Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Financial Position of Pension Plans

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

Bulletin NB Vol. 11 N. 11, October 2008

The situation that has been plaguing financial markets for some time is very troubling. What impact will it have on the financial position of pension plans?

The low level of interest rates and the stock market setbacks in the third quarter of 2008 will, in all likelihood, have a major impact on the financial position of pension plans.

Hurt by the U.S. real estate crisis, global stock markets began their plunge around the end of summer 2007. Certain events changed the U.S. financial landscape, including the government takeover of mortgage lenders Freddie Mac and Fannie Mae, the buyout of Bear Stearns and Merrill Lynch and the bankruptcy of Lehman Brothers, to name a few now famous examples. The relative immunity that the Canadian market had enjoyed up to the middle of 2008 ended abruptly with a sharp decline in the Energy and Materials sectors over the past few weeks. As a result of this context, the S&P/TSX Index fell 18% in the third quarter and the Materials and Energy sectors were down 34% and 27% respectively. The S&P/TSX Index took its biggest hit for 2008 in September when it slid 14% in a single month.

Table A below summarizes the returns for benchmark indexes for the third quarter of 2008 and since the start of 2008.

Table A - Market Performance for 2008

Asset Category Benchmark Index 3rd Quarter 2008 Jan. 1 to
Sept. 30, 2008
Short Term Securities DEX 91-day TB 0.8% 2.6%
Canadian Bonds DEX Univers -0.4% 1.8%
Canadian Equities S&P/TSX -18.2% -13.3%
U.S. Equities1 S&P 500 -4.7% -13.4%
International Equities1 MSCI EAEO -17.3% -24.1%
Global Equities1 MSCI World -11.8% -18.7%
Typical Pension Fund Combined Index2 -7.8% -9.0%

1 Returns converted into Canadian dollars.
2 Consists of: 2% in Short Term Securities, 38% in Canadian Bonds, 20% in Canadian Equities, 20% in U.S. Equities, 20% in International Equities.


 In addition, interest rates used to determine solvency liability fell slightly in 2008. The financial position of pension plans would most likely suffer should interest rates remain stable through the end of the year, because the actuarial liability would increase.

Impacts on the financial position of pension plans

Since the start of 2008, the rate of return for a typical pension fund has been around -9% following modest returns of around 1% for 2007. These returns are well below the long term assumptions set out in actuarial valuations. Sponsors of pension plans for which three-year actuarial valuation reports must be filed by December 31, 2008 could look into choosing a valuation date other than December 31.

Accounting expense

Poor returns could result in a significant increase in the accounting expense for the coming year, given the unamortized losses that will likely exceed the "10% corridor" for several organizations. This could significantly affect the statement of income and expenses. The only respite could come from an increase in the discount rate used to determine the actuarial liability on an accounting basis, which is determined by interest rates for high quality corporate bonds. Moreover, organizations that are subject to U.S. accounting standards must recognize in the financial statements the financial position of their pension plans, which may reduce shareholders' equity and have an impact on borrowing capacity if the plans are in an accounting deficit position.

Should the trend continue, the recent events that affected the stock markets and the low level of interest rates will contribute to the deterioration in the financial position of most pension plans at the close of 2008. This serves as a reminder that sound planning and risk management in a liability-driven investment context are critical for sponsors of defined benefit plans in order to mitigate risks associated with interest rate and market fluctuations.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Situation financière des régimes de retraite

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 11 N. 11, octobre 2008

La situation qui dure depuis quelques mois sur les marchés financiers est très préoccupante. Quel en sera l'impact sur la situation financière des régimes de retraite?

Le faible niveau des taux d'intérêt et les déboires des marchés boursiers au cours du troisième trimestre de 2008 auront, selon toute vraisemblance, un impact majeur sur la situation financière des régimes de retraite.

