Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Bonds linked to the revenues of the Canadian economy

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

Bulletin NB Vol. 11 N. 10, September 2008

In connection with its Pension Papers Program, the C.D. Howe Institute recently published a document proposing the introduction of a bond that would allow investors to participate in Canada's economic growth. These securities could be a viable alternative to real return bonds and an attractive long-term source of return for pension funds.

The C.D. Howe Institute, backed by an advisory panel made up of important players from the Canadian pension industry, is proposing the introduction of a new debt security, the "Trill." Similar to an equity stake in a corporation, this security would offer investors an equity stake in the Canadian economy. The Trill would pay a fraction of the revenues generated by Canada, i.e. the gross domestic product (GDP). The Trill is so named because the GDP's value stands at around $1 trillion.

A GDP-linked bond is not an entirely new concept; however, this simple and direct structure has yet to be adopted. Argentina, Bulgaria, Bosnia, Costa Rica and Singapore all borrowed on terms indirectly tied to their GDP growth. For example, the clauses specifying a bond's coupon payment rate were based on predetermined levels of the borrowing country's GDP. No developed country in a strong financial position has ever issued bonds of this type

Features

The Trill would be issued by the Government of Canada and its maturity date would be long-term or perhaps perpetual. It would pay an annual coupon on a fixed date and would be traded on financial markets. The coupon paid would vary with GDP growth. Because the GDP is expressed in current dollars, income would be protected from inflation. In addition, this security would offer income growth opportunities tied to the creation of the nation's wealth, in comparison with real return bonds that simply offer inflation protection.

Benefits for pension funds

Through their long-term cash flows and inflation protection, Trills would meet the needs of many pension funds seeking to better match their revenues with their obligations to pensioners.

Trills would also provide an additional source of diversification. There is currently no financial instrument on the market that allows investors to participate in the growth of Canada's standard of living, for which wages, salaries and other compensation earned by Canadians account for two thirds of revenues. Trills would thus bring additional diversification to investors' portfolios. Pension funds could certainly benefit from having a portion of their investment income tied to labour cost growth.

Based on modelling of historic GDP data, the authors of this study, Mr. Kamstra and Mr. Shiller, estimate the historic return for these securities to be 2% higher annually than that of long-term bonds for the last 50 years.

Benefits for the Canadian government

The government would find great benefits from issuing GDP-linked bonds. This form of debt would provide a less expensive source of funds during economic slowdowns, when tax revenues tend to decline. However, during periods of strong economic growth, higher payments would be met by rising tax revenues. Greater budgetary stability would ensue. In addition, according to the authors of the study, the cost of this type of debt is low, and presents certain savings with respect to funding from existing bond programs.

From the Canadian government's standpoint, some issues may still be raised for consideration. The government has enjoyed a budgetary surplus for the last few years, is in debt buyback mode and does not have a great need for long-term bonds. In regards to managing its financing needs, the government's primary goal is to fund itself at the lowest possible cost. In contrast, a secondary goal is to maintain capital market liquidity and foster its smooth operation by allowing access to sizable issues. Because its funding requirements are declining, it would be surprising to see Ottawa decrease its nominal bond borrowings at once, thereby lowering the market's liquidity level, to create a new bond category. The real return bond program experience provides a good case in point.

In spite of these issues, the Canadian government should give careful consideration to and respond to the C.D. Howe Institute's very attractive proposal on the basis of the benefits that these securities would offer investors, particularly pension funds, and the government itself.

More information can be found at:
http://www.cdhowe.org/index.cfm
 

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Des obligations liées aux revenus de l'économie canadienne

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 11 N. 10, septembre 2008

Dans le cadre de son programme d'étude sur la retraite, l'Institut C.D. Howe a récemment publié un document qui propose le lancement d'une obligation permettant aux investisseurs de participer à la croissance de l'économie du Canada. Ces titres pourraient être une alternative viable aux obligations à rendement réel et une source de rendement à long terme intéressante pour les caisses de retraite.

L'Institut C.D. Howe, supporté par un comité formé d'intervenants de marque dans le milieu de la retraite canadien, propose l'introduction des « Trill ». Ces titres seraient comparables à une participation dans l'équité d'une société, dans ce cas-ci l'économie canadienne. Le rendement serait une fraction des revenus générés, soit le produit intérieur brut (PIB). La valeur du PIB est d'environ 1 trillion $, de là le nom « Trill ».

