the median rate used since 2004
  • For companies sponsoring both DB pension plans and other post-retirement benefits, the median discount rates used for all of the plans were similar. At the end of 2007, one third of the companies analyzed were using a discount rate for other post-retirement benefits identical to that used for DB pension plans. The proportion was twice as high at the end of 2006.
  • The trend rate for health care costs is the most important assumption for other post-retirement benefits. The initial rate, which is higher than the final rate, can vary significantly from company to company. However, the final rate at the end of 2007 was identical to the 2006 rate in 90% of the companies analyzed. The final median trend rate at the end of 2007 was 5.00%, the same rate observed since 2004.

3. Comments 

Discount rates for 2008

The discount rates used at the end of 2008 will likely be higher than those used at the end of 2007 owing to the significant increase (close to 1.50%) in yield spreads between federal bonds and corporate bonds during the months of September and October 2008, which is caused by the credit crisis. Given the volatility recently observed on bonds yields, it is difficult to predict the level of discount rates that will be used at the end of 2008. We suggest to companies that normally set their discount rate before the end of their fiscal year to modify their process and wait until the end of the fiscal year to set the discount rate. Moreover, when selecting the discount rate, companies should take into account the fact that the credit rating for certain issuers deemed "superior quality" could be lowered by the end of the year. 

Losses from poor return on assets for 2008

The discount rates that will be used at the end of 2008 will likely create sizeable actuarial gains. However, for DB pension plans, they will partially offset expected actuarial losses on assets. For some companies, this could result in a less significant change than expected in the financial position of plans on an accounting basis but could create an improper impression as regards the financial health of these plans. In fact, several of these companies will eventually experience significant increases in amortization payments for solvency and funding deficits created by losses from poor return on assets in 2008. 

For other post-retirement benefits, if actuarial gains generated by discount rates are not offset by actuarial losses linked to other assumptions (following a modification or the experience), they could reduce the cost to be recognized in 2009 for companies that amortize losses in excess of the 10% corridor. 

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Normes Comptables applicables aux avantages sociaux futurs : que font les entreprises québécoises inscrites à l'indice S&P/TSX?

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 11 N. 14, novembre 2008

Nous tenons à préciser que, malgré un effort de vulgarisation, le contenu du présent communiqué revêt un caractère technique étant donné la nature du sujet et l'utilisation de termes définis au chapitre 3461 du manuel de l'Institut canadien des comptables agréés (ICCA).

Plusieurs entreprises du secteur privé finaliseront bientôt leurs budgets pour la prochaine année fiscale et prépareront leurs états financiers pour l'année fiscale en cours. Parmi les notes complémentaires devant être préparées pour ces états financiers, on retrouve celle relative aux coûts constatés pour les régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées (« régimes PD ») et pour les régimes d'assurance collective offerts aux retraités (« autres avantages post-retraite »).

Les hypothèses requises pour déterminer l'obligation au titre des prestations constituées et le coût constaté doivent être établies par la direction de l'entreprise. Ainsi, afin d'aider les entreprises à sélectionner ces hypothèses, nous avons analysé les rapports annuels de 21 entreprises québécoises faisant partie de l'indice S&P/TSX et dont l'exercice financier se terminait entre le 30 septembre 2007 et le 31 mars 2008. Toutes ces entreprises parrainaient au moins un régime PD et 14 d'entre elles offraient au moins un régime d'assurance collective à leurs retraités.

Notre analyse est divisée en trois parties. La première partie illustre, en rang centile, les hypothèses utilisées par les entreprises incluses dans notre analyse. Les tableaux permettent de comparer les hypothèses utilisées pour les exercices se terminant à la fin de 2007 (entre le 30 septembre 2007 et le 31 mars 2008) et à la fin de 2006 (entre le 30 septembre 2006 et le 31 mars 2007). La deuxième partie résume les constats tirés de ces tableaux et en ajoute certains qui ne peuvent être déduits que par l'analyse des données. Finalement, la troisième partie de notre analyse présente nos commentaires sur certaines mesures qui pourraient affecter les résultats futurs.

Veuillez noter que cette analyse est effectuée pour une quatrième année. Nous vous invitons donc à consulter la section « Publications » de notre site internet (www.normandin-beaudry.ca) pour connaître les résultats, les constats et les commentaires des communiqués précédents. Cependant, comme la composition de l'indice S&P/TSX varie régulièrement selon des critères préétablis, le groupe d'entreprises de l'analyse de cette année est différent de celui des années précédentes et, par conséquent, les résultats présentés sur base comparative pour l'année 2006 peuvent être différents de ceux présentés les années passées.

1. Sélection des hypothèses

Les tableaux suivants illustrent, en rang centile, les hypothèses économiques les plus importantes utilisées par les entreprises analysées pour leurs régimes PD et les autres avantages post-retraite.