Minés par la crise immobilière américaine, les marchés boursiers mondiaux ont entamé leur dégringolade vers la fin de l'été 2007. Certains événements ont marqué le paysage financier américain, notamment la mise sous tutelle par le gouvernement américain des prêteurs hypothécaires Freddie Mac et Fannie Mae, le rachat de Bear Stearns et de Merrill Lynch ainsi que la faillite de Lehman Brothers, pour nommer quelques exemples désormais célèbres. La relative immunité dont jouissait le marché canadien jusqu'à la mi-année 2008 a pris fin de façon brutale avec un recul important des secteurs de l'énergie et des matériaux au cours des dernières semaines. Ce contexte s'est traduit par une baisse de l'indice S&P/TSX de 18 % au cours du troisième trimestre, alors que les secteurs des matériaux et de l'énergie ont subi un repli respectivement de 34 % et 27 %. Le S&P/TSX a connu ses pires moments de 2008 en septembre alors qu'il a chuté de 14 % en un mois.

Le tableau A résume les rendements des indices de référence au troisième trimestre et depuis le début de l'année 2008.

Tableau A - Rendement des marchés en 2008

 Catégories d'actif   Indice de référence   3e trimestre
de 2008 
 Du 1er janv.
au
30 sept. 2008 
Titres à court terme DEX BT 91 jours 0,8 % 2.6 %
Obligations canadiennes DEX Univers -0,4 % 1,8 %
Actions canadiennes S&P/TSX -18,2 % -13,3 %
Actions américaines1 S&P 500 -4,7 % -13,4 %
Actions internationales1 MSCI EAEO -17,3 % -24,1 %
Actions mondiales1 MSCI Monde -11,8 % -18,7 %
Caisse de retraite type Indice combiné2 -7,8 % -9,0 %

1 Rendement en dollars canadiens.
2 Composé de 2 % en titres à court terme, 38 % en obligations canadiennes, 20 % en actions canadiennes, 20 % en actions américaines, 20 % en actions internationales.


 De plus, les taux d'intérêt servant à déterminer le passif de solvabilité ont légèrement baissé en 2008. Si les taux d'intérêt demeurent stables d'ici la fin de l'année, ceci devrait nuire à la situation financière des régimes de retraite puisque le passif actuariel augmentera.

Impacts sur la situation financière des régimes de retraite

Le rendement d'une caisse de retraite type est d'environ -9 % depuis le début de l'année 2008, et fait suite aux rendements modestes de 2007, qui furent de l'ordre de 1 %. Ces rendements sont nettement en deçà des hypothèses à long terme prévues aux évaluations actuarielles. Les promoteurs des régimes de retraite pour lesquels une évaluation actuarielle triennale doit être déposée au plus tard le 31 décembre 2008 pourraient se questionner sur le choix d'une date d'évaluation autre que le 31 décembre.

Dépense comptable

Les mauvais rendements pourraient augmenter la dépense comptable de la prochaine année de façon importante, compte tenu des pertes non amorties qui excéderont vraisemblablement le « couloir de 10 % » pour plusieurs organisations. Ainsi, l'état des revenus et dépenses est susceptible d'être affecté de façon notable. Le seul répit pourrait provenir d'une hausse du taux d'actualisation servant à déterminer le passif actuariel sur base de comptabilité, lequel dépend des taux d'intérêt sur les obligations corporatives de qualité supérieure. De plus, les organisations soumises aux normes comptables américaines doivent reconnaître aux états financiers la situation financière de leurs régimes de retraite, ce qui peut réduire l'avoir des actionnaires et avoir un impact sur la capacité d'emprunt si les régimes sont en position de déficits de comptabilité.

Si la tendance se maintient, les récents événements des marchés boursiers et le faible niveau des taux d'intérêt contribueront à la détérioration de la situation financière de la plupart des régimes de retraite à la fin de l'année 2008. Ceci nous rappelle qu'une bonne planification et la gestion des risques dans un contexte d'investissement guidé par le passif sont essentielles de la part des promoteurs de régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées afin de mitiger les risques de fluctuations des taux d'intérêt et de marché.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6