Ce type d'obligation directement liée au PIB n'est pas une idée entièrement nouvelle, quoiqu'elle n'ait jamais été adoptée sous cette forme simplifiée. Plusieurs pays ont emprunté sous des termes indirectement liés à l'évolution du PIB, soit l'Argentine, la Bulgarie, la Bosnie, le Costa Rica ou Singapour. Par exemple, les clauses spécifiant les taux de coupons des obligations étaient fonctions de niveaux pré établis du PIB du pays emprunteur. Cependant, jamais un pays développé en situation financière solide n'a émis d'obligations de cette nature.

Caractéristiques

L'obligation « Trill » serait émise par le gouvernement du Canada avec une date d'échéance de long terme ou possiblement à perpétuité. Elle paierait un coupon à une date fixe, soit annuellement, et serait transigée sur les marchés financiers. Le coupon versé serait variable et augmenterait en fonction du PIB. Parce que le PIB est exprimé en dollars courants, les revenus seraient protégés contre l'inflation. Ce titre offrirait en plus une possibilité de croissance reflétant la création de richesse du pays, comparativement aux obligations à rendement réel qui offrent simplement la protection contre l'inflation.

Avantageux pour les caisses de retraite

De par leurs caractéristiques de flux monétaires à long terme et de protection contre l'inflation, les « Trill » répondraient aux besoins de plusieurs caisses de retraite qui désirent mieux apparier leurs revenus avec leurs engagements envers les retraités.

De plus, ces titres offriraient une source additionnelle de diversification. Aucun instrument financier ne permet actuellement à un investisseur de participer à la croissance du niveau de vie du Canada, dont les revenus sont représentés aux deux tiers par les salaires et la rémunération diverse des canadiens. Les « Trill » apporteraient donc une diversification supplémentaire pour les investisseurs. On peut aussi penser à l'avantage pour une caisse de retraite d'avoir une portion de ses revenus de placements liés à l'augmentation des coûts de la main-d'oeuvre.

En se basant sur une modélisation des données historiques du PIB, les auteurs de l'étude, messieurs Kamstra et Shiller, estiment que le rendement historique de ces titres est de 2 % supérieur annuellement à celui des obligations de long terme depuis 50 ans.

Avantageux pour le gouvernement du Canada

Émettre des obligations liées au PIB aurait des avantages importants pour le gouvernement. Ces emprunts fourniraient une source de capitaux moins coûteuse en période de ralentissement économique, au moment même où les revenus fiscaux seraient plus faibles. En période de forte croissance économique, le service plus coûteux de cette dette serait financé par des revenus fiscaux en croissance. Il en résulterait une plus grande stabilité budgétaire. De plus, selon les auteurs de l'étude, le coût de ce type de dette est faible, et il présente certaines économies par rapport au coût de financement avec le programme d'obligations actuel.

Quelques considérations peuvent toutefois être soulevées du point de vue du gouvernement canadien. Ce dernier profite d'un surplus fiscal depuis quelques années, il est en mode de rachat de sa dette et il n'a pas un besoin important pour des obligations de long terme. En matière de gestion des besoins de trésorerie, l'objectif premier du gouvernement est de se financer au moindre coût possible. Par contre, un deuxième objectif est de maintenir la liquidité du marché des capitaux et favoriser son bon fonctionnement en permettant l'accès à des émissions d'une taille significative. Comme ses besoins de financement sont en baisse, il serait surprenant de voir Ottawa diminuer d'emblée ses emprunts d'obligations nominales et donc abaisser le niveau de liquidité du marché afin de créer une nouvelle catégorie d'obligations. L'expérience avec le programme des obligations à rendement réel en témoigne.

Malgré ces considérations, les avantages que représenteraient ces titres pour les investisseurs, notamment les caisses de retraite signifient que le gouvernement devra se pencher sur la question et répondre à la proposition très intéressante de l'Institut C.D. Howe.

Pour plus d'information, consultez le : http://www.cdhowe.org/index.cfm(anglais seulement)

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6