 Fin 2007
(30 sept. 2007 au
31 mars 2008)
Fin 2006
(30 sept. 2006 au
31 mars 2007)

Régimes PD

Taux d'actualisation
  • 5e rang centile
5,90 %5,40 %
  • 25e rang centile
5,75 %5,25 %
  • 50e rang centile
5,60 %5,25 %
  • 75e rang centile
5,25 %5,10 %
  • 95e rang centile
5,15 %4,95 %
Taux de rendement espéré à long terme sur les actifs
  • 5e rang centile
7,80 %7,95 %
  • 25e rang centile
7,50 %7,50 %
  • 50e rang centile
7,15 %7,15 %
  • 75e rang centile
7,00 %7,00 %
  • 95e rang centile
6,65 %6,20 %
Taux de croissance de la rémunération1
  • 5e rang centile
5,00 %5,00 %
  • 25e rang centile
4,00 %3,95 %
  • 50e rang centile
3,50 %3,50 %
  • 75e rang centile
3,25 %3,25 %
  • 95e rang centile
2,50 %2,50 %
1Également applicable, dans certains cas, aux autres avantages post-retraite

Autres avantages post-retraite

Taux d'actualisation
  • 5e rang centile
6,00 %5,59 %
  • 25e rang centile
5,80 %5,42 %
  • 50e rang centile
5,65 %5,28 %
  • 75e rang centile
5,50 %5,14 %
  • 95e rang centile
5,36 %4,91 %
Taux de croissance des coûts des soins de santé - Période initiale
  • 5e rang centile
11,22 %11,57 %
  • 25e rang centile
9,88 %10,00 %
  • 50e rang centile
9,45 %9,68 %
  • 75e rang centile
8,63 %8,25 %
  • 95e rang centile
6,80 %7,07 %
Taux de croissance des coûts des soins de santé - Période ultime
  • 5e rang centile
6,00 %5,68 %
  • 25e rang centile
5,21 %5,19 %
  • 50e rang centile
5,00 %5,00 %
  • 75e rang centile
4,83 %4,83 %
  • 95e rang centile
4,33 %4,33 %

2. Constats

  • Pour les régimes PD, le taux annuel d'actualisation médian utilisé à la fin de 2007 était supérieur de 0,35 % à celui utilisé à la fin de 2006, soit 5,60 % au lieu de 5,25 %. Toutefois, le tiers des entreprises observées affichaient des augmentations du taux annuel d'actualisation de 0,50 % et plus. De plus, 60 % des entreprises analysées ont utilisé, à la fin de 2007, un taux annuel d'actualisation variant entre 5,50 % et 5,75 %. Cette hausse du niveau des taux d'actualisation est en partie reliée à l'augmentation des écarts de taux entre les obligations fédérales et les obligations corporatives causée par les papiers commerciaux adossés à des actifs (PCAA).
  • Le taux annuel médian de rendement espéré à long terme sur les actifs des régimes PD était le même au cours de l'année 2007 qu'au cours de l'année 2006, soit 7,15 %. Cette stabilité fait suite à des baisses de 0,25 % et de 0,15 % au cours des années précédentes.
  • Plusieurs entreprises parmi celles analysées parrainent des régimes PD et d'autres avantages post-retraite offrant des prestations basées sur le salaire à la retraite. Ces entreprises doivent donc établir une hypothèse de taux de croissance de la rémunération. Le taux annuel médian de croissance de la rémunération était de 3,50 % à la fin de 2007, soit le même taux depuis 2004.
  • Pour les entreprises qui parrainent à la fois des régimes PD et d'autres avantages post-retraite, les taux d'actualisation médians utilisés pour l'ensemble des régimes étaient similaires. Le tiers des entreprises analysées utilisaient, à la fin de 2007, un taux d'actualisation pour les autres avantages post-retraite identique à celui divulgué pour les régimes PD. La proportion était deux fois plus élevée à la fin de 2006.
  • Le taux de croissance des coûts des soins de santé est l'hypothèse la plus importante pour les autres avantages post-retraite. Le taux initial, plus élevé que le taux ultime, peut varier de façon importante d'une entreprise à l'autre. Toutefois, pour 90 % des entreprises analysées, le taux ultime à la fin de 2007 était identique à celui de 2006. De plus, le taux ultime médian à la fin de 2007 était de 5,00 %, soit le même taux depuis 2004.

3. Commentaires

Taux d'actualisation de 2008

Les taux d'actualisation utilisés à la fin de l'année 2008 seront vraisemblablement supérieurs à ceux utilisés à la fin de 2007 en raison de l'augmentation importante (près de 1,50 %) des écarts de taux entre les obligations fédérales et les obligations corporatives au cours des mois de septembre et octobre 2008 en raison de la crise du crédit. Compte tenu de la volatilité observée récemment sur les taux de rendement à échéance des obligations, il est toutefois difficile de prévoir le niveau des taux d'actualisation qui seront utilisés à la fin de l'année 2008. Nous suggérons aux entreprises qui avaient par le passé pris l'habitude de fixer le taux d'actualisation avant la fin de leur année financière, de modifier leur processus et d'attendre la fin de celle-ci avant de fixer le taux d'actualisation. De plus, la sélection du taux d'actualisation devrait être effectuée en tenant compte que la cote de crédit de certains émetteurs dits de qualité supérieure pourrait être revue à la baisse d'ici la fin de l'année.

Pertes de rendement de 2008

Les taux d'actualisation qui seront utilisés à la fin de l'année 2008 créeront vraisemblablement d'importants gains actuariels. Toutefois, pour les régimes PD, ils viendront compenser en partie les pertes actuarielles attendues sur les actifs. Pour certaines entreprises, cela pourrait faire varier d'une manière moins importante qu'attendue la situation financière des régimes sur base comptable mais pourrait créer une fausse impression de santé financière de ces régimes. En effet, plusieurs de ces entreprises seront éventuellement aux prises avec des augmentations importantes des paiements d'amortissement de déficits de solvabilité et de capitalisation créés par les pertes de rendement sur les actifs de 2008.

Pour les autres avantages post-retraite, si les gains actuariels créés par les taux d'actualisation ne sont pas combinés avec des pertes actuarielles reliées à d'autres hypothèses (suite à une modification ou à l'expérience), ils pourraient diminuer le coût constaté de l'année 2009 pour les entreprises qui amortissent des pertes en excédent du corridor de 10 %.
 

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6